Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012 - Your year

• 11-12-2012 7:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭

So folks,

Now that there are only 20 days left in the year. How do you think you got on? Was it what you hoped it would be? What were your defining moments - good or bad.

What have you achieved this year, something big or small.
    Have you any regrets or moments of pride?
    Could you have performed better?
    If you had 1 "do over" what would it be?
    Do you feel you let yourself down or excelled at any stage?
    Have you any lessons learned for the next year of your life?
    Did you do everything you wanted to do?
    Did you see everything you wanted to see?
    Would you do anything differently or not at all?
    Were you humped and dumped / fired and hired?
    Did you win some and lose some?
    Highlights / lowlights?

There's still time....tick tock, get it done! :)

For me the year started relatively well and it looks like it is ending relatively well too. There were a few shakey bits in between but ultimately a good year. Thankfully I didn't lose any loved ones and there were no major incidents so I class it as a quiet year. Like many others, I didn't have a holiday but I'm happy I made it to Electric Picnic this time which resulted in meeting a few cool people and having a great time and I spent my first full year in my first house.

There are plenty of things I let myself down on. Plenty of lessons learned for me which hopefully will steer me right in 2013. I mainly looked after others rather than myself, which is great in essence. I won €28 on the Lotto which was my biggest win ever. I had an awesome cup of tea in March which hasn't been beaten yet, even after many attempts. I discovered I have a serious horn for Tunnocks Tea Cakes.

Work wise, I didnt achieve what I wanted to but there's always next year.

TL:DR

2012 yay or nay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Bit like 2011 only an extra 2 and one less 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I'm year? I am not year. You're year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

got married in june

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Got a great LC and scholarship award.
    Started a new relationship with my girlfriend of 5 months.

However, I could have done far better in college this term. That, i would change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Eathrin wrote: »
    Got a great LC and scholarship.
    Have a new

....well? A new what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Adhamh

I started a MSc without realising really how much work I signed up for.

Exams are in six weeks and I'm going to srew everything up. This is the worst period of my life- I'm overseas by completely by myself haven't made any friends or anything and spent a huge sum of money. I've been trying not to throw up from stress for two weeks. At least nobody's died or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Chucken wrote: »
    ....well? A new what?

Don't know how half of it got posted:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Got my full Drivers Licence and:

Flying Night Rating
    Finished my Airline transport Pilot's Licence exams
    Commercial Pilot's Licence
    Multi-engine instrument rating.

Now I am broke and spend my days on Reddit and Boards:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Adhamh wrote: »

Exams are in six weeks and I'm going to srew everything up...

You can say that again :pac:

Seriously though, make sure you take a few days off over crimbo. You need to blow the stress off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

I went out drinking a lot more than I did last year, but got more women because of it. That's about it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Exams are in six weeks and I'm going to srew everything up. This is the worst period of my life- I'm overseas by completely by myself haven't made any friends or anything and spent a huge sum of money. I've been trying not to throw up from stress for two weeks. At least nobody's died or anything.

Chill brah, you be fine yo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

t'was grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Got married & baby due next year.

It's been pretty great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Keno 92 wrote: »

Well, my regret list is already getting bigger! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

Sat in front of internetz for 68.3% of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Moved into my very first home in May, met the love of my life, got my health situation sorted and Meteor just credited me €29.

2012 you rocked!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Keno 92 wrote: »
    benwavner wrote: »
    Well, my regret list is already getting bigger! :)
    Edited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭my my my

i like stones

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Got many the rides. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Met Chris Jericho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Got engaged!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Best year EVER! Gorgeous baby boy to show for it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Didn't die, so i'm calling it a successful year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I'd a good year, off abroad for work tomorrow which is interesting, going to operations in two european countries for a client firm on a project that I actually really enjoy and have a good interest in rather than just doing it for money. Kept a good number of lads in work all year which probably supported at least 10 families, completed a lot of work and didn't go off my rocker with stress. Also managed to double turnover in the depths of a recession which aint bad for a home grown Irish business. Finish the year happy out. Knackered though, but you can't have everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

load a sh!te

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Graduated form my degree with first class honours
    Secured, and subsequently, started post grad studies (PhD)
    Met my wonderful girlfriend
    Got to see a load of great bands

I enjoyed 2012 :)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭SmilingLurker

This year I became a father. A little girl has made myself and my wife incredibly happy. All the negative news, negative equity, extra taxes, waking up exhausted is worth it for one little smile and gurgle. It has been a great year.

load a sh!te
    Every word is true:P Oh, your year, oh.. sorry bout that, maybe next year will be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

benwavner wrote: »
    What have you achieved this year, something big or small.
    Got into Uni
    Not really. I try not to do regrets, but haven't really anything to be proud of
    Could you have performed better?
    Yes
    If you had 1 "do over" what would it be?
    Re-do my exams. I didn't do as well as I could/should have
    Do you feel you let yourself down or excelled at any stage?
    Yes, see above
    Have you any lessons learned for the next year of your life?
    Don't coast, work as hard as you can
    Did you do everything you wanted to do?
    More or less
    Did you see everything you wanted to see?
    Heh.
    Would you do anything differently or not at all?
    Aren't half of these questions the same?
    Were you humped and dumped / fired and hired?
    No and no
    Did you win some and lose some?
    Ehh...
    Highlights / lowlights?
    Highlights:
    Finally escaping from school/Going to Uni/Leaving Home/Growing up
    My first 'lads holiday'
    Went to my first trad festival in London with some friends, one of the best weekends of my life
    Surprising myself by being so at ease away from home - have made lots of new mates, and settling in great, shows how stupid I was to worry

Lowlights:
    Heart attack around the end of september/start of october - need to be more careful from now on
    Uncle being told in February he had months left to live. 10 months and 2 rounds of chemo later, he shows no sign of leaving us just yet. The way he's coped with it has been amazing, there's no one in the world I'm more proud of.

All in all, a mixed bag. Fingers crossed for next year, though. It could be the worst of my life, but touch wood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Graduated college, got a job, met loads of new awesome people and found out how lucky i am to have such amazing friends. :)

Struggled badly with depression (still not quite there), found out peoples true colours and they will turn at any moment and struggled to accept that i lost someone i cared about last December and that she wasnt around anymore but i got there in the end.

I have had better years but it isnt the worst i've had!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

You had an actual heart attack? Or just like nearly got a girl pregnant?

(@brummy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

You had an actual heart attack? Or just like nearly got a girl pregnant?

(@brummy)
    Nah, an actual heart attack. I've also started making noises getting out of chairs. I think I might have that illness Robin Williams had in 'Jack' and I'm 50 years old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

brummytom wrote: »
    Aren't half of these questions the same?

Yes and for rhetorical reference.

Sounds like you had a rough year though, hope the next one is better Tom.

We also need to show this dude some love.

It'll be alright man. I didn't start studying for my exams until they were three days away. Granted I didn't sleep for three days but I did pass them or something.

But that aside, I think a lot of your worries would be lessened if you try and get out there a little. You're in college. The atmosphere will be sociable as christmas gets closer. Try and balance working with getting out there and meeting a few people. Try and turn a scary end to 2012 into an exciting start to 2013.

brummytom wrote: »
    Nah, an actual heart attack. I've also started making noises getting out of chairs. I think I might have that illness Robin Williams had in 'Jack' and I'm 50 years old.

I've been over 40 since I was 16...
    But only mentally. I never had a heart attack. WTF like? Is everything OK now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Plough on my friend. You have six weeks. That's enough time to study to pass any exams ever set - I speak from experience (undergrad and professional qualification).

Deep breaths - I bet you've been working your nuts off. Make sure this week you're happy with your notes and course work. Screw making friends for now - just get into the bunker and study like mad. No one else will be in the friend making zone because they're all stressed about exams like yourself. That said, if the chance comes up to go for a coffee with someone on the course, stress begets strong bonds and there's probably never a better time to approach someone in the library etc. so go for it - but don't worry about it is the main thing. You're now all about passing these exams - everything else is on hold for the next short while.

When you finish the last exam, it will be the best feeling you've ever experienced - until you get your results.

Stay the course ! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

It was a crap year for me.

An issue from 2011 in that I was played with empty promises and excuses which left it all open, and cushioned his ass from any responsibilities of his lies, and no action ever from him, dragged into 2012 and dragged me down, down, down. Sometimes I'd be on a good patch but then I'd fall back down again.

It was very hard emotionally on me and I was never like this before. I felt rotten and crap for ages with many things running through my mind but the main thing - why lie? Surely it's just as easy to walk away without playing head fcukery 'games'. Far from a game it was for me. Is it great craic playing someone for a fool because she gives you the benefit of the doubt? I was something when he wanted his cock sucked but nothing to him when it came to his words (all lies).

So that was probably the main thing for me.

Some family emerigrated too and I miss them dearly. And there may be more going in 2013.

Volvo Ocean Race was the highlight of the year and it was very uplifting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Quite a lot of my good friends emigrated.
    Got a pay rise and also finally reached a settlement over an accident I was in.
    Moved into a new place, which has made me really happy.
    Still have my family and good friends so a good year was had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Kevwoody

Pottler wrote: »
    I'd a good year, off abroad for work tomorrow which is interesting, going to operations in two european countries for a client firm on a project that I actually really enjoy and have a good interest in rather than just doing it for money. Kept a good number of lads in work all year which probably supported at least 10 families, completed a lot of work and didn't go off my rocker with stress. Also managed to double turnover in the depths of a recession which aint bad for a home grown Irish business. Finish the year happy out. Knackered though, but you can't have everything.

Just bein a nosey c""t here pottler, but what line of work u in?
    Fair play to double your turnover and keep 10 families goin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Highlight of the year had to be
    Sean Quinn going to Jail
    Sean Quinn Jr Going to Jail
    But the best one of all had to be these two cnuts getting their come-uppance:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056610957 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

- Got 1st choice in my CAO, and very happy in the course.
    - Been going out with my girlfriend for 7 months now.
    - Put on serious weight since starting college, but I'm in the process of reversing that.

So overall, yeah, things could be worse :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Highlight of the year had to be
    Sean Quinn going to Jail
    Sean Quinn Jr Going to Jail
    But the best one of all had to be these two cnuts getting their come-uppance:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056610957 :D
    Not being funny or anything but if that was the highlight of your year, you need to get out more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Got the course I wanted and now studying as a mature student. Enjoying myself and it's great to be in a positive place that isn't absolutely horrible (previous job with abusive management and the like, cnuts).
    Exams this week and this is me studying. Be grand. A bit more late night revision now and I'll be set. One more pot of coffee I think!
    I heart learnding.

Edit to say I'm still waiting to hear something in relation to grants. This new system is atrocious and I'd feel a lot happier sitting exams if I had some financial assurance... Cnuts.

Kevwoody wrote: »
    Just bein a nosey c""t here pottler, but what line of work u in?
    Fair play to double your turnover and keep 10 families goin
    Industrial one stop shop, build, fix, install, service and repair. Everything. if it's on, or under a commerial roof, we work on it/build it/service it and install it. We also unblock, install and fix an awful lot of toilets:D

Work for a good few major companies, several multi-nationals and a lot of restaurants and service stations/Hotels. If you're getting chips with that, and some lad is fixing a sink behind the counter, chances are good he's one of ours. Probably at midnight! My usual phone call goes " a pipe has burst and flooded the place and shut us down, can you help?" And, yes, yes we can.:) Often do a lot more technical stuff than that, but that's the day to day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

got made permanent in work which had started out as an internship working for free in 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Smeggy

2012 was very boring for me, also had some health/money issues which are ongoing. Still, could be worse... and I got to see Stone Roses live :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

Moved home to Ireland after living in Asia for a year

Got dream job with international organisation

Moved in with boyfriend

Celebrated 5 year anniversary

Learned how to cook a mean curry

Got down to under 9 stone and kept it that way

Travelled to Sierra Leone, Congo and Burundi with work

Kept awake listening to gunshots up a mountain in Congo - scariest time of my whole life

All in all, 2012 was a hell of a year. I learned a lot and enjoyed myself immensely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Will be celebrating a year with my OH at the end of December, and managed to move from a really ****ty job to a significantly better one. Got to go to the Euros, the Olympics, 3 Diamond League meetings and a couple of Premier League games. Very good year :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

What have you achieved this year, something big or small. ive managed to stay of the dole for 6 months (although through fas is tecnically still the goverment paying me)
    Have you any regrets or moments of pride? regrets are still living in this country , pride? still living in this country after such a downfall

Could you have performed better? il ask my girlfriend later

If you had 1 "do over" what would it be? *see previous answer*

Do you feel you let yourself down or excelled at any stage? i probably did get abit excited so id say i rushed it abit

Have you any lessons learned for the next year of your life? dont get too excited

Did you do everything you wanted to do? no she dont like anal :(

Did you see everything you wanted to see? lights were off

Would you do anything differently or not at all? get some toys

Were you humped and dumped / fired and hired? ive humped and ive had a dump

Did you win some and lose some? lost some weight , won some sexayyy time

Highlights / lowlights? NO LIGHTS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Made redundant, Crap!