Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE TV new year thread 2012/2013 (Plus BBC1)

• 31-12-2012 12:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭

Well it's nearly upon us once again RTE's new year countdown show I expect to it to be better this year because of this thing they are doing in Dublin but lets not get to optimistic :pac::pac:

I'm afraid I will have to switch between bbc and rte when the times comes. I prefer the London fireworks if I'm honest. RTE countdown is usually such a non-moment :pac:

Let the discussion begin!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

It'll be wet I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

I hope the countdown doesn't go down "The Katie Taylor Way".......

The pain of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

I get the feeling RTE's new year countdown will involve a panel of total "non celebs" and boring people who we might or heard of once or twice.

RTE have a habit of keeping with the tradition. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,853 ✭✭✭brian_t

RTÉ.ie brings New Year’s Eve Live – The Gathering to audiences everywhere!
    For the first time, the New Year’s Event Countdown Concert, streamed live from Dublin exclusively by RTE, will be accessible via hundreds of connected devices from virtually anywhere on the globe. Wherever you are this New Year’s Eve, you can enjoy RTÉ’s coverage of New Year’s Eve Live – The Gathering, a spectacular live countdown from Dublin, headlined by Imelda May, live from 22.30 GMT. Friends and family abroad, or anyone on the move, can now “virtually” join in the fun and celebrations, and experience all the best moments of the Countdown Concert on www.rte.ie.

Featuring some of Ireland’s top musical and entertainment acts, audiences at home and abroad can enjoy the entertainment live or on demand, as the city of Dublin hosts the ultimate New Year’s Eve party. The coverage will be streamed live from College Green, hosted by Miriam O’Callaghan on RTÉ One, and John Creedon on RTÉ Radio 1. In addition, a bespoke New Year’s Eve homepage, RTÉ.ie, will feature live video links to RTÉ One and RTÉ Radio 1 coverage, as well as providing live updates throughout the evening.

Audiences can view or listen to the spectacular and soak up the atmosphere on mobile (iPhone, iPad, Android devices), on desktop, and on gaming devices from anywhere with internet connectivity.

http://www.rte.ie/blogs/digital/2012/12/21/rte-ie-brings-new-years-eve-live-the-gathering-to-audiences-everywhere/

I don't know what's Ireland's and RTE's obsession with Imelda may I mean Christ she's not known outside the Republic borders. :pac:

RTE have a thing with bringing in the superstars. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

RobitTV wrote: »
    I don't know what's Ireland's and RTE's obsession with Imelda may I mean Christ she's not known outside the Republic borders. :pac:

TBH I'd never heard of her til I saw her on Jools Holland, so RTE had no part in bringing her to my attention anyway.

(Speaking of which if I am watching any NYE tv it'll be Jools and not RTE's usual rubbish.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Good enough for the Jools Holland NYE show last year but a complete non-celeb unknown outside of the Republic's borders when she's on RTE :confused:

Jools' Annual Hootenanny is on BBC 2 at 23:05 on Monday 31st December.

Joining Jools, for his 20th hootenanny and the last to be recorded at BBC Television Centre, is a host of stars from all walks of British life and guest singers sitting in with Jools' Rhythm and Blues Orchestra, including: British recording artist for over 50 years Petula Clark; Emeli Sande; Bobby Womack; Lianne La Havas; Adam Ant; Paloma Faith; The Hives; Bettye LaVette; Kevin Rowland; Jake Bugg; The Dubliners; Roland Gift; Ruby Turner; and the Pipes and Drums of the 1st Battalion Scots Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,446 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

On RTE: ''5...4...3...see you after the ad break.''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Are the acknowledging the new year this year? It's an improvement over other years straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,669 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

hootenany , might be recorded but still the best thing on (unless i go out)

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,659 ✭✭✭irishgeo

is reeling in the years 2012 version on at all?

dont see it listed and i dont see it in the RTE Player if it was shown over the last few night.

irishgeo wrote: »
    is reeling in the years 2012 version on at all?

dont see it listed and i dont see it in the RTE Player if it was shown over the last few night.

Reeling in the Years 1975 in Wed 2nd Jan as a one-off.

I don't quite follow their logic for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

+1 for Jools all the way or else it will be taped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Jools' Annual Hootenanny and the Beeb for the fireworks all the way but we will keep an eye on the RTE offering. I see they are pushing "The Gathering". Can't be any worse than previous years or the Christmas LLS but then again this is RTE we are talking about.

Was in the city centre this morning and they are getting set up for the gig. Some amount of tourists around.

Getting closer now! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Seeing as it is still panto season- Oh yes she is!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Anyone know the name of the woman who sang Auld langs sine at the end of the News on RTÉ 1 just now ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,697 ✭✭✭Lisha

Lapin wrote: »
    Anyone know the name of the woman who sang Auld langs sine at the end of the News on RTÉ 1 just now ?

Was driving me mad too cos I remember it at end of a film. By the wonders of you tube and wiki film was sex and the city and wiki says singers name is mairi Campbell . Just google mairi Campbell and sex n city and there are a few vids on you tube

It is a very hauntingly beautiful version of song

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Hopping between Jools on BBC2 & BBC1 for the fireworks from London - always a spectacular, specially if you have the HiFi plugged into your TV, mind blowing booms & bangs with a great soundtrack too :))

RTE are always such a let down on NYE, but reading between the lines maybe something more intersting will happen this year?

Live firework display at Midnight (RTE1) from the banks of the Liffey would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

I like Imelda May but yeah enough already, she's on RTE the whole bloody time. Saying that I'm amazed Jack L isn't in the lineup for tonight, he's RTE's other go-to artist.

I'lll be watching Jools Holland with a break for the BBC fireworks at midnight....like most other people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭reverenddave

who is that weird git on RTE ONE now ????

I like Imelda May but yeah enough already, she's on RTE the whole bloody time.

Just flicked over and she being interviewed by Miriam. Poor show so far, unsurprisingly. Atmosphere seems flat. Don't mind Imelda at all, she seems sound.

Graham Norton is on the Beeb. Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Is it my TV or is the sound chronic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Wafa

Hopefully Miriam will be able to count tonight unlike the analogue switch off.

Remember to turn over to BBC1 at 11:40pm for the firework show, they seem to get better every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,540 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Guinness should sent a couple of trucks down with free booze, seems pretty dead.

Remember to turn over to BBC1 at 11:40pm for the firework show, they seem to get better every year.

11:05pm on Beeb 2 first for Jools.

Hugh Jackman, Billy Crystal and John Bishop on with Graham Norton.

Tom Cruise was there earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

COYW wrote: »
    Just flicked over and she being interviewed by Miriam. Poor show so far, unsurprisingly. Atmosphere seems flat. Don't mind Imelda at all, she seems sound.

Graham Norton is on the Beeb. Happy days.

Ah yeah, like I said, I like Imelda May, she deserves her success and all that but too much of the same thing isn't good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,979 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Who's yer wan sitting between Bressie and Ardel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

Who is the blond on the panel? She looks so familiar..

Aoibheann Garrihy from Fair City?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Hippo

Good lord this thing on RTE is awful. Why can they never do this properly? Terrible stilted chat with MOC and a rubbish gig. Good times.

More boring tv on rte, disappointed as usual. Well done rte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

God, this is tedious shyte to watch !

Hippo wrote: »
    Terrible stilted chat with MOC and a rubbish gig. Good times.

It is ridiculously flat. I pity people in the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

Total tripe again from RTE.

I'm sorry but I'm just annoyed of what rubbish this is despite rte saying its the "best new year party" and all we get is non-celebs and total bores talking about their non interesting lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭neemish

I'm sorry but I'm just annoyed of what rubbish this is despite rte saying its the "best new year party" and all we get is non-celebs and total bores talking about their non interesting lives.

Try bbc1- havent stopped laughing

neemish wrote: »
    Try bbc1- havent stopped laughing

Oh I totally agree, BBC always set the standard for new years eve tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Flipped over 10/15 mins ago.. some non-entity talking about The Gathering like something more suited to The Frontline... I'm sure I should have known who he is :rolleyes:

Concert on TV in the background.

Back to Graham for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭mrpdap

Unbelievably bad. Watched Dougal and the other two for 2 mins, is that entertainment?
    Thank god for Jools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

whatthe **** is going on.. they did a highlights of 2012 and it included the queen (2011) Obama (2011) and then michaela mcareavey who was snuffed out at least a decade ago..

seriously this is a disgrace..

TV3 are showing the same Graham Norton show as BBC1, but they started 30 minutes later.

So they will be ringing in the New Year at 12.30 :rolleyes:

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Flipped over 10/15 mins ago.. some non-entity talking about The Gathering like something more suited to The Frontline... I'm sure I should have known who he is :rolleyes:

Concert on TV in the background.

Back to Graham for me

These people are so miserable! It's not even funny.

God it's time to complain again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,711 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Skid wrote: »
    TV3 are showing the same Graham Norton show as BBC1, but they started 30 minutes later.

So they will be ringing in the New Year at 12.30 :rolleyes:

Big clue there that maybe the show is not live!;)

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

Neasa, will you marry me?Ii'll promote your dad's Dublin Bay cruises in my signature if you just say yes...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I don't know why RTE can't understand that on New Years Eve, people DO NOT want to watch people sit around and talk, not unless they are incredibly interesting and funny people. (Which this crowd on tonight are certainly not !) And even then, the chat should only be a filler between the music and the craic and the good times, which is what people DO want to see imo. How hard is that to figure out for Gods sake?

I'm so angry this is a DISGRACE

How DARE they broadcast this embarrassment on national television and to a international audience online.

I hope nobody outside these isles has seen this.... :eek: