Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meaning of the word "cute".

• 23-12-2012 5:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭

Just thought I'd throw this out there. Are you in the camp that thinks cute means small and furry, or do you think it means sly while being falsely nice, and are you male or female?

I'm male, I always thought it meant sly, as in cute hoor. I never understood the other type of cute until my fiance explained it to me a few years ago.

Meaning of the word "cute" 80 votes

Male, I think it means small and furry
    0%
    Male, I think it means sly and devious while being falsely nice
    58%
    tony 2 toneSandTuskySpeartoxofR0otfearcruachGLaDOSPrincess Consuela BananahammockBlowfishNultyfergpieshockwavetigger123scullerskyW.Shakes-BeerIwasfrozenRHJFanadMantonycascarino 47 votes
    Female, I think it means small and furry
    13%
    tuxymatthew80ph0rce0stoneillReekwindericsinjunDuckworth_Luasnewmugwashman3mikemac1petersburg2002 11 votes
    Female, I think it means sly and devious while being falsely nice
    27%
    Innervisionnibtrixlindteecandy-gal1Aoifey!NamlubjudgefudgeLenaClaireDarkgingerdansleventrorrisseySunny DayzPawpad666dvetLishapixielblueturniplittleteapot_coinin_Eriopis 22 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I'm a guy. Cute to me means attractive in a wholesome kind of way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

When a woman comments on your penis by saying "awwhh it's so cute", she means it's small...

:'(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

I don't think the meaning differs between the two genders. The meaning of the word is defined by the tone in which it is used.

"AAAwww he's so cute."
    "Cute fecker."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Shryke wrote: »
    I'm a guy. Cute to me means attractive in a wholesome kind of way.

So of those two options, you would be the small and furry type, not the sly one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

Language is fluid, ever changing.

As for cute, it means BOTH delightfully/pretty as well as clever/shrewd.

As for what a word means, if you put another word after it, ie. "hoor" of course that will change it's meaning.

I don't think the meaning differs between the two genders. The meaning of the word is defined by the tone in which it is used.

"AAAwww he's so cute."
    "Cute fecker."

Yeah but generally, I find that people either use one definition or the other. You wouldn't find aul farmers discussing how "cute" the neighbour is, also talking about how "cute" a kitten is.

And now Shryke has pointed out a third meaning, attractive. AAAARRRGHHH!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Cute comes from the French verb cutier, which roughly translates as 'to rub one's nose in sh!t'. In olden times if you saw someone you fancied you rubbed there nose with horse manure, you cutiered them. Nowadays rubbing horsedung in someone's face is not a nice thing to do so 'to be cute' has taken on a more negative meaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

< 90º

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Ava_e

I'm a girl, I think of cute as a small furry thing.

But

When guys are offended by a female calling you cute, don't be. Cute is somtimes our way of saying I want you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The first one, although not nessecarily "furry". I´ve head kids being referred to as cute before, but "furry" would be an insult me things.

Cute, as in devious or sly, I think is more Irish slang.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

When I've ever been called cute I've always felt that it's a tad patronising. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

Ava_e wrote: »

When guys are offended by a female calling you cute, don't be. Cute is somtimes our way of saying I want you.
    I always thought the complete opposite.

When they call you "cute", it was their condescending way of insinuating that they do not want to be ridden by you but by the Liverpool tracksuit, nike airmax wearing knacker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Words can have two meanings you know.

I always thought the complete opposite.

When they call you "cute", it was their condescending way of insinuating that they do not want to be ridden by you but by the Liverpool tracksuit, nike airmax wearing knacker!

Well then she would be a cute hoor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Jebus it just gets worse by the hour.

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    < 90º

Thats Acute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

newmug wrote: »
    Thats Acute

Both right and obtuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I'm a girl, I think of cute as a small furry thing.

But

I get called cute a lot by my female friends and I just think to myself "please stop. I'm not four years of age!" :(

It just goes over my head now while they still find it amusing to call me cute. If I call them cute they get very bad about it, which I find just as amusing! :D

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I get called cute a lot by my female friends and I just think to myself "please stop. I'm not four years of age!" :(

It just goes over my head now while they still find it amusing to call me cute. If I call them cute they get very bad about it, which I find just as amusing! :D

Embrace it man, cute guys rock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Embrace it man, cute guys are good.

*shudders*, *clenches teeth while faking a smile* :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

When a woman comments on your penis by saying "awwhh it's so cute", she means it's small...

:'(

Or maybe her gee is of equal dimensions to a wizard's sleeve!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭Sarn

I know what you mean OP, the women in work tell me I'm hot but my body temperature is perfectly normal. :confused:

On the other hand none of the men have told me this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Sarn wrote: »
    I know what you mean OP, the women in work tell me I'm hot but my body temperature is perfectly normal. :confused:

It must be tough being called hot, I'm always being called cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Sarn wrote: »

Well of course that makes sense, cold and hot are relative terms and women's external body temperature tends to be colder than men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

"AAAwww he's so cute."
    "Cute fecker."

Wellsaid, like so many things it's all about the context.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

There are two meanings of 'cute'

There's 'Sligo-cute' and 'Dublin-cute'

'Dublin-cute' is "Awwwww look at that puppy"

'Sligo-cute' is "I wanna ride ya!"

The difference in dialect is because Sligo is closer to America.

Hope that helps! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

A Cute Whore From Cavan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Cute hoorism. I love that term. It could only exist in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It means both, entirely depending on context.
    Why so many people insist that some multi-purpose words have only one "correct" context is beyond me. It's a bit like how "mean" can be someone who's unkind, or someone who's stingy with cash. So many people I know attach only one of the aforementioned definitions to the word and find it actually annoying when someone uses it the other way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Where To wrote: »
    Cute comes from the French verb cutier, which roughly translates as 'to rub one's nose in sh!t'. In olden times if you saw someone you fancied you rubbed there nose with horse manure, you cutiered them. Nowadays rubbing horsedung in someone's face is not a nice thing to do so 'to be cute' has taken on a more negative meaning.

http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSxuWqqyTZKQElrQm7BfBSigeypy2Tesp3z7QkKxTf5U6o1uUOC

I'd automatically think cute=sly. But yes, in recent years, the other meaning has come into use far more than it used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Why so many people insist that some multi-purpose words have only one "correct" context is beyond me. It's a bit like how "mean" can be someone who's unkind, or someone who's stingy with cash.
    That was the best example you could come up with?? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

How in anyway could cute be anything to do with being sly? It doesn't even make sense.

'She's so cute' 'Don't say that about her, she's my friend'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

When I've ever been called cute I've always felt that it's a tad patronising. :cool:

Aw cutchie cutchie coo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Cute in reference to animals= small and furry;
    Cute when talking about babies= Lies. Babies are fugly;
    Cute guys= You look like the kind of man I can talk to about the bad boy who broke my heart and while I am crying on your shoulder, I just might let you get a leg over. <---Was that the correct Irishism?
    Cute girls= Fresh faced bitches who will steal your man.

You're welcome.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Bishop_Donal

Words can have two meanings you know.

Like 'Box'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

A cute girl can also be somone who is good lucking in a wholesome way, but doesn't neccesarily come across as compeltely sasssy. Not a bad thing, varying levels and all that jazzz.

Ficheall wrote: »
    That was the best example you could come up with?? :pac:

Stop being so mean to him!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 187 ✭✭supackofidiots

if you're a guy cute means that the nines will talk to you, but only the fours will go home with you! ;)