Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray Lewis retiring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

I don't think i'd be going out on a limb saying that he has been the greatest linebacker to play the game to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,468 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Unbelievable player, loved watching him over the years.

I could watch videos of him just talking on youtube for hours.

I've only bought two NFL jerseys that weren't Bears ones, Lewis 52 is one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

This news sucks a hell of a lot as a Ravens fan, but he owes us nothing. One of the reasons I started watching the sport and following the team. I actually feel more confident of our playoff chances now weirdly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

“I talked to my team today and I talked to them about life in general. Everything that starts has an end. It’s just life. For me, today, I told my team that this would be my last ride. I told them I just felt so much peace in where I am with my decision because of everything I’ve done in this league. I’ve done it, man. There’s no accolade that I don’t have individually but I’ve never played the game for individual stats. I’ve only played the game to make my team be a better team. Now, God is calling. God is calling in so many other areas of life and my children have made the ultimate sacrifice for their father, the ultimate for 17 years. Whether it’s jump on the plane, jump right back, go to school, and I don’t want to see them do no more. I’ve done what I wanted to do in this business and now, it’s my turn to give them back something. It’s either hold onto the game or keep playing or let my kids miss out on times we could be sharing together. I promised my son if he got a full-ride scholarship, Daddy was going to be there. I can’t miss that. I don’t know if I could sit in a meeting room and fight with that war. One of the hardest things in the world is to walk away from my teammates because that’s my brotherhood, the only thing that I ever played for is to be right there and to raise Ed and to be with Sizzle for so long and to sit next to him. We’re so much on the same path. Does that part hurt? Absolutely. You can never rebuild those bonds. Those bonds are forever. But the chapter is huge for me to now step into other areas of life. I may be gone now. But I ain’t gone forever. I’m just going in another phase of life. I think my fans, I think my city, they deserve it. They deserve that whenever this road stops, for me not just to walk away and be like, ‘I’m done.’ I think we all get to enjoy what Sunday will feel like knowing that this will be the last time 52 plays in a uniform in Ravens’ stadium.”

Copyright © 2012, The Baltimore Sun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,697 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I always had respect for ray Lewis as one of the best at his position ever and a nailed on HOFer.But his 'a football life' episode this year was unreal, if ray Lewis can't inspire you then there is something wrong with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Undoubtedly Ray was one of the greatest players to ever line up on the defensive side of the line. A true legend in his own time and players like him don't come along very often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

We'll give him a good send off on Sunday :p

Seriously though, although it's no big surprise, it'll be a sad day when he goes.

I have a feeling the Colts will be seeing a few of these on Sunday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

spiralism wrote: »
    I don't think i'd be going out on a limb saying that he has been the greatest linebacker to play the game to date.

taylor25n-3-web.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

It was always coming but I'm still sad. What a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Keno 92 wrote: »
    taylor25n-3-web.jpg

And there's the debate. 142 sacks or 41 sacks and 31 picks, as well as four seasons with over 160 tackles? Close but i'm going with Ray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,439 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

And there's the debate. 142 sacks or 41 sacks and 31 picks, as well as four seasons with over 160 tackles? Close but i'm going with Ray.
    Why would you be comparing an OLB with a MLB? They are two totally different positions. They were both the best in their respective positions and its really stupid to start suggesting one was better than the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

I honestly don't think there's even much debate that Lawerence Taylor is the best linebacker of the modern era.

Likewise the idea that there isn't plenty to compare is reductive in the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Paully D wrote: »

Thanks for that, great watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

great player, very interesting timing of his announcement.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

great player, very interesting timing of his announcement.....

Win one for Ray Ray

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

favourite part of that documentary is tom brady getting hit after he slides and gets up saying "what" what" to the big bad bullies around him.

gotta love the skinny white guy giving them the proverbial 2 fingers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

favourite part of that documentary is tom brady getting hit after he slides and gets up saying "what" what" to the big bad bullies around him.

gotta love the skinny white guy giving them the proverbial 2 fingers

You mean the skinny 6'4' 225lbs white guy?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Syferus wrote: »
    The you mean the skinny 6'4' 225lbs white guy?
    correct

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

He will seriously be missed, a beast of a player and one of the best I have ever seen play the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭jj1

That was a good watch. Ray does be crazy before the matches. Wouldn't mind seeing the Ravens get to the Superbowl just for the 2 Rays & Ed Reed. Not really a fan of Flacco though, not for any particular reason.

He is absolutely class in the Raven's "America's Game" as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

Paully D wrote: »
    379761_10151254368071229_1886544942_n.jpg

Jesus will it ever end? What a phoney that man is. Where's the white suit eh Ray? Just as well for Lewis America is land of the second chance, how that man is lauded as a hero is beyond me. Nothing easier than "finding God" at a convenient time is there. Good riddance Lewis, and i'm not even a Steelers fan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Jesus will it ever end? What a phoney that man is. Where's the white suit eh Ray? Just as well for Lewis America is land of the second chance, how that man is lauded as a hero is beyond me. Nothing easier than "finding God" at a convenient time is there. Good riddance Lewis, and i'm not even a Steelers fan!
    Yes, cause he poised specifically for that photo to be captioned that way...oh wait no, thats just him walking out onto the field and someone else has taken the liberty to caption it!

tumblr_l9i3ucVqLV1qc073co1_400.gif

kmart6 wrote: »
    Yes, cause he poised specifically for that photo to be captioned that way...oh wait no, thats just him walking out onto the field and someone else has taken the liberty to caption it!

tumblr_l9i3ucVqLV1qc073co1_400.gif

he he, very true, he's everywhere this week though as regards any NFL-related media. Its doing my head in at this stage. Great player but i can't bear him myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

Lewis didn't happen to just find God at a convient time, he's always been like that. It just happens that because this is the final games of his career that we have everyone in the media writing on Lewis. He's had his issues in the past, and we'll never know what happened that night in Atlanta, but he's been an instrumental and incredible leader for his whole career and I don't understand how any football fan could possibly say "good riddance" to Ray Lewis. He's one of the greatest players the game has ever seen and even though he isnt the player he once was the Ravens won't be the same without him

frostie500 wrote: »
    Lewis didn't happen to just find God at a convient time, he's always been like that. It just happens that because this is the final games of his career that we have everyone in the media writing on Lewis. He's had his issues in the past, and we'll never know what happened that night in Atlanta, but he's been an instrumental and incredible leader for his whole career and I don't understand how any football fan could possibly say "good riddance" to Ray Lewis. He's one of the greatest players the game has ever seen and even though he isnt the player he once was the Ravens won't be the same without him

Hmmm, i'm not religious myself but his actions after the event were hardly those of a religious man were they...do as you preach and all that.

I don't want to hijack the Superbowl thread altogether by turning it back to all this stuff, but i'm happy to see the back of him regardless of how good he was (and i will happily acknowledge that he's been a heck of a player).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

adrian522 wrote: »
    Anyway your bitterness is impressive. What did gore do to upset you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

I used to give Ray Lewis the benefit of doubt because he was such a great player and an such an inspiring athlete.

But when Wes Welker's wife had a go at him, firstly i thought well what a classes-less thing to do ffs
    "Proud of my husband and the Pats. By the way, if anyone is bored, please go to Ray Lewis' Wikipedia page. 6 kids 4 wives. Acquitted for murder. Paid a family off. Yay. What a hall of fame player! A true role model!"

I never really knew much about Ray Lewis' court case and history so i looked it up...My God! he's as innocent as OJ!! what an pr1ck!

He then forgives Ms Welker for her comments...she didn't say anything that wasn't true (although Ms Welker wenting her frustration like that wasn't really classy anyway)...who the fcuk is this holier than tho, how do you have the audacity to forgive somebody for that?

Some of his behavior this week with the media has got right up my nose. All this BS hiding behind God is absolute cack.

Ray Lewis: No one at Media Day is qualified to ask about murder case

Ray Lewis: PED accusation is “the trick of the devil”

And finally to top off his week:

"Ray Lewis wanted to give you a last chance to thank him"

I'm actually going for the 49ers now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Hazys wrote: »
    I used to give Ray Lewis the benefit of doubt because he was such a great player and an such an inspiring athlete.

But when Wes Welker's wife had a go at him, firstly i thought well what a classes-less thing to do ffs

I never really knew much about Ray Lewis' court case and history so i looked it up...My God! he's as innocent as OJ!! what an pr1ck!

He then forgives Ms Welker for her comments...she didn't say anything that wasn't true (although Ms Welker wenting her frustration like that wasn't really classy anyway)...who the fcuk is this holier than tho, how do you have the audacity to forgive somebody for that?

Some of his behavior this week with the media has got right up my nose. All this BS hiding behind God is absolute cack.

I think it's fairly LOW by the media (not surprised tho, the media are a shower of spineless cowardly fcekless gombeens) to bring up this topic at this time, it has absolutely no relevance to the SB and Baltimore's preparation for it !!

You're right tho, it was really LOW by Welker's wife to attack Lewis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭JaMarcus Hustle

I think it's fairly LOW by the media (not surprised tho, the media are a shower of spineless cowardly fcekless gombeens) to bring up this topic at this time, it has absolutely no relevance to the SB and Baltimore's preparation for it !!

It's got nothing to do with the Superbowl and the Ravens being in it - it's been a topic of discussion ever since Lewis announced his retirement and praise has come flooding in. People are proclaiming him a great player, a terrific leader and one of the best of all time - and rightly so - but there's nothing wrong with people who proclaim him a great person/man being given a history lesson. Because he's not a great man, not by a long shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

You're right tho, it was really LOW by Welker's wife to attack Lewis.

LOW by the media!?!??!

FFS The guy has been walking around all week and since the start of the playoffs acting like he is the second coming of Jesus!! I fully expect him in the next media day to be walking around in a robe and a crown of thorns, blessing people.

Its all an act and the media are well within their rights, to bring up his past and call him out on this BS...he is faaaar from the man he says he is.

Even Tebow is rolling his eyes at all the God praising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

It's got nothing to do with the Superbowl and the Ravens being in it - it's been a topic of discussion ever since Lewis announced his retirement and praise has come flooding in. People are proclaiming him a great player, a terrific leader and one of the best of all time - and rightly so - but there's nothing wrong with people who proclaim him a great person/man being given a history lesson. Because he's not a great man, not by a long shot.

There was a thread put up here about it after the divisional or conference game and I looked for it a few days later and it seemed to be deleted. Boards AF Mods in on the cover up? Wonder if any of them are jetting off to New Orleans today/tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Exactly.

Yikes ! .........maybe you have an extra incentive for hating Ray ?!

I'm not sure why you would think people need an extra incentive for hating a man who is questionable on a lot of fronts. Not sure what happened to the specific Ray Lewis thread started up, as I thought it was actually a decent thread because lewis divides opinion, and anything that had been said up to when I read it was all fact. As I said at the time, I'm 50-50 on him. A great motivator and player, but there are untold stories of what happened with the deaths of 2 men that he was in the are of their killing. One of the men accused is bringing out a book apparantly next summer, so it'll be interesting what he will try say now that he wouldnt when being tried.

People have a right not to like lewis, there are plenty of reasons not to. Just like there are plenty to like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Fcuk sake the aunt wants to meet Lewis to ask for money to build a salon in memory of her son, sorry but that seems like bull to me, why should Lewis give her money when he wasn't found guilty of it, and already came to undisclosed settlements with parties from each side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

kmart6 wrote: »
    Fcuk sake the aunt wants to meet Lewis to ask for money to build a salon in memory of her son, sorry but that seems like bull to me, why should Lewis give her money when he wasn't found guilty of it, and already came to undisclosed settlements with parties from each side!

a salon in memory of her son?? I know someone died and all but **** off that if for you because you dont want a loan and want free money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

bruschi wrote: »
    I'm not sure why you would think people need an extra incentive for hating a man who is questionable on a lot of fronts. Not sure what happened to the specific Ray Lewis thread started up, as I thought it was actually a decent thread because lewis divides opinion, and anything that had been said up to when I read it was all fact. As I said at the time, I'm 50-50 on him. A great motivator and player, but there are untold stories of what happened with the deaths of 2 men that he was in the are of their killing. One of the men accused is bringing out a book apparantly next summer, so it'll be interesting what he will try say now that he wouldnt when being tried.

People have a right not to like lewis, there are plenty of reasons not to. Just like there are plenty to like him.

I think that's about right Bruschi. I think that there's plenty of logic for not liking Lewis just as there is for liking him.

From my perspective Ive loved watching him play throughout his career and while, like I said earlier, he's always been religious and prone to the kind of stuff we've seen the last few weeks it's only during that timeframe that the media focused, pretty much exclusively, on that element of his life to this extent

I'd much prefer if the media focused on his performances on the field and his motivational aspects, the two things that make him exceptional, rather than the religious aspect that is clearly far too in your face. As, I think it was Hazy's that said it, the fact that he answered so many questions this week as a praise to God, or indeed the devils work, was laughable but what was even worse was that the reporters didn't tell him, "no, we want a real answer Ray."

As far as I'm concerned I want look at the game on Sunday and, hopefully, enjoy seeing Lewis play a great game so that win or lose we end up seeing one of the best players we'll ever watch end his career

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

I'm as big a fan of suga as the next, but it's overkill this week. And that's because of the Superbowl. If the Ravens were not in it and add in that Ray loves him some Ray we wouldn't be getting this. Here's what it boils down to for me: On the field - unquestionable, off the field - unquestionable, his past - questionable. Another thing I will say is you don't see the same level of hate directed towards Donte Stallworth who was actually convicted of manslaughter. Success breeds hate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Hi self righteousness is what really annoys me. There are so many questions that he should answer about the death of those 2 young men and he just ignores them. He inspires a lot of people and can talk brilliantly but when his message is all about good and he himself won't even come clean and reveal all that he knows then I just can't believe him. If he would even just acknowledge the incident and say i don't want to talk about it then that would be easier to accept but he ignores it and acts as if he's a new person now and is above answering questions on his past.
    He's an incredible player but as a person he seems two-faced to me because of this

evil_seed wrote: »
    I'm as big a fan of suga as the next, but it's overkill this week. And that's because of the Superbowl. If the Ravens were not in it and add in that Ray loves him some Ray we wouldn't be getting this. Here's what it boils down to for me: On the field - unquestionable, off the field - unquestionable, his past - questionable. Another thing I will say is you don't see the same level of hate directed towards Donte Stallworth who was actually convicted of manslaughter. Success breeds hate

I dont think they are apt comparisons. Stallworth was drunk and killed a pedestrian, who it seems did run out in front of him. He rang 911 and pleaded guilty and served time after being sentanced. Lewis did everything he could to hide facts about the murder case, and was convicted of this act. He made undisclosed payments to the family of the victims, and placed a confidential clause in contracts with them. Stallworth doesnt harp on about religion and jesus and God the whole time, which to me seems pretty ironic coming from Lewis, with his questionable past.

I dont see them at all as comparible, and I also dont think that Stallworth is as loud or as vocal media wise as Lewis is either, which also amplifies the level of hate that people show to him. The more you shout, the more you are heard, whether that gives you a good or bad rep, it puts you more in the spotlight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Hazys wrote: »

And finally to top off his week:

"Ray Lewis wanted to give you a last chance to thank him"

I think this sums up the Lewis hate quite well. He never says he did it so people could thank him. He said he did so he and the fans could say Goodbye. He's right as well, it would have been a huge shame if he just quit once the season was over.

I think the fatherless kids and families missing a son/brother sum it up well enough Chuckles.

This post again sums it up. You have no idea what went on or what Lewis involvment was yet spout on as if you do. Priceless. :pac:

Do you think he's innocent? Or do you just have a strong liking for naivety?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

There's enough information out there dealing with the murder case. People should go read it but it's "oh TLDR lol". He's been convicted. I'm sick of all the coverage he's getting too

Do you think he's innocent? Or do you just have a strong liking for naivety?

Why don't you tell me why he's guilty,

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,192 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

If he's so innocent, why has he felt a need to plead guilty obstruction of justice?
    What happened to the clothes he was wearing on the night of the murders?
    Why was one of the victims blood inside his car?
    Why did he feel a need to pay off the families to prevent a civil case?
    Why has he never spoken about any of this despite all the hours he spends on tv giving interviews?

You are right that I don't know what happened on the night in question but neither do you, and as I've said there enough unanswered questions to raise doubts about him.

adrian522 wrote: »
    If he's so innocent, why has he felt a need to plead guilty obstruction of justice?
    What happened to the clothes he was wearing on the night of the murders?
    Why was one of the victims blood inside his car?
    Why did he feel a need to pay off the families to prevent a civil case?
    Why has he never spoken about any of this despite all the hours he spends on tv giving interviews?

You are right that I don't know what happened on the night in question but neither do you, and as I've said there enough unanswered questions to raise doubts about him.

that pretty much sums up why it is no way comparable to Stallworth either. There are a lot of things that went on that night that have not been revealed, and the fact that Lewis' weak testimony and obstruction of justice pretty much meant that whoever did do it, never got convicted. There was no justice served for the killing of 2 men.

I'm still undecided by Lewis. Take that night in Atlanta out and I can deal with the whole God thing, and all the kids and mothers, all the hype and the dancing. Its showboating on the field for the most part, but it is effective. I accept all that and its a bit of character. But, he had some part in the killing of 2 men, an act that has meant no one justice for it. And I think that plus all the God is the judge talk in light of this makes it hard to fall on the right side of like/dislike.

Yer man Oakley or whatever who was one of the accused releasing the book wont go down well with Lewis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

I guess most people will view it as either:

A) He got caught up in a bad situation with dodgy friends and dodgy aggressors but didn't take part (or had a minor part) in the killings, & that they were set-upon (self-defense)

or

B) he was involved in two killings and knows exactly what happened

A side note : (victims) both had records — Lollar for possession of marijuana, while Baker was wanted for violating probation on gun possession.
    Also, Lewis's car was shot at as they fled the scene.

Would we view the incident very differently if Lewis had been shot or stabbed ?!

One thing I've noticed is that alot of articles (& they're all recent, ie. gutter press because of the SB) are appearing in different (online) papers/magazines/blogs and alot of them are being 'spun' to project Ray as the killer and have pity on the poor victims !