Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enda Kenny's blubbering and self-abuse

• 24-12-2012 06:18PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Anyone else see his graveside chatter at McEntee's funeral? At one point he punched his own head and then started blubbering like a child. I mean I know the chap died and he'd have known him but jaysus could he not hold himself. Perhaps feeling a bit of guilt himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

People cry at funerals.. shocking but true.

There's plenty that Kenny etc can be criticised about; resorting to this sort of nonsense is just stupid though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭whippet

I know ... Shock horror someone getting emotional at a friend and colleagues funeral ..... Some observers just have no humanity like the sentiments of the OPs post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

I thought the thump to the head was a bit much!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

People cry at funerals

Yeah.

I am aware. But this guy is our leader and I know he can get sad as well as the next but a bit more professionalism wouldn't go amiss.

Seems as though he was looking for some sympathy - "ah look Enda is a nice guy".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Didn't see it, was it heartfelt or maybe playing up to the cameras?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

Neeson wrote: »
    Anyone else see his graveside chatter at McEntee's funeral? At one point he punched his own head and then started blubbering like a child. I mean I know the chap died and he'd have known him but jaysus could he not hold himself. Perhaps feeling a bit of guilt himself.

Well in fairness by the look of things, Kenny had an awful lot of respect for the man. The guy only became a TD for the first time 7 years ago and was already a minister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

He was called wooden for years and years before he became Taoiseach

Now he shows a bit of emotion and there is still complaining

Bertie never had to put up with all this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,716 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

FFS he knew Shane McEntee very well and was very upset.

Nice to see him show some emotion like a normal human being would. He's not the bloody queen.

Senna wrote: »
    Didn't see it, was it heartfelt or maybe playing up to the cameras?

I thought it was a bit played. That's what I'm saying though obviously people will go all over me for being critical of someone crying at a funeral. This chap won't even do a right TV interview yet takes the opportunity to show his emotional side at a funeral.

• I hope you never have to attend the funeral of a friend of yours who has taken their own life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Anyone else see his graveside chatter at McEntee's funeral? At one point he punched his own head
    micar wrote: »
    I thought the thump to the head was a bit much!!!!!!!

Where can I see this thump to the head?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No comments as to how anyone behaves at a funeral. Thats their business and should stay that way.

What concerns me is that on the back of this mans sad passing is that Kenny and co will (and have already) use the death of the man to try see in further restrictions on what can be said in the media, on the internet and /or by those commenting to live shows and read out.

On top of the antics of Alan Shatter already trying to stop the media/people exposing the TD's that are possibly bad for various reasons (see HERE)- and those reasons exposed - TD's across three main parties will jump on the bandwagon and go along then with any other restrictions brought in which might see their antics (by side-effect) being less exposed - a win for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

I thought it was a bit played. That's what I'm saying though obviously people will go all over me for being critical of someone crying at a funeral. This chap won't even do a right TV interview yet takes the opportunity to show his emotional side at a funeral.

I think your being a bit harsh what ever way you look at it. A friend of his just died. I think when friends die by suicide it is a massive shock and can be hard to maintain composure at a funeral.

I hope you never have to attend the funeral of a friend of yours who has taken their own life.

I cry. Enda can cry all he wants but I think he could tug himself together a bit more is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

He should cry a few tears for ordinary people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

You sir are an idiot...

You'd probably complain if he showed no emotion then???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I was waiting for a post like this. It's this kind of inhumanity that lead to the events of last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

mikemac1 wrote: »
    He was called wooden for years and years before he became Taoiseach

Now he shows a bit of emotion and there is still complaining

Bertie never had to put up with all this

True and even Cowen didn't get the abuse that Enda now receives.

I think your being a bit harsh what ever way you look at it. A friend of his just died. I think when friends die by suicide it is a massive shock and can be hard to maintain composure at a funeral.

Especially when your actions contribute to the suicide.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

A funeral for someone you know well is an incredibly upsetting event, whether you are an ordinary joe soap or the taoiseach. Even being asked to read a reading or prayer at the service can be very difficult. Have a bit of compassion for him.

0O7 wrote: »

You sir are an idiot...

You'd probably complain if he showed no emotion then???

No. I am not an idiot.

I mean he can have some emotion but the way he was going had he been up there any longer his suit would be soaking wet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Red Alert wrote: »
    Even being asked to read a reading or prayer at the service can be very difficult. Have a bit of compassion for him.

Must have been tough on him without a teleprompter.

No. I am not an idiot.

I mean he can have some emotion but the way he was going had he been up there any longer his suit would be soaking wet.

I don't like the man - but enough please.
    I ask kindly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

No. I am not an idiot.

I've heard enough. Welcome to my ignore list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

It's Christmas Eve and a person (allegedly) killed themselves over torrades of abuse posted at them online - again.

Using the above context to launch an assault on someone - however incompetent you may perceive them to be - is nothing short of grossly insensitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭QuiteInterestin

What were the media even doing in the graveyard in the first place? His family and friends should be left to grieve in peace and not have to worry about how they should appear on camera.

Biggins wrote: »

I don't like the man - but enough please.
    I ask kindly.

You don't like me or Enda?! I'm not a bad guy and I'm sure Enda is a fine chap in his own company. Don't hate me for flinging his grief a tad exaggerated.

syklops wrote: »

I've heard enough. Welcome to my ignore list.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

No. I am not an idiot.

So bloody what? Are you his dry-cleaner?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Proof please????

Thats a very serious accusation to make

What were the media even doing in the graveyard in the first place? His family and friends should be left to grieve in peace and not have to worry about how they should appear on camera.

Indeed.
    A final moment with their loved one and a camera lens is pointed at them still.
    Just not good is all that can be said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 WeNeed Another General Election

People cry at funerals.. shocking but true.

There's plenty that Kenny etc can be criticised about; resorting to this sort of nonsense is just stupid though.

I found it a bit sickening to be honest, to me it was car crash crocodile tears

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

No. I am not an idiot.

You are an idiot and a troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

He should cry a few tears for ordinary people
    Shane McEntee was an ordinary person.

paddy147 wrote: »

Proof please????

Thats a very serious accusation to make

Why are they saying he killed himself?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Jesus, he was at the funeral of a friend, delivering an oration and got upset.

I don't think the cameras should have been there in the first place, but I thought Enda delivered a nice tribute and if he found it upsetting and let his emotions show that's no one else's business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 WeNeed Another General Election

Yeah.

I am aware. But this guy is our leader and I know he can get sad as well as the next but a bit more professionalism wouldn't go amiss.

Seems as though he was looking for some sympathy - "ah look Enda is a nice guy".

and it has worked wonders with a certain section of society too i bet

pity he couldn't show as much emotion when it comes to making correct and just decisions for the good of the whole country!! This country has turned into some freak show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

dvpower wrote: »
    Shane McEntee was an ordinary person.

on his salary?

Why are they saying he killed himself?

No one knows why he actually took his own life.

Yet you seem to know exactly who is responsible and can make very serious accusations against a member here.

I seem to know a lot of things. I never said why he went out to the shed. The media seem to say the abuse he was getting may have contributed.

You have just ACCUSED A MEMBER here of a very serious accusation.

WHY???

^^^^^^^
    What proof do you have that allows you you accuse a specific boards member??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I found it a bit sickening to be honest, to me it was car crash crocodile tears

A friend of his was been buried ffs.. it's not a reality tv skit or a government debate.

People are gonna draw their own conclusions on whatever the man does, be it how he brushes his teeth in the morning or how he shows his sorrow at a close friends funeral. There are times when conclusions should remain your own however.

Posted just for clarity, it seems the man was deeply effected by personal abuse he got from others, directly targeted at him especially.

See here for example: http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1224/shane-mcentee.html

How anyone behaves at a funeral is frankly none of my business and I should never dare comment on such people at such a private, sensitive moment.

You have just ACCUSED A MEMBER here of a very serious accusation.

WHY???

What proof do you have that allows you you accuse a specific boards member??????

I don't know what you're on about sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

on his salary?
    Yes, even on his salary he was an ordinary man. I think its pretty obvious that his high salary didn't make him immune from ordinary pressures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

This is one of the downsides of the modern world, everyone thinks they're Sigmund Freud or Desmond Morris

here's a good article on the point I'm making

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/oct/08/amanda-knox-facial-expressions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

And this is the kind of ****e that put me off boards for about a year.

A friends funeral is hard, it being at christmas is harder, no matter if you're a political leader, or Paddy Average.

G'lack AH, I doubt I'll be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Terrible thread. OP should be disgusted with himself. Considering what happened in Donegal recently and now this event is there really a need for this thread?

I don't know what you're on about sir.

^^^^^

So you didnt post this to another member a few minutes ago???

^^^^^

So you didnt post this to another member a few minutes ago???

Em, yeah!

I think you read that one literally. Anyway...