Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alan Cantwell, TV3...

• 02-01-2013 5:52pm
    Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭

Before Christmas Vincent Browne had him on to bid him a fond farewell. Yet Alan is still doing the news nearly three weeks later.
    Is alan leaving or was I imagining the whole thing..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Before Christmas Vincent Browne had him on to bid him a fond farewell. Yet Alan is still doing the news nearly three weeks later.
    Is alan leaving or was I imagining the whole thing..?

Nearly there. Enjoy him while you can!
    He will read his final bulletin on January 4.

http://www.talentbase.ie/blog/alan_cantwell_talks_about_leaving_tv3_news

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

Cheers Skid...:)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Ahhh Alan Cantwell, he started out with Clare FM and once said "Clare FM are pleased to announce the following deaths" when introducing the Death Notices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Skid wrote: »

I feel strangely unworthy......:D:p

Alan, who began his career in radio, said he wouldn't be surprised to find himself back in that medium at some stage. He said the family had ruled out moving to Australia, but indicated that the UK or USA might be likely destinations.

I think he has caught a bit of the Charlie Bird Syndrome.

Ah, he won't be gone for long if that's the case......;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I remember Alan Cantwell in Clare FM, I don't remember that incident Clareman but I do remember some very funny pronunciations during the death announcements. Some of the presenters struggled with the names of certain villages and townlands, I remember my siblings and I frequently being in fits of laughter during the 'deaths' :o

Clare FM was a launching pad for a lot of broadcasters though - Rachel English (Morning Ireland), Dympna Moroney (Editor of RTE 9 O'Clock news) and Marty Morrissey (RTE Sport).

Marty Morrissey????........

Now I feel REALLY unworthy.....:):):)

Marty the Mighty. Great man altogether - good 'ol Clare FM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Clareman wrote: »
    Ahhh Alan Cantwell, he started out with Clare FM and once said "Clare FM are pleased to announce the following deaths" when introducing the Death Notices

Reminds me of similar announcement on Kilkenny local radio & regularly at that.

before last death notice

"And finally the death has occurred of .."

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Reminds me of similar announcement on Kilkenny local radio & regularly at that.

before last death notice

"And finally the death has occurred of .."

I don't know how the Dublin Stations survive without Death Notices. They are essential listening for people of a certain generation in most of the country.

Maybe TV3 should replace Psychic Readings Live with the National Death Notices. It's a guaranteed ratings winner!

Marty Morrissey????........

Now I feel REALLY unworthy.....:):):)

Marty the Mighty. Great man altogether - good 'ol Clare FM!
    GSW, I'm afraid not all Clare men are quite as sexy as Marty, he's one of a kind, he was born in Cork and was brought up in New York so that might account for his exotic good looks ;):)

Hmmm.....now I'm really interested....:)

"International" Marty the Mysterious......

Death Notices made many a local radio station in their early days for sure Skid!

I remember the Mammy glued to the radio and she never knew any of them but we heard about the deceased all that day!....

At least Alan has somewhere to come back to...:):)

!

I remember the Mammy glued to the radio and she never knew any of them but we heard about the deceased all that day!....

At least Alan has somewhere to come back to...:):)
    You think that's bad :D There have been times when I've called into see to my parents and I've been told to shush as my dad is listening to the deaths.

When I enquire about who might be dead, it is not unusual for my dad to say "no one we know". There is good reason why we wouldn't know them - we live in Clare but my dad listens to death notices on Kerry Radio,Highland Radio in Donegal and lots of other independent radio stations :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Cantwell will be taking over the midnight slot at Radio Norwich soon

$%28KGrHqIOKkQE1p5zCm%28WBNiGG,rZ5w~~_35.JPG

Cantwell will be taking over the midnight slot at Radio Norwich soon

$%28KGrHqIOKkQE1p5zCm%28WBNiGG,rZ5w~~_35.JPG

Isn't that slot known as "The Dead Hour" or something similar???.....:D:D:D

Even better, it's the Graveyard slot :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graveyard_slot

Even better, it's the Graveyard slot :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graveyard_slot

That's it Skid, I was racking my brain here trying to think of it......LOL!:p

Alan'll be worn out announcing the deaths!!!......

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

My grandmother lived in South Galway, very close to the Clare border, I remember her having a talk with my mother telling her to make sure that her death notice was put on both Galway Bay and Clare FM cause it was an awful embarrassment when a family would be too mean to only put the notice on 1 station.

Don't forget that Des Lynham is another broadcaster with Clare roots, as is Des Cahill, we really are a hotbed of journalistic excellence.

• Site Banned Posts: 154 ✭✭beaner88

Any background to this. Is he being pushed?

Possible situation like Ivan Yates?

My grandmother lived in South Galway, very close to the Clare border, I remember her having a talk with my mother telling her to make sure that her death notice was put on both Galway Bay and Clare FM cause it was an awful embarrassment when a family would be too mean to only put the notice on 1 station.

Don't forget that Des Lynham is another broadcaster with Clare roots, as is Des Cahill, we really are a hotbed of journalistic excellence.

Ohhh.......hotties for "wimmen of a certain age"......:D:D:D;)

****thinks of moving to Clare****.....;)

Ah here, you're pushing it now Clareman ;):D Des Lynam was born in Francis Street (same street as Clare FM) but he left Ireland when he was six years old and he never had the honour of working in Clare FM.

Don't forget Caimin Jones, he worked in RTE as reporter / presenter for over ten years before leaving in 1989 to become Chief Executive and principal broadcaster with Clare FM.

Brilliant story about your grandmother, a real character by the sounds of it!!! My grandparents insisted that we put an acknowledgment in 'De Champin' otherwise known as The Clare Champion Newspaper.

"Ah here, you're pushing it now Clareman Des Lynam was born in Francis Street (same street as Clare FM) but he left Ireland when he was six years old and he never had the honour of working in Clare FM."

Ah, MrsD....you're ruining it now

Boo........unpacks bags.......:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Maybe TV3 should replace Psychic Readings Live with the National Death Notices. It's a guaranteed ratings winner!

Combine the two... Psychic Death Notices! "The death will occur tomorrow of A.N. Other, following a tragic accident...". Ratings would be amazing - you'd never miss it in case you were on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,151 ✭✭✭furiousox

Alan Partridge actually started out on hospital radio.
    He had the 5.00pm show aka "the drivetime slot".

CPL 593H

maudgonner wrote: »
    Combine the two... Psychic Death Notices! "The death will occur tomorrow of A.N. Other, following a tragic accident...". Ratings would be amazing - you'd never miss it in case you were on it.

Would you have to pay higher rates in "prime time slots" or would you get cheap rates depending on the hour?.....

Nothing would frankly surprise me with TV3.......

Only for the Boardies..........;)

"Ah here, you're pushing it now Clareman Des Lynam was born in Francis Street (same street as Clare FM) but he left Ireland when he was six years old and he never had the honour of working in Clare FM."

Ah, MrsD....you're ruining it now

Boo........unpacks bags.......:o

Keep packing :)

He was sent home to Ennis during the war and often came home, I had the pleasure of meeting him a few times when he was visiting a friend of mine's father. My friends father used to go to Aintree every year and was mentioned on the BBC coverage of the Grand National 1 year "There's a good friend of mine XXXX XXXX from Ennis enjoying the day out"

Ah shur, Terry Wogan used to holiday in Kilkee in West Clare as child, we may as well claim him too ;)

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Ah shur, Terry Wogan used to holiday in Kilkee in West Clare as child, we may as well claim him too ;)

Ermm............Terry Wogan's mammy lived on our patch!!.....;)

And that was in "The Pale" I'll have you know MrsD!!:D:D:D

(That mean's he's ours......lol!!!:eek:)

Poor Alan. No-one's fighting over him on his thread.........:o

I was never a big fan of his but I genuinely hope that he has something lined up as it is a tough time to be job hunting.

Good Luck Alan :)

I was never a big fan of his but I genuinely hope that he has something lined up as it is a tough time to be job hunting.

Good Luck Alan :)

Ditto MrsD.....:)

Best of luck Alan.....:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

he'll end up doing the same thing on RTE but for better money

that will be the "Challenge" he is looking for. Hopping on the gravy train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

A county councillor asked at a meeting once that councillors pass a motion of sympathy with ''the wife and family of the late Bishop''
    At least Alan Cantwell hasn't done that...... yet

coolhull wrote: »
    A county councillor asked at a meeting once that councillors pass a motion of sympathy with ''the wife and family of the late Bishop''
    At least Alan Cantwell hasn't done that...... yet
    If it was a protestant bishop it would be okay though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

And I visited Doolin for a weekend a few years ago. Any Clare woman want to adopt me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Ditto MrsD.....:)

Best of luck Alan.....:):):)
    He will need all the luck he can get.

Definite case of out of control ego there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Cantwell, the Woodward and Bernstein of Irish broadcast journalism; the hotshot journo who thought An Phoblacht was a daily newspaper :rolleyes:

Will-Ferrell-in-Anchorman.jpg

Cantwell, the Woodward and Bernstein of Irish broadcast journalism; the hotshot journo who thought An Phoblacht was a daily newspaper :rolleyes:

Alan seemed to be delighted with himself when he thought he has gotten one over on Mary Lou McDonald but it backfired spectacularly on him!

Ooooh that is brilliant, thanks Mrs :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

what is the reason why death notices are so popular? was it something to do with land becoming available or distant cousins who might have a large will?

Nah, Irish people love a good funeral!

I hope it is something that we don't lose, it is strangely comforting to have people sympathise with you when you have lost a loved one. It is nice to see communities come out to support each other at a time of need.

It's a big thing to miss a funeral, if you hear the death notices you get to sympathise the night before and you'll be in and out in half an hour, otherwise you'll have to goto the mass or if you miss all that you'll have to call around. It could be considered quite insulting by people for someone not to attend a funeral and could lead to people not talking for years.

That and it's a great way of making sure you keep the phone book up to date.

It's a big thing to miss a funeral, if you hear the death notices you get to sympathise the night before and you'll be in and out in half an hour, otherwise you'll have to goto the mass or if you miss all that you'll have to call around. It could be considered quite insulting by people for someone not to attend a funeral and could lead to people not talking for years.

That and it's a great way of making sure you keep the phone book up to date.
    Funerals are taken very very seriously in country areas! I remember having a chat with my father in law about it once and he said....... "You'll always remember the person who wasn't at the funeral or who didn't even send a mass card".

I personally hate to see politicians at funerals of people that they have no connection with but my father in law seems to think it's their duty to be there! Apparently, if you have a couple of TDs, a minister or an MEP at a family funeral, it's quite an achievement, lol :D

I remember talking to the wife of a TD once who told me that she once attended a funeral of an elderly constituent and explained to the family that her husband couldn't make it as he was voting on some issue in the Dáil. They weren't a bit impressed and they said......"We didn't vote for your 'Paddy' to have him swanning around Dublin when he is needed at home" :D:D:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Maysa07

Alan seemed to be delighted with himself when he thought he has gotten one over on Mary Lou McDonald but it backfired spectacularly on him!

that's brilliant! what a plonker.

Poor Alan..... if it was me I'd have probably have jumped out of the chair :D

Here is a picture of Alan and Gráinne taken back in 1998 when TV3 was launched.

macc_19410615-5218-50ae-39a7-cb79e6671825-1.jpg

I remember in 2004 when Gráinne left the TV3 news to launch Sky News Ireland, TV3 pulled her from the roster so she couldn't say goodbye to viewers. It was fairly petty, I hope they don't do that again, it was horrible thing to do.

http://www.thefreelibrary.com/NO+GOODBYE+AS+TV3'S+GRAINNE+HEADS+FOR+SKY%3B+EXCLUSIVE+TV+station+slams...-a0114216348

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

I remember Alan Cantwell in Clare FM, I don't remember that incident Clareman but I do remember some very funny pronunciations during the death announcements. Some of the presenters struggled with the names of certain villages and townlands, I remember my siblings and I frequently being in fits of laughter during the 'deaths' :o

Clare FM was a launching pad for a lot of broadcasters though - Rachel English (Morning Ireland), Dympna Moroney (Editor of RTE 9 O'Clock news) and Marty Morrissey (RTE Sport).

And the new Jim Fahy, aka RTE western correspondent Pat McGrath

Gambas wrote: »
    And the new Jim Fahy, aka RTE western correspondent Pat McGrath
    I forgot about him, you're right!!!

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rte-names-morning-ireland-man-as-new-western-correspondent-3287933.html

I remember in 2004 when Gráinne left the TV3 news to launch Sky News Ireland, TV3 pulled her from the roster so she couldn't say goodbye to viewers. It was fairly petty, I hope they don't do that again, it was horrible thing to do.

To be fair, he has already made Farewell appearances on Vinny Browne and on The Morning Show. He does appear to be leaving with their consent.

TV3 appeared to have been very sour over Gráinne's decision to jump ship to Sky so I reckon that's why they prevented her from reading her last news bulletin. Love or Hate Alan, he has stuck with TV3 for over 14 years so it's only right they give him a decent farewell.

TV3 appeared to have been very sour over Gráinne's decision to jump ship to Sky

They were. I wouldn't have agreed with their decision, but it is common practice in TV and Radio to take your Presenters off air as soon as they have signed for a rival. Gráinne would have been aware of that, and took the decision with good grace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

TV3 appeared to have been very sour over Gráinne's decision to jump ship to Sky so I reckon that's why they prevented her from reading her last news bulletin. Love or Hate Alan, he has stuck with TV3 for over 14 years so it's only right they give him a decent farewell.

They probably looked upon Grainne Seoige as defecting to a rival TV channel whereas Cantwell seems to have a touch of the Paul Brennan's from Fair City about him. ;)