Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ted Walsh at it again

• 01-01-2013 12:47am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭

Microphone picks him up calling Paul Nicholls a ''Mongrel'' :D and not only once says it a few times,Paul had only been saying he was cursing Ruby for being so far back

You gotta love ted :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-__CqnyK7Oo @ 9m15s its around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

I think he's dead right! Nicholls is a c ock for saying he gave tidal bay too much to do. Hes never happy! I mean, what more does he want. If there was any other jockey on him TBH he probably wouldn't have won it..don't get me wrong, has rode some atrocious rides recently but back in focus and tidal bay were pure class..and nicholls is still giving out after what he done for him and the Wylie's that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

its possible that they are both cocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The highlight of the day was Ruby unseating from the well backed Foxrock!!

I hate Nicholls and Ruby but I don't believe Nicholls was criticising Ruby, it's human nature when you are involved with a horse (train, own or back it) and your jockey has it out the back you think "I hope he's not giving it too much to do!"

If Ruby had just failed to get there people would have said the same. He did get there and was rightly lauded as a hero for a great ride but there will be days when he won't get there......not that he'll come out and admit he got it wrong :rolleyes:

Can understand Ted's reaction, in the heat of the moment the paternal instinct kicked in and he is not happy about the perceived criticism of his son when he won the race.

Much ado about nothing but I did laugh when I watched it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Morgans wrote: »
    its possible that they are both cocks.

Spot on.
    Ruby is an arrogant ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Slattsy wrote: »
    Spot on.
    Ruby is an arrogant ****.

Amen to that, the most reprehensible man in racing :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

kfallon wrote: »

Ruby ''I dont ride for the punters'' Walsh :rolleyes:

A great horseman but he'd be a nobody without punters supporting the game if we didnt bet on it or attend race meeting's he'd be unemployed,he says he's paid to ride for the owner :rolleyes: see if the owner will pay him to ride these horses around empty fields in posh estates if punters stopped supporting racing I dont think it would be too long before ruby be queing up at the local social welfare centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Ruby was at a cheltenham preview night I was at. He was leaving the function room with nobody and we ended up walking through the double doors at the same time. I said "fair play to you for coming to this Ruby" and he turns to me with a look like I called him a ****, I did well not to knock him across the room!!

I decided to call him a **** if I see him againand if he passes me on the course I'll see if I cant get a chorus of Ruby, Ruby, Ruby going as he said he hates it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

I'm not a big fan of horse racing (Owners should pay me to back other horses) but I was watching on St Stephens day and Ted Walsh came out with "My own daughter Katie is getting a good ride off Jacksons Lady".

I had a good giggle at that, the immature lad that I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,475 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

any of ye ever stop to think the kind of pain ruby has in his backside with every tom dick and harry coming up to him and giving him their tuppence worth?

He obviously likes to keep to himself, and thats his own business, he isnt public property

Cyrus wrote: »
    any of ye ever stop to think the kind of pain ruby has in his backside with every tom dick and harry coming up to him and giving him their tuppence worth?

He obviously likes to keep to himself, and thats his own business, he isnt public property

Sorry Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

SRFC wrote: »
    Ruby ''I dont ride for the punters'' Walsh :rolleyes:

A great horseman but he'd be a nobody without punters supporting the game if we didnt bet on it or attend race meeting's he'd be unemployed,he says he's paid to ride for the owner :rolleyes: see if the owner will pay him to ride these horses around empty fields in posh estates if punters stopped supporting racing I dont think it would be too long before ruby be queing up at the local social welfare centre.

He's correct. He rides for his owners. His sole obligation to punters is to ride to the best of his ability, and honestly.

Should he flog a horse on bottomless ground to get third place in a driving finish, or mind a horse so that they can have another day with him?

Should he remount a horse if it falls (may be illegal now)?

meriwether wrote: »
    He's correct. He rides for his owners. His sole obligation to punters is to ride to the best of his ability, and honestly.

Should he flog a horse on bottomless ground to get third place in a driving finish, or mind a horse so that they can have another day with him?

Should he remount a horse if it falls (may be illegal now)?

He shows absolute contempt for the punters with his comments like that I never said he should flog a horse dunno where you getting that from but he should remember without punters he be unemployed.

On another note I think his little love in with paddy power is disgraceful accepting payment for information it is and most the time putting people away its rancid.

He shows absolute contempt for the punters with his comments like that I never said he should flog a horse dunno where you getting that from but he should remember without punters he be unemployed.

On another note I think his little love in with paddy power is disgraceful accepting payment for information it is and most the time putting people away its rancid.

there would be no industry without punters, whats your point?

at the end of the day he is obligated to ride to the owners & trainers instructions, as are the rest of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

He doesn't show absolute contempt for punters. He merely informs them of the reality of the situation. If punters are unable to accept reality, preferring instead to be held in non-existent contempt, thats not Ruby's fault.

My analogy with the flogging is an example of the differing requirements of punters and owners. Punters may want toe horse flogged to be placed for their punt. Owners would not want their horse to be bottomed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

kfallon wrote: »

doesnt matter what he is like, in general he is a superb jockey and that is all that matters to the great majority of punters.

I would imnagine there are far for reprehensible racing people than Ruby.. Look at any poxy irish novice hurdle at all the non triers.

Probably a few pockets taking here after he mugged a few on the line on the one day..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Wouldn't be a big fan of Ruby or Nicholls. But they are both great at what they do.

Cyrus wrote: »
    At the end of the day he is obligated to ride to the owners & trainers instructions, as are the rest of them

I think you will find he is obligated to ride his horses on their merits.

hucklebuck wrote: »
    I think you will find he is obligated to ride his horses on their merits.

of course, but he is still obligated to ride to the owners / trainers instructions unless they tell him not to try

Thinking about it again..if I was a trainer and didn't have a whole load of superstars in my stable and wanted to get known I'd either..constantly enter them in low grade races in England or lay them for a semi major handicap

Very naive people on here all hail darling ruby cant do no wrong :rolleyes:

Himself and willie mullins make me sick conning punter's with their various paid jobs for the bookies absolutely rancid to the core racing is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Very naive people on here all hail darling ruby cant do no wrong :rolleyes:

Himself and willie mullins make me sick conning punter's with their various paid jobs for the bookies absolutely rancid to the core racing is.

Nobody is perfect in racing, but those two would be a hell of a long way from the top of any curroption table.

Nothing wrong with trainers or jockeys taking some extra work with bookies etc. Its a business after all.

aidankkk wrote: »
    Nobody is perfect in racing, but those two would be a hell of a long way from the top of any curroption table.

Nothing wrong with trainers or jockeys taking some extra work with bookies etc. Its a business after all.

Nothing wrong with it are you serious? its a serious breach of trust the punters and owners put in these two and their off taking payment for information off the bookies,

They constantly put the punter away aswell with these forray's into the media with unsolicited pointers which result in more loser's than winning,

Im not saying they should come out and tell us what will win ect but when I go into a paddy power shop I dont want to hear ruby walsh getting paid to spout rubbish about one of his rides or go to read the racing post and see willie mullins put punters away.

Lets face it the problem with non triers isnt down to trainers/ jockeys or bookies.

HRI and BHA let them do it, the book should have been thrown at Nicky, John Joe and AP among others years ago but the organisations dont have the balls.

Casela Park made me sick, a small yard and jockey got the book righly thrown at them but you see the big operations do it most days and nothing is done about it. Yet the fanfare about the ban was in every paper for days.

Lets face it the problem with non triers isnt down to trainers/ jockeys or bookies.

HRI and BHA let them do it, the book should have been thrown at Nicky, John Joe and AP among others years ago but the organisations dont have the balls.

Casela Park made me sick, a small yard and jockey got the book righly thrown at them but you see the big operations do it most days and nothing is done about it. Yet the fanfare about the ban was in every paper for days.

That horse was not stopped in Newcastle the thing is an absolute pig hasnt won a race in about 20 starts since serious miscarriage of justice,

I agree about with the above there there is an elite group who are untouchable when was mccoy last brought in for the non trier rule all the stewards and powers that be are on the gravy train including most pundits who know well not to rock the boat.

That horse was not stopped in Newcastle the thing is an absolute pig hasnt won a race in about 20 starts since serious miscarriage of justice,

You must be trolling first Simonsig and now this.

All the poor horse wanted to do was win and he was restrained, switched and covered up all race. He could have won by 20 lengths. The fact he hasnt won doesnt mean he wasnt held, maybe the horse lost interest after this race??

That was worse than GMOOH in my book, neither were acceptable.

You must be trolling first Simonsig and now this.

All the poor horse wanted to do was win and he was restrained, switched and covered up all race. He could have won by 20 lengths. The fact he hasnt won doesnt mean he wasnt held, maybe the horse lost interest after this race??

That was worse than GMOOH in my book, neither were acceptable.

A friend of mine used to have an interest in the horse with sean treacey and im telling you for a fact it wasnt stopped that day I couldnt care if you dont believe me the horse is a lunatic richard hughes got off it one day and said he wont be riding it again as its a looper,this is fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Luca Brasi

Ruby admits in his book that he can come across a bit ignorant and smart alec at times and he does try to watch how he behaves. However this is difficult when every gob daw he meets is asking him for a "tip" even tv hosts who wouldn't know one end of a horse from the other ( Gerry Kelly UTV please note).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 eddiezero

Back on topic to Ted's Freudian Slip castigating one of the few British trainers who elects to patronise our better races and thus get more people through the gates at Irish race courses.

A man who has brought such greats as Denman and Kauto Star to our shores, but for which many Irish racegoers would never have got to see them in the flesh.

He was caught on the hop post race when emotions were still running high and it was obviously remiss of him to question Ruby's positioning of Tidal Bay in the race, but did it warrant the subsequent foul mouthed tirade from Ted?

I wonder how long Highflyer Productions contract for RTE Racing has left to run? In keeping with Channel 4's shake up of presenters post Highflyer dropping the dead wood (Big Mac et al), wouldn't it be refreshing to see a similar scenario over here with reprobates like Ted retired to stud.....

eddiezero wrote: »
    I wonder how long Highflyer Productions contract for RTE Racing has left to run? In keeping with Channel 4's shake up of presenters post Highflyer dropping the dead wood (Big Mac et al), wouldn't it be refreshing to see a similar scenario over here with reprobates like Ted retired to stud.....

Fair point.
    Who are the alternatives on the Irish scene though ?
    I cant think of many off hand. Charlie Swan?

Would Mick Kinane do it on the flat i wonder ?

Dont agree think ted walsh is an asset compared to half the people on channel 4 or racing uk who dont have a clue about horses or racing the likes of tom lee the betting expert not a breeze about racing only in the job because his father,same with plenty other's either born into a racing family or married into one,channel 4 is the worse they talk to the punter like they're imbecile's the new front man rishi pershad what he knows about horse racing you could write on a stamp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 eddiezero

Dont agree think ted walsh is an asset compared to half the people on channel 4 or racing uk who dont have a clue about horses or racing the likes of tom lee the betting expert not a breeze about racing only in the job because his father,same with plenty other's either born into a racing family or married into one,channel 4 is the worse they talk to the punter like they're imbecile's the new front man rishi pershad what he knows about horse racing you could write on a stamp

Tom Lee was let go by the new Channel 4 production team. In fact the only crowd that now employ him is Highflyer/RTE so you have inadvertently proved my point!!

Do agree with you about Rishi Pershad though, would be plenty of space left on that postage stamp :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Ted Walsh was born into a racing family.

That RTE havent signed up Gary O'Brien yet is ridiculous.

Absolutely agree with this..Donn McLean would be another great addition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

is Ted Walsh the guy they take the Mickey out of on gift grub?those sketches are class.

I cant stand Gary O'Brien !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

totally agree about rishi pershad, he looks uncomfortable with the whole gig. he should stick to fashion shows at ascot!

Slattsy wrote: »
    I cant stand Gary O'Brien !
    have to agree with you about gary o brien, will someone please tell him the horses dont jump herdles, its hurdles!!! arrrgghhh:D

totally agree about rishi pershad, he looks uncomfortable with the whole gig. he should stick to fashion shows at ascot!

Did you see that **** the other day, grinning like a mongoloid chesire cat walking alongside the winners. A couple of times he was so happy that he pulled the mic away and the jockey still talking.

All gravy train passenger's the only one who speaks his mind that has a high profile job is matt chapman,many people hate him but least he has the liathrodi to point out blatant no trier's the rest just sweep any controversy under the carpet least he puts his neck on the line about horse's and asks the questions the punters want to be asked unlike the rest of the brown noser's gary o brien and kevin ryan being prime example's of the gravy train passenger's on the irish scene.

i have always liked matt chapman, for the exact reasons you have described above.

I like the way he asks the tough questions and reviews dodgy rides but he is a spoon the rest of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Arctic89

Would it be worth Gary's while?

He works 4 or more days a week for ATR covering Irish racing. If he switched to RTE he might get 20 days a year, I can't see it being a worthwhile switch for him unless ATR allowed him to only do their coverage when he's not working for RTE, which would be unlikely.