Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster 15 - Playing for Other Clubs

• 28-12-2012 3:47pm
    Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭

Hey guys, wondering if you can help me with something. Trying to put together a Leinster 15 of Leinster produced players playing outside of Leinster..Struggling with a few positions and if anyone has better players than those I have who I've forgetten about...

1.Buckley
    2.Harris-Wright
    3.Royce Burke-Flynn (he still playing?)
    4.Kearney
    5.Alan O'Connor
    6.Copeland
    7.Ronan
    9.POD
    10.Keatley
    11.Morris
    12.McSharry
    13.Murphy
    14.Artmiyev
    15.Jones

Don't know if its possible to do bench but theres Healy, Downey, probably a few others??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Glass Prison 1214

Royce Burke-Flynn is back living in Dublin playing AIL

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

O.K so need a tighthead and an 8....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

RBF is back playing in Clontarf. Can sub in Ruaidhri Murphy for him. Eoin Sherrif of Saracens played a good bit in the back row, if moving Copeland to 8.

Shane Monahan is starting for Gloucester these days on the wing too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Glass Prison 1214

Michael Noone is a number 8 playing for Leicester

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Trying to understand what qualifies as a Leinster player for this

Buckley, AFAIK, went to a Leinster school but he's from Connacht, is it by dint of going to a leinster school or club that qualifies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

freyners wrote: »

Buckley, AFAIK, went to a Leinster school but he's from Connacht, is it by dint of going to a leinster school or club that qualifies?

Buckley is very tenuous, although he did represent Leinster at underage level.

A better one would probably be Ruaidhri Murphy who was in the Leinster Academy. You can probably put Eamonn Sheridan and Kyle Tonetti in there somewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

1. Shane Cahill (Rotherham Titans)(Buckley hardly counts)
    2. Jason Harris-Wright (Connacht)
    3. Brian McGovern (Doncaster Knights)
    4. Eoin Sheriff (Saracens)
    5. Mick Kearney (Connacht)(Though I'm not sure he counts)
    6. Robin Copeland (Cardiff Blues)
    7. Niall Ronan (Munster)
    8. Michael Noone (Leicester)
    9. Cillian Willis (Sale Sharks)
    10. Ian Keatley (Munster)
    11. Michael Keating (Doncaster Knights)
    12. Dave McSharry (Connacht)
    13. Kyle Tonetti (Connacht)
    14. Niall Morris (Leicester)
    15. Felix Jones (Munster)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

I would only view someone as a former Leinster "player" if they spent at least 2 years at the Leinster academy.

So I'm fairly certain a lot of the 14 named above wouldn't count for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Profiler wrote: »

I would only view someone as a former Leinster "player" if they spent at least 2 years at the Leinster academy.

So I'm fairly certain a lot of the 14 named above wouldn't count for me.

I am open to correction but McSharry was never contracted at academy for Leinster. He did play one or two development/try out games for them but I believe that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

McSharry never played a game for Leinster
    Denis Buckley only played Leinster schools by virtue of the fact he went to Blackrock (i think). He was 3 years in the Connacht academy
    Mick Kearney was sub academy and never played a first team game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I am open to correction but McSharry was never contracted at academy for Leinster. He did play one or two development/try out games for them but I believe that's all.
    He was in the subacademy for a season (possibly two not sure) but suffered injuries and was let go. He then played a season in the AIL with UCD and Connacht picked him up on the basis of it.

• Site Banned Posts: 157 ✭✭yougottagoboy

Id say a Leinster player by these parameters is someone who played a good deal of their rugby in the province or in the system. McSharry and Kearney were both sub academy and played all their rugby all the way up in the province for Templeogue and Mount Temple/Clontarf respectively. Buckley played Leinster 18s and 19s as well as winning a Senior Cup medal but is from Connacht so call him how you will. That's how I see things anyway.

Peter Reilly, Connacht
    Ruaidhri Murphy, Brumbies
    Al O'Connor, Ulster
    James Hart, Grenoble
    Ross Jones, Ospreys
    Foster Horan was with London Irish but think he's back now
    Barry Daly was in Munster but he's back now

Id say a Leinster player by these parameters is someone who played a good deal of their rugby in the province or in the system. McSharry and Kearney were both sub academy and played all their rugby all the way up in the province for Templeogue and Mount Temple/Clontarf respectively. Buckley played Leinster 18s and 19s as well as winning a Senior Cup medal but is from Connacht so call him how you will. That's how I see things anyway.

Buckley did 3 years in the Connacht academy before this year, so he was essentially a Connacht player since he was 18. He's also from Roscommon and played his underage rugby with Creggs

Sean Henry and Cathal Sheridan have Munster development contracts but came through the Connacht academy and are from Sligo. Connacht fans don't go on about them being Connacht born and bred players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Sean Henry and Cathal Sheridan have Munster development contracts but came through the Connacht academy and are from Sligo. Connacht fans don't go on about them being Connacht born and bred players.

And that's the end of this thread.

Would've been better to bring up the topic in the Leinster Team Talk thread me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Fishooks13

This thread is a bet self satisfying. As Hagz said, would be better in the Leinster superthread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

6 former Leinster players in the Connacht 22 for tomorrow Porterbelly.
    Disgrace so it is. ;)

Dave Gannon is another player playing outside the province

6 former Leinster players in the Connacht 22 for tomorrow Porterbelly.
    Disgrace so it is. ;)

who are you counting? Because there are 7 who have represented Leinster at any level

I count 8 :D:D

McSharry Healy Buckley JHW White Kearney POD TOH

Personally I wouldn't count TOH or Buckley

I count 8 :D:D

McSharry Healy Buckley JHW White Kearney POD TOH

Personally I wouldn't count TOH or Buckley

very well spotted forgot about O'Halloran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 yobbo

Buckley did 3 years in the Connacht academy before this year, so he was essentially a Connacht player since he was 18. He's also from Roscommon and played his underage rugby with Creggs

Neither Sean Henry or Cathal Sheridan ever made Connacht academy. They played underage for Connacht but were never on the academy. They then went to college in Limerick and played for UL before being picked up by Munster

yobbo wrote: »
    Neither Sean Henry or Cathal Sheridan ever made Connacht academy. They played underage for Connacht but were never on the academy. They then went to college in Limerick and played for UL before being picked up by Munster

There was shag all funding for the academy back them so there was only about 6/7 players paid.

They played u18/19/20's for Connacht and came through the underage system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

There was shag all funding for the academy back them so there was only about 6/7 players paid.

Mad wasn't it. Buckley told me that they're was only one other lad offered full time with him when he joined the academy and that lads were told to put their lives on hold for a year so Connacht could put them through the next year.

Crazy stuff. And people were giving out that we weren't producing players. It just shows that over the last 3 years, the funding has been place for a proper academy system and now there's an abundance of talent coming through. If it was in place 10 years ago when it should have been we wouldn't be lagging so far behind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 yobbo

Did not mean to jump at you and sorry if it came across that way.

It is true the academy was not as well developed as it is now. From doing a bit of research the academy the year Henry and Sheridan were in Connacht consisted of Andrew Browne, Aidan Wynne (playing with Belvedere after being released last year), Sean Carey (playing with lansdowne) as the first year recruits.

1.Buckely
    2.Harris-Wright
    3.Murphy
    4.Kearney
    5.Sheriff
    6.Coopeland
    7.Ronan
    8.Noone
    9.POD
    10.Keatley
    11.Morris
    12.McSharry
    13.Murphy
    14.Armtiyev
    15.Jones

16.????
    17.Reilly
    18.O'Connor
    19.Gannon
    20.Willis
    21. Tonetti
    22.Downey

Right guys just need another hooker......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

...how in JAYSUS sake are ye counting TOH as a former Leinster player? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

James Downey at 12 also.

wprathead wrote: »
    ...how in JAYSUS sake are ye counting TOH as a former Leinster player? :confused:

He went to the horse show in the RDS one year

I'm not. I could seeing as hes a Leinster schools player but I didn't because Connacht fans would explode.

Fishooks13 wrote: »
    He went to the horse show in the RDS one year

fishooks I didn't include him but you should have a look at where the school where he played all his rugby is located.....Leinster. Produced by Leinster school's coaches who get regularly training from the Leinster rugby branch. Played in the Leinster school's cup. Played with Leinster youths. Not a stretch at all. Although I'm being nice by not including him

Higher wrote: »
    fishooks I didn't include him but you should have a look at where the school where he played all his rugby is located.....Leinster. Produced by Leinster school's coaches who get regularly training from the Leinster rugby branch. Played in the Leinster school's cup. Played with Leinster youths. Not a stretch at all. Although I'm being nice by not including him

I think I might have been joking

Lads anyone know of another hooker plying his trade abroad??

He played for Leinster U18 Schools team.
    http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/1233.php

Played with Connemara since u-8's, played junior schools for Garbally, played AIL for Galwegians, part of Connacht Academy
    He played for Leinster U18 Schools team.
    http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/1233.php

fair enough didn't know that- but still don't see how that could be justification for claiming he was a Product of Leinster- which in fairness Higher didn't do

Lads anyone know of another hooker plying his trade abroad??

Brian Blaney with LI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Geordan Murphy.

Played with Connemara since u-8's, played junior schools for Garbally, played AIL for Galwegians, part of Connacht Academy

fair enough didn't know that- but still don't see how that could be justification for claiming he was a Product of Leinster- which in fairness Higher didn't do

In fairness he played his most important development years, 11-18 in the Leinster system. Then went onto Leinster youths.

Like I said, I didn't include him, but you could see the argument for someone who considers him Leinster produced.

I'd consider him Leinster-Connacht produced. Playing in the Leinster schools cup is MASSIVE for every players development. The Leinster schools have some fantastic coaches regularly trained by Leinster branch.

Geordan Murphy.

Jesus christ, what a massive one to miss!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Jesus christ, what a massive one to miss!!!
    He's only a 'kinda' too. Went to leicester straight after school.

1.Buckely
    2.Harris-Wright
    3.Murphy
    4.Kearney
    5.Sheriff
    6.Coopeland
    7.Ronan
    8.Noone
    9.POD
    10.Keatley
    11.Morris
    12.McSharry
    13.Murphy
    14.Armtiyev
    15.Jones

16.????
    17.Reilly
    18.O'Connor
    19.Gannon
    20.Willis
    21. Tonetti
    22.Downey

Right guys just need another hooker......

1.Buckley
    2.Harris-Wright
    3.Ruardhri Murphy
    4.Kearney
    5.Sheriff
    6.Coopeland
    7.Ronan
    8.Noone
    9.POD
    10.Keatley
    11.Felix Jones
    12.McSharry
    13.Murphy
    14.Niall Morris
    15.Geordan Murphy

16.Blaney
    17.Reilly
    18.O'Connor
    19.Gannon
    20.Willis
    21.Tonetti
    22.Armitayev
    23.Downey

BOOM! 23 man squad. Backline is actually pretty good!

durkadurka wrote: »
    He's only a 'kinda' too. Went to leicester straight after school.

Went to college in Waterford and was playing college and club rugby. Didn't get selected for Leinster quickly enough and Tigers pinched him before Leinster woke up to his potential.

In fairness he played his most important development years, 11-18 in the Leinster system. Then went onto Leinster youths.

Like I said, I didn't include him, but you could see the argument for someone who considers him Leinster produced.

I'd consider him Leinster-Connacht produced. Playing in the Leinster schools cup is MASSIVE for every players development. The Leinster schools have some fantastic coaches regularly trained by Leinster branch.

I'll compromise and say Connacht-Leinster produced:pac:
    No denying that Leinster schools have great coaches

GerM wrote: »
    Went to college in Waterford and was playing college and club rugby. Didn't get selected for Leinster quickly enough and Tigers pinched him before Leinster woke up to his potential.

Incredible when you think about it, for a period the guy was one of the best 15s in the world in my opinion. A very short period but a period nonetheless

Indeed. Leinster were very sloppy in their operations. Murphy was definitely being noticed in some circles in Irish rugby. He was capped a few times by the U19 Ireland side in 1997 of which Jim Glennon was team manager who was involved with Leinster. He surely would have seen Murphy playing with Naas before Leicester made their approach. Bit of a waste but, I suppose, it worked out better for all involved. If GM signed up with Leinster it would have meant one of GM, Darce, Hickie or Dempsey being left out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Higher wrote:

he didnt go to roscrea till 4th year so your years are a bit out

No worries, I didn't include him but still played a substantial portion of his rugby developement years in the Leinster system.

He went to Roscrea and as Its Phil who went to Roscrea will tell you, the only coaches who come to do sessions with the players are from Connacht. In all his time there he said not once did a Leinster coach of any kind come down.

The Connacht academy coaches were there practically every week checking up on TOH and the likes.

He went to Roscrea and as Its Phil who went to Roscrea will tell you, the only coaches who come to do sessions with the players are from Connacht. In all his time there he said not once did a Leinster coach of any kind come down.

The Connacht academy coaches were there practically every week checking up on TOH and the likes.

Weird how he played for Leinster youths first then?

I mean with all the Connacht coahces there you'd wonder why they didn't pick him up first ;)

its Phil was talking waffle. All schools in Leinster rugby have their coaches trained by the Leinster branch.