Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nations Which are Considered Amazing, But Are Basically Crap Places.

• 03-01-2013 11:53am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

Switzerland
    Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,714 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Thailand, China, Mexico, Israel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Que virtually every country in the world being mentioned by somebody!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Uh, Ireland?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

Isreal isn't crap. It's better than Ireland.

At least their Goverment cares about Israelis and defends them. Our lot hands us to the EU/IMF as taxation livestock and tells us to be thankful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Switzerland
    Australia

I agree completely with the first two points you mention on both countries, but I simply cannot agree with your last three issues.

However, I must commend you on a very well written explanation of your choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

Is Israel considered amazing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

Switzerland
    Australia

Switzerland is such a beautiful place though ! Granted it is extraordinarily expensive, like a big mac meal was €10 when I was there! :eek:

No worries, I used body odour and semaphore to underpin my arguments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

tin79 wrote: »
    Que virtually every country in the world being mentioned by somebody!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I haven't been overly enamored with the places I've seen in America- NY was grand, had a lot of fun there.

Chicago and Florida were crapola though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

grizzly wrote: »
    Is Israel considered amazing?

Amazingly hated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Israel and Australia are probably the two most criticised countries, apart from Ireland, on After Hours.

It's also a gross generalisation to say that any country is "a crap place."
    Everywhere has it's good points.

Except for Calmorene: what a backward dump!

Most of the USA is hell. A few cities on the east and west coasts are alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Switzerland
    Australia

Reasons why they are crap OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Earth is over-rated. Everyone's always going on about all the animals and seas and mountains and all that stuff, but what have they ever done for us!?

Rubbish!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I haven't been overly enamored with the places I've seen in America- NY was grand, had a lot of fun there.

Chicago and Florida were crapola though.

Florida is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. I've gone every summer for 11 years, never gets any less striking.

Isreal isn't crap. It's better than Ireland.

At least their Goverment cares about Israelis and defends them. Our lot hands us to the EU/IMF as taxation livestock and tells us to be thankful.

I wasnt really thinking of the system of Government or the endless political and sectarian issues, I meant the so called promised land itself is a geographical and topographical sh1thole, a big bowl of dust and rock that could double as the moon.

As you brought it up though, the fact that you mention the Government cares about Israeli's and defends them, you omitted the caveat 'to the exclusion of all other dependents within its Borders.' Kinda sums up the situation.

Florida is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. I've gone every summer for 11 years, never gets any less striking.

this is a joke right?

Flat, swampy, oppressive, plastic. If it wasnt for Disney and Cape Canaveral theyd probably test nukes on it.

Agree to disagree.

The place itself seemed ok-it was the locals and general falseness of the hospitality sector that bugged me. The whole "have a nice day" ad nauseaum was what really peed me off.

I'm a nature buff so I love the swampy aspect :o air boat rides, nature walks, beautiful oceans, ranches. I'm in heaven in Florida!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Egypt, awful hellhole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Earth is over-rated. ....., but what have they ever done for us!?

Rubbish!!

Well they did give us the aqueduct....

Agree to disagree.

The place itself seemed ok-it was the locals and general falseness of the hospitality sector that bugged me. The whole "have a nice day" ad nauseaum was what really peed me off.

Yeah shop assistants are so fake. That gets a bit grating alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Fuertevenfeckingtura.:mad:

Pound Shops and Volcanic ash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

iDave wrote: »
    Egypt, awful hellhole

It is what it is, got right hassle dressed in standard tourist rigout T shirt and shorts, wore jeans and sleeved shirt and I went under the annoying tout radar.

White pasty legs and shorts stand out like a beacon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

Switzerland
    Australia

Switzerland has many great things about it; for example the flag is big plus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

I don't know. The middle of the US is ****e, so the whole country is over-rated to a certain extent. I disagree about Chicago. It's nice.

Kajickistan is under- rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Denmark
    Stable economy, high renewable energy sources, good value on the danish krone, healthy, great healthcare, good looking people yet....

They seem to be devoid of humour or a sense of fun. In my day to day interactions with them a smile was rarely returned. Walking down the bustling streets the only laughter I heard was that from children. Grafton street would have been deafening yet people seemed so removed from one another.

I could never live there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

ruthloss wrote: »
    Fuertevenfeckingtura.:mad:

Pound Shops and Volcanic ash.

Whendid Fuerteventura become a Nation?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Switzerland has many great things about it; for example the flag is big plus.

What you did there.

I see it.

iDave wrote: »
    Egypt, awful hellhole

Agree to a point-I'm glad I saw it, but wouldn't go back. Was very glad I went the comfy middle class way (the only way mine and my mate's mam would let us go at all). I still managed to get severe food poisoning, despite doing everything right.

The aggression at tourists for their money was another thing that bothered me- I tried not to haggle over 1/2 euro, as it means more to them than me, but they still kept hassling me time and time again. They were also very intimidating towards myself and my mate- as two young wans it was pretty scary.

Like I said, glad I saw it, wouldn't go back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

The only place I was really looking forward to going, and was subsequently disappointed was Brussels. I found the city very expensive,the people rude and the night life was shyte.

Can't say I hated the whole of Belgium because I didn't visit it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

It is what it is, got right hassle dressed in standard tourist rigout T shirt and shorts, wore jeans and sleeved shirt and I went under the annoying tout radar.

White pasty legs and shorts stand out like a beacon.

Same here. A loud Feck off worked for me though.

It happened to rain when i was in Cairo too, yes I went to the bloody desert and it fcuking rained

I disagree about Chicago. It's nice.

It's nice-but completely buzz-free. Even when we hit the pubs with some local friends, it was all so forced. There just didn't seem to be the effortless craic that you find on nights in the European cities I've visited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Whendid Fuerteventura become a Nation?

I was being specific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Cork. I know it's the 'real capital' but is it a country yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭qwert2

It's all in the mind. Seriously. The grass appears greener on the other side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Earth is over-rated.

Imagine if another life form rocked up and saw people poor and starving on one continent and on another they were fat and rich*, they would surely describe this whole rock as a backwater

*providing this thread is about a countries inhabitants and not geographical lay out, fairly poor first post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Countries like Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia & the U.S.S.R. should be wiped off the map for ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Rasheed wrote: »
    The only place I was really looking forward to going, and was subsequently disappointed was Brussels. I found the city very expensive,the people rude and the night life was shyte.

Can't say I hated the whole of Belgium because I didn't visit it all.

Brussels is a city that you have to persevere with, 2 or 3 visits uncovers superb nightlife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

India without a doubt has been the biggest ****hole I've ever seen. Even places like goa, beautiful compared to the rest of India, internationally bray is more appealing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Countries like Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia & the U.S.S.R. should be wiped off the map for ever!

Siam, Prussia and French Indo China suck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

America. 33% fantastic... 66% bunch of backward so and so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

aaabbbb wrote: »

Switzerland is such a beautiful place though ! Granted it is extraordinarily expensive, like a big mac meal was €10 when I was there! :eek:
    How much is a big mac meal here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Denmark
    Stable economy, high renewable energy sources, good value on the danish krone, healthy, great healthcare, good looking people yet....

They seem to be devoid of humour or a sense of fun. In my day to day interactions with them a smile was rarely returned. Walking down the bustling streets the only laughter I heard was that from children. Grafton street would have been deafening yet people seemed so removed from one another.

I could never live there.

this is how I feel about Switzerland,I was home for the Xmas and one crappy lane in Cork seemed to be filled with more character than the whole of Geneva.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Jelly 292

Oranage2 wrote: »
    India without a doubt has been the biggest ****hole I've ever seen. Even places like goa, beautiful compared to the rest of India, internationally bray is more appealing!

What a load of BS, and you think Goa is beautiful compared to the rest of India??
    It was one of the biggest kips I visited on that whole continent.

India is a love / hate place. For every wonder you see there is a small tragedy lying beside the road.
    Regardless of this, it is by FAR the most incredible place I've ever been to, physically, mentally, socially and culturally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Jelly 292 wrote: »
    What a load of BS, and you think Goa is beautiful compared to the rest of India??
    It was one of the biggest kips I visited on that whole continent.

India is a love / hate place. For every wonder you see there is a small tragedy lying beside the road.
    Regardless of this, it is by FAR the most incredible place I've ever been to, physically, mentally, socially and culturally.

Goa is one of the richest parts of India, that much I know. Are you sure you are not equating poverty with culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Narnia. Lion was off sick, there was no snow and a burger was €50. Worst of all were the queues getting there and back.They seriously need to invest in a better border crossing. Feckin litter and signs everywhere as well. Hated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Finland. Bunch of jerks, think they're too good for Scandinavia.