Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Self Defence

• 13-12-2012 2:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭

Hi

I'm currently in the Security business..I've done the usual conflict management and physical intervention but......!

I am looking for a martial arts that I can use in every day life and help me keep fit and active also...I don't want to put anyone in a wheelchair just something simple!

Living in Mullingar at present. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Tomas_S

Hi

I'm currently in the Security business..I've done the usual conflict management and physical intervention but......!

I am looking for a martial arts that I can use in every day life and help me keep fit and active also...I don't want to put anyone in a wheelchair just something simple!

Muay thai I would suggest. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Dka e80

Hi

A grappling art would prob be best ie. judo, bjj, wrestling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭thegreatiam

see whats in your local area, try a few different ones and pick the one you enjoy the most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 jake 74

there's bjj over in athlone @ the athlone budokan in blyry industrial estate theres a guy comes over from mullingar every week so you could car share

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

see whats in your local area, try a few different ones and pick the one you enjoy the most.

This!.

If you want style which will be applicable to your security work I'd suggest Judo. Trad (Japanese) Jiu Jitsu (try find a club which has lots of randori/free sparring) or something which has joint small joint locks.. I'd leave BJJ near the bottom of the list tbh.

If you're just generally interested in trying some martial arts then you'll probably love BJJ, MMA or Judo.

Lots of info on this forum regards self defence styles and security work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

This!.

If you want style which will be applicable to your security work I'd suggest Judo. Trad (Japanese) Jiu Jitsu (try find a club which has lots of randori/free sparring) or something which has joint small joint locks.. I'd leave BJJ near the bottom of the list tbh.

If you're just generally interested in trying some martial arts then you'll probably love BJJ, MMA or Judo.

Lots of info on this forum regards self defence styles and security work.

OK great..Think I have seen a few signs for Judo around Mullingar, Must look into it a bit more!

Be handy to have it anyway, God knows who you might come across :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Hi

Just be careful whatever it is, I know you say you dont want to put anyone in a wheelchair but its very easy to do if you dont show control or discipline, I would say even a few guys get off on the power and end up hurting someone a lot more than they perhaps intended...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭irateghost

Come to mullingar judo club, ive been going a month or two and the training is hard but fun. Also the mullingar kyokushin is a good place for brushing up on striking plus the head instructor there does a bit of the geoff thompson/ lee morrison street stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

There's also boxing in Mullingar. He does Cross Fit too. Tough going but fun!

Krav Maga might be another option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 jasper14

kravmaga

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

As Makikomi said, anything with lots of free sparring that is close and that you enjoy.

That said, I'd recommend trying Thai/Judo/Wrestling/Boxing/MMA if they are nearby and completely avoid Krav Maga.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Theprofesser

Done a Seminar with these guys in December,very well structured and alot of information. Very no nonsense guys but not for the faint hearted. Worth a look at if your in the security industry.
    http://www.selfprotection.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

hapkido if its nearby. excellent art

traditional is great as an art but not for the street.

I disagree completely with this. It's not about whether an art is traditional or not, its about how its trained. Thai and Judo amongst others are TMA's and both excellent in or out of the ring due mostly to how they are trained and tested. Far superior IMO to plenty of systems that are allegedly designed specifically for 'the street'.

Peetrik wrote: »
    Thai and Judo amongst others are TMA's and both excellent in or out of the ring due mostly to how they are trained and tested. Far superior IMO to plenty of systems that are allegedly designed specifically for 'the street'.

Are you having a laugh? First off they are both sports orientated, conditioned by rules, so taking into account how you train is how is you fight....enough said.In regards to traditional martial arts, they are fun, they offer a sense of achievement with the rewarding of belts and gradings, but thats about it..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 182 ✭✭magicherbs

are you having a laugh? You done a mickey mouse course by selfprotection.ie and are now an expert on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Are you having a laugh? First off they are both sports orientated, conditioned by rules, so taking into account how you train is how is you fight....enough said.In regards to traditional martial arts, they are fun, they offer a sense of achievement with the rewarding of belts and gradings, but thats about it..

Ok professer, lets just assume I'm considering a job in security ~ ie a bouncer, event security, DART, store/static security.

Are you saying a traditional art would be useless to me? and if so why and give an example (based on experience if you can, but not a requirement).

You've made the mistake of believing the hype.

1. You personally have never actually gouged someones eye out or broken all their fingers off or any of the stuff that 'no rules' systems teach. Unless you have drilled the actual strike over and over full force against a resisting opponent then you also don't know any 'no rules' moves you just know the theory.

2. The traditional MA practitioner is also at liberty to ignore any rules on 'the street'. Personally I'd put my money on the guy who has trained by striking at a moving fully resisting opponent than the guy who has practiced slow motion choreography on landing that kick to the balls.

3. I'm only speaking about Thai here as its what I'm familiar with but this does apply to other sports with rules like MMA and Boxing. Thai is a professional sport, people rely on the money to feed their familys. It is constantly being analysed and tested against fully resisting opponents. There is no fcuking around with the techniques, if it works its kept if it doesn't its discarded. Its not some guy in his garage dreaming up techniques or trying to come up with something to make it different from other systems.
    If it works in the ring against a professionally trained fighter in peak physical condition it will work on drunk gobshítes.

So no, I'm not having a laugh, its an opinion based on 7-8 years of training various styles.

I beg ur pardon, all our instructors are gardai, military and bouncers.

Is this Wayne, previously posting as Civilian personal protection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

I beg ur pardon, all our instructors are gardai, military and bouncers.
    In all fairness that certainly doesn't mean they can defend themselves in unarmed combat.
    certainly doesn't qualify them to teach others to defend themselves.
    but the posters real point is that no 'course' will ever teach you how to defend yourself properly. It comes from years of training and live sparring.

SPI - your course is mickey mouse.

Taekwondo - Korean Military train in this art

Hapkido - Korean Police force train in this art

Both very effective.... simply because when they train....They train correctly

pone2012 wrote: »
    Taekwondo - Korean Military train in this art

Hapkido - Korean Police force train in this art

Both very effective.... simply because when they train....They train correctly
    and your definition of training correctly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

Most martial arts will only be effective if practiced regularly and training involves hitting and getting hit. A person gets used to getting hit and is therefore ready when in a real situation and does not panic. How many times have you seen a person get a soft slap in the face and hit the deck? This is caused by the shock of receiving a blow.Most of the time the person is not really hurt or concussed so there is no reason to go to ground leaving yourself open to kicks.For the OP doing door work I would suggest learning some joint manipulation and practicing a striking art,be it Karate,Muay Thai etc. I don't rate BJJ in a security environment as its grappling involves a lot of ground work which is the last place you want to be in a fight with multiple attackers.

I love when people use the 'the ground is the last place you wanna be in a street fight' excuse to pan bjj as a self defense.

tells me how many people have been in a fight before and how many just like to talk about what they'd do in a fight.

street fight 99 times out of a hundred somebody ends up on the ground. Good luck even getting back to your feet when that happens without some form of bjj judo or good old fashioned wrasslin.

while everyone else starts headlocking each other before they're mates get involved a decent grappler is well up and outta there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

I love when people use the 'the ground is the last place you wanna be in a street fight' excuse to pan bjj as a self defense.

tells me how many people have been in a fight before and how many just like to talk about what they'd do in a fight.

street fight 99 times out of a hundred somebody ends up on the ground. Good luck even getting back to your feet when that happens without some form of bjj judo or good old fashioned wrasslin.

while everyone else starts headlocking each other before they're mates get involved a decent grappler is well up and outta there.

I have lots of experience of fighting in the real world.You are correct,somebody always ends up on the ground,the idea is to make sure it is not you. Grappling sports are very effective in a 1 on 1 situation but you are seldom in a 1 on 1 on a door. It is usually 1 aggressor and 3 or 4 of his mates who will throw a few kicks into you when you are doing your Royce Gracie impression on the floor.

repsol wrote: »
    I have lots of experience of fighting in the real world.You are correct,somebody always ends up on the ground,the idea is to make sure it is not you. Grappling sports are very effective in a 1 on 1 situation but you are seldom in a 1 on 1 on a door. It is usually 1 aggressor and 3 or 4 of his mates who will throw a few kicks into you when you are doing your Royce Gracie impression on the floor.
    Who said anything about doin a Royce Gracie in a street fight?

Allow me to retort.

1. The only way to learn a defence to grappling is to learn to grapple. Not through some Krav Maga style anti grappling tactics.

2.The point is that through grappling knowledge you will be able to get your ass off the ground after ending up there rather than tussling round while his mates come in to kick you in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

That's just not true, That Gracie Propaganda that they spouted so much to make their system sound better than the rest, I have witnessed many many streetfights and most are ended with a good hayemaker-the lad may end up on the ground but not in the way that stat is meant.

Also the stats that the Gracies used where more like 80-90% if i recall and it was based on Police scuffles, Where obviously the Police man has to try pin the aggressor to restrain them, Police can hardly go all Kung Fu on people.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

cowzerp wrote: »
    That's just not true, That Gracie Propaganda that they spouted so much to make their system sound better than the rest, I have witnessed many many streetfights and most are ended with a good hayemaker-the lad may end up on the ground but not in the way that stat is meant.

Also the stats that the Gracies used where more like 80-90% if i recall and it was based on Police scuffles, Where obviously the Police man has to try pin the aggressor to restrain them, Police can hardly go all Kung Fu on people.
    99% Fair enough exageration.
    But Ive rarely seen a street fight end with a haymaker. KO power is not something everyone has. Most I have seen end up with the lads throwin a few sloppy punches and eventually grabbin hold of each other. Granted you have hung around with boxers for a decent period of your life so your experience will be different to mine.

99% Fair enough exageration.
    But Ive rarely seen a street fight end with a haymaker. KO power is not something everyone has.

The thing is, most people who get hit craap themselves-even lame weak punches.

Also even fights that have ended up on the ground they usually stand back up and fight again.

the been kicked to bits bit is probably why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

This is relevant.

http://shivworks.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭Synyster Shadow

OP- i would recommend Muay thai....my instructor in Longford is a bouncer and his experience is that it is very effective. he has also studied kick-boxing for years as-well as ninjitsu and he stands by Muay thai...

and your definition of training correctly?

Train hard, Train Fast, Train often, Train with resistance ( within reason)

Spar Hard, Spar Fast, Spar often, Spar with resistance (within reason)

Ask intelligent questions

^^ Repeat

At the end of the day 9/10 people you meet starting a row of some sort wont have any proper MA training so chances are if you are a skilled practitioner you'll be capable of tearing them a new one. If a martial artist was to start an argument regardless of the art..id be surprised. most guys who train regularly know what there capable of and wouldn't like anyone to be on the receiving end of it unless it was necessary (with the exception of MMA in ring fights etc)

[QUOTE= You done a mickey mouse course by selfprotection.ie and are now an expert on it?[/QUOTE]

Expert?? No such thing, in regards to my personal background and experience, ive been around the Mixed martial arts world for over 25 years now. My journey began like so many other peoples in a school hall in the 80s, Kenpo was my background.I now teach Mixed martial arts and have done for the past 7 years, i have trained and continue to train with well known and respected martial artists and combative instructors throughout the world. I have worked on nightclub doors for almost 10 years and have seen and been involved in my fair share of violent encounters, i know what works and what dosent work.But NO, im no expert,and yes i did do ONE DAY seminar with Self Protection Ireland and i found it very interesting and educational, Mickey mouse, No.So i would recommend before you slate instructors you at least know what they are about, in regards to my opinion of traditional martial arts, it remains the same.But if YOU have an expert Opinion im all ears..

where do you teach mma prof?

Are you having a laugh? First off they are both sports orientated, conditioned by rules.
    I now teach Mixed martial arts and have done for the past 7 years

So you teach MMA but you dismiss the style you teach as ineffective for outside the ring/cage because there are rules involved?

Which club exactly do you teach at?

Peetrik wrote: »

Which club exactly do you teach at?

And you are??

you are the one making lofty claims. you're entitled to your anonymity but if you say

in mixed martial arts 25 years
    mma instructor 7 years
    trained and trained with top martial artists and combatives ppl
    nightclub security 10 years

so if you're going to give us you're martial arts cv why can/t you give us your name, otherwise i'll assume it' walter mitty

my background was disclosed as you claimed i was an Expert! Mr Magicherbes, lofty claims? explain yourself..or can you just fire insults with no reason..you assume all you want, as the word itself is not in my Vocabulary, for to assume is to make an ASS/U/ME

Peetrik,
    i do not dismiss the system i teach, i teach it as a sport and a foundation for self defence, integrated amongst other systems i find it has its place,as for exactly where i teach, as the idiot above has said, im entitled to my anonymity :)

well professor mitty, i think it's fair enough to say you've outed yourself of a waffler. mma 25 years too? did you coach any of the gracies ?

And you are??

Pat Hickey, I train Muay Thai in Bridgestone Thai in Dublin. And you?
    i do not dismiss the system i teach, i teach it as a sport and a foundation for self defence

Ah here, you just said systems with rules are good for gradings and a sense of achievement and thats about it. How the shít can you teach it as a basis for self defense if its of no use outside the ring/cage?

Peetrik,
    , integrated amongst other systems i find it has its place

pretty self explanatory,

Mr magicHerpes, i think you proved your an idiot, so take a back seat there.

pretty self explanatory

Haha no it doesn't. Thats just echoing what you said about people thinking systems with rules being effective are having a laugh.
    Mr magicHerpes

And that is just disappointing. What are you six?

In my opinion Herbs is right, you my friend are a waffler.

Thats your opion, your entitled to it.....like assholes, everyones got one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭Synyster Shadow

isn't it interesting how boards always turns out like this?

Unfortunately so, everyone has a right to their opinion and protect their opinion,but no harm done.

Turn out like what?

Professor makes a series of bold statements, people ask him to explain and verify and he resorts to name calling, telling us he is extensively experienced and dismissing everything as opinion.

The incongruent thing is Professor claims to be involved in mma for 25 years, instructing for 7 years yet feels doing a self protection course for 2 hours has given him the opinion that it is good for self defence but mma training isnt. is someone telling porkies? is someone shilling for selfprotection.ie.

Why would anyone make claims they're 7 years teaching MMA and not back it up I don't understand.

That would make you 1 of the most experienced mma coaches in Ireland-fact you won't say who you are leads me to feel you're a trad martial arts coach who claims to teach mma even though nobody has ever competed for you!

Either that or I know you well.

Read back on the treads magicherbes, you claimed i was an expert after a mickey mouse course, further replying to self protection ireland that their course was mickey mouse, you have also called me a walter mitty and a waffler, so in terms of name calling you have done your fair share, i gave my background, not that i need explain myself to anyone but as an insight into my opinion, but its easy for an armchair expert to fling mud and hope it sticks.My opinion on traditional martial comes from my experience,i have no need to lie, nor am i shilling as you call it for anyone, i attended a seminar and gave my opinion, obviously you havent ( as in fact the seminar was for 7 hours) but decided to throw your lame mud because your most probably shilling for whatever system tickles your fancy.In regards to 25 years of mixed martial arts, yes that is correct, i have been around a long time and yes have been teaching for over 7 years, so my advice to you is to go gather some facts and then throw mud,and dont throw your teddys out of the pram when the mud is thrown back at you.....take a few hours to think of your reply, thats a good little boy....

I see you're very new to this forum, newer than I am. But it appears that the standard procedure is to not mouth off at how good your
    experience
    record
    fighting prowess

is unless you're willing to tell people who you are and where you train. (case in point, mr peetrik above has introduced himself) Nothing confrontational about that, but i believe they are trying to keep it real here, unlike other martial arts forums were all types of walter mitty's get away with exaggeration.

This is a very serious thread, you're saying this course is useful for self-defence.

Anyway, there aren't many people involved in mma in ireland, there certainly weren't many 7 years ago, i didn't even think there were any 25 years ago. And if you are from Tallaght and you're at least 45 years old ... anyway never mind, you're entitled to your opinions .