Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

gift suggestions for the farmer in my life

• 11-12-2012 6:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭

Looking for suggestions for something for the other half, a farmer

Is there anything you have bought, received or even made that made your life a little easier or more comfortable?

or something that you have that you couldn't live without now?

From simple thermal socks to the calf staller, or any high tech gadget or gizmo, I'd like to hear it all,
    Although I have a budget of round 100, I would go abit over for something special (and the birthday isn't far into the new year)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

how about a really good torch. these guys are the rolls royce of lighting http://www.flashlights.ie/flashlights.html?sef=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭jfh

Dunlop purafort thermal wellies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

how about a really good torch. these guys are the rolls royce of lighting http://www.flashlights.ie/flashlights.html?sef=
    i spent a fortune on torches over the years have a brilliant torch on my phone, best buy ever as i always have it to hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

sorry meant to say, every year i ask for a few packs of pens, a diary, a notebook for jeep... insulating tape... good socks and a few wooly hats, all cheap and all well used:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Irish Farmers Handbook

Costs a tenner or so, comes out this month
    A lot of it is to do with tax. Some good info in it

A torch has been suggested so I'd get a realy good knife

Swiss army knives have their uses but I'm thinking just a simple knife
    Leatherman are a known brand
    http://www.leatherman.com/category/knives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

How about a new calf taggers since his old one will be obsolete.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

I'd second the vote for Leatherman knives/multitools.

I carry one of these:
    Charge Ti

...in one of these:
    Flashlight Combo Sheath

...with one of these:
    Fenix E25

I use one or other every single day, often multiple times a day; I'd be lost at this stage without a multitool and a small torch on my belt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

well for me a night away somewhere to get away from it all,and the other half can come as well with the skimpy night dress,if you dont take him away he wont go anywhere.:D:D

Half inch joiners. Ye could never have enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

twin sons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭robin3

leg wax wrote: »
    well for me a night away somewhere to get away from it all,and the other half can come as well with the skimpy night dress,if you dont take him away he wont go anywhere.:D:D

trust me i know the feeling, so hard to co-ordinate this especially as calving season starts, we won't have any freedom until they start to leave the shed;)

Thanks for the suggestions, keep them coming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,884 ✭✭✭mf240

A size 13 spanner and a minnie vice grip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Chainsaw trousers or boots
    take a look at shaving.ie if you like him with a babyaas face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

A hot au pair would be as good a present as any.

jfh wrote: »

Do you know any irish stockists?

What do you make of these?
    http://www.adverts.ie/fishing/sundridge-hot-foot-thermal-boots/2337024

New ropes for the jack along with gloves. And a new fence tester.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

+3 for the leatherman, I don't know how many times a day I use it.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

twin sons
    Got them two christmases ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

a years subscription for the farmers journal? bit boring l know lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭OUTDOORLASS

Hi Robin3, I am thinking of a Fence Fault Finder for my OH. My OH had awful probs with the electric fence recently, he borrowed one of these gadjets from a friend and found where the fault was...in minutes. I.m going to open a seperate thread and ask the lads here to recommend one....

Is his wire working now?

:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭OUTDOORLASS

Ye mf240, full throttle....

He has recently gotten new knife and small torch although they do look like the rolls royce however

Can't imagine him being too satisfied with a new ear tagger, :rolleyes:

Beginning to think an apple tv box might be on the cards after all,
    Thanks for all the suggestion though, will be keeping them in mind for again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

mf240 wrote: »
    A size 13 spanner and a minnie vice grip

The Grassmen 2013 calendar seems reasonable at £7.50
    http://www.moover.co.uk/content/grassmen-2013-calendar

Swiss Army knives are handy yokes for opening bales etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

any non farming related ideas robin????....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

robin3 wrote: »
    Beginning to think an apple tv box might be on the cards

What's this?

any non farming related ideas robin????....

yea dunno what I was expecting, i suppose the message is keep it simple,
    I really do appreciate all the replies:)

Bizzum wrote: »
    What's this?

its not farming related, a box to allow your tv access the apple store, ie your account, any music, games, movies you have bought or rented and play them on your tv, you can also use it to view youtube on the tv and netflicks
    This is what I think it does, I haven't got 1, its about €100

yea dunno what I was expecting, i suppose the message is keep it simple,
    I really do appreciate all the replies:)

for what its worth..... merchandise for his make of tractor, phone accessories (dairy cow pattern etc)........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

one of those torches that i see in most hardware stores, the one that is worn on a band around the head, it has led lights, so that he work his hands are free, i get one for my neighbour at christmas, they are usually under a tenner, warm cap, workmans gloves, wellies if you have his shoe size, work socks, rainproof clothing,

its not farming related, a box to allow your tv access the apple store, ie your account, any music, games, movies you have bought or rented and play them on your tv, you can also use it to view youtube on the tv and netflicks
    This is what I think it does, I haven't got 1, its about €100

If it's TV entertainment your after.........Get him the box set of series one of "Homeland" .
    Top notch!;)

goat2 wrote: »
    one of those torches that i see in most hardware stores, the one that is worn on a band around the head, it has led lights, so that he work his hands are free, i get one for my neighbour at christmas, they are usually under a tenner, warm cap, workmans gloves, wellies if you have his shoe size, work socks, rainproof clothing,

I've a baseball cap with LED lights built into the peak. Brilliant job.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

If he's short of fodder he might like a load of bales:D:D:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    If he's short of fodder he might like a load of bales:D:D:D

u mussta missed the gal has a 100 euro limit.....:p

spoke to a lad from kerry over weekend .... 40 euro a pop .. anyway how do u fit em under the tree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

A roll of baler twine:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Jamesleacy501

I've a baseball cap with LED lights built into the peak. Brilliant job.

Great job allright.. use it for fishing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Jamesleacy501

u mussta missed the gal has a 100 euro limit.....:p

spoke to a lad from kerry over weekend .... 40 euro a pop .. anyway how do u fit em under the tree

Holy god that cant be right must be very scarce over there :O Come to wexford €18-€25 ;)

silage pits empty ,slurry pits full.....cows in since mid june he said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Gift voucher to a bordello ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭Good loser

First series of Gold Rush DVD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Does he weld? A proper welding mask with Auto Dimming is a great job. Sealey are a good make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭valtraman

if you are going to get him a head torch get a LED LENSER 170 lumen 180 meter vision beats the €10 LED hands down or a nightsearcher explorer g rechargable flashlight , only 6 in long fits in a coat pocket and just as much light as those huge big lumps we usually have for farm use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

td5man wrote: »
    Got them two christmases ago

I got three but only one at a time, much more fun that way:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

If it's TV entertainment your after.........Get him the box set of series one of "Homeland" .
    Top notch!;)

Nah stick to the farming theme box set of "The Wire";)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Suckler

jfh wrote: »

Ordered a pair of these for meself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

If he has a smart phone and buys reads the journal every week, why not buy him 1 years subscription?

He can read journal on his phone every Wensday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

A good trolley jack or socket set.

Here ya are:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

How about something non farming ??
    He farms 365 days a year.. something to get away from it all, voucher for dinner or tickets for a show... Personally I love to get out to a live show, a good comedy play is a treat for mind and body..

All work and no play makes jack a dull boy ;)

bbam wrote: »
    How about something non farming ??
    He farms 365 days a year.. something to get away from it all, voucher for dinner or tickets for a show... Personally I love to get out to a live show, a good comedy play is a treat for mind and body..

All work and no play makes jack a dull boy ;)

Think this is a good Idea drag him outa the sticks for a night out.

Also a bit cheesy but you could give him a voucher for a full nights sleep during calving/lambing season.

If hes a dairy farmer its only love when hes prepared to trust you with his herd.:D