Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stereotyping by what music you listen to

• 12-12-2012 10:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭

Does this annoy anyone else? Following the announcement this morning that Eminem will be playing in Slane, a quick scan of the comments under the announcement on the promoters Facebook page and you see comments like this

-"Will attract a horrible crowd too, something these festivals in ireland don't need"
    -"Yea at least that day the rest if ireland will be safer they will all be desending on slane good luck with that"
    - "This one will make the Swedish House Mafia debacle look like a One Direction show."
    -"Having that many track suits in one place has got to be a bad thing"

Whether you like Eminem or not, I think it's ignorant as fu*k to label anyone who listens to a certain musical artist as basically a tracksuit wearing scumbag. I seen the same sort of nonsense all over the internet after the SHM gig. Fair enough there was trouble at that, but it doesn't mean everyone there was the same type of person. (Just for the record I was at it and didn't see 1 person acting the dick) I wouldn't make a thread out of this if it was isolated but I see it everywhere ; people getting labelled by pig ignorant keyboard warriors because of the music they enjoy. Thoughts?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

You should post that as a reply to each one of'em on that facebook page.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

It's more insinuating that all the scangers love Eminem than that everyone who listens to Eminem is a scanger. The same goes for tracksuits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The sad fact is that these types of singers/bands DO attract a scum bag element who DO cause trouble. But on a brighter note the scumbag track suit wearing knackers from Dublin will probably not be there as they don't actually know that other counties and towns exist. They believe that the world consists purely of Dublin and they'd be fearful of ever venturing outside their toxic bubble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

In fairness, they are probably right....

As much as I like to listen to him, I think I'll give that a miss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Yes but will it be the Real Slim Shady though? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I'll start off by saying I don't like Eminem, and I do find a lot of his fans to be moronic scumbags who will cause trouble at it.

But yeah, I do agree with you in essence. Its completely stupid(in spite of what Ive just said) to label everyone in such a way. Some of the comments are just embarrassing for whoever wrote them. Similar is happening in the gigs forum.

Any incident, which occurs at lots of major outdoor events like this, will be picked on by social media like hounds.

Yes there will be scumbags, yes there will be people there who wont cause trouble(the majority). But we know which stories we'll hear anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

CJC999 wrote: »
    The sad fact is that these types of singers/bands DO attract a scum bag element who DO cause trouble. But on a brighter note the scumbag track suit wearing knackers from Dublin will probably not be there as they don't actually know that other counties and towns exist. They believe that the works consists purely of Dublin and they'd be fearful of ever venturing outside their toxic bubble.

^Meh.. Stereotyping much?

Anyway is he not ten years too late! his rubbish mouth pains my eardrums.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

i know its not politically correct to say what type of person you are by what music you listen to but i'll tell you something for nothing you'll need a fcuking stab vest at that concert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

There'll be a load of knackers at Eminem and more than likely pockets of trouble at it.

This is not dictated by prejudice or bigotry. It's just common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I like house and techno music (or 'electric' music as the Gardai call it).

Unfortunately, when I hear any kind of electric music a knife miraculously materialises in my hand and I get an awful urge to go round stabbing people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭R019912

There'll be a load of knackers at Eminem and more than likely pockets of trouble at it.

This is not dictated by prejudice or bigotry. It's just common sense.

I'll give you common sense. Getting 60,000 people+ together in one place at any time, and there'll be "pockets of trouble".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

You are right in saying that not everyone that will want to go see Eminem will be a scumbag, but these concerts have a reputation for a reason!

Swedish House Mafia was on the same weekend in the same venue as Snow Patrol and Florence+The Machine, there was hassle at SHM, but not at the other gig. Explanation: Different music meant different crowd.

Looking at some of the gigs I was at the last year, the taste in music does make a difference:
    Snow Patrol - Couples in 20s and 30s, very subdued crowd.
    Blink-182 - Drunken teenagers and lads like myself being nostalgic over formerly being a drunken teenager
    Booka Shade - Lots of drugs and people off their heads, (actually no hassle though).

Different gigs attract different crowds... It is more accurate generalisation as opposed to stereotyping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Eminen gets a bad rap (sorry) due to some of the "fans" he attracts. He even had a song (Stan) about people taking his stuff too literally. I'm not much of a Rap fan, but he caught my ear because he has such a way with words, and he brought in a sense of humour that Rap badly needed.

But none of that makes me want to stand in a muddy field for hours with thousands of other people ...

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

R019912 wrote: »
    I'll give you common sense. Getting 60,000 people+ together in one place at any time, and there'll be "pockets of trouble".

Perhaps you weren't at Leonard Cohen then.

It was mental. Loads of middle aged types drinking buckfast and doing coke off their car keys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Whether you like Eminem or not, I think it's ignorant as fu*k to label anyone who listens to a certain musical artist as basically a tracksuit wearing scumbag.

Well no offence OP but color me ignorant as fùck then. Some clown waffling attention seeking expletives into a microphone is a musical artist now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

just take a look at oxegens deterioration from when it started. The introduction of rap and dance music replacing the rock acts attracted a different demographic. the ratio between the different genres of music slowly tipped to being more "pop music" and less a rock festival (which it was coined when it started). Now it might be a coincidence but the place got a lot more violent and aggressive as the years went on, so much so that I never want to go again. I don't necessarily hold the change in music responsible but i believe it was one of the major factors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Czarcasm wrote: »

Well no offence OP but color me ignorant as fùck then. Some clown waffling attention seeking expletives into a microphone is a musical artist now?

Thread isn't about whether you like his music or not...and quite frankly he is a very talented artist.

Yep, but sure don't let that get in your way of your own bit of attention seeking coming on here looking for "thanks" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭greenheart

The sad fact is that these types of singers/bands DO attract a scum bag element who DO cause trouble. But on a brighter note the scumbag track suit wearing knackers from Dublin will probably not be there as they don't actually know that other counties and towns exist. They believe that the world consists purely of Dublin and they'd be fearful of ever venturing outside their toxic bubble.

Just like you believe that Dublin consists purely of tracksuit wearing scumbag knackers that all exist in a toxic bubble.

idiotic waste of internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

-"Will attract a horrible crowd too, something these festivals in ireland don't need"
    -"Yea at least that day the rest if ireland will be safer they will all be desending on slane good luck with that"
    - "This one will make the Swedish House Mafia debacle look like a One Direction show."

1. It will attract a horrible crowd. The majority will be decent people but a sizable and very visable minority of undesirables will be present

2. This will most likely be true as a lot of the undesirables that run riot in housing estates will be at Slane

3. It will attract a similar clientele to the SHM gig. I dread to think the queue for buses home will be anything but gentlemanly or ladylike

4. The uniform of the undesirable is the tracksuit. This is not claiming that the majority of people that wear tracksuits are undesirables but a large and visible minority of undesirables at Slane will be wearing tracksuits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭RubyWoo83

Does this annoy anyone else? Following the announcement this morning that Eminem will be playing in Slane, a quick scan of the comments under the announcement on the promoters Facebook page and you see comments like this

Whether you like Eminem or not, I think it's ignorant as fu*k to label anyone who listens to a certain musical artist as basically a tracksuit wearing scumbag. I seen the same sort of nonsense all over the internet after the SHM gig. Fair enough there was trouble at that, but it doesn't mean everyone there was the same type of person. (Just for the record I was at it and didn't see 1 person acting the dick) I wouldn't make a thread out of this if it was isolated but I see it everywhere ; people getting labelled by pig ignorant keyboard warriors because of the music they enjoy. Thoughts?

Look whether you like it or not that type of artist does attract the less desirable members of society. You can debate the wrongs and rights of it all you like but stereotyping happens for a reason. There is no smoke without fire.

BTW I would love to see Eminem live, I am a fan but I wouldn't go near this thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I was so shocked by the behaviour of some attendees at the Barbara Streisand Concert a number of years back that I almost spilt my Malbec.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭BensonSlide

People who listen to metal obsessively tend to have oily skin, no social skills, BO problems and work in computer game stores. They go to rock bars where they all wallow in the misery of their collective existence.

I was so shocked by the behaviour of some attendees at the Barbara Streisand Concert a number of years back that I almost spilt my Malbec.

I hate the sound of a monocle falling into a flute of champagne.

People who listen to metal obsessively tend to have oily skin, no social skills, BO problems and work in computer game stores. They go to rock bars where they all wallow in the misery of their collective existence.

trolling much?

1. It will attract a horrible crowd. The majority will be decent people but a sizable and very visable minority of undesirables will be present

2. This will most likely be true as a lot of the undesirables that run riot in housing estates will be at Slane

3. It will attract a similar clientele to the SHM gig. I dread to think the queue for buses home will be anything but gentlemanly or ladylike

4. The uniform of the undesirable is the tracksuit. This is not claiming that the majority of people that wear tracksuits are undesirables but a large and visible minority of undesirables at Slane will be wearing tracksuits.

1. If the majority are decent people, then this by definition is not a horrible crowd.

2. Okay Mystic Meg

3. Apologies if young people at outdoor gigs don't all act like disciplined soldiers not saying a word unless spoken to and not having a bit of craic. I was at the SHM gig and didn't see one bad thing, which isn't to say nothing happened, but don't comment on "clientele" if you weren't there

4. If you say so Gok Wan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

OP, imagine yourself in charge of security at Slane, which concert are you going to have extra hands available in case of crowd trouble, Clannad or Slayer?

That's the first time I've seen Clannad and Slayer mentioned in the same sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I thought Mountcharles wanted to hold on to his license

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

Ooooh did the internet hurt your fweelings ? Awh .
    The average toerag likes either rap or a watered down pop version of dance music .
    There are toerags that listen to all sorts of music but mainly they listen to the two above genres .
    This is why the internet said there will be trouble at it .
    I dont see why your taking offence . The internet wasnt insulting you . Just skangers that dont like dido but love hearing people saying cursery rythmes over her songs .
    (yep cursery rythmes)

Ooooh did the internet hurt your fweelings ? Awh .
    The average toerag likes either rap or a watered down pop version of dance music .
    There are toerags that listen to all sorts of music but mainly they listen to the two above genres .
    This is why the internet said there will be trouble at it .
    I dont see why your taking offence . The internet wasnt insulting you . Just skangers that dont like dido but love hearing people saying cursery rythmes over her songs .
    (yep cursery rythmes)

You're missing the point. My gripe is with people who seem to adopt the mindset that listening to a certain type of music automatically puts you as a scanger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

RubyWoo83 wrote: »

Look whether you like it or not that type of artist does attract the less desirable members of society. You can debate the wrongs and rights of it all you like but stereotyping happens for a reason. There is no smoke without fire.

BTW I would love to see Eminem live, I am a fan but I wouldn't go near this thing!

I've no interest in going to this because, to use a hip-hop term, he "fell off" and no whines like a menopausal woman.

That said, I went to his gig in punchestown a few years back when he was at the height of his fame and abilities and most scum bag friendly and there was no trouble.

Anyway, most of the people who are mad into Eminem now will be in their late 20s and 30s. He hasn't put out anything controversial, or even good, for years now, so I can't see this being as big a draw for the younger crowd who tend to cause trouble as it might have been years back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Why can't people get the simple difference between saying "there will be a lot of knackers at Eminem" and "everyone at Eminem will be a knacker?"

One is a simple fact, the other is an untrue generalisation. But they are two different things and its easy for anyone who's not a retard to see the difference.

Why can't people get the simple difference between saying "there will be a lot of knackers at Eminem" and "everyone at Eminem will be a knacker?"

One is a simple fact, the other is an untrue generalisation. But they are two different things and its easy for anyone who's not a retard to see the difference.

Spot on.

I can get that difference. Read the quotes I've put in from facebook again, and tell me what you infer from the comments they are saying. You can come on here all you like and accuse people of being retards in order to get your daily kick of "thanks" if that suits your agenda. My post was about people being tarnished with the one brush with comments like the ones quoted. And that was a small sample, the broad generalizations happen all the time and they're quite frankly, a load of bollocks

Is the ops mammy not letting him go to eminem because its going to be trouble ?

Hilarious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

That's the first time I've seen Clannad and Slayer mentioned in the same sentence.

I want to see a Clannad/Slayer album now :D

Annyone wanna rap battle ?
    Di di dum gish . Dada dum dish .

Did I say it right ? Rap battle ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭JamieKCCO

http://i.imgur.com/YS4xt.png

Are all Eminem fans scumbags? No

Are all scumbags Eminem fans? Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

That's been true for over 20 years now, do keep up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

I dont think there will be a load of scum at this.

Eminem is not someone the the latest scumbags listen to, hes to old for them now. I'll be going to it, I really like eminem and Im not a skanger... Id say you would get some but nothing like the SHM concert, that was just because it was so close, it was so easy for a load of drunk little kids to get in.

Slane will be a lot more hassle to get to and I dont think those people will make the effort. I think most of the people who will be there will be eminems old fans, not all the little squirts that go to SHM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

I was at Eminem's gig at Oxegen 2010. On my own, separated after drunkenly wandering away from everyone at Faithless. There were plenty of knackers around me just at Eminem's Oxegen gig.

It's simple really, he attracts scumbags as well as pretty ordinary decent people there just for gig. The same way most people at SHM were too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

The only "scumbag" element I am aware of are the folks here dismissing a talented artist because of what they think his audience might consist of.

We saw this in the US with the rise of popularity in rap and hip hop and before that, rock and roll. Go far back enough and jazz was reviled in certain quarters :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

I like Eminem, Dr Dre and techno music and chart music and Slayer and Cradle of Filth and Metallica and Seal and drum n bass....

Guess that makes me a hippy metaller knacker freak who is going to stab people then slit my wrists while marrying Heidi Klum and waking up the local clergy by playing music at 3 am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Yes its stereotyping but there is some truth to it. You have to admit :P

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

FatherLen wrote: »
    just take a look at oxegens deterioration from when it started. The introduction of rap and dance music replacing the rock acts attracted a different demographic. the ratio between the different genres of music slowly tipped to being more "pop music" and less a rock festival (which it was coined when it started). Now it might be a coincidence but the place got a lot more violent and aggressive as the years went on, so much so that I never want to go again. I don't necessarily hold the change in music responsible but i believe it was one of the major factors.

This is exactly what happened to the festival, went from something special to well... the point where they retired the name it was that bad, as some one who works mos the uk fectivals, no one who works the uk ones would go near the place due to its reputation, but some how the irish are oblivious to it, beer tinted glasses i suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

I can get that difference. Read the quotes I've put in from facebook again, and tell me what you infer from the comments they are saying. You can come on here all you like and accuse people of being retards in order to get your daily kick of "thanks" if that suits your agenda. My post was about people being tarnished with the one brush with comments like the ones quoted. And that was a small sample, the broad generalizations happen all the time and they're quite frankly, a load of bollocks

Take it easy sport. If anything we're singing from the same hymnsheet and my post wasn't even addressing you in the first place anyway!