Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you let your child sit on Santa's knee?

• 11-12-2012 1:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭

There is a debate on the radio at the moment centering around whether or not to allow children sit on Santa's knee nowadays. I think it is really sad reflection on the attitude of some people nowadays.

Despite the fact that there is a queue of people there and most likely a parent right there beside them, there is a concern that the man may be 'getting aroused under his suit'. Apparently a certain department store would not allow a father place his child on Santas knee today and that is was started the debate.

Santa being a man in a suit is a potential pedophile. :rolleyes:

The way people point the finger and make accusations nowadays, on one level it may be a good thing if they are not allowed if it protects the man from false accusations.

What do you think?

Would you allow your child sit on Santas knee? 481 votes

Yes of course. Its all part of the magic for children.
    0% 0 votes
    No. I think he may be a pedophile and I wouldn't risk it.
    100% 481 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

Load of horse****e. They're sitting on his knee, not his lap. Parents are a few feet away, what's going to happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I hate this shít nowadays that no man can be trusted for fear he may be a pedophile. It's ridiculous!

God forbid a child might have a genuine positive male role model to look up to, like one of your sport trainers or something when you're growing up. Sadly there's more and more pressure on men to distance themselves from that for fear of accusations and new found social pressures.

Ridiculous and not fair on men to have that suspicion around them and equally not fair to have it reinforced by the media with 'debates' like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Sad times..

py2006 wrote: »
    There is a debate on the radio at the moment

Are they really entertaining this as a debate? It's like on TV when they'll be talking about aliens and they'll have an astronomer, an astrophysicist, an actor and Derek Acorah and let on that what each person says is as valid as the others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

No, they should only be allowed on his sack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

What exemplary station and show is that being broadcast on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I remember when middle-aged or old men were seen as nice people, not sexual deviants waiting to get their hands on kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

I don't have a child but I do have a dog and I would let him sit on Santa's knee if he wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

If I do have kids, it'll depend.
    If Santa is naked so I can see if he gets an erection or not, then I'll let the kids sit on his lap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Poor old Santa gettin' the whack now.
    Next it'll be the pope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

One caller compared men that dress up as Santa in department stores to priests. :rolleyes: Insinuating that all priests are pedophiles therefore the same could be said for santas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I think I know the station before its even said.

I brought my 2 year old son to see Santa a few days ago. He sat on his knee while I crouched beside them.

I didn't spot a boner at any stage....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

I think I know the station before its even said.

I brought my 2 year old son to see Santa a few days ago. He sat on his knee while I crouched beside them.

I didn't spot a boner at any stage.

You must've been disappointed if you were looking that intently? Did you demand a refund?? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Access Denied

AH Jaysus, where's it going to end, and yes, if I had kids they could sit on Santas KNEE. If they wanted to, or were allowed or filled out the right paperwork etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ericaa

That outlook is bullcrap. People are so ridiculous these days, it's just plain sad.

To answer your question, no I probably wouldn't have my child sit on Santa's knee, purely because we're not doing the whole Santa thing in our house!
    Although, if for some reason he wanted to, I wouldn't say no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

1ZRed wrote: »
    ...God forbid a child might have a genuine positive male role model to look up to, like one of your sport trainers or something when you're growing up...
    In fairness a shopping mall Santa wouldn't be most people's idea of a positive male role model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

It's political correctness gone mad Joe!

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    In fairness a shopping mall Santa wouldn't be most people's idea of a positive male role model.

Really? Why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I laughed...here while we're here Santa, can you give him the talk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭skyfall2012

Kids usually just want to stand and tell him their demands, they don't usually look to be put on his knee anyway, that's what the parents do automatically. So I am sure the kids won't give a sh1t, if it is outlawed nor will Santa, hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Its not as ridiculous as it may first appear folks.

I know a dodgy "Santa" who was relived from their duties for exactly all of the reasons that people are saying are ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Santa only comes once a year, so I reckon they're safe enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Really? Why not?
    Me: Ah future little Jimoslimos, what do you want to be when you grow up?
    Junior: Well...
    Me: A fireman, astronaut, maybe?
    Junior: Not exactly..
    Me: Ah sports then, you'll make a grand little footballer!
    Junior: No..I want to be..
    Me: Just like your old man, ah good on ya, little rascal!
    Junior: No Daddy, I want to be a sweaty overweight hobo, dressed in an ill-fitting red velour suit, who works 1 month a year in the crappy shopping centre down the road.
    Me: Follow your dreams son, follow your dreams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

Thrill wrote: »
    Santa only comes once a year, so I reckon they're safe enough.
    Or not????

Me: Ah future little Jimoslimos, what do you want to be when you grow up?
    Junior: Well...
    Me: A fireman, astronaut, maybe?
    Junior: Not exactly..
    Me: Ah sports then, you'll make a grand little footballer!
    Junior: No..I want to be..
    Me: Just like your old man, ah good on ya, little rascal!
    Junior: No Daddy, I want to be a sweaty overweight hobo, dressed in an ill-fitting red velour suit, who works 1 month a year in the crappy shopping centre down the road.
    Me: Follow your dreams son, follow your dreams

Hah, in fairness its not done as a full time job. Its either voluntary or they get a few bob. I think often retired men do it or simply some guy looking for an extra few bob rather than it being a career choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Hah, in fairness its not done as a full time job. Its either voluntary or they get a few bob. I think often retired men do it or simply some guy looking for an extra few bob rather than it being a career choice.

Or else a guy who likes very young children sitting on their lap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Though you could say Santa is a positive male role model, at least the idea of him I mean. I was more talking in general like men who would volunteer to set up and coach a rugby or GAA team or organise youth activities like that.

I've seen that really go down as the years have gone by, and when I was younger we'd look up to a lot of our coaches because they genuinely just wanted to motivate us and for us to do well and have a laugh along with it. It'd be a shame for that to become less and less common because of our new age, ill placed sense of fear and suspicion regarding men now. I don't think it's right or even justified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

1ZRed wrote: »
    I hate this shít nowadays that no man can be trusted for fear he may be a pedophile. It's ridiculous!

God forbid a child might have a genuine positive male role model to look up to, like one of your sport trainers or something when you're growing up. Sadly there's more and more pressure on men to distance themselves from that for fear of accusations and new found social pressures.

Ridiculous and not fair on men to have that suspicion around them and equally not fair to have it reinforced by the media with 'debates' like this.

Yep its ridiculous. I was waiting in line at the shop once, and a small young girl infront of me was buying a bunch of sweets and stuff for a "party" (she was telling the shopkeeper). She seemed like a really nice kid, but unfortunately she was 30c short for what she was buying and the grumpy shop keeper was having none of it.
    So I said "Ah shur, here Ill give you the 30c" with a smile, thinking I was being nice. I know many adults did that to me when I was younger.

Well, jesus, you'd swear I had assaulted the poor girl with the looks I got from the shop keeper and people around me. The shop keeper pretty much barked at me and refused to let me give the child a measly 30c. :confused:

I also have heard of numerous male nurses who want to become paediatric nurses, but the meer suggestion of it almost instantly labels him a "pedo" by the average idiot. Im sure that stigma doesn't prevent everybody though, as I have heard of many males that make brilliant paediatric nurses, and provide a fatherly figure for children who might not have one after a harsh life and then put into an institute/hospital with primarily female carers.

Just curious AH, how would you feel about your child's nurse being a male?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

This thread is making me sadder than the don't do Christmas one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Most sane parents would not give a toss about the gender of a nurse once they help make their sick child better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

I notice the 6 clowns who voted 'No' haven't come onto the thread to stand by their views on it...

Edit: Make that 7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

From the few male peads nurses I've seen, I thought they were unreal at their job.

Paediatrics wards have young lads up to 14 in their wards, and having a male nurse there to talk to and ask questions makes all the difference.

Plus them nurses were real messers and always joking and making the children laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I notice the 6 clowns who voted 'No' haven't come onto the thread to stand by their views on it...

Edit: Make that 7.

I think one has.

I know a dodgy "Santa" who was relived from their duties for exactly all of the reasons that people are saying are ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Smidge wrote: »

therefore all are pedo's?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

Oh ! Pretty soon we will have to see Santa by video link. And for the real PC people Mrs Clause will have to have a lot more input. Maybe she could deliver the presents every second year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Went to Santa last Saturday evening and no way squire was a child of mine getting up on that mans knee.
    When we were in the pub afterwards and MOTD was starting and the band was starting my 4 year old I think asked the ould doll why couldn't shesit on Santas knee and kept nagging that eventually we had to go home with the the two a them and leave a table of drink behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Aenaes wrote: »
    Load of horse****e. They're sitting on his knee, not his lap. Parents are a few feet away, what's going to happen?

Agreed.

The fact that is even a debate in anyway shape or form is just indicative of how genuinely **** and bollox this country and just the general world is at present.

The PC brigade, while laughed at a decade ago, have well and truly come out on top the last 3 years.

I just sigh at stuff like this, such a shame people exert their energy into bolloxology.

Went to Santa last Saturday evening and no way squire was a child of mine getting up on that mans knee.
    When we were in the pub afterwards and MOTD was starting and the band was starting my 4 year old I think asked the ould doll why couldn't shesit on Santas knee and kept nagging that eventually we had to go home with the the two a them and leave a table of drink behind.

Responsible parenting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Smidge wrote: »

Meh, *one* example wouldn't phase me - or anyone sensible/reasonable.
    TheDoc wrote: »
    The PC brigade, while laughed at a decade ago, have well and truly come out on top the last 3 years.
    Yes. It's the *PC brigade* who are the ones that see paedophilia everywhere. Clearly avid Sun and Daily Fail and Evening Herald readers and callers to Liveline-type shows are prominent members of the PC brigade. :D

The phrase on its own is bad enough, but when it's not even used correctly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Responsible parenting.

I know, kids, they grow up so fast these days.
    One day you are changing their nappies next they are bringing you cups of tea and panadol up to your bed to get over the hangover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 kuldeep121

If i will have kids i will let them sit on Santa's knees!
    What so wrong in that???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

I know a few people who do Santa and all are Garda vetted. It's free and takes little time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Yeah you never know where Larry Murphy is these days or where he's working...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

bbam wrote: »
    I know a few people who do Santa and all are Garda vetted. It's free and takes little time.

Garda vetting takes little time??? You'd want to be applying for it now if you want to work for next Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

The most horrifying thing about these parents is they think paedophilia is a new thing. As if they weren't around when they were enjoying their childhood and not worrying about Santa's knee.

In my daughter's playschool there's a male 'teacher'. TBH I'm delighted there is some males still involved in childcare. I'd imagine many girls will go through playschool, and then school, without any interactions with men (apart from dad, family etc). Obviously I've met the guy, and he's terrific around kids. Would be disgusting to think someone wouldn't want him involved in their kid's education

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Yes and I'll sit on his knee too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭skyfall2012

Pedophilia was epidemic in this country, but it was on the most part perpetrated by someone the child new. I think good male role models are very important in children's lives e.g. teachers, fathers, uncles, nurses etc. But, things have to change in light of the revelations in reports like Savi, Murphy etc. I as a woman feel I need to be more careful around children who I don't know so well, everybody does. But, my family members (male and female) whom I trust, babysit my kids, that trust has been built up.

But, because children are so vulnerable and cannot protect or speak for themselves, you have people speaking for them and I don't think there is a need to jump down their throat and attack them, because they are not sure if it is such a good idea, to be putting your child sitting on Santa's lap. It needs to be debated, but in a claim way.

Why? Because of the recent revelations here in our country and currently in the media in Britain, Jimmy Savile and the culture in the BBC that allowed this to go on for so long.

So as a parent, I am not sure if I want to risk it, because I don't know who is under the suit. But I bring my kids to see Santa and they usually just eyeball him and tell him what they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Why? Because of the recent revelations here in our country and currently in the media in Britain, Jimmy Savile and the culture in the BBC that allowed this to go on for so long

calm down. Jimmy, et al, were abusing teenage girls. There's been unconfirmed reports of kids maybe as young as 9-10. Absolutely indefensible, horrific, scummy stuff

But its nothing to do with kids who are of the age to head to Santa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

There is a debate on the radio at the moment centering around whether or not to allow children sit on Santa's knee nowadays. I think it is really sad reflection on the attitude of some people nowadays.

Despite the fact that there is a queue of people there and most likely a parent right there beside them, there is a concern that the man may be 'getting aroused under his suit'. Apparently a certain department store would not allow a father place his child on Santas knee today and that is was started the debate.

Santa being a man in a suit is a potential pedophile. :rolleyes:

The way people point the finger and make accusations nowadays, on one level it may be a good thing if they are not allowed if it protects the man from false accusations.

What do you think?

I don't live in the USA so it's not a concern for me, in the manner you describe. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Most sane parents would not give a toss about the gender of a nurse once they help make their sick child better
    No, if I go into a hospital I want to see female nurses. If my child is going to get well either way, I'd rather see female nurses in the hospital, preferably in short skirts too.