Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TreadMill Speed KPH Precisely Correct or Not?

• 17-12-2012 4:59pm
    Site Banned Posts: 8

I am a track and field sprinter who would love to compete in an Olympic level. I recently started training and im doing 16.5 KPH on a treadmill at the moment.

16.5 KPH is super-fast and simply is 10.3 MPH which I think is ridiculous for someone that wants to compete in a Olympic level.

To compete in a Olympic Level, I'll need to be running from 20 MPH! - 36 KPH.. Hell Usain Bolt has ran 26 MPH - 42 KPH.

My Question is: Is the Treadmill very accurate in calculation of Speed? Or am I getting confused someone? I would like to think that I am running 16.5 MPH which is 26 KPH at the moment.

Note: I also noticed some treadmill can be faster/slower than others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

Start training outside, on a track or a nice flat surface and find a sprint coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You're not overly clear in your post. Have you been training for a while or are you new to it? And when you say you're running at 16.5kph, are you running at this pace for a certain amount of time, or doing short sprint intervals at this speed.

16.5kph is 3:38 per km, which will feel like a relatively fast sprint if you're new to running.

Short answer is that unless the treadmill says "km/h" on the display, then it could be km/h or mph, or it could be some arbitrary measurement. If you have a model number for the treadmill, you can probably look up the manual online to find out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

cc87 wrote: »
    Start training outside, on a track or a nice flat surface and find a sprint coach.

Join a running club if you are really interested.

My running coach (from when I was 10-18) told us running on a treadmils is completely pointless if you want to be a sprinter.

Not sure how true that is but it's always stuck with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭holdfast

I remember reading in Micheal Boyle book on advance functional training. That using a treadmill removes some of the push off that you get from running on the last part leg movement..So its not as benifitcal as running on a track, better go outside and hit the track. Sorry like school i did not answer the question, but i hope it helps/improves your sprinting.

• Site Banned Posts: 8 Vinos

In reply to all your questions, I recently started training as a sprinter (1 month ago), I joined a sprinting club and I have a team coach.

We train on a track and field stadium 3 days per week. I am using the treadmill because our training session has closed for this year and will be quite longer b4 it reopens, plus I like going to the gym when im not training in the field and not bad to use the treadmill.

I will find the model number of the treadmill and investigate about it speed.

Running in treadmill is not "That Pointless" if you know what you' re doing. Before I started as a Sprinter, my maximum treadmill speed was 11 KPH.
    Today I hit 20 KPH!.. And I also figure out that thats the maximum speed of a treadmill. I can now outrun a treadmill in a short speed race!

Its true that the treadmill removes some of the push etc, but no one in my gym has passed 13 KPH on a treadmill, and it is with the help of it that I am getting faster. I do other sprint training as well.

Now I will maintain the 20 KPH and do intervals with it 30sec speed, 10 sec off.

I am extremely motivated and have great passion to be a Sprinter and you will see me in Rio 2016, before that, I'll be hitting 36 KPH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Vinos wrote: »
    In reply to all your questions, I recently started training as a sprinter (1 month ago), I joined a sprinting club and I have a team coach.

We train on a track and field stadium 3 days per week. I am using the treadmill because our training session has closed for this year and will be quite longer b4 it reopens, plus I like going to the gym when im not training in the field and not bad to use the treadmill.

I will find the model number of the treadmill and investigate about it speed.

Running in treadmill is not "That Pointless" if you know what you' re doing. Before I started as a Sprinter, my maximum treadmill speed was 11 KPH.
    Today I hit 20 KPH!.. And I also figure out that thats the maximum speed of a treadmill. I can now outrun a treadmill in a short speed race!

Its true that the treadmill removes some of the push etc, but no one in my gym has passed 13 KPH on a treadmill, and it is with the help of it that I am getting faster. I do other sprint training as well.

Now I will maintain the 20 KPH and do intervals with it 30sec speed, 10 sec off.

I am extremely motivated and have great passion to be a Sprinter and you will see me in Rio 2016, before that, I'll be hitting 36 KPH!

If no one in your gym ever passed 13kph, you need to join a proper gym!

Good luck with it, hopefully see you in Rio.

If no one in your gym ever passed 13kph, you need to join a proper gym!

Good luck with it, hopefully see you in Rio.

Well its not the gym's fault that the members are so bad haha.

No really, 13 KPH is considered sprinting! and most people prefer running. Like I said before I started as a Sprinter, I found 11 KPH to be super fast. It takes a Sprinter to know how to beat 13 KPH cos they have the skills to beat it, unlike normal runners or gym members.

I could never have beaten the treadmill if I wasnt a Sprinter, its just impossible, and very very dangerous. You need skill, strength and some explosive power to beat it.

By the way thanks for the compliment. I am looking forward to making history for Ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Well its not the gym's fault that the members are so bad haha.

No really, 13 KPH is considered sprinting! and most people prefer running. Like I said before I started as a Sprinter, I found 11 KPH to be super fast. It takes a Sprinter to know how to beat 13 KPH cos they have the skills to beat it, unlike normal runners or gym members.

I could never have beaten the treadmill if I wasnt a Sprinter, its just impossible, and very very dangerous. You need skill, strength and some explosive power to beat it.

By the way thanks for the compliment. I am looking forward to making history for Ireland

Amateur troll is amateur.

13km/h = 3h 15m marathon.

Total sprint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭ConorCBS

Love that! That's the way to do it. Keep it up and we'll be seeing you in Rio! :)

Hanley wrote: »

Total sprint.

And your point being?

ConorCBS wrote: »
    Love that! That's the way to do it. Keep it up and we'll be seeing you in Rio! :)

Thanks, I have lots to sacrifice for this country. And in 2016, history will be made. Mark my words and believe in me. ;)

Hanley wrote: »

Total sprint.

1 month = 20 KPH
    2 months and more = Usain Bolt.

Thats how I see myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭ConorCBS

Thanks, I have lots to sacrifice for this country. And in 2016, history will be made. Mark my words and believe in me. ;)

I believe in you. I will also be there with you winning gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

I'd say Usain Bolt is sh1tt1ng himself.

Thanks to you all. I already have fans already :). I wont fail you guys, I promise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Thanks to you all. I already have fans already :). I wont fail you guys, I promise.

You should set up a training log, Facebook and twitter page so we can keep up to date!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Fair play for your enthusiasm, but there's an important question I need to ask: are you black, and is your family of West African origin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I thought you'd only been training for a month?

2/10, most trolls only step on their own toes in different threads, not the same one. Though 13km/h = sprinting, lol. Kudos.

seamus wrote: »
    I thought you'd only been training for a month?

2/10, most trolls only step on their own toes in different threads, not the same one. Though 13km/h = sprinting, lol. Kudos.

If you can read properly you'll figure out that I said that I have been training as a "Sprinter" for a month!.

Sprinting and other Fitness exercises and Training (which I said) are totally different things!.

You'll pass out in a training session in a Sprint Training, and tens to hundreds of people have quit after their first week of Sprint Training.

I would have easily quit the first week if I was never fit and havent been training for a little while.

Note: I didnt walk for weeks after I started training as a Sprinter cos they pain was excruciating, and I still have bit of pain in my legs!. Tho it'll get better as I keep training.