Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love Actually ?

• 19-12-2012 9:35pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

She want's to stay in and watch it. She says its a Christmas tradition.

I want to go out because its the last chance I'll get to before the Christmas.

I'm hoping to start a new tradition.

If ever a film was so unaptly named.

Suggestions.

Love actually ? 68 votes

In ?
    0% 0 votes
    Out ?
    58% 40 votes
    Turn off TV and do lots of other nice things ?
    41% 28 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Throw the RTE guide at her and tell her it'll be on another night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

get a boyfriend, at least then you'll get to watch die hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

Maybe grow a pair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

If you live near me, I'll go out on the lash with ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Pig Benis

Smash the TV.
    Youll either end up going out or start ridin, win win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Go out ffs, it'll be on at least three more times over Christmas. Can she not watch it by herself some time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Go watch paint dry , it would still be more interesting

Well if she wants to stay in then let her stay in while you go out :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Can't she watch the film while you go out?
    Or do people not do things separately anymore? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Lapin wrote: »
    She says its a Christmas tradition.

Lies Actually.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Maybe grow a pair?

Thats half the prob.

I want to use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Do you usually sit in and watch it with her??
    Why not go out by yourself, come home drunk, and try get the leg over?

bluewolf wrote: »
    Well if she wants to stay in then let her stay in while you go out :confused:

That was my diplomatic suggestion.

Dean09 wrote: »
    Do you usually sit in and watch it with her??
    Why not go out by yourself, come home drunk, and try get the leg over?

That is sooooooooo last week.

Sauve wrote: »
    Can't she watch the film while you go out?
    Or do people not do things separately anymore? :confused:

I think she carries his purse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

My little trick when some ****e like that is on the tele is to keep asking her loads and loads of stupid questions about the film.
    You'll be in the pub in no time!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I made a compromise when presented with a similar choice with my girlfriend wanting to watch her favourite Christmas movie. I said it was fine once we can watch my favourite Christmas movie, Die Hard :)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 187 ✭✭supackofidiots

WindSock wrote: »

dipso much?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

No multi room? U peasant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I'm feeling so sad and depressed right now because I have no one to watch Love Factually (or whatever the fluck you call it) with.

Where To wrote: »
    I'm feeling so sad and depressed right now because I have no one to watch Love Factually (or whatever the fluck you call it) with.

Dirty Harry is on TCM, watch that instead.

*Retracts offer*

:(

*eats chocolate bar*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

Insist on watching your favourite film after it. And let it be known beforehand that it is in fact Debbie Does Dallas.

dipso much?

Not much, no. You?

Larianne wrote: »
    Dirty Harry is on TCM, watch that instead.
    I can't. My mother had a pathological hatred of Sondra Locke which she passed onto me. Even though she was only in Sudden Impact I could never bring myself to watch any of the other Dirty Harry films.

some of this anecdote is true and some of it I made up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

As this is a Christmas thread, the third option on the poll should really be "Shake it all about?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Tell her everybody in the film died in a horrible accident and that if you watch it you'll be depressed for the whole of Christmas. Suggest a Jackie Chan marathon instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

I reckon he wants to stay in and she wants to go out really

Ads at last !
    sfwcork wrote: »
    No multi room? U peasant

No need for multi room.
    Its on RTÉ.

I could probably pick it up if I stuck a phone charger into a magnifying glass with a clothes hanger shoved up the chimney.
    *Retracts offer*

:(

*eats chocolate bar*

Take a break when you're done with that.

Have a Kit Kat !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Just go asleep during it and make her rub your hair. That's what I would do. I dream I'm a Viking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Nobody told me there was boobies in Love Actually. I didn't know yer one from Gavin and Stacey got them out for the lads.

• Site Banned Posts: 107 ✭✭big_joe_joyce

watched love actually earlier

presently watching predator for the cure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

watched love actually earlier

presently watching predator for the cure

Get to da Choppah

• Site Banned Posts: 107 ✭✭big_joe_joyce

MJ23 wrote: »
    Get to da Choppah

your one ugly mutha *****

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

Honesty is the best policy.

Darling (or whatever), I do like to spend time with you, but I just cant watch this sugar coated brainless generic regurgitated shallow american nonsense.

As such I feel it would be disingenuous of me to sit with you under the false pretense of enjoying something that makes me try to count the pixels on the screen.

Since relationships are based on honesty and mutual respect for the needs of each other I feel it is best for me...it is best for US, that I not lie to you. I will be back before our Sunday dinner with your mother who is not at all annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Spent the last two hours on the laptop playing Team Fortress 2, now Predator is on and all is right with the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Great film. The bit were robocop has a scrap with Ed209 and it falls down the stairs. Ah brilliant.

Mad Max in the Turnerdome is on now, by far the worst but better than any soppy kissy kissy crack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Tazium

Did ya see Bilbo? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Tazium wrote: »
    Did ya see Bilbo? :D

No, unless you're dyslexic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,173 ✭✭✭blackwhite

mackeire wrote: »
    My little trick when some ****e like that is on the tele is to keep asking her loads and loads of stupid questions about the film.
    You'll be in the pub in no time!

I prefer to point out every flaw I spot in the film.....

I was made sit through this last night.

Examples include:
    they've just gone through security at the airport, why are they meeting people with trollys of un-checked bags?

Portuguese bint working as a waitress in a restaurant in France, but she doesn't speak French. And all the people on the streets also speak Portuguese and not French?

At the end, the Prime Minister walks through arrivals gate at Heathrow into the general arrivals area? Heathrow, one of the biggest airports in the world, often used by the Royal family, doesn't have a more discreet arrivals procedure for people who would be considered to need it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,173 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Honesty is the best policy.

Darling (or whatever), I do like to spend time with you, but I just cant watch this sugar coated brainless generic regurgitated shallow american nonsense.

As such I feel it would be disingenuous of me to sit with you under the false pretense of enjoying something that makes me try to count the pixels on the screen.

Since relationships are based on honesty and mutual respect for the needs of each other I feel it is best for me...it is best for US, that I not lie to you. I will be back before our Sunday dinner with your mother who is not at all annoying.

Filmed in Britain, set in London, written and directed by a Brit, produced by Working Title - a British production company, and featuring a predominantly British cast.
    It's nonsense, but at least allow our neighbours to bear responsibility for inflicting this nonsense on us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

blackwhite wrote: »
    Portuguese bint working as a waitress in a restaurant in France, but she doesn't speak French. And all the people on the streets also speak Portuguese and not French?

Nu-uh, he goes to Portugal to find her. Her entire family follow him down (speaking Portugese).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

My boyfriend is only with me for my taste in movies. Die Hard is best Christmas film ever. Bad Santa the funniest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

Jaxxy wrote: »
    My boyfriend is only with me for my taste in movies. Die Hard is best Christmas film ever. Bad Santa the funniest.

Same here, we actually met on a film discussion site! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I should be allowed to kill Hugh Grant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Lapin wrote: »
    She want's to stay in and watch it. She says its a Christmas tradition.

I want to go out because its the last chance I'll get to before the Christmas.

I'm hoping to start a new tradition.

If ever a film was so unaptly named.

Suggestions.

Tradition?? The film isn't even 10 years old, getting socks from your granny is an xmas tradition. Go out and have a traditional pint of Guinness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

jester77 wrote: »
    Tradition?? The film isn't even 10 years old, getting socks from your granny is an xmas tradition. Go out and have a traditional pint of Guinness.

Plural would be more apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Plural would be more apt.

It was already plural from an Irish POV ;) Don't we all say to our women that we are heading out for a "pint", and come back 5+ pints later :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Don't be so henpecked and go out and enjoy yourself. In 10 years time you might be recalling a great night out with your mates around Christmas time but I bet anything you won't be fondly telling the story where you wanted to go out but instead you were boring and stayed in watching some shit Hugh Grant film with your bird.