Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flash Mobs

• 14-12-2012 8:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭

Hi Folks,

Just want to change tack with something a little more lighthearted.

Flash mobs. I think they are a bit cringey tbh. I would never see myself participating in one. Ever. Do they serve any other purpose other than people wanting to show how zany and "random" they are?

Anytime I hear mention of them I just get annoyed. Am I just being an old fart? I think I am but would be interested in hearing if you have ever been in one or if they have ever served any greater purpose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭Odelay

tis only a bit of fun grumpy pants!:D

That one is a wee bit sad BillyBarry kids?? Some others are pretty cool.

They were kinda funny/interesting for a while but as with most things it's been ****ing run into the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I've never watched Glee and don't know anything about it, but that video is what I imagine it's like. Showing up somewhere and dancing? Bleh.

Improv Everywhere did some really good ones years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

I think the fact that they're so common now defeats the whole purpose of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Never saw that before.

Enjoyed it.
    A bit of fun and no harm done. Well done to all involved.

Kinda needed to see something like that to cheer me up after what happened in a Connecticut elementary school today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

I think they're disgraceful and I'm grossly offended by them. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

I usually hate flashmobs but this is the funniest thing I've ever seen. Just watch the guy with the tash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I can't find the clip now but there was one posted somewhere recently in the NCI library (I think). It was basically a load of students dancing to gangnam style in the library. Cringey as fcuk IMO.

There was another one I think on the U-Ban in Berlin where everyone started laughing. Admittedly that was funny if only for the look on the other unsuspecting passengers. You could see the letters WTF on their face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I love them. Everyone just stops for 3 minutes and gets a dose of happy :D

This one always brings a smile to my face :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

To be honest, you;d have to be a bit of a philistine to not like them.

The probelm is, though, they can become very stale very fast and need to keep coming up with new ideas.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭james142

keith16 wrote: »
    I can't find the clip now but there was one posted somewhere recently in the NCI library (I think). It was basically a load of students dancing to gangnam style in the library. Cringey as fcuk IMO.

There was another one I think on the U-Ban in Berlin where everyone started laughing. Admittedly that was funny if only for the look on the other unsuspecting passengers. You could see the letters WTF on their face.

This?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Now flashing a mob on the other hand, that's pretty cool.

Especially if they're angry:D

james142 wrote: »
    This?

Yeah, that's the one. Don't know why, but I just feel like if I was in that library trying to study or whatever I would not be happy.
    Now flashing a mob on the other hand, that's pretty cool.

Especially if they're angry:D

If I ever encounter a flash mob in public I will proceed to do this and protest my innocence on the basis of a light hearted but bewildering confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

They are a bit of fun and all that, but (and i'm not too happy thinking this) I think its bs.

When done right, flash mobs can be absolutely incredible. When done wrong, however, they're absolutely idiotic.

This one is considerably epic - about 21,000 people involved, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Chavways wrote: »
    I usually hate flashmobs but this is the funniest thing I've ever seen. Just watch the guy with the tash.

Awwwwww, the poor eejit. :o

It looks like they want to tell him to fcuk off but can't :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

I WAS BORN TO DANCE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

I thought the point of these is that they were meant to be things everyone knew, like a really popular dance or song, so that people who weren't in on it could join in. I don't see the point if it's just a rehearsed dance that no-one else knows.

*I am not the guy with the tash. I promise.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

@Chucken thanks for posting that, I love that one.
    @boneyarsebogman I hadn't seen that one, not bad!

Flashmobs are great when done properly, I.e. not pro dancers, not pre-warmed with a ton of media and an 'audience'. T-mobile did a couple of great ones in the UK, I'll see if I can find them. I think they have pretty much run their course now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭Mech1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭bigron2109

Just looks like a Big Dance class to me been honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

We kinda did one a few months ago to try get people involved in some zumba dancing before a charity walk we organised but the DJ kinda ruined it by saying we were going to dance. Grrrr.

Was good fun though and we raised over €3k for breast cancer so all good in the hood.

Witchie wrote: »
    We kinda did one a few months ago to try get people involved in some zumba dancing before a charity walk we organised but the DJ kinda ruined it by saying we were going to dance. Grrrr.

Was good fun though and we raised over €3k for breast cancer so all good in the hood.

Brilliant stuff Witchie, that's some amount of money! Can't have any complaints when a deserving charity is involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

I say fair play to him, he seems happy out.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Ok the best one I can remember is this T-Mobile one in Liverpool Street Train.Station
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQ3d3KigPQM&feature=youtube_gdata_player

And this singing one in Heathrow is even better :pac: :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NB3NPNM4xgo&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NB3NPNM4xgo&feature=youtube_gdata_player[/QUOTE]

My eyes filled up at that one :o

Chucken wrote: »
    My eyes filled up at that one :o
    I cry at all the best ones :o
    [/shush]

miamee wrote: »
    I cry at all the best ones :o
    [/shush]

Sometimes scat porn has the same affect on me.

Charming :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭2rkehij30qtza5

keith16 wrote: »

This was in the NUIG library a couple of weeks ago

Charming :pac:

Well as we're sharing? :D

This was in the NUIG library a couple of weeks ago

Were you there Greta Sparse Girl? Did you participate Gangnam style? Are those my feet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

that singing one in the airport just hit home how easily joy can be spread under the right conditions and how much you can tell people yearn for it, they'll be happy at the drop of a hat.

[/only-soft-post-of-the-year-coz-i-am-well-ard]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭MsQuinn

Original flash mobs without the dancing crap - remember my nephew showing me this before I could even use the interweb. First guy is a legend!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Gay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If it's choreographed and practiced it'll only ever be a group of street performers, no matter how large. Do something anyone can get involved in and it can balloon. Of course, many would consider that rioting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

I love that video. Saw a great one a while back, where someone explained how it was actually quite a good reflection on leadership in general -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NB3NPNM4xgo&feature=youtube_gdata_player

I LOVE this one. Was going to post it myself. I just love the look of joy and "wtf!!" on people's faces on seeing this wonderful, surprise performance happen in front of them. You just know when they got home they were telling everyone about the coolest thing they saw in Heathrow that day. Makes me tear up a little :o My favourite bit is the fella in the tracksuit with his arms in the air when they're singing the "top of the world" bit in Return of the Mac :D

Another cool flash mob was the one from the 2010 Eurovision in Oslo. Though not your traditional flash mob. Dublin even get in on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭FueledbyCoffee

When I heard about them - in theory I thought they were cringey but having seen some, particularly the one that the Black Eyed Peas did at the Oprah launch - Holy God - I can't help crying when I see it :o

I'm the same if there's carol singing in shopping centres etc. :eek: I think it's the music and the positive energy it's very uplifting and refreshing and done for a bit of a laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Another cool flash mob was the one from the 2010 Eurovision in Oslo. Though not your tradition flash mob. Dublin even get in on it!

I remember that, Dublin is surprisingly one of the best I thought.

The T-Mobile ones are fantastic, but they're also a perfect example of why some flash mobs work and some are unbearably cringeworthy. To work they have to be reasonably large scale, inventive, and well rehearsed.

To see one going completely wrong, look no further:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

dr gonzo wrote: »
    The T-Mobile ones are fantastic, but they're also a perfect example of why some flash mobs work and some are unbearably cringeworthy. To work they have to be reasonably large scale, inventive, and well rehearsed.

To see one going completely wrong, look no further:

Urgh. A sh*te flash mob and Gangnan Style combined. Both done to death at this stage. That was pretty bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Urgh. A sh*te flash mob and Gangnan Style combined. Both done to death at this stage. That was pretty bad!

Correction. A ****e flashmob and gangnam style combined with an embarrassingly lame Steve Jobs theme.

I LOVE this one. Was going to post it myself. I just love the look of joy and "wtf!!" on people's faces on seeing this wonderful, surprise performance happen in front of them. You just know when they got home they were telling everyone about the coolest thing they saw in Heathrow that day. Makes me tear up a little :o My favourite bit is the fella in the tracksuit with his arms in the air when they're singing the "top of the world" bit in Return of the Mac :D

Another cool flash mob was the one from the 2010 Eurovision in Oslo. Though not your traditional flash mob. Dublin even get in on it!

Jaysus, security were fairly hefty weren't they? Anyone that tried to get involved at all was quickly put down. Even the performer on the right at 1:58 is getting hassled.

Personally, I don't see the point, but as long as they're not disruptive, I've nothing against them. That said, I thought the whole point was that people could join in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Thanks to Sky 1 airing IT the clown a few too many times girls in this country appear to be terrified of clowns. Some friends of mine at one point were going to try to take advantage of this by getting a few hundred guys together to dress as clowns to invade a girls secondary school and record the resulting riot for amusement.

You might traumatise a few people, but I honestly reckon it would work.

When I heard about them - in theory I thought they were cringey but having seen some, particularly the one that the Black Eyed Peas did at the Oprah launch - Holy God - I can't help crying when I see it :o

I'm the same if there's carol singing in shopping centres etc. :eek: I think it's the music and the positive energy it's very uplifting and refreshing and done for a bit of a laugh
    Oh my God, you are my TWIN! I cry at that stuff too. It can be quite embarrassing :o A friend purposely sends me links to flash mob videos to see if they make my cry or not. Like that, there is always one moment where someone in the crowd will look so surprised and completely happy...gets me every time!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

Its the superficial people who do the flash mobs more than flash mobs themselves.

It's a terribly upper middle class act of subversion. Loike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭fupduck

fupduck wrote: »
    I hadn't seen that before, I love it!