Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday 22nd December (Ladbroke)

• 22-12-2012 11:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭

The big question is will the race take place! Still raining at Ascot as we speak and the clerk of the course is very concerned as the ground is already on the heavy side.

Who ya got?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

Cause of Causes e/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

if it goes ahead

RATTAN 16/1 PRINCETON PLAINS 25/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

I've went for the kill early. Able Deputy in the first at Haydock. 2/1 FAV, please win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Rattan for me in what will be a mud bath & slog. He has form on heavy ground & the ground today will be as heavy as it gets bottomless!

I did SWISS ART 14/1 earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Rigidity was second in this last year off a pound lower, just put a fiver on at 25/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I'm tempted by both Double Ross and Bothy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

I did Thomas Edison, but having read a bit on rattan, might stick 5w saver on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

2.25 shadow gate Fran Berry going to Lingfield for 1 mount. I presume he is not going for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Solix here lads.

Although i hate Paddy Brennan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

Lyvius for me.
    I think Geraghty's picked the wrong one.

Small bet on Hollow Tree here, although i worry it may have too much weight on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

YesYouCan is the one Im on. Stuffed.

Ridiculous conditions at Haydock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Two horses I think are massively overpriced are:

Master Of The Hall in the 2:00 @8/1 he is 2 from 2 at Ascot and 2 from 2 on Heavy ground.

Petit Robin in the 3:10 @ 33/1, sure he is top weight and hasn't run on heavy but he seems to have regained his old enthusiasm and he is as game as pheasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

I think Lyvius 11/1 in the Ladbroke looks a very good bet. Was very impressed with him beating a well handicapped Edgardo Sol on his handicap debut LTO in pretty facile fashion and I don't think an 8lb rise is excessive at all. Jeremiah McGrath offsets a lot of that penalty with his 5lb claim and off a lovely racing weight of 10-1 I think this very unexposed and progressive 4 year old will run a big race.

I also think its very interesting that Mark Walsh makes a rare trip across the water to ride Thomas Edison 33/1 who showed some really good bumper form but hasn't really gotten it together over hurdles as of yet. A better effort LTO and I've had a small bet on him as well

Mc Coy is a dickhead, never even tried getting serious with the horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

Only had a small bet on Reve De Sivola.

He was quality in that race. Lovely ride from Johnson.

hucklebuck wrote: »

He wasn't going to get near the winner.

Shane732 wrote: »
    Only had a small bet on Reve De Sivola.

He was quality in that race. Lovely ride from Johnson.

We dont take too kindly to this here aftertiming in this here place ;)

Slattsy wrote: »
    We dont take too kindly to this here aftertiming in this here place ;)

It was a fiver win! Let's not lose control of ourselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Stayers are a seriously motley crew without Big Bucks. Wonder are any trainers of chasers eying up going back over hurdles?

eg Grand Crus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

hucklebuck wrote: »

You must have been watching a different race from the one I was watching.

Had a 5er on it meself :p ssshhhhhhhhhh

I didn't know about the 5 euro rule.:eek:

Great. I can now come on here claiming i backed every winner today as long as my stake was less than 5 euro. :rolleyes:

Rich Lord here, good ew price at 14/1

Stayers are a seriously motley crew without Big Bucks. Wonder are any trainers of chasers eying up going back over hurdles?

eg Grand Crus?

Reve De Sivola has always been an under achiever as a chaser. Your not wrong about the motley crew thing but Reve De Sivola is up at the top of that motely crew over timber.

Rich Lord here, good ew price at 14/1

Couldn#t make up my mind but Quincy de Pictons is attractive, weight a concern

BQQ wrote: »

Great. I can now come on here claiming i backed every winner today as long as my stake was less than 5 euro. :rolleyes:

Did you not get the memo ?

Dont be so cranky.

If Willie Mullins had any sense he'd be aiming Quevega at the Stayers instead of the mares' race, considering the poor standard of staying hurdlers now that Big Bucks is out for the season.

Had a 5er on it meself :p ssshhhhhhhhhh

Christ!

91653135.jpg

Fu*k me! I suggest you go back to bed and try getting out the other side.

Christ!

91653135.jpg

I was only joking Shane.

Did you not get the memo ?

Dont be so cranky.

You called him on it before I did. :confused:

If Willie Mullins had any sense he'd be aiming Quevega at the Stayers instead of the mares' race, considering the poor standard of staying hurdlers now that Big Bucks is out for the season.

It'd be interesting to see Quevega go for it.

Jaysus, Stewart Machin is becoming as non-committal as Peter O' Sullevan. It's fcukin obvious that Cannington Brook won that.

You called him on it before I did. :confused:

I was kidding.

Get in Cannington Brook. Have a soft spot for that horse.

Plus I had a fiver on ;)

Backed Hold on Julio lto, but dont fancy him today.

Hey Big Spender so.

I was kidding.

I would have ignored it, but you brought it up and the subsequent ridiculous justification pushed me over the edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Olofi for me here, should be favorite imo

Its a Gimme
    &
    Princeton Plains ew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Nulty wrote: »
    Reve De Sivola has always been an under achiever as a chaser. Your not wrong about the motley crew thing but Reve De Sivola is up at the top of that motely crew over timber.

And BB beat him out of sight the last day. The even money we were able to snaffle for Cheltenham the last two years will go done in history I think.

In other news I've decided Double Ross will win the ladbroke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

And BB beat him out of sight the last day. The even money we were able to snaffle for Cheltenham the last two years will go done in history I think.

The worst was the first (his 2nd WH) season. He had zero opposition and they still layed 11/10 on the day. At least the following season he was up against a potential superstar in Grand Crus, and last year Nicholls had a shocking festival up to that point. Ridiculous offerings in all 3 years basically

so as I was saying I think cause of causes has a great chance in this one at a nice price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

Cause of Causes e/w

YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

I was totally put off by the price of Cause Of Causes. Wrote him off because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Nulty wrote: »
    I was totally put off by the price of Cause Of Causes. Wrote him off because of it.
    Had 6 euro on him myself

ft9 wrote: »
    Had 6 euro on him myself

Oi ! The aftertiming threshold is 5 quid, jog on now :P

He wasn't going to get near the winner.

It's hard to know when the jockey can't be bothered, he definitely would have placed.

You must have been watching a different race from the one I was watching.

Suggest you look again, a couple of gentle tips of the reigns and he dropped him out the back. A horse being driven passed him and he never got serious with the horse.