Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If someone killed your child, could you muster the rage to kill them?

• 17-12-2012 5:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,673 ✭✭✭✭

After the recent shootings in the US and the thread on here about the homeless guy killed by the police, I got to thinking about how we would react as a parent if someone killed our children?

I tried to imagine if my kids were in that school and if the shooter hadn't killed himself. If I was given the chance, would I actually be able to take his life in revenge?

Honest answer, probably yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I predict revenge fantasies galore here, as these threads are the manna that feeds AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

"probably yes", isn't an answer. Please try again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

You know, I've often spent days on end thinking about that and how I'd react if that were to happen to my hypothetical child, OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,673 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

1ZRed wrote: »
    You know, I've often spent days on end thinking about that and how I'd react if that were to happen to my hypothetical child, OP

So your answer is?

btw my new answer is 'Yes'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

Answer yes too Op :) wanna hug about it? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

NIMAN wrote: »
    So your answer is?

btw my new answer is 'Yes'.

Well I'm a protective person by nature and if someone I loved was in harm, I think I'd have the capability of killing them if it meant I could save them, but how would I ever know how I'd react?

But of someone had already killed my child, could I kill someone? Don't know, but honestly I doubt it. It's very easy to say "yeah, without hesitation" but what would that achieve? Peace of mind, maybe, but you've just wrecked your life further over something you couldn't fix to begin with. Plus I don't believe an eye for an eye always works.

So I'd probably answer the the question as "no", but in the heat of the moment and in rage, fvck knows the answer. That's why my above comment was so sarcastic.

Well if that kidnapper had sexually assaulted his boy, I say fair play, got his comeuppance.

I must admit that my 'YES' would probably be heat of the moment too. Like if I came along to that school to find my kid dead and the shooter was standing there with the police and I was given the chance to shoot him.

However, if it was a few months or years later, and the pain might have subsided a bit, maybe I might not have the rage to do it.

Who knows, hopefully I will never find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Dexter Morgan style. Cling film, bin linners, saws, the works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I think it would be real easy to kill someone in that scenario; I think real courage would be in trying to forgive them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

An eye for an eye and the world is blind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

No doubt about it, and any parent who'd say otherwise is not being truthful.

In fairness I did give this further thought and just stumbling on things, while completely consumed by rage, I think I could do serious damage, but everyone reacts differently and some could just break down or plain out not agree that to murder them would justify anything. Though there would be some who'd think otherwise and carry out the dead ofc.

I hardly doubt that every parent would be able to kill without any doubt or hesitation about it without even being in the situation first to know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

1ZRed wrote: »
    In fairness I did give this further thought and just stumbling on things, while completely consumed by rage, I think I could do serious damage, but everyone reacts differently and some could just break down or plain out not agree that to murder them would justify anything. Though there would be some who'd think otherwise and carry out the dead ofc.

I hardly doubt that every parent would be able to kill without any doubt or hesitation about it without even being in the situation first to know that.

The question was could they, not would they. Two different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

I'd be like Ving Rahmes in Pulp Fiction,

"I'ma call a coupla hard, pipe-hittin' nig*ers, who'll go to work on the homes here with a pair of pliers and a blow torch."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I must admit that my 'YES' would probably be heat of the moment too. Like if I came along to that school to find my kid dead and the shooter was standing there with the police and I was given the chance to shoot him.

However, if it was a few months or years later, and the pain might have subsided a bit, maybe I might not have the rage to do it.

Who knows, hopefully I will never find out.

So your back to "probably yes"until someone else disagrees with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

Without a doubt, yes.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭PickledLime

For one i don't have kids, and it's a pretty extreme, far flung situation that the majority of us will (hopefully) never have to endure, but my gut is 'yes, and then some'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Awesome! You mean someone else will get rid of the brat for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

A definite yes. Especially, if when I managed a confrontation I was met with a defiant, cocky, unrepentant murderer who was laughing at me a little. I'm not so sure about how I would react if the murderer was a crying, snivelling wreck when they realised that I was serious and vengeful. That would be very difficult but I think I would manage by summoning up thoughts of my child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

"A time to kill" senario would be to much to bear for any parent, everyone will come on here and say yes, but seriously there is so much protection out there for criminals you would never get close enough to them to carry it out, but depending on the crime of course if a one to one situation came about I wouldn't think twice, it wouldn't even have to be my child.

However, as a compromise if there was a chance that I could somehow press the button that delivered a lethel injection to a child killer I would have no problems with that either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

killing them would be an empty revenge....ALMOST killing them so that they live the rest of their lives suffering as you would be doing is a much better plan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

I'm not sure that anyone could answer this with certainty. I have children and it is easy to think I would take the law into my own hands, but then I think I would be too grief stricken at my loss, and too busy comforting my family to let revenge take over, but in the end I suppose you only really know how you would react when something actually happens, and I never want to be in that position.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Absolutely, but I would torture them for a long time first. Then i would proudly turn myself in to the guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Get a sex change, become a hot lady boy. Find them on a prison dating site then spend 5 years cultivating a relationship.

Arrange a conjugal and then bite their penis off.

Then get counseling afterward for the trauma of becoming a ladyboy and biting someone's penis off.

But hey . At least he has no penis anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Don't have a child so don't rightly know.

But if someone hurt one my family and I had a way of making them pay, I think I could in a heartbeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

If they killed my child, I dont know, maybe not. If my child was raped however, id defo kill them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It is considered bad manners not to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

the fear and panic my child would feel, seconds before a adult pulls and shoots a weapon at close range , would be multiplied 10 fold on the shooter if i managed to get my hands on them before the garda would

i know people say " its easy to say " - well that's becasue it is easy to say , becasue it would be easy to do

im looking at my little 4 1/2 year old right now , and the thought of someone pointing a weapon at her in play school fills me with panic,
    and i know she would be terrified for this to happen.

so this is why IF i got the chance to return the favor - i would would do it ten fold IN A HEART BEAT AND WITHOUT HESITATION

i would torture the ****er

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I don't have a child but I know that without a doubt I would kill the person if they deliberately killed my child, not a car accident death or anything like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

If they killed my child, I dont know, maybe not. If my child was raped however, id defo kill them.

and that's worse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Don't see the point of these threads. Obviously if somebody deliberately killed your kid, you'd want to rip them apart but so what? What is the point of even discussing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

.... if the shooter hadn't killed himself. If I was given the chance, would I actually be able to take his life in revenge?

Honest answer, probably yes.

Likewise, no hesitation, no doubt - yes. I guarantee the f**ker would die screaming!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

anncoates wrote: »
    Don't see the point of these threads. Obviously if somebody deliberately killed your kid, you'd want to rip them apart but so what? What is the point of even discussing it?
    Internet cocksizing, pure and simple. It's similar to what you see on threads discussing a tragic event or the death of someone famous, or when someone posts up a picture of a kid with a black eye on Facebook and everyone starts baying about how much it upsets them and what they'd do if they were given five minutes alone with the perpetrator. Some people just like to compete with each other to show how empathetic and what good people they are, how disgusted they are with others who don't covey a similar lack of compassion, how devoted they are to their family and friends, the lengths to which they'd go to protect them etc.

Put them away, lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Majority of people would want to seek revenge and hurt the person who hurt their child but killing them is not something i could do unless i seen the person attacking my child, then i could but not after the event.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Internet cocksizing, pure and simple. It's similar to what you see on threads discussing a tragic event or the death of someone famous, or when someone posts up a picture of a kid with a black eye on Facebook and everyone starts baying about how much it upsets them and what they'd do if they were given five minutes alone with the perpetrator. Some people just like to compete with each other to show how empathetic and what good people they are, how disgusted they are with others who don't covey a similar lack of compassion, how devoted they are to their family and friends, the lengths to which they'd go to protect them etc.

Put them away, lads.

well its safe to say it would be easy killing your kid and not worrying about revenge :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

It all depends. If you have another child there's no point in getting life in prison, so no.
    And if the killing was an accident where the person clearly didn't mean it and was very repentant, no.
    But if it was a deliberate killing like a school shooting and you were 100% sure you'd get away with it, maybe. I'd still prefer to harm them a lot so they have to live out their life in misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Oh yes. First I'd cut off his balls, then I'd slice his throat, then rip out his heart, then eat his liver with some fava beans.

Mmm, revenge fantasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭quad_red

I don't think it's that easy.

'Killing the ****er' basically compounds the trauma for your child by denying them a parent.

I can only understand the trauma and rage of seeing your child suffer would inflict. Doesn't bear thinking about :(

And as for killing someone to punish them, to make them pay, that's one thing. Rage/Justice pushing on to make sure this bastard cannot hurt someone again. But all this talk about torturing them etc. Jesus, life isn't a Tarantino film.

What do you think torturing someone says about the person who is willing to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Of course. If someone killed or abused my child I could kill them.

I read a quote from a man who lost his little daughter in the shooting (can't remember where). He was in agony, and reached out to all the other families affected with his comments, but not just them.

He said he feels for the suffering of the shooter, and his thoughts and prayers were with his family as they came to terms with what he did.

I thought that was braver than seeking any vengeance.

Pace2008 wrote: »

Put them away, lads.

asked a question , and answered it - dont like the fact that this is being discussed then dont bother replying - always one warrior rides in on his self appointed donkey

dick waving my arse - i was asked what i would do and i stated it.
    my response is verbatim for what my actions would be

so we are not allowed answer unless it matches how you feel on the matter ?
    grow up

pontificate somewhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

I find it hilarious that people make comments saying 'oh here's the internet hardmen/keyboard warrior/big swinging mickey brigade going to tell us how they'd cut yer mans bollix off etc etc bladdy bla'. Because the fact is I believe for the most part it’s not posturing. Maybe it’s people who don’t have kids make these comments.

In answer to the OP's question: I wouldn't need to build up any rage. I would in cold blood put a bullet through the head of any adult who killed my child in such a fashion as happened in the states, or if they were raped or otherwise viciously harmed.

I’m not saying I’d go in for the Saw style torture or anything – that might take real rage. But in terms of would I kill them? Absolutely no hesitation.

quad_red wrote: »
    I don't think it's that easy.

'Killing the ****er' basically compounds the trauma for your child by denying them a parent.

I can only understand the trauma and rage of seeing your child suffer would inflict. Doesn't bear thinking about :(

And as for killing someone to punish them, to make them pay, that's one thing. Rage/Justice pushing on to make sure this bastard cannot hurt someone again. But all this talk about torturing them etc. Jesus, life isn't a Tarantino film.

What do you think torturing someone says about the person who is willing to do it?

is it not? ok try tell that to the 20 kids and 6 adults who died in a fashion that would grace any tarantion fim you could care to mention ,
    and my response would be like for like on the shooter

not big and not productive - just pure unbridled revenge for shooting a CHILD in the face while it sits in its class

people dont like that , tough ****

its got nothing to do with dick waving as one poorly informed poster has said,
    its about trying to convey the sheer terror and paralyzing fear the children felt in their last moments to the the shooter - for as long as possible
    the kids could not do this so as a father/adult it would be my DUTY to let this pond life know how it feels

dick waving ? na , its called doing right by humanity
    he showed no mercy - i would show him even less

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

dj jarvis wrote: »
    so we are not allowed answer unless it matches how you feel on the matter ?

Follow that to the letter and it pretty much invalidates any differing answer on any topic. including yours.

I think these threads are full of dick-waving - even from people with no kids.

That's just my opinion, more or less.

If that doesn't tally with yours or the OP's, grand - It happens. It's a discussion forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Not sure if I would want to get caught and go to prison, causing more hurt to my other children, but I could easily muster up the money to have it done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭quad_red

I find it hilarious that people make comments saying 'oh here's the internet hardmen/keyboard warrior/big swinging mickey brigade going to tell us how they'd cut yer mans bollix off etc etc bladdy bla'. Because the fact is I believe for the most part it’s not posturing. Maybe it’s people who don’t have kids make these comments.

In answer to the OP's question: I wouldn't need to build up any rage. I would in cold blood put a bullet through the head of any adult who killed my child in such a fashion as happened in the states, or if they were raped or otherwise viciously harmed.

I’m not saying I’d go in for the Saw style torture or anything – that might take real rage. But in terms of would I kill them? Absolutely no hesitation.

I 100% understand where you're coming from.

I would feel like killing them. I don't see any moral reason against doing so.

But I suppose I just feel that as an adult I owe it to my wife and family not to go commando. To be there for the long, hard ****ty road of recovery and trying to help loved ones heal rather than the blaze of glory that this stuff always seems to demand from the masses.

Dealing with psychos like him requires long, boring expensive efforts like mental health spending, education and gun control.

Not bigger guns for teachers, machine gun towers at schools etc.

Follow that to the letter and it pretty much invalidates any differing answer on any topic. including yours.

If that doesn't tally with yours or the OP's, grand - It happens. It's a discussion forum.

i agree - but you are making assumptions about me based on no evidence.
    you dont know , or how would you know , how i would react
    so - your dick waving point is mute , seeing you cant actually know

i know its a discussion forum - but if you post a opinion about something you cant actually know the answer to, but i do , then you will probably get called on it

your opinion was a grand sweeping statement - mine was a answer to a direct question - the answer is far from dick waving, it would be a gut reaction
    i know me well enough to know how i would react
    fail to see how that is dick waving - but your view is your view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Thing is, you may find it in your heart to forgive, other people wouldn't. If somebody gives an honest answer to a question based on how they personally feel, it's disingenuous just to dismiss their opinion as 'dick-waving'.

Me? I know myself more than anyone else and can say without hesitation I would never forgive that person. I would never show an ounce of compassion towards them and I would never make peace with it. Whether I would kill them?...I honestly don't know. Who really knows unless the unthinkable actually happens. For many people, it could easily lead to a tipping point they've never reached before. I can definitley understand why someone would do it. Many people have killed for much less.