Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My mother thinks

• 16-12-2012 11:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Having a penis is a disability.

My brother going to college for the week, the grown man is capable of driving a 5 hour journey to and from college. Has a flat. Comes home friday... to drink for the weekend.

And yet he's not able to mind himself. My mother sending him off with clean bed clothes (he's got a washing machine), food parcels, packed his bags, carried them to his car.

Fking hell, how does he live at all.

(What's worse, my mother has always made it known what a woman's role is, to mind the disabled willys!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Wafa

Cool xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

My brother going to college for the week, the grown man is capable of driving a 5 hour journey to and from college. Has a flat. Comes home friday... to drink for the weekend.

And yet he's not able to mind himself. My mother sending him off with clean bed clothes (he's got a washing machine), food parcels, packed his bags, carried them to his car.

(What's worse, my mother has always made it known what a woman's role is, to mind the disabled willys!)

Anti man thread again......yaaaaaawn

It's your Ma that's the problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Sheesh, I'm glad my mother didn't look after my willy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

I don's see anything wrong with a mother looking out for her son or daughter for that matter, it's what most mothers do. I'm sure she spoils you too OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

She just has the dis part wrong. It should be mega-ability!!!! With out even using his moisture seeking rocket he got a woman to do all that!!!! It is far from a disability...........bar you get kicked in then it is flucking horrific

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

It's only a disability if you can't do the helicopter with it!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

Shes hardly single?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Wafa

You can piss outside easily

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

you'll be just the same in few years OP.... and with what YOU have you can have as many of what HE has as you want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Wafa wrote: »
    You can piss outside easily

Unless it's windy.

It's those two extra ribs that are the disability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

HondaSami wrote: »
    I don's see anything wrong with a mother looking out for her son or daughter for that matter, it's what most mothers do. I'm sure she spoils you too OP.

Thats the sad part. She doesn't. I was in the same position last year, going to college, living away from home. And to hell with me. Ive two older brothers also and they were babied too, into their 30s.
    She's always made it known she wont do anything for the girls and it shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Guess that just...hard luck woman

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

Yes op thjs is how women work . They tend to the man and he rewards them with his compliments and makes them feel loved .
    Your mother is obviously a good happy wife... and somebody I know will slowly go crazy in a cat filled apartment because she wont play the game to keep a man happy .
    In 20 years when this girl and the cats are playing backgammon . She will tell them all about womens lib .

Thats the sad part. She doesn't. I was in the same position last year, going to college, living away from home. And to hell with me. Ive two older brothers also and they were babied too, into their 30s.
    She's always made it known she wont do anything for the girls and it shows.

Are you a daddy's girl? does he do more for you than for your brothers?
    All parents are different, some have favorites but all kids should be treated equally.
    I understand there are times you do more for one child depending on the circumstances but it would balance out overall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Sometimes it's hard to be a woman...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Your mother sounds like a grand woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

WOMEN

Wait
    On
    Mans
    Every
    Need

Its her job op

All parents are different, some have favorites but all kids should be treated equally.
    I understand there are times you do more for one child depending on the circumstances but it would balance out overall.

all KIDS should be treated equally by the sounds of it they are all adults. If the op needs someone to look after her maybe she would consider hiring someone.

What's a daddy? Never had one. He feked off years ago. So thats no excuse for my mothers behaviour.

Im sorry but it is......she's scared the boys will feck off too. Hence why she 'spoils' them........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Could you ask her would she do some of my washing?

Maybe your mother learned the ard way that womens lib dont work .
    Honestly though maybe this just makes her miss having a man to look after so she does it to the sons . Absolutely nothing wrong with it if it keeps her happy .
    Id be more worried about your childish jealousy .

all KIDS should be treated equally by the sounds of it they are all adults. If the op needs someone to look after her maybe she would consider hiring someone.

Kids or adults makes no difference to me, should still be treated equally and besides you don't stop being a parent just because the kids become adults imo.

Sorry to hear that, no more advice for you really, you will just have to deal with it, she prefers the boys.

Your mother's behaviour?

If you don't like it, and you get NOTHING out of it, then why are you so often around to see the treatment your brothers are getting? It sounds like your mother must do something for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kinkygirl

Shure, we were born to serve the dominant male, see to his every need...or so my hubby told me.
    He's due out of hospital in March. :D

Your mother's behaviour?

If you don't like it, and you get NOTHING out of it, then why are you so often around to see the treatment your brothers are getting? It sounds like your mother must do something for you.
    **** yeah sounds diiirty .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭pinky 06

Maybe your mum is being like that because she wants you to be independent and to be strong just like she is. If she raised you herself maybe she doesn't want you to rely on help and wants you to be able to fend for yourself. If so, she sounds like a great mum!

She knows women are self sufficient and men are, essentially helpless

efb wrote: »
    She knows women are self sufficient and men are, essentially helpless

We are not helpless. Clever is what we are. Why would we do anything if you are going to.......

Ps op have you ever spoke to you mam about it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

She sounds like a perfect Irish mammy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

OP, men can't win with their mothers.

Ask/expect for all this stuff to be done and you get the usual ear bashing about looking after yourself, tell her to stop and likewise you get an ear bashing about being ungrateful!

Can't win!

although at the end of the day you do win :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

mconigol wrote: »
    OP, men can't win with their mothers.

Ask/expect for all this stuff to be done and you get the usual ear bashing about looking after yourself, tell her to stop and likewise you get an ear bashing about being ungrateful!

Can't win!

Oh god you just summed up my mammy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Your jealousy is obvious , have you considered growing a penis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

How long have you been bitching about the same problem OP? Move out FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

hobochris wrote: »

Or even get a detachable one.

hobochris wrote: »

Its not jealousy. Its the different treatment I cant stand.

Even as kids. My two older brothers were allowed swimming lessons in school. Myself and my sister weren't. Along came my younger brother and he was allowed swimming lessons. Was it not ok for girls to learn to swim? My mother never knew how, so myself and sister shouldnt either? My dad knew how to swim, so the boys were allowed? Ah sure, what good are swimming lessons, its useless in a kitchen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Even as kids. My two older brothers were allowed swimming lessons in school. Myself and my sister weren't. Along came my younger brother and he was allowed swimming lessons. Was it not ok for girls to learn to swim? My mother never knew how, so myself and sister shouldnt either? My dad knew how to swim, so the boys were allowed? Ah sure, what good are swimming lessons, its useless in a kitchen!

Thought there was no Dad?

What's the kitchen got to do with it again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I send my washing up home, and I bloody love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I don't really know what you Think this forum is going to do for you...maybe post in personal issues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

OP, you're mother sounds just like my granny, mother and auntie.

It's not uncommon for mothers to spoil their sons and fathers to spoil their daughters.

It's bit unfortunate for you and I understand why you feel the way you do.

How are your relationships with your brothers? I think they (particularly your older brothers) should be spoiling you and your sister somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Your mother is sexist, so that makes you assume that men are useless and can't do anything for themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Hard luck, woman.

We are not helpless. Clever is what we are. Why would we do anything if you are going to.......

Ps op have you ever spoke to you mam about it......

shut uuup....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

A five hour journey to and from college :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

If Ireland was a civilised country the mammy in question would've found someone else i.e. a boyfriend/2nd husband, to share her life with. This being Catholic Ireland however, it just wouldn't look right.

Hence all the attention being given to the sons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Lucena wrote: »
    If Ireland was a civilised country the mammy in question would've found someone else i.e. a boyfriend/2nd husband, to share her life with. This being Catholic Ireland however, it just wouldn't look right.

Hence all the attention being given to the sons.

What :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Chucken wrote: »
    What :confused:
    No, I'm not implying incest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭ciaran12

Sure the different treatment if that's true hardly matters now though does it? Unless you actually WANT your mother to be cooking your food and everything through college etc.

Just accept that your brother may be in for a bit of a shock when he finally does have to look after himself!

I'm nearly done with college now, and I'd say only about two or three times have I brought washing home, and even then I've done it myself at home (sure I did it myself before college anyway). My brother in contrast was always taking his washing home to mammy (starting to get out of the habit now), I just reckon she's already done enough for us, don't want to give her more work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Your mother is an old-fashioned sexist and your brother is a baby in a grown-up's body.

Be thankful you're neither and move out on your own.