Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Black People Feel Most Discriminated against

• 14-12-2012 7:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Study indicates that people of black ethnicity in Ireland feel discriminated against
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1214/discrimination-ethnicity.html
    A new study suggests that the highest rates of discrimination in Ireland continues to be felt by people of black ethnicity.
    The study carried out by the Equality Authority and the Economic and Social Research Institute suggests that almost one in eight of the State's adults said they suffered discrimination between 2009 and 2010.
    People of black ethnicity are almost four times more likely to report their experience of discrimination than white Irish people.
    Also it suggests that they are over five times more likely than white Irish people to report serious discrimination, even after controlling for a range of other factors.

Looks like discrimination, and particularly racial discrimination is a much bigger problem in Ireland than is generally accepted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I would have thought it's generally accepted that Ireland is a pretty racist country, by "first world" standards.

This is clear just from reading boards, anyone remember when that TD declared that he would no longer deal with "Black Africans"? It was absolutely disgusting the amount of people defending him over that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

I would have thought it's generally accepted that Ireland is a pretty racist country, by "first world" standards.

This is clear just from reading boards, anyone remember when that TD declared that he would no longer deal with "Black Africans"? It was absolutely disgusting the amount of people defending him over that.

Ireland is pretty tame in the racism game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Think it was a Mayor in Kildare that said that. I find a lot of people are d*cks irrespective of race tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Who here hasn't done a interview with a manager and HR person who treated you like dirt, ripped your CV apart and then sent you a PFO two weeks later :(

It happens and if you're jobseeking it'll happen more then once

Maybe some people are just quicker to complain and assume it was only them who gets this treatment?
    The highest rates of reported discrimination were in recruitment at 6%

Good people get rejected every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I'm not a racist at all but really, if your going to move to another country, Don't be bitching, your here for a reason, and its obvious cause your country either has no hope for you in say work and that or its a ****hole.

If you don't like where you are then go home and bitch there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    I'm not a racist at all but really, if your going to move to another country, Don't be bitching, your here for a reason, and its obvious cause your country either has no hope for you in say work and that or its a ****hole.

If you don't like where you are then go home and bitch there.

People move countries for many reasons, many non Irish nationals for instance work in the Health Services etc.
    Frankly your post reads,imo, like an arrogant rant!

I'm not a racist but...

Oh dear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

People move countries for many reasons, many non Irish nationals for instance work in the Health Services etc.
    Frankly your post reads,imo, like an arrogant rant!

I'd say the same to all the irish who go abroad and moan moan moan, if you don't like it, move on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

So, because black people report discrimination the most, it means that they're being discriminated against than other race?

I can see a problem with that logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I'm not a racist at all but...

taxi driver?

So, because black people report discrimination the most, it means that they're being discriminated against than other race?

I can see a problem with that logic.

Of course if they are being discriminated against more then they are going to be more complaints from them, no flaw in that logic at all imo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

The mayor said that black people were being abusive to him when complaining.

He only said that he would not deal with Naggers any more and it was taken out of context :)

Of course if they are being discriminated against more then they are going to be more complaints from them, no flaw in that logic at all imo!

The problem is that white people don't normally report it.

Or the problem is that white people are considerably less likely to encounter it?
    Bit like saying the bullies are less likely to report bullying.

Or the problem is that white people are considerably less likely to encounter it?

The way I took it is that white people just won't report it as much as opposed to black people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Is there a possibility black people have become conditioned to perceive racism at every slight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

Yeah, because everyone hires travelers...

He only said that he would not deal with Naggers any more and it was taken out of context :)
    Utter bollocks. He didn't say he would refuse to deal with "naggers", he said he would no longer deal with "black Africans".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Who here hasn't done a interview with a manager and HR person who treated you like dirt, ripped your CV apart and then sent you a PFO two weeks later :(

It happens and if you're jobseeking it'll happen more then once

Maybe some people are just quicker to complain and assume it was only them who gets this treatment?

Good people get rejected every day
    I was thinking the same. Was watching one of those Channel 4 traveller shows and a group of 10 18 year old traveller boys would get refused from a nightclub. They'd be loud and rowdy in the queue or the walk up to the door and when they're refused entry they'd say it was because they were travellers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

That comparison assumes all white people discriminate.

I don't think Ireland is particularly discriminatory. I think it's just in the early stages of becoming an integrated society. Cultural differences give rise to feelings of exclusion, particularly when they are completely incongruent with the societal values.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

kiffer wrote: »
    Yeah, because everyone hires travelers...

Do you have stats of travellers who have applied for jobs and been refused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

the Irish: racist ?or just having the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Utter bollocks. He didn't say he would refuse to deal with "naggers", he said he would no longer deal with "black Africans".

Woooooshhhhh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Private Joker

Why would a white Irish person report discrimination?

MagicSean wrote: »
    That comparison assumes all white people discriminate.

I don't think Ireland is particularly discriminatory. I think it's just in the early stages of becoming an integrated society. Cultural differences give rise to feelings of exclusion, particularly when they are completely incongruent with the societal values.

Certainly is not or was not my intention, Sean.
    The point I was making is that perhaps white people complain less about discrimination because they encounter it less.
    It should be noted that discrimination can be on a number of grounds other than ethicnity/race, it can be because of sexual orientation,religious beliefs,age, etc so of course white people encounter/suffer discrimination.
    The point is that this report from the EA/ERSI says that even controlling for certain factors black people complain of serious discrimination five times more than white people.
    I am merely commenting on the report.

Because they were discriminated on grounds of their sexuality,their age, their religious affiliation etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

and of course no black person has ever played the race card to get their own way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Because discrimination does not only happen because of race.

And even if it is race related it could be a non white Irish discriminating against a white Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

I think a lot of Irish people, myself included, are also just really awkward about the whole thing sometimes. When I was child I can remember only seeing black people when I went on holidays in London. It is only in recen years that we have had this influx of different cultures, didn't see any Muslims wearing birkas, not the hijabs, but birkas until I went to London too. It's I'd normal over here now, but the different cultures is a relatively new thing.

I think the awkwardness is funny sometimes though, irish people sometimes feel uncomfortable even saying "black people" as if pointing out their skin colour is rude and shouldn't be mentioned. "Coloured" insinuates they have been coloured in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

People of black ethnicity are almost four times more likely to report their experience of discrimination than white Irish people.
    Also it suggests that they are over five times more likely than white Irish people to report serious discrimination, even after controlling for a range of other factors.

Does this mean white Irish people report discrimination of black people 5 times less than black people or that they report discrimination of themselves 5 times less?

That might sound stupid but I only ask because I find the notion that white people get discriminated against a bit absurd.How do you discriminate against a majority that pretty much owns everything and runs everything,In this country at least?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Clarehobo

Can I just say that I am quite surprised by the stats?

The report is a bit airy fairy/wishy washy with no real-world examples.
    I'd be interested to know what the stats are on travellers/men/women/obese people/thin people/gingers/albinos/priests etc...

Is it just that travellers are so disenfranchised at this stage that they don't bother complaining? Or are we, as Irish people, far less intolerant towards travellers than I had thought?

Maybe we have grown up as a society and we no longer discriminate on gender, sexual preference, soccer/rugby/GAA loyalties, county of origin, country of origin, ethnic group, etc...

(Just to state: some people can be racist in this country but we are generally quite able to find something to discriminate on if we want to be it your county, your gender, your sexual preference... you get the point)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Woooooshhhhh!

Fair play lads, you watch and can reference South Park. It'll do nicely until you decide to start thinking your own thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Clarehobo

Certainly is not or was not my intention, Sean.
    The point I was making is that perhaps white people complain less about discrimination because they encounter it less.
    It should be noted that discrimination can be on a number of grounds other than ethicnity/race, it can be because of sexual orientation,religious beliefs,age, etc so of course white people encounter/suffer discrimination.
    The point is that this report from the EA/ERSI says that even controlling for certain factors black people complain of serious discrimination five times more than white people.
    I am merely commenting on the report.

But are we, as a nation, less likely to complain when discriminated against?
    I think we are more likely to sweep it under the carpet and try to keep the head down as much as possible. We don't like to cause a fuss and can be very adept at just getting on with things.

So, in essence, I am saying that I believe we do encounter discrimination but we are less likely to report it.

Can I ask what serious discrimination could be classified as?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 407 ✭✭Noel Kinsella

Ireland is NOT a racist country. Having witnessed real racism and discrimination against black people in Italy, France and Spain first hand I know why so many are here this place is paradise. A friend of mine got a 6 month contract to work in Nigeria and experienced real racism against him he was not welcomed the way the Nigerians were welcomed here. He has reported racism between the Nigerians themselves depending on which "Tribe" or whatever they belonged to there is several hundred different "clans" or whatever the correct term is and some of them were treated like animals by the others because of their background now that`s racist for sure. What I have never understood is how there have been many many Chinese people here since the 50`s 60`s 70`s and I have never heard them cry racism once ! They come here the work they get on with life and are a valuable part of society, they also look a little different to us in skin colour and features etc the same way black people do, so why is it only black people who experience racism here ?
    My opinion is this : I blame culture and music videos etc I think black people "in general" are playing up to the stereotype of rap videos, movies, etc about easy money, biatches etc etc they walk like the rappers shake hands like the rappers and want the "good life" without working etc In the same way that many Irish over the years played up to the "drunken Irish" stereotype in the UK and USA when in fact thats not who or what many of them really were but they played up to it. I believe the new generation of black people in this country will be a credit to us and make no mistake if someone is born here and live their life here they are as Irish as any of us, most people can trace their family history back a few generations not many are "pure" Irish most of use have links to Scotland, Wales, England and further afield like it or not that`s the way it is and in a few hundreds years the history books will tell of when the Africans came to stay and how well we treated them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Ireland is NOT a racist country. Having witnessed real racism and discrimination against black people in Italy, France and Spain first hand I know why so many are here this place is paradise. A friend of mine got a 6 month contract to work in Nigeria and experienced real racism against him he was not welcomed the way the Nigerians were welcomed here. He has reported racism between the Nigerians themselves depending on which "Tribe" or whatever they belonged to there is several hundred different "clans" or whatever the correct term is and some of them were treated like animals by the others because of their background now that`s racist for sure.

Thankfully that could never happen in Ireland. Just imagine if there were two tribes, one called the Catholics and the other the Protestants. It would have been awful.

lol if thats all you can take out of my point it not worth the time to reply. You obviously are one of those idiots living in the past if thats the first thing that springs to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Ireland is the least racist country I've lived in.
    As the poster above said, try living in Spain/France & Italy....but by far the worst place for racism I've experienced was Poland. Hands down, the worst place I've seen for it. They hate Romas, blacks, Jews, Russians, Germans. The only people they like are Czech or Slovakian...and they said they'd nothing against the Irish coz they didn't know anything about Ireland because we're never on their news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Gabriele

is Ireland a racist country?

Yes!!! seriously a lot of unpunished discrimination again any no Irish person. From the stores, to recruiters, even kids are racist (one evening i opened the door and found 10-15 kids covered with white cape on my front garden.... I just convinced myself that they didn't know the meaning of their actions, and I really hope I am right..)

So stop lying to yourself, Ireland is full of racist idiots!... but let me be honest, there are wonderfull people as well, the problem is that as usual stupidity make much more noise than kindness

iDave wrote: »
    and of course no black person has ever played the race card to get their own way!

I'm sure they have, is somebody denying that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

If people honestly think that Ireland is a real racist country then they have never stepped foot on a plane and went to other countries in Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

lol if thats all you can take out of my point it not worth the time to reply. You obviously are one of those idiots living in the past if thats the first thing that springs to mind.

Yet there it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

"Black people" singles out a particular racial characteristic. Surely that's discriminatory?

Gabriele wrote: »
    is Ireland a racist country?

Yes!!! seriously a lot of unpunished discrimination again any no Irish person. From the stores, to recruiters, even kids are racist (one evening i opened the door and found 10-15 kids covered with white cape on my front garden.... I just convinced myself that they didn't know the meaning of their actions, and I really hope I am right..)

So stop lying to yourself, Ireland is full of racist idiots!... but let me be honest, there are wonderfull people as well, the problem is that as usual stupidity make much more noise than kindness

If I lived in the country that you are describing above I would move somewhere else, or even consider going home if its that bad. I certainly would not stay.

Can you evidence that claim? or is that just a guess?
    Try reading the annual reports of the EA and you will find that plenty of Irish/white people do make complains, mostly on the gtounds of Gender discrimination, membership of the Travelling people, and sexual discrimination, also quite a few on age discrimination.
    Discrimination is not only about race!

snubbleste wrote: »
    "Black people" singles out a particular racial characteristic. Surely that's discriminatory?

No more than "white people" or black board or white board etc is a description not a discrimination. What is the correct term in your opinion ?

Yet there it is.

What do you mean "Yet there it is" ?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Racism exists in Ireland for sure, but as other posters opined, there are other countries in Europe where racism is much more virulent and widespread - places such as Russia (racist skinhead racism is growing there), Italy, Spain and indeed Greece, where a neo-Nazi party are growing in influence.

If anything, I would suggest that Travellers are more discriminated against in Ireland than black people. All discrimination is wrong, but unfortunately no society/country exists anywhere on this planet where there is no discrimination on the grounds of ethnicity, religion or race.

Education is the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

I've experienced this on multiple occasions. I remember waiting in line for the cinema and a black person cut in front of me. I confronted him and was promptly accused of discrimination, just because he was black. It also happened on a crowded train - I booked a seat and a black lady was sitting in it. I asked her to move, saying my name was displayed above but she wouldn't leave the seat...trying to label me as some kind of racist for making her move. I'm not sure but I think that the word 'racist' is thrown around a little too often in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Racism exists in Ireland for sure, but as other posters opined, there are other countries in Europe where racism is much more virulent and widespread - places such as Russia (racist skinhead racism is growing there), Italy, Spain and indeed Greece, where a neo-Nazi party are growing in influence.

If anything, I would suggest that Travellers are more discriminated against in Ireland than black people. All discrimination is wrong, but unfortunately no society/country exists anywhere on thus planet where there is no discrimination on tge grounds of ethnicity, religion or race.

Education is the key.

Finally somebody actually speaking the truth and talking sense.

If I could thank twice...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

Fair play lads, you watch and can reference South Park. It'll do nicely until you decide to start thinking your own thoughts.

Stop trying to be witty everytime you post something. It gets rather boring... Patethic thanks whore :)