Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pro12: Connacht vs Munster, Sat 22 Dec 5:15pm; Live on TG4

• 20-12-2012 7:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭

Connacht:

Connacht XV

15. Robbie Henshaw
    14. Tiernan O’Halloran
    13. Danie Poolman
    12. Dave McSharry
    11. Fetu’u Vainikolo
    10. Dan Parks
    9. Kieran Marmion

1. Brett Wilkinson
    2. Jason Harris-Wright
    3. Nathan White (captain)
    4. George Naoupu
    5. Mike McCarthy
    6. Andrew Browne
    7. Johnny O’Connor
    8. Eoin McKeon

Replacements (from):
    16. Ethienne Reynecke
    17. Denis Buckley
    18. Ronan Loughney
    19. Michael Swift
    20. Eoghan Grace
    21. Paul O’Donohoe
    22. Matthew Jarvis
    23. Eoin Griffin

Munster:
    D Hurley; J Murphy, C Laulala, J Downey, L O'Dea; I Keatley, P Stringer;
    D Kilcoyne, M Sherry, S Archer; D O'Callaghan, B Holland; P Butler, T O'Donnell, J Coughlan capt.

Replacements: S Henry, W du Preez, BJ Botha, D Foley, S Dougall, D Williams, JJ Hanrahan, D Barnes.

Lots of change to the side that faced Saracens, including new props, halfbacks and back three. First start of the season for Johne Murphy.

Prediction? 50 votes

Connacht
    0%
    Munster
    58%
    super_furryNTCgally74buck65[Deleted User]keith16f1danZzippyJudgement DayirishgroverDiabhal Beagconormccarthy92freynersblackhoundstiffler123BrokenManvienne86seanin4711Hears6the knocker 29 votes
    Eddie O'Sullivan
    42%
    FeederCavehill RedbudhabobpappyodanielduckysauceCoDy1ScrubsfanChrisSomeFoolMal-Adjustedwillitthomond2006clint_eastmanSilveradoLandoflemonharvester of sorrowormond ladpedro6105NinjaKpadraig29backamesack 21 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Munster
    Persistence with Archer...again a problem against what will probably be a decent Connacht scrum. Varley not even on the bench, is he injured?

That is Donnacha in the 2nd row? Interesting that Dave drops out completely after some impressive performance, good to have TOD and Dougall back though.

Hopefully Keatley has a good game, and Hanrahan impresses off the bench.....reckon if Connacht have a strong team, there's a good chance of them winning tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Munster
    That's a very beatable Munster team - saving their big guns for Ulster the following week. Having said that, Munster brought a very beatable team to Galway 2/3 years ago and Coughlan had an outstanding game, pretty much won it for Munster all on his own. Hopefully with Parks' experience and our improved squad that won't happen again.

Connacht team I'd like to see:

Wilkinson, Harris-Wright, White, Swift, McCarthy, Browne, JOC, Naoupu, Marmion, Parks, Vainikolo, McSharry, Poolman, TOH, Henshaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

Munster
    Zzippy wrote: »
    That's a very beatable Munster team - saving their big guns for Ulster the following week. Having said that, Munster brought a very beatable team to Galway 2/3 years ago and Coughlan had an outstanding game, pretty much won it for Munster all on his own. Hopefully with Parks' experience and our improved squad that won't happen again.

Connacht team I'd like to see:

Wilkinson, Harris-Wright, White, Swift, McCarthy, Browne, JOC, Naoupu, Marmion, Parks, Vainikolo, McSharry, Poolman, TOH, Henshaw.

Doubt we will see Poolman lining out, even if just precautionary, although the news after the game was that he was alright. Griffin looks like he is back as well though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,532 ✭✭✭✭phog

What's the point of a poll and then adding stupid options like Eddie O'Sullivan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Woah, who called the fun police?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,532 ✭✭✭✭phog

.ak wrote: »
    Woah, who called the fun police?

Fun or juvenile? Plain silly to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Eddie O'Sullivan
    phog wrote: »
    Fun or juvenile? Plain silly to me.

or maybe you just don't get it. Grimebox does. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Munster
    Poolman should not start if Griffin is fit, one because Griffin needs game time we have a key run of games after Christmas and the HC final rounds, two because he was stretchered off last week and no matter how well he feels, that needs to be taken into account.

This could be a defining moment for archer, he wont have it easy with either Buckley or Wilkinson. Hard to choose between the two since Brett has returned to form but Buckley has been awesome all season and in both biarritz games won 1/2 scrum penalties when he came on

Most difficult choice could be who starts at 8, Naoupu or Mckeon, McKeon has been awesome since George's injury

Munster
    freyners wrote: »
    Poolman should not start if Griffin is fit, one because Griffin needs game time we have a key run of games after Christmas and the HC final rounds, two because he was stretchered off last week and no matter how well he feels, that needs to be taken into account.

This could be a defining moment for archer, he wont have it easy with either Buckley or Wilkinson. Hard to choose between the two since Brett has returned to form but Buckley has been awesome all season and in both biarritz games won 1/2 scrum penalties when he came on

Most difficult choice could be who starts at 8, Naoupu or Mckeon, McKeon has been awesome since George's injury

You're right, I forgot about Poolman's injury. Still wary of Griffin being rushed back too soon, I'd like to see him get a couple of weeks hard training under his belt first (think he's only back a week in full training), but needs must.
    I think Buckley and Loughney coming on at ~55 minutes could provide real impact, think Wilko and White to start and try to get scrum dominance, especially if Swifty and Macca start behind them. If Archer is as brittle as some think he is the scrum could pay dividends, but he might step up to the mark too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

freyners wrote: »

I'd go for George into the second row for Swift and leave McKeon at 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Munster
    McCarthy have to be rested?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Fishooks13

Like the look of our backrow

Think we'll sneak this. Look for our midfield to make more of an impact with Keatley pulling the strings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

Fishooks13 wrote: »
    Like the look of our backrow

Think we'll sneak this. Look for our midfield to make more of an impact with Keatley pulling the strings

I have the same thing to say to a Munster fan Im friends with, but I really hope Connacht win so I can tell him to **** of with his choker remarks about us

I also think we can win if we really perform to our potential

Glad to see Hurley back at 15 too. Fantastic servant to Munster and people are quick to forget just how good he was last season for us. Don't think Jones has should anything this season to suggest he's a better player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

We shook the Ulster monkey off our back last year, so here's hoping we do it again.

Can't wait to see McSharry and perhaps Griffin against Laulala and Downey. Should be fun. Sorry I can't make it down for it because Munster fans are always good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Glad to see Hurley back at 15 too. Fantastic servant to Munster and people are quick to forget just how good he was last season for us. Don't think Jones has should anything this season to suggest he's a better player
    I wouldn't consider Jones for the 23 in a big match on form

I'd actually have Zebo at 15 Howett at 14 and LOD at 11 and probably Hurley at 23

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Munster
    I'd say Connacht will tip this one, callow enough Munster team. Still should be a good game, one team I really enjoy us playing against, always up for a good rumble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

Eddie O'Sullivan
    Heading up to this one, Can't see past a Munster win. Delight to see Dougal and TOD back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I wouldn't consider Jones for the 23 in a big match on form

I'd actually have Zebo at 15 Howett at 14 and LOD at 11 and probably Hurley at 23

I'm not sure if LOD is ready to start a big match. I think I'd prefer Hurley at 15 with LOD on the bench.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I haven't really seen any Munster matches that Stringer was involved in this season, what's his form like?

Connacht team should be announced around mid-day or so.

Eddie O'Sullivan
    I'm not sure if LOD is ready to start a big match. I think I'd prefer Hurley at 15 with LOD on the bench.

How do you become ready to start a big match without starting in a big match though?? :pac:

LOD has big potential and rightly deserves the start imo, great player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Munster
    O dea has started before, his scoring average is over 50%. and he's from Ennis.

O Dea looked pretty green last weekend.

The regression of Jones has been staggering. Looks like a guy with zero confidence.

Eddie O'Sullivan
    Connacht XV
    15. Robbie Henshaw
    14. Tiernan O’Halloran
    13. Danie Poolman
    12. Dave McSharry
    11. Fetu’u Vainikolo
    10. Dan Parks
    9. Kieran Marmion
    1. Brett Wilkinson
    2. Jason Harris-Wright
    3. Nathan White (captain)
    4. George Naoupu
    5. Mike McCarthy
    6. Andrew Browne
    7. Johnny O’Connor
    8. Eoin McKeon

Replacements (from):
    16. Ethienne Reynecke
    17. Denis Buckley
    18. Ronan Loughney
    19. Michael Swift
    20. Eoghan Grace
    21. Paul O’Donohoe
    22. Matthew Jarvis
    23. Eoin Griffin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

Munster
    Justin Harris weight has been in great firm in the lions index after round four delighted for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭blackhound

Munster
    A little surprised to see Poolman start but glad the knock isn't as bad as it looked, each time I see him he's improving could be a very good player for us yet. Bench looks quite strong too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Thats a pretty strong Connacht team. Hopefully we can do this but I rememeber a couple of years ago, Munster bringing a weakened team and we still lost to them.

Would there be tickets available on the gate for this one? Considering taking a detour over to Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 541 ✭✭✭accidentprone1

O Dea looked pretty green last weekend.

The regression of Jones has been staggering. Looks like a guy with zero confidence.

He needs time - he was out for a long time. (Granted he's had a half season now.)

That's half the problem though. He's far to injury prone, and on top of that his confidence seems to be gone, which is crucial for a 15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

That's half the problem though. He's far to injury prone, and on top of that his confidence seems to be gone, which is crucial for a 15

He's been poor this season, he was poor last season. Is it possible he's just not as good as was hoped?

That may be it. His form prior to the WC was brilliant, so I think there's def a solid player in there somewhere. Don't think he's going to be an international 15 though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭seanm92

Thats a pretty strong Connacht team. Hopefully we can do this but I rememeber a couple of years ago, Munster bringing a weakened team and we still lost to them.

Would there be tickets available on the gate for this one? Considering taking a detour over to Galway.

Not a chance of tickets id say unless you get very lucky, sold out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭ed7890

I wouldn't say he's been poor this season. He's been solid enough, and looked lively at times. I think he could be doing better, but wouldn't say he's been poor.

ed7890 wrote: »
    I wouldn't say he's been poor this season. He's been solid enough, and looked lively at times. I think he could be doing better, but wouldn't say he's been poor.

I would. He basically cost us the Scarlets game and has bee atrocious under some very handy high balls.

In attack he's been hugely disappointing. He's in the habit of making a half break and then falling over himself. Very poor balance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

I would. He basically cost us the Scarlets game and has bee atrocious under some very handy high balls.

In attack he's been hugely disappointing. He's in the habit of making a half break and then falling over himself. Very poor balance

I know he made a bad mistake that was costly in the end, but I thought that was one of his better Munster games for a while

Tox56 wrote: »
    I know he made a bad mistake that was costly in the end, but I thought that was one of his better Munster games for a while

Bit harsh from me there. He was actually good in attack, but that was a woeful mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭ed7890

That was a bad mistake, but he wasn't the only one to cock up for that try. It's a shame because he was actually playing great in that game other than that. I remember him dropping a couple high balls alright, but catching a lot more than he's dropped.

Eddie O'Sullivan
    seanm92 wrote: »
    Not a chance of tickets id say unless you get very lucky, sold out!

Just bought 4 off Ticketmaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

ed7890 wrote: »
    That was a bad mistake, but he wasn't the only one to cock up for that try. It's a shame because he was actually playing great in that game other than that. I remember him dropping a couple high balls alright, but catching a lot more than he's dropped.

Yeah I felt he was doing quite well since he came back. He was incredibly unlucky for that try. Horrible conditions and slippery ball.

He's a professional rugby player and he should have controlled that. He had three attempts at it. Awful 15 play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

He's a professional rugby player and he should have controlled that. He had three attempts at it. Awful 15 play

Ball was like a bar of soap. Not his biggest fan but I wouldn't blame him tbh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

CoDy1 wrote: »
    Just bought 4 off Ticketmaster.

Thanks but don't really want to buy a ticket in case I can't go tomorrow. Out in Dublin tonight to will have to see what time I surface in the morning and how I'm feeling.

Will check it out tomorrow though.

ah lads. Look I know conditions were very bad, and a few knock on's that night were inevitable. But he should have dealt with that particular ball a lot better, he had three attempts to gather it and or dive on the ball. It was comical stuff!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I only saw the try from that game but yeah, he should have dived on it considering how wet it was that day.

Eddie O'Sullivan
    CatFromHue wrote: »
    I only saw the try from that game but yeah, he should have dived on it considering how wet it was that day.

or kicked it into touch.

Bookies favouring Munster but with all their absentees I'm not too sure.

Munster
    or kicked it into touch.

Bookies favouring Munster but with all their absentees I'm not too sure.

What's their odds on EOS? ;)

Munster
    Hard to see anywhere where we have a clear advantage tbh... you'd really fancy Connacht at home to a weakened Munster team.

Connacht should dominate in the scrum with Archer there for Munster, their half-backs are probably better and there's huge potential in their back 3.

I'd give Munster the edge in the back row because of the presence of Coughlan, but it's only a slight edge as Connacht have a very solid unit. Firing on all cylinders, we might have a better centre partnership but it'd be hard to say that on form.

Really hope Munster can do it, pity we couldn't keep Zebo even and a loss would hurt us badly, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Rickwellwood

Munster
    Thats a really average Munster team. We really should be beating that side. These are the games we need to be winning. Will be interesting to see how Keats goes v Dan Parks in controlling the game. Great to have george and nathan white back. A win tomorrow and to get something the following weekend at the RDS would be a terrific return during the christmas period. Leinster are struggling atm.

G'wan Connacht

Munster
    Ulster how important a dominant scrum can be..... really worried about Archer tomorrow :(

The continuance with Archer, along with starting ROG ahead of Keatley are the 2 things that baffle me about Penney. (And McGahan. although you could forgive him for playing ROG)

And does anyone find Stringer starting ahead of Williams interesting? Especially since Williams' best game for Munster was probably his last one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Thats a really average Munster team. We really should be beating that side. These are the games we need to be winning. Will be interesting to see how Keats goes v Dan Parks in controlling the game. Great to have george and nathan white back. A win tomorrow and to get something the following weekend at the RDS would be a terrific return during the christmas period. Leinster are struggling atm.

G'wan Connacht

All good points but needs to be tempered with the fact that Connacht are a fairly average team themselves.