Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smokers who say they're skint

• 12-12-2012 11:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭foxer3640

What do you think? It really annoys me to hear people complain about being skint and then to see them light up. I know its hard to give them up i smoked for years. I know people in my locality that really struggle to make ends meet but probaby smoke 100 euro a week. How hard up would you get before you'd kick the habit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

smoke 100 euro a week

Well there's your problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

So what?
    People should be allowed spend their money whatever way they like, without being judged imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

As an ex-smoker I say leave them alone, look at all the taxes they pay, plus from what I've read they're not the health cost liability they're made out to be.

Smokers die younger and quickly so less cost on the state. So really they're paying for our age-related health costs.

Keep puffin away lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Yeah and what the hell is it with homeless people taking heroin, I mean surely their first priority should be to save for a house. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

foxer3640 wrote: »
    What do you think? It really annoys me to hear people complain about being skint and then to see them light up. I know its hard to give them up i smoked for years. I know people in my locality that really struggle to make ends meet but probaby smoke 100 euro a week. How hard up would you get before you'd kick the habit?

There was an anti austerity protest in Dundalk recently focussing on the Child Benefit cuts. A good few of the women protesting are well known for spending most of their time in the pub drinking or at the door of the pub smoking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

im broke and i smoke
    whats your point? when some people say their skint
    their basicly saying is , i can afford food, bills and the bear minimum but i have nothing left for what i want as in go cinema or drinking

so ya im skint and i smoke , get me drift?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

In the OPs perfect world, only the rich smoke would dare smoke a cigarette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Yeah and what the hell is it with homeless people taking heroin, I mean surely their first priority should be to save for a house. :mad:

Good point. Wtf are they thinking???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

/lights benson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

It is hard to quit, took me years of trying (almost 2 years off them) and I was skint a lot...had no real responsibilities though. Quitting does free up a lot of cash especially if you are on the 20 boxes. I couldnt smoke rollies as they killed my lungs. Anyway back on point, its easier said than done but perhaps those e cigs could help those who really cant quit or dont want to have a cheaper nicotine hit. I hear they arent a bad substitute and are a hell of a lot cheaper per week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

If you are going to complain about being broke and still smoke 100 euro a week well then just deal with people who say you're taking the piss but get over yourself. There's being skint and spending that much a week and then there's not being able to afford to feed your children and keep a roof over your head.

Comparing heroin to cigs though? really? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

100 euro is a lot on smokes
    i spend 30 minimum on cheap alcohol per week to function somewhat normally
    couldn't get by otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

/lights benson

Poor aul Benson.
    What did he ever do to you?
    Racist! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

So the same must apply to fat people when they eat??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

They should learn to make rollies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Stavro Mueller

Their skint what??? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The black market probably draws a lot of people who can't afford to support their habit buying legal smokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

/lights benson
    Dean09 wrote: »
    Poor aul Benson.
    What did he ever do to you?
    Racist! :mad:
    The black market probably draws a lot of people who can't afford to support their habit buying legal smokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

And sell the drawings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭foxer3640

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    In the OPs perfect world, only the rich smoke would dare smoke a cigarette.
    Did i hit a nerve there bud? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

And sell the drawings?

Very good. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Well it doesn't annoy me.

Do you know what annoys me? When people don't know the difference between there, their and they're, that's what annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

I used to be skint when I smoked industrial cigs, but I went on to roll ups, and now buy my tobacco overseas, whenever possible.

You can legally bring in 1KG at a time for personal use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Summary:

Addiction is complicated.

Poverty and addiction is even more complicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Summary:

Don't forget algebra.
    That shít is really complicated too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭gustafo

i goes to lanzarote every few months and bring back a suitcase of them..cheap as fcuk that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Into camps, all the smokers into camps,

and fat people, all fat people into camps,

and heroin addicts, camps for them too but with a gas chamber to cull them,

and foxy people, all the foxy people into camps,

and women who can't conceive, we'll put them into camps too,

and people with cancer, into camps,

I'll come back with a more detailed list of who's going into camps later after a cup of tea and a slice of toast, who's going to be killed off and who won't be put into camps for the time being will be decided at the weekend.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

I hear that if you shove small amounts of tobacco up your anus that the nicotine is so intense that you won't need to smoke for a week. Cuts down on the cost!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I've no problem with smokers complaining about being skint. I do have an issue with them then asking to borrow money from me, then spending money on more cigs before paying me back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭justaskin likeyakno

Did i hit a nerve there bud? :rolleyes:
    It's Tom Cruise, he's easily unnerved, what with having to choose scientology or family. Also..he's rich out.:)
    Summary:

Yes addiction is complicated and people get addicted to all sorts of crap, but smoking is one of the things that you don't have to spend money on, therefore, if you're skint, smoke less, that's not complicated.
    Into camps, all the smokers into camps,

and fat people, all fat people into camps,

and heroin addicts, camps for them too but with a gas chamber to cull them,

and foxy people, all the foxy people into camps,

and women who can't conceive, we'll put them into camps too,

and people with cancer, into camps,

I'll come back with a more detailed list of who's going into camps later after a cup of tea and a slice of toast, who's going to be killed off and who won't be put into camps for the time being will be decided at the weekend.

Seriously, drama queen alert maybe..it is only a thread about whinging, not a mass population cleanse.
    I've no problem with smokers complaining about being skint. I do have an issue with them then asking to borrow money from me, then spending money on more cigs before paying me back.

This is what I agree with. I have a friend who smokes 40 a day, so that's about 140 euro a week, but she moans about money all the time and about not having monsy for her kids. If she cut down to half, she'd have 70 euro more a week...
    Senna wrote: »
    So the same must apply to fat people when they eat??

I don't agree, people have to eat whether they are thin or fat and you can't live without food, you can however live...and probably a much healthier and longer life without cigarettes.

Having smoked for 10 years myself I always said i'd never pay anymore than 5 pounds(I know, I gave up a long time ago) for cigarettes. I gave up when they were 4.85, maybe i'm too mean, but whatever, the point is you can give up if you want to save money.

Of course now I'm a fat bastard and would welcome a fat tax on junk food as it's make me think twice about buying it. Untill then, I won't whinge about being able to afford to maintain my belly:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

People who have toast and tea - straight into camps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭justaskin likeyakno

stoneill wrote: »
    People who have toast and tea - straight into camps.
    Would it be alright if it was tea and toast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Would it be alright if it was tea and toast.

Yes, that is acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 alnicoll

Well it doesn't annoy me.

Do you know what annoys me? When people don't know the difference between there, their and they're, that's what annoys me.

OP used the correct one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭burstbuckle

saiint wrote: »
    im broke and i smoke
    whats your point? when some people say their skint
    their basicly saying is , i can afford food, bills and the bear minimum but i have nothing left for what i want as in go cinema or drinking

so ya im skint and i smoke , get me drift?

love the way Rothmans thanked you.
    I'm a smoker myself just had a giggle at was the most agreeable thanks I've ever seen on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Rothmans wrote: »
    So what?
    People should be allowed spend their money whatever way they like, without being judged imo.

Well, you would say that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

I dont understand them either OP. I'm a drinker not a smoker and I'm skint but I haven't had a drink in two months....because I'm skint, d'ya get me? I could easily skip on food and then drink but that would be stupid so I don't but smokers don't have a good grasp of basic logic like non smokers do, that's why they smoke in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭burstbuckle

Hippies! wrote: »
    I dont understand them either OP. I'm a drinker not a smoker and I'm skint but I haven't had a drink in two months....because I'm skint, d'ya get me? I could easily skip on food and then drink but that would be stupid so I don't but smokers don't have a good grasp of basic logic like non smokers do, that's why they smoke in the first place.

with a username like yours i know the type of smoke you like,
    ya dirty fecker;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Ex 40 a day smoker. That's €580 a month at post budget prices.

I moved to e-cigs/vaping just shy if 4 months ago.

Once off Initial hardware cost of €50.
    Ongoing hardware cost for replacement atomiser heads @ €4 per month
    Months supply of e-liquid €19

Cost of my nicotine addiction per month has dropped from €580 to €25.

Why is anyone still smoking????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I switched to roll your own tobacco a few months ago. Saving me a bloody fortune! Amber leaf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Look lads and lassies , all do what the hell you like , it's the 13th of December today and the world is ending on the 22nd . So you have 9 days left on this earth . So all you rollies ' go out and treat your selves to a good hard packet of sweet aftern .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I gave up there last week because I was completely broke. Even saving €10 a day left me with little extra in my pocket, I spent it all on things like food. :o

Oh, and chewing gum, I'm addicted to that now instead.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Smokers that moan about being broke should get their priorities right. The same way that drinkers, eaters, shopaholics etc. that are broke should get theirs right.

It is easy to give up something if you want it enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

This old story, skint but spend €100 a week on fags.
    I did the same until Feb just gone.
    €9.20 a pack! Decided to go onto rollies. Box of Amber Leaf, with skins and filters €4.85 per day, thats €34 or so a week. Pity the Govt. have coped on that nearly everyone is smoking rollies now but still cheaper than €9.40 a day.

Ways and means to not be skint and still smoke

EDIT: I know I should just give up, save that €35 quid. But as most non-smokers dont know/realise, its feckin hard to stop unless you are ACTUALLY ready to give up in your own mind. Nothing anyone can say to make you stop tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I am 30 days off the fags; thank you very much not because they cost too much; more so because of the incessiant nagging from the OH to do so.
    Now that I am off them she is giving out about the amount of food that I am eating.

She reckons that I was cheeper when I was on the fags.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Calibos wrote: »
    Ex 40 a day smoker. That's €580 a month at post budget prices.

I moved to e-cigs/vaping just shy if 4 months ago.

Once off Initial hardware cost of €50.
    Ongoing hardware cost for replacement atomiser heads @ €4 per month
    Months supply of e-liquid €19

Cost of my nicotine addiction per month has dropped from €580 to €25.

Why is anyone still smoking????

Because vaping isn't cool the way smoking is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

M cebee wrote: »
    i spend 30 minimum on cheap alcohol per week to function somewhat normally
    couldn't get by otherwise

What kind of alcohol? Beer? Wine? Spirits? Need to be as efficient as possible if you need it to function. Spirits are the answer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

This old story, skint but spend €100 a week on fags.
    I did the same until Feb just gone.
    €9.20 a pack! Decided to go onto rollies. Box of Amber Leaf, with skins and filters €4.85 per day, thats €34 or so a week. Pity the Govt. have coped on that nearly everyone is smoking rollies now but still cheaper than €9.40 a day.

Ways and means to not be skint and still smoke

EDIT: I know I should just give up, save that €35 quid. But as most non-smokers dont know/realise, its feckin hard to stop unless you are ACTUALLY ready to give up in your own mind. Nothing anyone can say to make you stop tbh

yup your right

was on the smokes meself was spending 9.20 a day on them, i remember when they were 7.50 ( im no that old :P )
    switched to amberleaf a few months ago 4.50 a pack then it went to 4.75
    now its a 5er flat rate
    i dont mind spending a 5er on it but if it goes 5.20 il just give up altogether because i hate odd numbers like that breaking into a 10er for all that change :P haha

its very hard to give up mainly because i dont want to give up :P but then again i dont complain that im broke either and i eat well
    although i will say is smoking kinda fills me stomach compared to eating so i dont need to eat as much
    im a skinny fecker

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I personally think that Social Welfare rates and particularly Child Benefit must be too high, given that I see people in receipt of both regularly purchasing smoking materials, often right after coming out of the post office.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Red Alert wrote: »
    I personally think that Social Welfare rates and particularly Child Benefit must be too high, given that I see people in receipt of both regularly purchasing smoking materials, often right after coming out of the post office.

Its tax isn't it?