Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SENATOR Fidelma Healy Eames has been fined €1,850 after pleading guilty....

• 19-12-2012 2:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭

She was 'convicted' and fined €1,850 this morning for driving without tax

Ironically she gave a long winded lecture on welfare fraud in the Seanad last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Ironically she gave a long winded lecture on welfare fraud in the Seanad last night.

That's 19 hhc payments. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Ghandee wrote: »
    That's 19 hhc payments. ;)

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Can she slap that on her expenses?

Sorry, eighteen and a half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Saw this on the Advertisers Facebook page under comments on said case....
    On the subject of FHE, she tried the 'Do you know who I am?' line on me while I was working at a rugby match a few weeks ago, where we had closed one entrance to the Clan stand because it was full, and players were about to come out onto the pitch.
    Told her I knew exactly who she was, and to move along like everyone else, we were closed.

She hung around (a bit gobsmacked) for a while, then someone else let her in through the closed gate when I had my back turned. Grrrr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/senator-fined-for-repeatedly-driving-without-road-tax-3331984.html

The bit in bold below is fairly serious. I wonder why did they not proceed?
    SENATOR Fidelma Healy Eames has been fined €1,850 after pleading guilty to four road traffic offences.
    The senator, from Maree, Oranmore in Galway, pleaded guilty at Galway District Court today to three changes of driving without tax and one further charge of failure to display a tax disc.

A fifth charge of making a false declaration was withdrawn by the State. This charge had been described by Judge Mary Fahy as the most serious.

Ms Healy Eames did not appear in court for the hearing but conveyed through her solicitor Colman Sherry that she was deeply remorseful.

The charges related to three incidents ranging from March to July of this year where Ms Healy Eames was observed driving without tax. She was stopped by Garda Garrett Cafferkey on the final occasion in July and her car was impounded.

The court heard that Ms Healy Eames was first detected on March 10 using a mobile phone while driving her Mercedes in Oranmore, Co Galway. On that occasion, Garda Cafferkey did not stop Ms Healy Eames but issued a fix change penalty which was subsequently paid.

When he checked her car tax on the Pulse system later that morning, he discovered it had expired on January 1, 2012, and a summons was issued on the matter.

On June 23, Gda Cafferkey observed Ms Healy Eames driving in Seafield, Maree. When he later checked the car on Pulse, he discovered it was still untaxed. A second summons was issued.

Garda Cafferkey gave evidence that on July 2, at Moneenageisha in Galway city, he witnessed Ms Healy Eames driving and checked the tax status of the car on the in-car system.

On discovering that the car remained untaxed, he stopped the Senator and seized the car.

The court heard that when questioned, Ms Healy Eames told Gda Cafferkey that she had planned to sell the car and it had been off the road.

The garda then contacted the Galway Motor Tax office the following day and discovered the vehicle had been back-taxed for May. However, arrears were not paid for the outstanding three months of February, March and April until October.

A charge of false declaration against Ms Healy Eames was later withdrawn by the State.

Judge Fahy described the case as "unprecedented" adding; "A declaration was made to say the car was off the road but the car was not off the road. However, the State has withdrawn that charge which in my view was the most serious charge."

"The situation is that this lady continued to drive a Mercedes car while fully employed and in receipt of a good salary from the State and was not paying her car tax," she added.

Defence solicitor Colman Sherry said his client was "extremely contrite" but stressed there had been no loss to the State.

In handing down the fines, Judge Fahy said; "Her solicitor says she's remorseful but the court has to take into account that this was continuous."

Ms Healy Eames was fined a total of €1,850 for the four summonses after Judge Fahy said her rationale for the fines was that the "driver had ample opportunity to comply".
    - Caroline Crawford

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/senator-fined-for-repeatedly-driving-without-road-tax-3331984.html

Maybe it was withdrawn because the state actually did know who she was. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

.............to four road traffic offences

Dum dee dum dee dum, one law for one.....

I paid my €660.00 road tax (€710.00 next year) on time in October gone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Maybe it was withdrawn because the state actually did know who she was. :cool:

Yep. Like the penalty points fiasco, its not what you know but who you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Posts made earlier today, moved from previous thread into this one as it think it really deserves a new thread of its own.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Posts made earlier today, moved from previous thread into this one as it think it really deserves a new thread of its own.

Where would we be without you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

She is heading down the same road as that Lowry bollocks.

I see our 'impartial' news source RTE really went to town in her.:rolleyes:

This was their take on events.....
    Fine Gael Senator Fidelma Healy Eames has been convicted and fined €1,850 for driving her car without tax.

Galway District Court heard that Senator Healy Eames had been driving her Mercedes car without tax for more than six months when she was stopped in Galway city in July this year.

Judge Mary Fahy said the senator had ample opportunity to tax her car but failed to do so.

http://m.rte.ie/news/touch//2012/1219/fidelma-healy-eames-court.html

No mention of the mobile phone charge, no mention of the multiple summonses, no mention of the false declaration.......

Seriously impartial broadcasting from RTE once again....

I'll consider my license fee for next year accordingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

What kind of a name is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

sfwcork wrote: »
    Where would we be without you
    On some other thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I see our 'impartial' news source RTE really went to town in her.:rolleyes:

This was their take on events.....

No mention of the mobile phone charge, no mention of the multiple summonses, no mention of the false declaration.......

Seriously impartial broadcasting from RTE once again....

I'll consider my license fee for next year accordingly.

Wasn't she is the limelight for other issues earlier this year? I remember the name but not the detail.

Why doesn't someone investigate why the illegal declaration accusation was made & appeal it being dropped.

Isn't there someone with the authority to do it.

Is she suitable to be in the seanad? Let her know - fidelma.healy.eames@oir.ie

woodoo wrote: »
    Is she suitable to be in the seanad? Let her know - fidelma.healy.eames@oir.ie

Enda should really make an example of her.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

I suppose if was a genuine case of not being able to afford to use her car she could look at taking the train instead? It's a lot cheaper I believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

That's a bit rich coming from the woman who made comparisons between the young unemployed people in Ireland and HITLER YOUTH.:eek:

Yes folks you heard me right, read down through the article after the "10'oclock" section(dont need to read it all but it is bloody worth it just to see what the folks in power, Joan Burton et al think of the less fortunate)to where FHE speaks .
    Out of fcuking touch with reality or what???:mad:

http://debates.oireachtas.ie/seanad/2012/04/27/00003.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Enda should really make an example of her.....

That plonker appointed the silly bint in the first place.. after she failed to be elected democratically.

I suppose if was a genuine case of not being able to afford to use her car she could look at taking the train instead? It's a lot cheaper I believe.

Free for some people.. or at least they think so.

Wasn't she is the limelight for other issues earlier this year? I remember the name but not the detail.

Why doesn't someone investigate why the illegal declaration accusation was made & appeal it being dropped.

Isn't there someone with the authority to do it.

She was previously accused of travelling on a train without a ticket and using the "do you know who I am?" line to the ticket inspector. IIRC it turned out to be false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Ms Healy Eames did not appear in court for the hearing but conveyed through her solicitor Colman Sherry that she was deeply remorseful.

WTF? :confused: What sort of a joke of a system is it?

She conveyed her remorse through her solicitor.

Wow, how genuine. :rolleyes:

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

didint know what she looked like,expected her to look like a ****,wasant disappointed

Karsini wrote: »
    She was previously accused of travelling on a train without a ticket and using the "do you know who I am?" line to the ticket inspector. IIRC it turned out to be false.

She was off the rails at the time

and in her untaxed car:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

pontia wrote: »
    didint know what she looked like,expected her to look like a ****,wasant disappointed

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Karsini wrote: »
    "do you know who I am?"

Unless you're talking to your senile grandmother, anyone who utters those words should receive a mandatory slap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I can't stand how these fuckwits are tasked with serving the public and end up quickly thinking the public should be serving them.

If one of those ***** said to me 'Do you know who I am'?

I'd say: 'Check your ID and and you'll remember you twat'

Planning permissions, plumber scandal, train fare dodge, car tax evasion, and a charge of ' false declaration' mysteriously withdrawn by the state.

Great wee country we live in, stay classy FG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Planning permissions, plumber scandal, train fare dodge, car tax evasion, and a charge of ' false declaration' mysteriously withdrawn by the state.

Great wee country we live in, stay classy FG.

Not really a mystery. Plea deals are not unusual in district court, especially in road traffic matters. There would be a lot involved in proving the false declaration and the sentence would likely have been negligible in comparison to the whopper fines she got.

A shame really. I'd imagine a high profile conviction would dramatically reduce the amount of people coming into a Garda station with their tax forms on the first of each month.

Zebra3 wrote: »

WTF? :confused: What sort of a joke of a system is it?

She conveyed her remorse through her solicitor.

Wow, how genuine. :rolleyes:

Judges tend to give higher fines to people who don't show up. Some won't even allow mitigation. The level of the fines would indicate this judge was no different.

MagicSean wrote: »
    Not really a mystery. Plea deals are not unusual in district court, especially in road traffic matters. There would be a lot involved in proving the false declaration and the sentence would likely have been negligible in comparison to the whopper fines she got.

A shame really. I'd imagine a high profile conviction would dramatically reduce the amount of people coming into a Garda station with their tax forms on the first of each month.[/QUOTE]

And out of all of that, that's the part you found shameful???

Not what FHE did?
    Oh no, just that lowly citizens might be doing the same as a very well paid employee of the country who can well afford to pay it??

Smidge wrote: »

And out of all of that, that's the part you found shameful???

Not what FHE did?
    Oh no, just that lowly citizens might be doing the same as a very well paid employee of the country who can well afford to pay it??

Why would I be ashamed of any of it? Nothing to do with me. Not sure what the point of your attack is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Judges tend to give higher fines to people who don't show up. Some won't even allow mitigation. The level of the fines would indicate this judge was no different.

I'm not talking about anything to do with the judge, just how stupid the system is that she (and I assume others in similar cases) don't even have to bother turning up in court.

Why would I be ashamed of any of it? Nothing to do with me. Not sure what the point of your attack is.

It wasn't a point of attack.

Just an observation on your post.

You did not feel angered as the vast majority of right minded people feel, that a person who holds a relatively high public office and is paid by the state, FHE committed a number of criminal offences, was only charged for one afaik.

I suppose as well, that you compared her with ordinary members of the public(it would be a deterrent for everyone else etc) when she clearly is not an ordinary member of the public and should set an example for the law, not break it.

It wasn't a point of attack.

Just an observation on your post.

You did not feel angered as the vast majority of right minded people feel, that a person who holds a relatively high public office and is paid by the state, FHE committed a number of criminal offences(only charged for one afaik).

How exactly do you know how I feel? Can you sense it from the font I use? Should I use extra punctuation like some twelve year old girl texting her friend? Maybe a retarded smiley face to make you feel like you can bond with me on an emotional level?

I explained how traffic court works, nothing more. If you don't like it, take it up with the people who make the laws, not me.

EDIT; and I specifically said she would be a high profile conviction which would improve overall compliance with a law. How is that comparing her to ordinary people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭red bull

Ah She is a joke. Its no wonder people are losing respect for the law in this country. She has been at least accused of breaches of
    planning permission
    not paying train fare
    non payment of car tax
    If I was in that position I would be deemed a serial offender and sent to a shrink ? Ah go on

[QUOTE=MagicSean;82310332]How exactly do you know how I feel? Can you sense it from the font I use? Should I use extra punctuation like some twelve year old girl texting her friend? Maybe a retarded smiley face to make you feel like you can bond with me on an emotional level?

I explained how traffic court works, nothing more. If you don't like it, take it up with the people who make the laws, not me.

EDIT; and I specifically said she would be a high profile conviction which would improve overall compliance with a law. How is that comparing her to ordinary people?[/QUOTE]

My, my are we a bit tetchy?

The reason I commented about how you felt was that you used the phrase "A shame" in your post.
    Last time I looked, shame was an emotion and therefore a "feeling".
    That was the clue, I guess.
    Not your desire to use smiley faces but a lot of people do use them so I guess it's okay to do so if you want.

Anyhooo,
    She should be ashamed of herself.

My, my are we a bit tetchy?

The reason I commented about how you felt was that you used the phrase "A shame" in your post.
    Last time I looked, shame was an emotion and therefore a "feeling".
    That was the clue, I guess.
    Not your desire to use smiley faces but a lot of people do use them so I guess it's okay to do so if you want.

Anyhooo,
    She should be ashamed of herself.

I was wondering if you'd detect the irony actually.

In any case, I'd thank you not to make assumptions about how I feel in the future.

And yes she should.

I was wondering if you'd detect the irony actually.

In any case, I'd thank you not to make assumptions about how I feel in the future.

And yes she should.

I won't make any assumptions about your feelings if you won't make any about my intellect. :D(Just for you)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Teabreak

Why do we elect these people, has she not already this year been fined for non payment of a train ticket, now car tax , not paying a builder for work done really why is she is still employed by US the people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Teabreak wrote: »
    Why do we elect these people, has she not already this year been fined for non payment of a train ticket, now car tax , not paying a builder for work done really why is she is still employed by US the people

We didn't elect her. She ran in Galway West on more than one occasion and never got in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Teabreak wrote: »

At least there is some good news. Enda will be abolishing the Senate when he gets into power.

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

kraggy wrote: »
    We didn't elect her. She ran in Galway West on more than one occasion and never got in.

So then the elected Taoiseach gave her a job.

geeky wrote: »
    So then the elected Taoiseach gave her a job.

Highlights the scrupulous people he is friends with and appoints to positions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

red bull wrote: »
    If I was in that position I would be deemed a serial offender and sent to a shrink ? Ah go on

By who?

Odysseus wrote: »
    By who?

By me for 1:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Teabreak

Yes but we are at fault by not going mental and go on a public march to force her to quite same with all the other elected fools we do term after term,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I'm watching the Senate in session now on the webcast and it's the biggest waste of money. They're voting on the Social Welfare Bill and half of them are just standing around, run back to their seats for the elctronic vote then get up and wander around again chatting. So after the last vote (electronically) some dude shouts that he wants a manual vote as if that's gonna make a diference but will pass the time for them probably.

It's like a primary school.