Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calving Jack

• 21-12-2012 10:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭

We have one of these for the last 40 years

light3.jpg

It has pulled thousands of calves for ourselves, other family members and a lot of neighbours. It is probably in as good of shape as it was when it was new - never bent, twisted or broken.

The only problem with it is that it was made for use by 2 people. Its awkward to work with one person. These days, there isn't always 2 people around when a cow needs a bit of help.

More modern calving aids are available that are a 1 man/woman job. What do people recommend and can people link the best prices?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

reilig wrote: »

light3.jpg

It has pulled thousands of calves for ourselves, other family members and a lot of neighbours. It is probably in as good of shape as it was when it was new - never bent, twisted or broken.

The only problem with it is that it was made for use by 2 people. Its awkward to work with one person. These days, there isn't always 2 people around when a cow needs a bit of help.

More modern calving aids are available that are a 1 man/woman job. What do people recommend and can people link the best prices?

we had one of those for years but the bottom of it broke in the end.. just have the ratchet type that you see everywhere now for a good few years..couldnt tell you price, they a better job though i think, those old ones were abit cumbersome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

we had one of those for years but the bottom of it broke in the end.. just have the ratchet type that you see everywhere now for a good few years..couldnt tell you price, they a better job though i think, those old ones were abit cumbersome

Cumbersome is the word I was looking for. But it never let us down. I'm planning on buying the ratchet type, but I'm looking for a recommendation on the best make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

We have the ratchet one as well vander no prob to calve a cow on my own with it.

Rellig do those two cross bar go under or over the calf on that one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

reilig wrote: »
    Cumbersome is the word I was looking for. But it never let us down. I'm planning on buying the ratchet type, but I'm looking for a recommendation on the best make

A Vink with a moorepark head if you have the budget for one. We had one here for years until it got bent when it got caught against a wall while pulling a calf. Bought a technal one after and every time I seen the auld fella using it hes giving out that its only a cu*t of a thing in comparison. I never used the vink myself because I was a small boy at the time but the auld lad has hundreds of calves pulled and was the man to call around here back in his heyday. The technal is around €100 and I think the Vink is around €300 so there is a fair difference in price.

http://www.agridirect.ie/index.php/calving/calving-aids/vink-calving-jack.html

mf240 wrote: »
    We have the ratchet one as well vander no prob to calve a cow on my own with it.

Rellig do those two cross bar go under or over the calf on that one?

Under.

A Vink with a moorepark head if you have the budget for one. We had one here for years until it got bent when it got caught against a wall while pulling a calf. Bought a technal one after and every time I seen the auld fella using it hes giving out that its only a cu*t of a thing in comparison. I never used the vink myself because I was a small boy at the time but the auld lad has hundreds of calves pulled and was the man to call around here back in his heyday. The technal is around €100 and I think the Vink is around €300 so there is a fair difference in price.

http://www.agridirect.ie/index.php/calving/calving-aids/vink-calving-jack.html

That's the one I was looking at. I wonder is there anything better out there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I find the Vink the best for pulling dead calves, cos I cant remember the last time I brought a live calf with a jack, would think the last 10 i brought are either dead at birth or dead a few minutes later, the joy of heifers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I have the Tecnall with the Moorepark Head. Got it from magenta.
    http://www.magentadirect.ie/proddetail.php?prod=MAE0031

It is plenty strong and I'm happy with it.
    I've used the Vink type with the round shaft and found it easier to use. The Tecnall has a big square aluminium shaft on it. It just feels that bit more cumbersome, but plenty strong nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

we have the type that pak has. To be honest we only used it once but it did the job. A lot better than the old round shafts

pakalasa wrote: »
    I have the Tecnall with the Moorepark Head. Got it from magenta.
    http://www.magentadirect.ie/proddetail.php?prod=MAE0031

It is plenty strong and I'm happy with it.
    I've used the Vink type with the round shaft and found it easier to use. The Tecnall has a big square aluminium shaft on it. It just feels that bit more cumbersome, but plenty strong nonetheless.

The Vink has a square shaft too as far as I know pak. I have a friend that has bent too of those new type jaks with the round shaft over the last 3 years and for that reason I would avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

"We have one of these for the last 40 years"
    ..............sold our cradle Jack on done deal last spring and bought a technal Jack I'm delighted with the move. Technal has a Moorpark head ...............the most important thing I did was to bin the white ropes and buy a set of red and blue ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

mikeoh wrote: »
    ..............sold our cradle Jack on done deal last spring and bought a technal Jack I'm delighted with the move. Technal has a Moorpark head ...............the most important thing I did was to bin the white ropes and buy a set of red and blue ones
    Why red and blue ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

bought a new technal one a few months back, old one was starting to slip. The vet told me the vink wasnt worth the extra money, however i seen a vink in action a while back and definately regret not buying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

The Vink has a square shaft too as far as I know pak. I have a friend that has bent too of those new type jaks with the round shaft over the last 3 years and for that reason I would avoid.

Avoid? Calling the friend if you need help with a calving or the round type jacks? As a matter of interest what % of calvings would ye use a jack on?

I have the Tecnall with the Moorepark Head.

+1 I'd say we have it 10 years no complaints so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

moy83 wrote: »
    Why red and blue ?
    They are 3 times thicker and less traumatic on a calfs leg ............I broke a calfs leg with the white ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

Have to agree with all an the tecnall, if it can't bring the calve it's time for csection.
    And the heavy blue and red rope, their alot stronger and easier to make sure you have'nt the calves legs crossed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

They are 3 times thicker and less traumatic on a calfs leg ............I broke a calfs leg with the white ones
    I get you now , I was wondering how different colours made a difference :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 larrywithalorry

They re also easier 2 find in straw.

I've the technal 1 with a moorepark head but don't really use it since taking up Tugowar. I say im as good as any jack :-P

My first year at suckling, I hurt my back pulling a heifer with just the ropes. Hard to keep the back straight when you're pulling on short ropes.

Avoid? Calling the friend if you need help with a calving or the round type jacks? As a matter of interest what % of calvings would ye use a jack on?
    Sorry, reading my post again now its a bit messy. I meant avoid the jacks with the round shaft. Only had to pull one calf out of 40 this year. Most years we would have 4 or 5 at least though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Tecnal (or something very similar) with the moorepark head here also for at least 15 years. Have pulled hundreds of calves with it, can't fault it. Red & blue ropes also. Can be operated by one person but much easier with two.

We tend to use the jack with most calvings we assist at say 30 p.a. We just have it on in case. However most important to make sure cow is well opened up to calve and take yer time. We'd often be 10 mins on the jack bringing one calf. Leave the calf hanging out a while before the cord breaks to drain fluid.

If in doubt, big calf etc we'd call the vet to make the decision or section. There is serious power in those jacks, need to take it easy or risk serious damage & loss.

Sorry, reading my post again now its a bit messy. I meant avoid the jacks with the round shaft. Only had to pull one calf out of 40 this year. Most years we would have 4 or 5 at least though.

Not that messy just if he's after breaking a couple of jacks he must be a bit of a danger to have around cows calving:D

Not really I would say, they have 140 sucklers and would have very little losses, he sent me on a pic last year of one that caved under a bit of pressure and it was in a fair hoop but he still managed to bring the calf alive with the old technall jack.

I'd be thinking it's section time long before the jack started bending:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Vink jacks are supposed to be the best

Jack here has a round bar and was bent several years ago but still works fine. Was bent calving a cow that was laying down and could not get up.

Started a thread a couple weeks ago on how does a farmer decide its too big to pull but did not get many responses.

Vet told us before unless u can place your hand between calves forehead and cows birth cannel to leave well enough alone and call the vet for a section. There can be some tightness but if you can't do it walk away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

49801 wrote: »

Started a thread a couple weeks ago on how does a farmer decide its too big to pull but did not get many responses.

Vet told us before unless u can place your hand between calves forehead and cows birth cannel to leave well enough alone and call the vet for a section. There can be some tightness but if you can't do it walk away

I must have missed that thread - it would be interesting- perhaps bump it up?

I'd agree with the vets comments above.

jimmy G M wrote: »
    ... However most important to make sure cow is well opened up to calve and take yer time. We'd often be 10 mins on the jack bringing one calf. Leave the calf hanging out a while before the cord breaks to drain fluid..
    Good advice. To be honest, I wouldn't mind getting trained from someone like an experienced Vet, on the proper way to help a cow calve. I've been calving cows for years, but everytime you loose a calf, you're saying to yerself - What did I do wrong there?

I don't think you can train it TBH it's experience. What you did wrong is often not calling the vet. I said it on the thread about difficult pulls at best we are midwives and should know our limits. There's nothing clever about a hard pull a dead calf and an unwell cow.

I wasn't there so I couldnt tell you that but I do know both the cow and calf were fine when I seen them after. He's calving a lot of cows ever year and would have a few sections every year too and his losses at calving would be minimal. He knows himself what he can do and what's a job for the vet and I wouldn't be judging the calls he makes because from what I have seen he is usually spot on.

1chippy wrote: »
    bought a new technal one a few months back, old one was starting to slip. The vet told me the vink wasnt worth the extra money, however i seen a vink in action a while back and definately regret not buying it.

Ratchet packed up on the tecnall this morning @ half one. We had to roust the poor uncle out of the bed to get a loan of his jack. It turned out to be a vink. A complete cnut of a thing. I couldn't see anything to recommend it other than the stainless steel components. Both legs coming together and guys think that it's a good job for hard calvings:confused::eek:. I've just ordered a ratchett for the tecnall for €67 and the vink has been returned. I was glad to get it last night but it was any port in a storm territory.

??? with the Technall, you can't pull the legs seperately. It does rachet from left to right alright.

And that's key. You're inching one side then the other with the vink it's a straight pull all together and the devil take the hindmost. A bad piece of kit IMO. The stainless looks the part but that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

And that's key. You're inching one side then the other with the vink it's a straight pull all together and the devil take the hindmost. A bad piece of kit IMO. The stainless looks the part but that's it.
    Snapped the head on the technal a couple of cows back, it wasnt anything excessive that snapped it at the joint, luckily i had the old one lying there. met 3 other lads that broke at the same point, all new technalls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭mallethead

I have the technal and the vink both with the moorepark head

I have found the vink a better jack with bigger calves
    we would pull one leg at a time, definetly worth the xtra money and has more than paid for itself
    The technal is fine for smaller cows isn't worth a fluck if your cows are on the big side