Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you have given her money?

• 18-12-2012 12:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭

Right i was coming home from blanchardstown shopping centre on Saturday and stuck at traffic lights. Im not sure which traffic lights exactly but i was near the motorway and traffic was a good way back.

At the lights, i could see some woman who appeared to be handing out leaflets.

The friend who was with said no shes probaly selling something, she be will back asking for money.

Given that i had not seen her talking to the other motorists and just saw her handing something to them, i assumed it was a leaflet.

Nope, it was a magic tree air freshener with a note stapled to it that read
    " Please give me money, I have lost my job and have 2 kids"

Im pretty sure, word for word thats what it said.

Of course, i came to my senses and gave her back her magic tree.

From what i could see, some of the cars in front must have just drove off as
    i doubt she managed to get back to all of them a second time for payment.

What bothered me the most was the way she done it. She did not ask if i would like to but one but instead throw it at me through the window whilst walking by. Kind of forcing me to consider the purchase.
    Considering that, i was hoping for the lights to go green so i could drive off, purely for the principle of it.

So would anybody else have thrown her some money?
    Theres quite a large flow of traffic there so i assume, its statistically likely that she is getting some money from this venture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Nope. My money is mine, I won't be forced to give it to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

No I would of run her over. But that's just me, you shouldn't base your inintuition on that of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

If it was New Car Scent I might haggle her down to 25c for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Does this women pay taxes?? If so, I would've if I needed an air-freshner... if not then jog on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,146 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nope, it was a magic tree air freshener with a note stapled to it that read
    " Please give me money, I have lost my job and have 2 kids"

.. but yet has money for what? 20/30 air fresheners per sequence of lights?

Hmm..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭L0ui5e

i would have f@@ked it out the window on the ground..
    how dangerous is that flitting in between cars at traffic lights- i feel the same about window cleaners,charity collectors. they should not be allowed walk around vehicles like that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭lightspeed

Actually it said "Worlds best dad" on it. I was tempted to ask if the Father of her two kids was getting one for Christmas.

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    .. but yet has money for what? 20/30 air fresheners per sequence of lights?

Hmm..

Probably robbed in fairness.

darragh16 wrote: »
    Does this women pay taxes?? If so, I would've if I needed an air-freshner... if not then jog on

or you could have said you would take twenty of them but you require a VAT receipt for your accountant..

lightspeed wrote: »
    Actually it said "Worlds best dad" on it. I was tempted to ask if the Father of her two kids was getting one for Christmas.

I once won a teddy in the amusements in Bray.. When she handed it to me, I noticed it said 'My special special Mum'..
    As I was not gifting the teddy to my mum I asked could she change it for me.. She replied grimly 'they all say special mum' :o

What ticks me off, is she is probably living in accomadation funded by the state, receiving housing benefit, childrens allowance and living with some skanger boyfriend also receiving welfare.

Some may consider me heartless but i know of plenty of cases where single mothers are given fully furnished accomadation and of course they dont stay single forever and dont bother to tell the nice people at the welfare office that there boyfriend is now living with them. So with cheap accomadation, housing benifit, medical card, childrens and even back to school allowance, how could she be struggling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Maybe you smell?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭peterk675

Cheek of her! Take the tree..and leave her off.

What ticks me off, is she is probably living in accomadation funded by the state, receiving housing benefit, childrens allowance and living with some skanger boyfriend also receiving welfare.

Some may consider me heartless but i know of plenty of cases where single mothers are given fully furnished accomadation and of course they dont stay single forever and dont bother to tell the nice people at the welfare office that there boyfriend is now living with them. So with cheap accomadation, housing benifit, medical card, childrens and even back to school allowance, how could she be struggling?

Smokes and gear don't buy themselves :P

Boombastic wrote: »
    Maybe you smell?

Well i dont smell like a father.
    Maybe she was hoping if smelt the part, id fit the part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

what exactly was she smelling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

It's the latest scam to be seen at dublin traffic lights.

I've seen two different people do it this week in two different parts of Dublin. Both were male.

Anyone who gives money to these scammers deserves to be scammed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭nadey

I would have fecked the tree out the window and not given her a cent

Well i dont smell like a father.

:D:D

Do you think she was giving out the trees to lure men in as a baby daddy?

It's the latest scam to be seen at dublin traffic lights.

I've seen two different people do it this week in two different parts of Dublin. Both were male.

Anyone who gives money to these scammers deserves to be scammed

What's the scam?...no smell off the air freshner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

Boombastic wrote: »

What's the scam?...no smell off the air freshner?

The scam is tricking people into thinking they are taking a free leaflet and then conning the less confident among us into giving money to them

The scam then is not declaring said money for income tax

If said money was subsequently declared for income tax, the scam would then be the FG/Lab government spending it on their expenses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

I'd said she thinks money grows on trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Oh, it said all that on the leaflet too eh? :rolleyes:

No, I wouldn't have give her money. Not because I like to make sweeping assumptions about strangers based on nothing more than my own prejudices, but because I hate the way those awful "air freshener" trees smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭Arciphel

This woman has been at this spot on and off for the last three years. It's the overpass at the N3 between the shopping centre and the Snugborough Road. Lately she has been doing this on the slip road coming up from the westbound N3 into Blanch. She's a complete scan artist and targets women driving fancy cars, I've seen her hassling people if they role down their window and engage her. Van drivers and truck drivers usually take the sur freshened and tell her to jog on. Even the lads selling the Evening Herald there see her as a nuisance. I am guessing she is Romanian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I wouldn't give her anything, if she chooses to throw an air freshener into my car then that's her choice but she can fuc k off if she thinks she's getting any money for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭M44B19

They do it with lollypops in Limerick, Give the Kids lollypops and then ask the parents for the money and hold up a bucket.

Most either pay or get their child to hand it back.

They were getting a huge bag of them in a € store and then selling individually. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

nadey wrote: »
    I would have fecked the tree out the window and not given her a cent

You seem to have misunderstood. It was her giving the scents.

Badum bum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭irishjig69b

menise to society these fuc king romanians, kick them all out with the other scrongers, over 300 million a year to keep this leeches here, bloody shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Roma vs Romanian thing has still not got through to the masses I see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Got one of those before.... There is no contract / agreement to purchase there if she simply hands it to you and walks off. If she does that it's yours. Keep the air freshener!

There used to be a Romany gypsy aul one begging at the traffic lights at the Days Hotel junction of the Ballymun Road (coming from Poppintree direction). I used to stop the car about 20m back from the rest of the stationary traffic; then after letting her (slowly) walk up to my car to beg I'd drive forward to stop behind the rest of the traffic at the red light. She wouldn't bother trying to come back to me as the lights would have turned green by the time she got there!

Problem solved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

Foreigners throwing scented trees and lolly pops into cars.

What about the good old days when natives would through rodents into the opened windows of slow moving or stopped cars. The ocupants would jump out and the thiefs would take whatever was on the passenger seat. Ah the good old days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

When you're broke you're desperate for money. So what if she 'forced' you to consider giving her money. She's hardly out asking for money for the crack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

When you're broke you're desperate for money. So what if she 'forced' you to consider giving her money. She's hardly out asking for money for the crack.

Im all for helping out homeless people man, ive given money to homeless people and even brought food and water for some. But it think the problem is and OPs dilemma is her "method" of "forcing" you to give her money. People dont like to be pressured into doing something. The lady might need the money very much so, but its the way shes doing it, i cant say what i would have done in OPs shoes but i would definatly would have felt a bit pressured into giving her something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Jasus - if you played your cards right you could have got the ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

[QUOTE=Arciphel;82279008. I am guessing she is Romanian?[/QUOTE]

You are making a
    Big issue
    Out of this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

Where she get the freshners from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Lunni

Ireland is a welfare state. There's no need whatsoever to beg at traffic lights. A woman with 2 kids would be entitled to cheap/free accommodation and various kinds of benefits. I know single mothers with 2 kids who are much better off than me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Lunni wrote: »
    Ireland is a welfare state. There's no need whatsoever to beg at traffic lights. A woman with 2 kids would be entitled to cheap/free accommodation and various kinds of benefits. I know single mothers with 2 kids who are much better off than me.

How wrong can one post be!
    Clearly you have never heard of the Habitual Residence clause in qualifying for SW.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

I got stopped by either her or else another woman doing the same thing. She handed the air freshner and naturally I was delighted because she just smiled and walked on. There was no mention of purchase involved. She came back down the row of cars 5 seconds later after I had already hung it up, her initial smile had turned to a stern look and was now demanding money. I told her to fcuk off and drove off. Still have it hanging up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Inertia selling is illegal, is it not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

donvito99 wrote: »
    Inertia selling is illegal, is it not?

If she ends up in court she could ask for tree other offences to be taken into consideration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭squirrelohara

How wrong can one post be!
    Clearly you have never heard of the Habitual Residence clause in qualifying for SW.:mad:
    What does that clause mean. Just curious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Does she have the Black Ice one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Froyo

Arciphel wrote: »
    This I am guessing she is Romanian?
    menise to society these fuc king romanians, kick them all out with the other scrongers, over 300 million a year to keep this leeches here, bloody shocking

My retardometer just exploded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Seen people doing this around Maynooth recently and no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I actually have one of these in my car currently.....

A man handed it in the window (I thought it was free) and I noted the note stapled to it, and he kept on walking way behind my car. Lights went green and I got a free air freshener :/

T'is lemony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Nope. My money is mine, I won't be forced to give it to anyone.

Except the government :)

Who will gladly redistribute it to whomever it likes.

But yeah ignoring that 51% of income, the rest is alllllll ours.