Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster vs Connacht Saturday 7.45 tg4

• 28-12-2012 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

So none of you could be arsed starting a match thread.

15: Andrew Conway
    14: Fergus McFadden
    13: Brendan Macken
    12: Andrew Goodman
    11: Fionn Carr
    10: Ian Madigan
    9: Isaac Boss

1: Heinke van der Merwe
    2: Aaron Dundon
    3: Michael Bent
    4: Ben Marshall
    5: Devin Toner
    6: Rhys Ruddock
    7: Shane Jennings CAPTAIN
    8: Jordi Murphy

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Sean Cronin
    17: Jack McGrath
    18: Mike Ross
    19: Leo Cullen
    20: Dominic Ryan
    21: John Cooney
    22: Noel Reid
    23: Adam Byrne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

http://www.connachtrugby.ie/20121228...leinster-clash

Connacht XV
    15. Robbie Henshaw
    14. Danie Poolman
    13. Eoin Griffin
    12. Dave McSharry
    11. Matt Healy
    10. Dan Parks
    9. Kieran Marmion
    1. Denis Buckley
    2. Jason Harris-Wright
    3. Nathan White (captain)
    4. Michael Swift
    5. George Naoupu
    6. Andrew Browne
    7. Johnny O’Connor
    8. Eoin McKeon
    Replacements (from):
    16. Ethienne Reynecke
    17. Brett Wilkinson
    18. Ronan Loughney
    19. Mick Kearney
    20. Eoghan Grace
    21. Paul O’Donohoe
    22. Matthew Jarvis
    23. Tiernan O’Halloran

At RDS Dublin, 7.45pm.
    Referee: John Lacey (IRFU, 22nd competition game)
    Assistant Referees: Leo Colgan, Mark Patton (both IRFU)
    Citing Commissioner: Dennis Templeton (IRFU)
    TMO: Jude Quinn (IRFU)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Fishooks13

After Adam Bynre's strong showing last week It's a bit odd that he doesn't start

Fishooks13 wrote: »
    After Adam Bynre's strong showing last week It's a bit odd that he doesn't start

He didn't get on did he?

durkadurka wrote: »
    He didn't get on did he?

Did we ever find out if he did or not?

I was joking btw, just a reference to Ak. saying he got MOTM on the match thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Ah I was thinking about it but you're right, couldn't be arsed!

Pity McCarthy isn't playing, he'll never get to enjoy beating Leinster again :D;)

Leinster 1/18 with PP for this, Connacht +15 on the handicap - crazy odds IMO considering the last few meetings, and the teams selected.
    Head says Leinster by a score, but have a sneaking feeling we might do the double this year. Just got tickets today, bring it on! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Match day write up of the year imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Zzippy wrote: »
    Leinster 1/18 with PP for this, Connacht +15 on the handicap - crazy odds IMO considering the last few meetings, and the teams selected.
    Head says Leinster by a score, but have a sneaking feeling we might do the double this year. Just got tickets today, bring it on! :D

Those are absolutely mental odds. Leinster are still better on paper but that's been our whole problem this season, not getting near our potential.

.ak wrote: »
    Match day write of the year imo.

Another example of Leinster arrogance. You're not satisfied stealing our best players, now you're stealing our best writers... :p :pac:

.ak wrote: »
    Match day write of the year imo.

I have young kids. I haven't got the time that some of the people on here have to be writing voluminous tomes on a feckin rabo game!

Oh alright then.
    Patchwork Leinster side with loads of 'just in case' quality on the bench seek to get season back on track and prevent Connacht doing the double.
    Damn you Irfu with your player management and training camp.
    Comes a week too soon for Luke, EOM.
    Big derby crowd .... Old scores to settle.... Mike McCarthy robbed from us yada yada yada.
    Leinster by a score.

Edit: on a personal note looking forward to having a good look at McSharry - we went to the same hotbed of schools rugby: the mighty Templeogue.

So, is JHW pretty much the first-choice hooker at Connacht now?

Expecting a very disjointed performance from that Leinster side but hopefully we can click to a decent extent, might need some of those forwards on the bench to close it out though.

Question; did Denton get injured in the last A game? Or is he just not up to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Very exited to see Conway at 15. I'm sure we'll see some erratic play from him, but it's where he's plied his trade at underage level and 'A' level. Hopefully he opts for the running option more often than the low kick and chase.

Should be interesting to see Conway at 15 alright. It's where he played most of the rugby that made him his name as a red hot prospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

I'd expect Parks to launch ball up onto Conway and Carr.

Henshaw and Conway contesting in the air should be a mismatch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Donald Coyle

Edit: on a personal note looking forward to having a good look at McSharry - we went to the same hotbed of schools rugby: the mighty Templeogue.

Come... on... you... Superhoops!

"All the way back 'logue"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

I'd expect Parks to launch ball up onto Conway and Carr.

Henshaw and Conway contesting in the air should be a mismatch

Hopefully he does it sparingly. We thrashed Leinster and beat Biarritz by keeping the ball in hand. The last few games have seen tonnes of aimless kicking and bad up-and-unders and we have a losing BP against Munster to show for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Was thinking of going tonight. Spar in Donybrook sold out, and tickets not available on Ticketmaster. Would anyone have any advice/suggestions? Thanks

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Was thinking of going tonight. Spar in Donybrook sold out, and tickets not available on Ticketmaster. Would anyone have any advice/suggestions? Thanks

If you go to the tickets section on Leinster website, they have a facility where season ticket holders can sell unwanted match tix, you could try that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭ouncer

agree, the connacht up and under is gone beyond a joke.

Game appears to be a sellout. Quite surprising given how the team is going these days, and the xv we've put out .

Looking forward to it now.

Leinster men, your help is needed. Have tickets for the North Stand (unreserved seating). How early does one need to get there to be able to get 2 decent seats together?

Ten minutes before!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,114 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

You're better off further up to the back. Better view and all the kids tend to congregate up front. 10 minutes shouldbe ample

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

with the XV's selected lets hope connacht show up in the RDS.
    If they do this could be a cracker!
    connacht abu!
    generally dont turn up away from home with an IRFU ref and on the box!
    now it starts already!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I know Henshaw and Marimon have been getting great plaudits this year for their breakthrough, but young No.8 McKeon had been a fecking revelation!! Such an exciting player- just needs be bit more discipline on the field..

Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't Conway FB for the Irish u20 team?

We don't seem to have the same mental block when playing Leinster, home or away (should have won in RDS last year only to collapse 2nd half), so am quietly confident of getting a LBP.. The can's are cooling- monta fooook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

wprathead wrote: »
    I know Henshaw and Marimon have been getting great plaudits this year for their breakthrough, but young No.8 McKeon had been a fecking revelation!! Such an exciting player- just needs be bit more discipline on the field..

We don't seem to have the same mental block when playing Leinster, home or away (should have won in RDS last year only to collapse 2nd half), so am quietly confident of getting a LBP.. The can's are cooling- monta fooook
    Personally I remember his starts in 10/11 and I was disappointed like hell that he didn't get more opportunities after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

wprathead wrote: »

In his first season on the U20 side, yes. In his second year, TOH, Mikey Sherlock and Gilroy generally played there and Conway was moved to the wing.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

f1dan wrote: »
    Hopefully he does it sparingly. We thrashed Leinster and beat Biarritz by keeping the ball in hand. The last few games have seen tonnes of aimless kicking and bad up-and-unders and we have a losing BP against Munster to show for it.

Could you remind me what was the Leinster starting 15 again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Higher wrote: »
    Could you remind me what was the Leinster starting 15 again ;)

Happily
    R Kearney; F McFadden, B Macken, G D’Arcy, F Carr; I Madigan, J Cooney; H van der Merwe, T Sexton, J Hagan; Q Roux, T Denton; B Marshall, S Jennings (c), L Auva’a.
    Replacements: S Cronin, C Healy, M Ross, D Toner, J Murphy, L McGrath, N Reid, Isa Nacewa.

• Anybody got any season tix they're not using for this one? Heading back to UK tomorrow and want to head with Pops, but he gave his tix away!

(sob story)

3rd choice 13, 5th choice wing, 2nd choice 10, third choice 9, 3rd choice hooker, third choice tighthead, 4th choice second row, 5th choice second row, 6th choice 6, third choice 8

Not exactly a Leinster first team..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Anybody got any season tix they're not using for this one? Heading back to UK tomorrow and want to head with Pops, but he gave his tix away!

(sob story)

Two north stand tickets available on the Leinster Ticket Exchange still.

There's a fair few floating around twitter.

Have a look at @olscrugby timeline or else get onto the fan ticket exchange thingy .

Madigan is in the lineup mate...

EDIT : Ninja edit by fishooks :D

• sound lads!

3rd choice 13, 5th choice wing, 2nd choice 10, third choice 9, 3rd choice hooker, third choice tighthead, 4th choice second row, 5th choice second row, 6th choice 6, third choice 8

Not exactly a Leinster first team..

Well if you wanted to win it ye should have picked a better team! Excuses... :rolleyes:

Zzippy wrote: »
    Well if you wanted to win it ye should have picked a better team! Excuses... :rolleyes:

I don't think we were able to because of IRFU player welfare scheme :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

North Stand, represent.

Looking forward to this one, both backlines are "interesting" to say the least. I can see McSharry having a belter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

I don't think we were able to because of IRFU player welfare scheme :)

Seriously will you just get over yourself, Connacht thrashed the Leinster team that was put in front of them, end of

And by the way your IRFU welfare system hardly covered the second row and back rows

d-gal wrote: »
    Seriously will you just get over yourself, Connacht thrashed the Leinster team that was put in front of them, end of

And by the way your IRFU welfare system hardly covered the second row and back rows

The IRFU welfare scheme didn't affect the backrow???

McLaughlin, Heaslip and SOB (although he was injured anyway) would have been out.

All I'm saying is that the team included 4th/5th/6th string players. I found it odd that someone could praise the tactics of thrashing Leinster when it was such a weak team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭smallgarden

n/a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭chancer12

is the match available online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭littleman

sorry if this isnt allowed but anyone know any good streams as the other half doesnt have tg4.(i know ko isnt till 7.45)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

littleman wrote: »
    sorry if this isnt allowed but anyone know any good streams as the other half doesnt have tg4.(i know ko isnt till 7.45)
    There is a thread specifically for stream requests

Regarding the game Jennings is sick, Ryan starts and Aauva comes onto the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭littleman

cheers thanks

Well Ruddock-Ryan-Murphy

future Leinster backrow?

Jennings out is a big loss to our leadership.

Interesting back row out now alright.

Have no idea what's going to happen in this game tbh, we're a thrown together team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

So who'll be captain now? Boss? Ruddock has done it before

Boss I'd presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

The IRFU welfare scheme didn't affect the backrow???

McLaughlin, Heaslip and SOB (although he was injured anyway) would have been out.

All I'm saying is that the team included 4th/5th/6th string players. I found it odd that someone could praise the tactics of thrashing Leinster when it was such a weak team.

If you want to go down that road we were missing reynecke, duffy and muldoon and were playing a couple of academy players also.

Connacht beat Leinster (quite handsomely) on the day. Moaning about players being missing or saying that we shouldn't praise our performance reeks of sour grapes.

Hopefully we can do the same tonight ;)