Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dexter Season 7 Episode 12 "Surprise, Mother F...." [** Spoilers **]

• 17-12-2012 4:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭

Im a little disappointed at that ending. It was lacking at the end. I would have liked to see how they got rid of the 2 bodies and Deb's reaction to being a murderer a bit more. I think the editor cut it for time reasons by the looks of it.

S07E12 Verdict 69 votes

Excellent
    0% 0 votes
    Very Good
    26% 18 votes
    Good
    34% 24 votes
    Fair
    33% 23 votes
    Poor
    5% 4 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

brokenarms wrote: »
    Im a little disappointed at that ending. It was lacking at the end. I would have liked to see how they got rid of the 2 bodies and Deb's reaction to being a murderer a bit more. I think the editor cut it for time reasons by the looks of it.

They are not going to get rid of the bodies, they will leave them in the shipyard and say it was a shootout.

Did anyone else find it ridiculous that La Guerta went without back up? It ruined the episode for me as thats all I was thinking for the rest of the episode.

Looks like Hannah will be around for the last season, I thought she was gonna kidnap Harrison after Jamie said she left him in the back room.

Deb shooting La Guerta was obvious but I like where it leaves the last season

The best thing about the episode was the Doakes scenes, can they not say he had an identical twin brother or something and bring him back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,616 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

The 3 posts above have been moved from the pre-finale discussion thread, and unspoilered. Poll added.

Good enough finale, but the ending was a little predictable. I think after the great season just gone, it was a bit of a let down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭The Browser

Fantastic. Yes, she should've asked for back-up, but in a show with as many holes as this one, I'm past quibbling over that.

I felt awful when Deb murdered La Guerta. She really should have put Dexter down. The man is poison.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Arr I'm happy enough with that ending! Two major gripes though, LaGuerta going to the shipyard with no backup and Deb was ALWAYS gonna shoot her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

The black lily that Hana left at Dexter's door has potential to be a great story line in the next installment.

I still think she is going to undergo a small bit of surgery by doctor dex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭R019912

Great episode. No more Dexter for nearly a year though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭MadPatrick

I would have preferred if the final surprise wasn't so obviously going to happen as soon as LaGuerta woke up, which was obvious from when Dex said he gave her half a dose.

Great episode and season though. I hope they keep going at this pace for the final season.

irish son wrote: »
    They are not going to get rid of the bodies, they will leave them in the shipyard and say it was a shootout.
    I wonder whether the fact that LaGuerta was killed by Deb's gun will be an issue.

BTW: Jennifer Carpenter was outstanding in the last scene.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 187 ✭✭supackofidiots

great episode, would have preferred to see dexter wrap maria up in plastic though.

real change of pace for dexter recently, realising he doesn't have a dark passenger and that it's just him pulling all the strings, and then now he's started killing innocent people, maria, hannah's father.

he's a different sort of animal that's for sure.

I was surprised that Hannah did poison deb, I was sure Deb did it herself. Love Hannah. she's a great character. I was sour when it looked like she was being written out of the show.

I wonder whether the fact that LaGuerta was killed by Deb's gun will be an issue.

I never even thought of that, I wouldnt be surprised if the writers never thought of it either :pac:

Deb rushed over to her former rival in a scene that Jennifer Carpenter apparently improvised, sobbing and screaming out "Oh my god" over and over again, in disbelief of what she had just done. At one point she looked at Dexter and mouthed, "I hate you."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

I knew it would end up Deb killing someone by seasons end, either Hannah or Maria. Over the last few it became more clear it would be Maria. I really wonder where it goes from here, one season left, will it be Dexter v Deb now? Can she accept what she has done?

I figure the final scene of the series has to be dexter on a concrete slab getting his just desserts.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

Predictable but good episode. Was the past stuff pulled from existing episodes? Looked genuine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Andy!! wrote: »
    Predictable but good episode. Was the past stuff pulled from existing episodes? Looked genuine.

Parts of it were, but there were extra scenes with Doakes shot that weren't in the show before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

FearDark wrote: »
    Arr I'm happy enough with that ending! Two major gripes though, LaGuerta going to the shipyard with no backup and Deb was ALWAYS gonna shoot her!

I don't think it was that ridiculous to be honest. I mean the whole police force thought she was mad. I can see why she went alone also she may have wanted to kill Dexter over Dokes.

What i did find bemusing was the final scene with Hannah. She breaks from prison and goes without disguise to the likeliest place she would turn up and their were no police their.

All of the Doakes scenes were entirely new. They were excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

Yes, this was my thought as well, plus the angle of the bullet and where laGuerta's body lays, so wondering how Dexter modifies the scene so it fits his original plan, or how he changes it / what he does with them.

So bummed no more Dexter until late next year :(

Dexter is a forensic expert. Both bullets from standard issue police firearms, so I'm sure they have a way out of it. Unless they do a CSI crossover, in which case they're probably screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

Mr E wrote: »
    Dexter is a forensic expert. Both bullets from standard issue police firearms, so I'm sure they have a way out of it. Unless they do a CSI crossover, in which case they're probably screwed.

LOL :D Dex might be forensic expert but that bullet has still come from Deb's gun and not LaGuerta's gun and they can match bullets to guns (unless I've been watching too much CSI & NCIS as well:o ) I was imagining for a minute that Dex was going to start digging the bullet out of her body. My theory for next season is this is going to play a big part with Dexter ultimately going down to protect Deb.

Mr E wrote: »

Guns have unique serials. They aren't gonna be able to get around the fact that deb shot her but they'll probably say she did it to stop the gangster getting shot. I don't see that being a big issue. Except for the fact that she went to a party straight after and said nothing, that might strike someone as being odd :P Time of death is a pretty exact science so Masuka would know if they lied that it happened after the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭DjFlin

I thought it was an alright ending. Not the best, but not the worst.

As far as Hannah is concerned, I'm guessing she's gone. Moved to Argentina or something. The guest characters rarely stick around for more than one season, even the ones that don't die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

Thought it was very good myself.

Also, pretty obvious that La Guerta didn't ask for back up in something involving Estrada and Dexter after it all but ruining her career a few scenes previous! Not to mention being told to leave it alone and being condemned from all corners.

Knew Deb would shoot Last Guerta also. Fairly obvious. I think she said hated him at the end there too.... wonder will there be redemption for Deb next season...

Also, looks like we were all wrong about him being arrested just being a dream sequence! Or maybe it was wishful thinking. Won't be watching those previews again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

all dex has to do is dig the bullet out of laguerta and shot her again in the same spot with the other gun, well if hes smart thats what he'll done,

i wonder what will happen with laguertas warrant now, i wonder will batista click onto something about laguertas death and then hell have to be dealt with, or will joey hook up with jamie and click onto something,

next season should be fun, seeing what kind of angle they decide to go in, i wonder if hanna or lumen will play a big part next season, it might be dodgy for hanna to show up again, and id say shes well on her way to argentina, i wouldn't mind having lumen show up to help out dexter, like dexter helped her,

a good final episode, but not the best,

don ramo wrote: »
    all dex has to do is dig the bullet out of laguerta and shot her again in the same spot with the other gun, well if hes smart thats what he'll done,

i wonder what will happen with laguertas warrant now, i wonder will batista click onto something about laguertas death and then hell have to be dealt with, or will joey hook up with jamie and click onto something,

next season should be fun, seeing what kind of angle they decide to go in, i wonder if hanna or lumen will play a big part next season, it might be dodgy for hanna to show up again, and id say shes well on her way to argentina, i wouldn't mind having lumen show up to help out dexter, like dexter helped her,

a good final episode, but not the best,

Huh. You might be on to something there. Wonder if theres a reason why they had Joey hook up with Jamie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Guys, there was a legitimate reason she went alone. That's not a plot hole. She had already accused him of being the butcher so she couldn't just pull a bunch of uniforms in to go to the docks without having to explain herself again. Her job was already on thin ice.

Obviously it was a plot contrivance but it was a very logical one.

The idea of bringing Lumen back to deal with Hannah made me laugh. Part of me thinks it would be great fun but I doubt they have the budget to pay for Julia Stiles again. Although maybe with LaGuerta gone. Perhaps....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

I really liked that.

I honestly just smile so much when Dexter is in a deep thought and speaking out loud with Harry. It's excellent television.

Never really liked Deb but she was great in this episode too. Really thought she was going to turn the gun on herself after she shot Maria as well.

Roll on next year. That would have been a great ending to next year, with Deb shooting Dexter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

Interview here with 'Dexter' show runner:

http://insidetv.ew.com/2012/12/17/dexter-finale-8-interview/

just read an interview with the show runner scott buck, he addresses a few question, and also kind of answers a few question about next season, so up to yerselfs if ye wanna read,

at least he said that debs bullet issue will be addressed,

Kirby wrote: »
    The idea of bringing Lumen back to deal with Hannah made me laugh. Part of me thinks it would be great fun but I doubt they have the budget to pay for Julia Stiles again. Although maybe with LaGuerta gone. Perhaps....
    im not on about her coming back to deal with hanna, im on about her coming back to help dexter in some way, i cant see how they could bring hanna back into it, with her escaping custody and all, maybe have her contact dexter to meet her up with her and they both run with harrison and live happily ever after somewhere,

also i cant really see julia stiles being a major drain on the budget, theyll offer her a fair price, and it would basically be up to herself if she feels like doing it, if not im sure they can go other ways, also im not saying their even on about bringing her back, i just really liked her character and she is one person i could see helping dexter out, she had a clean break when she left, she got what she wanted and then left,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭adox

Please, no more Lumen!!! It will just remind of the utter dross that Dexter had become.

So pleasantly surprised that season 7 was so enjoyable and a return to form. The finale ending was quite predictable but enjoyable non the less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Brilliant episode, really enjoyed it. The biggest bonus was that La Guerta gets it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

just read an interview with the show runner scott buck, he addresses a few question, and also kind of answers a few question about next season, so up to yerselfs if ye wanna read,

at least he said that debs bullet issue will be addressed,

Interesting. He doesn't believe in holding much back anyway. What's a show runner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I hate the fact that I'm constantly reminded Deb is an idiot... she's so rash and emotional with her decisions, and then starts that stupid crying. Really annoys me how she's risen to lieutenant in the Police Force there.

The episode itself was very good, Doakes presence was a reminder of how awesome he was and also how killing him was a huge loss to the show. The ending was shaping up to be excellent, but I felt it was a little flat - in my head, I seen Deb slowly putting the gun down, weeping, while Dexter picks up the knife again and walks over to La Guerta, stabbing her as intended.

I really hope they bring Hannah back, she's excellent... puts Lumen to shame as a character.
    Should be a fun final season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

All that episode did was shown how awesome Doakes was. I remember hating him at the time, but thats just because of how good a character he was. You were supposed to hate him for trying to catch Dexter. You dont realise just how good he was until he's gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

I think the success of Hannah has a lot to do with Yvonne Strahovski. As a fan of Chuck I was really looking forward to this season knowing she would be in it and she hasn't disappointed. She manages to portray so much about her character with a look, more than Julia Stiles could portray with an entire soliloquy. Glad she's going to be back next year.

Interesting. He doesn't believe in holding much back anyway. What's a show runner?

hes in charge of the show, hes the one who make the major decisions about what happens on the show, how its gonna develop, decide what way each episode will play out, who lives, who dies,

so if you dont like how the show is going its his fault :D:D,
    sink wrote: »
    I think the success of Hannah has a lot to do with Yvonne Strahovski. As a fan of Chuck I was really looking forward to this season knowing she would be in it and she hasn't disappointed. She manages to portray so much about her character with a look, more than Julia Stiles could portray with an entire soliloquy. Glad she's going to be back next year.

i think strahovski got a much better character to play with than stiles did, hanna was a killer, but a very likeable one like dexter in the earlier seasons, shes smart and knows how to survive, and doesnt hesiate to move an object out of her way if necessary, wheras lumen didnt know how to hold a knife when we met her, she wanted revenge, anyway for me personally i loved both of them, i just cant see how they can realistically bring hanna back next season,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Quote:
    Originally Posted by LionelNashe viewpost.gif

hes in charge of the show, hes the one who make the major decisions about what happens on the show, how its gonna develop, decide what way each episode will play out, who lives, who dies,

Ah right, I thought he was the guy who gets the coffee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Guns have unique serials...

I sometimes wonder about this forensic "The boys in the lab matched the bullet to the gun" scenario which CSI is fond of. It may work where suspect #1 had a luger and suspect #2 had a glock, and the bullet was a match to the glock, but two police service pieces, which came off the same line, in the same factory a few months from each other, you would wonder can they really match them that accurately. I am sure Dex or one of his forensic minded friends could put reasonable doubt in the minds of most jurors.

I found this episode a bit meh to be honest. La Guerta is out of the way so now there is no one else gunning for him. I found Deb this season irritating, because before, she was ditzy, foul mouthed, but cool. Here she was serious, woe is me, struggling under the pressure, tearful Deb. I suspect more of the same next year.

I dont feel like the net is tightening anymore. Matthews doesnt seem to care too much, La Guerta is gone. I was expecting an awesome Cliff Hanger, and didnt get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

syklops wrote: »
    I sometimes wonder about this forensic "The boys in the lab matched the bullet to the gun" scenario which CSI is fond of. It may work where suspect #1 had a luger and suspect #2 had a glock, and the bullet was a match to the glock, but two police service pieces, which came off the same line, in the same factory a few months from each other, you would wonder can they really match them that accurately.

Actually, I think that's one of the CSI things that's not complete BS. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ballistic_fingerprinting

syklops wrote: »
    I sometimes wonder about this forensic "The boys in the lab matched the bullet to the gun" scenario which CSI is fond of. It may work where suspect #1 had a luger and suspect #2 had a glock, and the bullet was a match to the glock, but two police service pieces, which came off the same line, in the same factory a few months from each other, you would wonder can they really match them that accurately. I am sure Dex or one of his forensic minded friends could put reasonable doubt in the minds of most jurors.

Each gun has a unique serial number and when a bullet is shout from the gun the number is engraved onto the bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,840 ✭✭✭Calibos

irish son wrote: »
    Each gun has a unique serial number and when a bullet is shout from the gun the number is engraved onto the bullet.

The rifling of the barrel imparts a spin on a bullet as it leaves the barrel. This spin stabilises the bullet in flight. The rifling puts spiral scratches on the bullet. These scratches are unigue to each gun like a fingerprint. CSI's can match the scratches on a bullet to the barrel of the gun that fired it.

The gun does not engrave a serial number on the bullet as it leaves the barrel :D unless every crime show ever made and all the gunshows on discovery have failed to mention it :D

Calibos wrote: »

The rifling of the barrel imparts a spin on a bullet as it leaves the barrel. This spin stabilises the bullet in flight. The rifling puts spiral scratches on the bullet. These scratches are unigue to each gun like a fingerprint. CSI's can match the scratches on a bullet to the barrel of the gun that fired it.

The gun does not engrave a serial number on the bullet as it leaves the barrel :D unless every crime show ever made and all the gunshows on discovery have failed to mention it :D

Yeah I was guessing really :o Same idea though as in they are all unique, don't watch CSI or any cop shows really.

This also happens with Nurf guns. . I was able to tell which family member shot me last week by taking the nurf bullet and the nurf gun to the garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

This. It's one of the (very) few things cop shows get spot on. The only way around it, I think, is to file it down and that would be pretty obvious on a police issued gun.

Deb's best hope is to either come up with a convincing story for shooting LaGuerta, or "lose" the gun.

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    This. It's one of the (very) few things cop shows get spot on. The only way around it, I think, is to file it down and that would be pretty obvious on a police issued gun.

Deb's best hope is to either come up with a convincing story for shooting LaGuerta, or "lose" the gun.

Yeah but she shot some bloke in a bar in one other series . With that gun .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

brokenarms wrote: »

Yeah but she shot some bloke in a bar in one other series . With that gun .

Well remembered, but that sort of plot hole could easily happen in dexter.