Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda - Road rage, quite intimidating

• 17-12-2012 8:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭

Bit of a long story/rant so apologies but just looking for some opinions on something I experienced today.
    Is this an acceptable way for an off duty (it appears) Garda to behave

Driving through a town/city earlier today, pulled out from a side road onto a main road, looked to my right no cars except for one coming far in the distance, look left in the direction I'm going and begin pulling out. As I'm pulling out I look right again and the car that was in the distance is almost on top of me, clearly speeding by a fair bit.
    Now to be honest I probably should have checked to my right a second time BEFORE pulling out as opposed to AS I was. never the less this guy was going way too fast.

So anyway he leaves it till the last second to slow down as if he was going to hit me, starts blowing the horn like mad. I drove on slightly shaken and get as far as the traffic lights. The guy pulls behind me and starts blowing his horn again quite aggressively.

Just before the lights go green I get these 3 or 4 really hard bangs of a fist on my window, look out to see this chap standing there holding a Garda badge.
    Roll down my window and he starts roaring in at me, frothing at the mouth spitting in on top of me.

Asks do I know what a stop sign is? to which I replied "The way was clear"
    "Do you want penalty points" he goes on to say so I reply "No"
    all the while hes holding up traffic on a busy road. Asks where im from and then walks off back to his car.

So I drive on anyway a bit confused as to what this guys story was, get as far as the dual carriageway when next thing same guy comes flying past me and starts tailgaiting a woman in a Renault Scenic, she moves into the left lane as soon as its safe and he flies up the road at speed.

Not in a marked garda car, no lights or sirens.
    He was driving a privately owned car as it was a "XX" reg not a "D", no extra ariels and no lights in the places unmarked cars have them.

Not looking for sympathy as im fairly thick skinned but I just wonder would he act like that towards females/elderly drivers etc.
    Do you think I'm being a bit of a baby or is this carry on taking the biscuit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

let me get this straight, the pr**ck actually hit thumped your car several times? I would have lost the plot! Also would he have actually been able to do anything as an off duty guard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭JustLen

He did, see I got a shock as initially I presumed it was some prat looking for trouble, when I seen the badge I didn't know what to say for a minute then he was gone.

Pregnant girlfriend in the passenger seat as well which makes it worse

I presume if i was committing an offence or a crime he could have taken action even while off duty but i don't see the big deal in what i did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Dtp79

Idbatterim wrote: »
    let me get this straight, the pr**ck actually hit thumped your car several times? I would have lost the plot! Also would he have actually been able to do anything as an off duty guard?
    He's obviously power tripping. Thinks everyone should bow to him. I've never been in bother wit Gards before so have nothing against them but you should definately report this thug. Imagine if you were an old lady and how terrified you'd be. Did you get his name or licence plate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Should have got his reg or his garda number.

Shoulda woulda coulda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

If you got the reg report it and follow it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I believe that irrespective of this gentleman being a Garda, he is also human and as such susceptible to being irrational, rude, angry and an out right prick.

It happens :)

Its funny how I know the make, model and spec of his car but only a partial plate. Too much browsing this forum :rolleyes:

I considered reporting it but in reality it will probably get me nowhere plus the fact if hes such a prat he could well take an disliking to me if I ever come across him on the road again.

oh and i couldn't get his Garda number he didn't give me the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

MugMugs wrote: »
    I believe that irrespective of this gentleman being a Garda, he is also human and as such susceptible to being irrational, rude, angry and an out right prick.

OK Garda.....Thanks Garda....Sorry about that Garda....:rolleyes:

moonshadow wrote: »

I don't follow...... Could you perhaps elaborate please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Might not even be a member of AGS!! What did the badge look like ?

Ken

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

This sounds a little dismissive; would you feel the same if it happened to you and your pregnant gf?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 448 ✭✭tunedout

moonshadow wrote: »
    I don't follow...... Could you perhaps elaborate please?

It's straight forward enough. I'm sure everyone else follows and understands it. But I can explain it if you still need me to.

Andy!! wrote: »
    This sounds a little dismissive; would you feel the same if it happened to you and your pregnant gf?

I didn't realize where there was a pregnant lady present. Can you show me where that was said as I am having difficulty seeing it in the OP.

I was in no way dismissing the occurrence that the OP suffered. I was merely pointing out that despite the fact this gentleman was a member of An Garda Siochana and notwithstanding the fact that he clearly behaved disgracefully, he's also human and as likely as you and I to see red in certain circumstances.

tunedout wrote: »
    It's straight forward enough. I'm sure everyone else follows and understands it. But I can explain it if you still need me to.

Well please do..... I'm intrigued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

You can put a Badge on an asshole but its still an asshole with a badge

Well please do..... I'm intrigued.

Anyone with a bit of common sense knows the optimum and most trouble free strategy for dealing with gaurds is to nod, agree, and apologise.

It's not really intriguing at all, common sense if anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Op looks right, sees a car quite some distance away, and by the time he's looked left the car is suddenly on top of him?

Sounds to me like the Op shouldn't have pulled out in the first place. If this is the case, I'd struggle to hold my emotions in check too.

Anyone with a bit of common sense knows the optimum and most trouble free strategy for dealing with gaurds is to nod, agree, and apologise.

I'd disagree frankly. Just because this person was a member of the Gardai doesn't make what he did right and certainly should not allow him to behave in a manner such as this. Indeed, one may well feel that as a member of An Garda Siochana and upon identifying himself a member of the same that he would actually have acted in a far more professional manner.

There's no need to "imply" around here. You're not restricted for space in what you write. :)

I didn't realize where there was a pregnant lady present. Can you show me where that was said as I am having difficulty seeing it in the OP.

just to clear up she was in fact there but I edited my original post as it seemed a little personal. also to take out a few details about the location and his reg as it seemed a bad idea to have these in the post.

Is flashing a badge for litterally 2 second sufficient as a means of identifying himself? It may well be id like to know.
    He didnt tell me he was a Garda or anything just roared in on top of me.

Thing that annoyed me most to be honest was the spitting he was doing while shouting

I'd disagree frankly. Just because this person was a member of the Gardai doesn't make what he did right and certainly should not allow him to behave in a manner such as this. Indeed, one may well feel that as a member of An Garda Siochana and upon identifying himself a member of the same that he would actually have acted in a far more professional manner.

There's no need to "imply" around here. You're not restricted for space in what you write. :)

What part do you disagree about? Or all of it?

I'm restricted in terms of effort is all.

What part do you disagree about? Or all of it?

I'm restricted in terms of effort is all.
    Your whole take on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

JustLen wrote: »
    I considered reporting it but in reality it will probably get me nowhere plus the fact if hes such a prat he could well take an disliking to me if I ever come across him on the road again.
    I would report it. The only certainty is that nothing will change if you don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Trot trot trot.

Report it OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

I met a garda earlier. he stabbed me. then he raped my sister. then he was tailgating someone. then he was selling drugs. etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

J K wrote: »
    I met a garda earlier. he stabbed me. then he raped my sister. then he was tailgating someone. then he was selling drugs. etc.

put it down to experience and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Rega

J K wrote: »

Arrah, they're all at it. Sure wasn't Hitler's cousin a guard*

*may or may not be true

Veloce wrote: »
    Trot trot trot.

I don't understand what you mean by this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Would could happen if the OP just floored it because some looney approached his car after some road rage madness?
    Im assuming he couldnt be "done" for this response?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Op looks right, sees a car quite some distance away, and by the time he's looked left the car is suddenly on top of him?

Sounds to me like the Op shouldn't have pulled out in the first place. If this is the case, I'd struggle to hold my emotions in check too.
    Naw ;-), the driver on the main road was obviously wrong. AND a guard. So doubly, obviously, wrong.

TBH, I'm sick of "passengers at the wheel" dawdling out of sideroads etc. I'm this close to rapping on their window and telling them to "'wake the f##k up and pay attention" myself if given the opportunity. I'd be doubly angry if the offender had a pregnant passenger that they were putting at risk!

There'll be another thread here next week and the week after, about people who won't keep left, or not looking properly pulling out etc. And you'll have everyone complaining that the guards don't pull people up on shoddy driving. Well, the OP will LOOK and SEE the next time now, ha?

If it was a bike rather than a car, it sounds like a perfect opportunity for a SMIDSY injury/fatality.

Can't really disagree with fact though.

You go through a light when it's amber because you think it was better and safer than stopping. Guard pulls you over says what you did was wrong.

a) You argue that it was not safe to stop.
    b) You agree with the guard and say sorry it won't happen again and you're right etc.

Much more likely to get a fine and penalty points in scenario a.

Simple as.

Naw ;-), the driver on the main road was obviously wrong. AND a guard. So doubly, obviously, wrong.

TBH, I'm sick of "passengers at the wheel" dawdling out of sideroads etc. I'm this close to rapping on their window and telling them to "'wake the f##k up and pay attention" myself if given the opportunity. I'd be doubly angry if the offender had a pregnant passenger that they were putting at risk!

Nowhere did i state that i pulled out in front of him, that's a presumption on your part and a wrong one at that.
    I didn't put anyone in danger and i find it annoying to say the least that your throwing out accusations.

When I pulled out he was far enough away to make it a safe move on my part. Even tho he was speeding he still could have slowed down enough to avoid all of this but he decided to come towards me at speed and break at the last second in order to scare me deliberately.

I didn't come on here to whine and moan, like I said I want to see what people think about it, I wont be losing sleep over it. If the man behaves like that he either has a lot on his plate or he is unable to behave normally.

All of that aside I,m interested to know whether you think the way he acted was fine?

............ I,m interested to know whether you think the way he acted was fine?

It's not fine.
    I wouldn't consider it worth reporting though.

I said he was almost on top of me, he had plenty of time and distance to slow down. basically I didn't pull out in front of him

The place I pulled out from was just before the traffic lights as well so why he was going so fast I don't know, I can only presume he was trying to make it before they went red?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

..When I pulled out he was far enough away to make it a safe move on my part. Even tho he was speeding he still could have slowed down enough to avoid all of this but he decided to come towards me at speed and break at the last second in order to scare me deliberately....

Seems to me, if pulling out, means someone has to slow down to avoid hitting you it suggests there wasn't enough of a gap in the first place. And regardless of what either of our opinions are, the Garda obviously thought there wasn't enough space. Its bad and dangerous habit IMO. So annoying when someone is so impatient, they can't wait for you to pass to pull out, but when they do, they don't match their speed with the traffic in the merge, forcing everyone to brake.

Maybe thats not what happened, but thats how you describe it.

The Garda obviously wasn't very professional about it. TBH, I'm amazed they didn't get your details after all the hysterics. I've had Garda make a much bigger fuss about much less. Which makes me wonder was it a real Garda at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

If it a nice stretch of straight road and you can see them far off, you can make the decision as to if you can proceed safely.
    If the other driver is travelling at 80 in a 50 and has to slow down, due to you pulling out, then that is his fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

Nowhere did i state that i pulled out in front of him, that's a presumption on your part and a wrong one at that.
    I didn't put anyone in danger and i find it annoying to say the least that your throwing out accusations.

When I pulled out he was far enough away to make it a safe move on my part. Even tho he was speeding he still could have slowed down enough to avoid all of this but he decided to come towards me at speed and break at the last second in order to scare me deliberately.
    Question is was there a stop sign and stop or did you treat it as a yield sign? Nothing gets on my goat than people just pulling out in front of me on the road. However the instances where I have gotten out to anyone or done anything than flash the lights or honk the horn has been zero.

It's irritating that people who don't judge the speed of traffic that's on the road. But that's all it it is..irritating.

If he was "that" concerned about the manouvre he would have booked you there and then. My reading of it you were probably OK with your maneuver and he was just a jumped up little gobs***e that you had the misfortune to meet at his time of the month. Chalk it down to experience I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

I hope there is a news story later about a crazed lunatic who robbed a police badge and went around pretending he was a gaurd.

The guy who he stole the badge off was locked in the boot and could here him talking to himself while making siren noises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Cartel Mike

Can't really disagree with fact though.

You go through a light when it's amber because you think it was better and safer than stopping. Guard pulls you over says what you did was wrong.

a) You argue that it was not safe to stop.
    b) You agree with the guard and say sorry it won't happen again and you're right etc.

Much more likely to get a fine and penalty points in scenario a.

Simple as.

Normally I'd agreed with you 100% Tunedout. But there are a new breed of Garda out there where the term common sense is a foreign concept and if you get pulled over at all it means penalty points and fine as a miminimum.

If you come across one of these , in my experience the worst thing you can do is say the word 'sorry' as it implies guilt and they will look at you in the same manner Hannibal Lector might look at his next lunch victim and treat you accordingly.

It depends on the Guard and deep down I guess everybody really knows if they are in the wrong or not.
    If you feel you are in the wrong I agree deffo say sorry.
    If your not (in honest opinion) ,question the fine enough as to give the impression you will be appealing it and sow enough seeds of doubt in the Garda's mind as that when he sits down to write it, he's left with a headache as regards to how he's gonna prove something that may not have really happened. After some thought he may not send it.

A few years ago I would have taken your approach every time but in the current economic climate ,I think that warnings, empathy or common sense by alot of Gardai are foreign concepts unfortunately.

If it a nice stretch of straight road and you can see them far off, you can make the decision as to if you can proceed safely.
    If the other driver is travelling at 80 in a 50 and has to slow down, due to you pulling out, then that is his fault.

At least you'll have something to talk about in the ambulance.

BostonB wrote: »
    At least you'll have something to talk about in the ambulance.

Right so; next time that I see a car a kilometre off I will wait, just in case he is doing 130km/h. A bit of common sense and reasonable expectations should be applied.

We should know at what distance away would make a pulling out and turn safe to do so, even factoring in a potential for a bit of extra speed. If you are to wait constantly, in case the person is absolutely blitzing the speed limit, you could be at a junction all day.

Right so; next time that I see a car a kilometre off I will wait, just in case he is doing 130km/h. A bit of common sense and reasonable expectations should be applied.

We should know at what distance away would make a pulling out and turn safe to do so, even factoring in a potential for a bit of extra speed. If you are to wait constantly, in case the person is absolutely blitzing the speed limit, you could be at a junction all day.

"a car a kilometre off - doing 130km/h - at a junction all day"

Common sense & reasonable that isn't. :)

Yes I appreciate that at that speed he will still take over 20 seconds to reach you but it's late and you get the meaning I imagine

I'm still waiting for the part where you make a car a km away slow down, if its to have any relevance. This would be almost like you pulling out at Guinness'es and seeing a car at O'Connell Bridge. Or as its 130km/h perhaps its easier to visualise the common sense suggestion of pulling out in front of cars doing 130km/h on the M1 from a side road and not waiting 20 secs for the road to clear.

Obviously people who speed up and drive at you, have a screw loose. Considering they usually do it, to then sit at a traffic light, or junction 100m further up the road. Especially in Dublin.

I was in no way dismissing the occurrence that the OP suffered. I was merely pointing out that despite the fact this gentleman was a member of An Garda Siochana and notwithstanding the fact that he clearly behaved disgracefully, he's also human and as likely as you and I to see red in certain circumstances.

This doesn't seem like one of those understandable circumstances. And yes the lads pregnant girlfriend was present. That changes little, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

e9d847a32233cf13ff49ff13ee427cfa

This doesn't seem like one of those understandable circumstances. And yes the lads pregnant girlfriend was present. That changes little, really.
    I'm failing to see your point to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I didn't come on here to whine and moan, like I said I want to see what people think about it, I wont be losing sleep over it. If the man behaves like that he either has a lot on his plate or he is unable to behave normally.

All of that aside I,m interested to know whether you think the way he acted was fine?
    You are that guy who sits in the overtaking lane, forcing your favoured speed on other people. Or you are at least of that mindset. Misjudging another cars speed like you did is bad driving. Justifying it by saying you didnt like the speed he was doing and he should be doing your speed is worse. If he had to haul on the brakes, you pulled out in front of him no matter what way you twist it. Through poor driving judgement, or sheer "I'll show him" ignorance. IMO anyway.

TBH, I'm highly skeptical about your interpretation of events/the-real-world. So I'll take "garda busted me window and locked up my whole family without trial" to mean he knocked at your window and gave you a well intentioned wake-up call about your shoddy driving.

I'm failing to see your point to be honest.

My point is, you don't seem to care that this happened to someone, because hey, that someone wasn't you.

But you're unable to support that claim. Read back through the thread and attempt to substantiate this please.