Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Man movies"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,760 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

awec wrote: »
    I personally cannot stand Steven Segal and his "movies".

Take it back :eek:

I mean... Under Siege... come on... such an epic movie!!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

awec wrote: »
    I personally cannot stand Steven Segal and his "movies".
    Ah his movies are so bad they're hilarious - that's why I love them, why so serious Awec?? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Look up Joel or Ethan Coen on IMDB and that'll give you a list of some of the best movies made since 1984.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,417 ✭✭✭✭cson

No Snatch or Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels yet? :eek:

Brad Pitt as One Punch Mickey with his timeless quote "Need to have a shite".

Probably throw No Country For Old Men in there too if it hasn't been said - Coen Brothers are pretty good.

Edit; for something more light hearted and comedic try Old School and Wedding Crashers. Both are excellent.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

cson wrote: »
    No Snatch or Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels yet? :eek:

Brad Pitt as One Punch Mickey with his timeless quote "Need to have a shite".

Probably throw No Country For Old Men in there too if it hasn't been said - Coen Brothers are pretty good.

Edit; for something more light hearted and comedic try Old School and Wedding Crashers. Both are excellent.
    Can't believe I forgot Snatch - this is a must for you collection OP - quality show!

Honorable mention to 50/50 also - probably my favorite movie in recent years, loved it from start to finish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

True Lies
    Predator
    Scarface
    The Hangover

I'm surprised nobody has mentioned the Jason Statham films either. But I suppose it depends on what he's into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

The Transporter was an ok flick..........it had an Audi A8, /want :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

benwavner wrote: »
    The Transporter was an ok flick..........it had an Audi A8, /want :)

And a crazy Ukranian girl to go with it. ;) I think that was the third one and was my fave.

Safe is also a good film with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

This is such a good idea I've now stolen it for an xmas present. Cheers OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭jimmymal

oooh, was thinking of this idea for the mother in law but cant decide on whether it would be great or awful. then trying to decide what to put on it. might just stick with the jewllery.

anyway
    all of aliens, predator, rocky, rambo, godfather, bruce lee films, bourne, crank 1 and 2,

god bless america, super, there will be blood, one flew over the cuckoos nest, 12 monkeys, jacobs ladder,

series
    the wire...all series
    breaking bad.. all series,
    firefly is classy one off series but has a follow up film called serenity... brilliant
    stargate- all series of all series
    im alan partrigde,
    dexter,
    oz,
    red dwarf,
    walking dead
    twin peaks(only season1)
    band of brothers.

actors
    anything at all with clint eastwood, bruce willis, charles bronson, charlton heston ......mens men all!
    (include once upon a time in the west)
    almost all of these guys films
    woody harrelson...zombieland, natural born killers.....
    arnie.... total recall, commando...... the list goes on with lots more one liner greats
    peter o toole is a class act,
    brando,
    crank 1 and 2

foreign
    intouchables, le seine, old boy, battle royale1&2, the lives of others, a prophet, la haine, mesrine1&2, elite squad1&2, city of god, ip man,

thats all i can think of for the moment. some of these have been mentioned before but deserved a repeat.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Trying to think of a few random ones that haven't been mentioned yet. Great suggestions so far btw;

A Prophet.
    mesrine 1 and 2.
    eastern promises
    layer cake
    gran torino
    open range
    wyatt earp
    tears of the sun
    the punisher
    the punisher:warzone
    act of valor
    rock n rolla
    killer elite
    dawn of the dead

+1 on game of thrones, the walking dead, the wire and the sopranos if he hasn't seen them.

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭GarH

I don't think I saw 300 anywhere, or Sin City.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Debbie does Dallas and the Expendables 1/2

• Registered Users Posts: 8,760 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

py2006 wrote: »
    Debbie does Dallas and the Expendables 1/2

Ah one of the classics, a well "rounded" movie...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

The odd Western wouldn't go amiss.

Once Upon a Time in the West, in particular. That is one cool movie.

True Romance as well if it hasn't been mentioned already. It's not what the name suggests it should be.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Black Hawk Down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Nobody mentioned Apocalypse Now yet?

...the horror...

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭Prettyblack

Science fiction like Star Trek (the new one), Moon, and War of The Worlds. Entertaining and thoughtful.

Found footage movies like Cloverfield and Chronicle.

Superheroes are always good; the first two X-Men movies, the Wolverine one, the aforementioned Batman movies, Spider-man, Watchmen, The Avengers, Iron Man. The Ang Lee Hulk movie is insane but kind of manly.

Don't forget dumb ass stoner comedies. Guys love dumb ass stoner comedies. So the likes of 40 Year Old Virgin, Pineapple Express, Starsky and Hutch, Zoolander, Superbad, Anchorman, Blades of Glory, the Harold and Kumar movies, basically most things by Judd Apatow starring with Paul Rudd, Will Ferrell or Seth Rogan! :-) Dukes of Hazzard is a terrible movie but its got Jessica Simpson in hot pants and is great fun.

Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz are great guy movies (and also have a little something for the girls). Actually on that note the Spaced tv show (starring the same people as in Shaun / Fuzz) boxset is a must (and has lots going on in it for girls too).

American Psycho (for the 80s suits).

Almost Famous (because every man fantasizes about being in a 70s rock band).

If you get him cosy by the fire and nicely stuffed full of food and wine, you could try out his softer side by watching About A Boy (which is still quite manly) or even Knocked Up (as it has elements of dumb ass stoner comedies). Good Will Hunting might be good here too; bit risky but it is about guys after all.

Music documentaries are always good; I'd recommend the Some Kind Of Monster Metallica one (he doesn't have to like Metallica). Same goes for Anvil, and the Oasis one "Lord Don't Slow Me Down".

If he likes racing cars get him Senna (the movie).

Fr Ted boxset.

The Office (UK) boxset.

Is it a given that all guys like Tarantino movies? If so I'd recommend his less popular stuff like Kill Bill (1 and 2) and Deathproof. Deathproof is great fun.

That's all I can think of for now but will come up with a few more I'm sure!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,578 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Sexy Beast. Don Logan is the scariest psychopath in cinema history, your bf will thank you forever if he hasn't already seen it!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Dirty Harry
    Casablanca (because we all want a name like Rick Blaine and to be as classy as Humphrey Bogart.)
    Friday Night Lights
    Varsity Blues
    Hometown Legend
    Chinatown
    Gladiator
    The Untouchables
    The Usual Suspects
    Bullitt
    Cool Hand Luke
    On The Waterfront (I coulda been a contender)
    The Bourne Trilogy
    Glory
    Patton
    Gangs of New York
    Highlander
    Battle Royale

That's from the top of my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

A Bronx Tale
    Mr Brooks
    Payback
    The Sopranos Boxset
    The Wire Boxset
    The Shield Boxset
    Goodfellas
    Casino
    Dusk til dawn
    Just Cause
    A History of Violence
    The Godfather Trilogy
    Shaft

• Registered Users Posts: 16,349 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Maybe it's been mentioned previously but the first Lethal Weapon movie is good, especially the fight scene at the end.

American History X as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Some of these have already been mentioned, and I've tried to pick movies that would predominantly be 'man movies', although many women would also like some of them, so there will naturally be a propensity of action and war flicks.

Ultimately, though, both a good movie for men and a good movie for women, will generally have either reaching for a Kleenex...

Anyhow, and more seriously:

Fight Club
    High Fidelity
    Wall Street
    Goodfellas
    Der Untergang
    Starship Troopers
    All Quiet on the Western Front
    The Good, the Bad and the Ugly
    Braveheart
    Zulu
    Unforgiven
    The Godfather (I & II)
    Pulp Fiction
    Das Boot
    Saving Private Ryan
    Gladiator
    Star Wars (Episodes IV, V & VI)
    The Untouchables
    Die Hard (only the first, 1988, one)
    Pitch Black
    Aliens
    Ocean's Eleven
    The Guide for the Married Man
    The Great Escape
    First Blood
    Glory
    The Eagle Has Landed
    Ted

300, regrettably fails to qualify, despite the fact that one would think than any movie about the battle of Thermopylae would be an instant testosterone magnet; it was just too camp to be taken seriously.

Similarly, of TV Series:

Band of Brothers
    Battlestar Galactica (2003)
    Boardwalk Empire
    The Sopranos
    The Walking Dead

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

GarH wrote: »
    I don't think I saw 300 anywhere, or Sin City.

That's because they're chick flicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Gladiator, Spartacus, Point Break, Taken, Face-Off, Total Recall(original) Apocalypto, 3-10 to Yuma, The Transporter 1,2&3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Man, stick Critters in there too, just for it's awesome 80's feel!

Beerfest, Supertroopers too

• Registered Users Posts: 721 ✭✭✭WildWater

Did no one suggest The Blues Brothers? Shame on the lot of yeah (or maybe I'm just getting old :().

• Registered Users Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

The Outlaw Josey Wales.
    Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid.
    Kelly's Heroes.
    Pale Rider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

This thread reminds me of the first time I sat down to watch "Love Actually". Myself and herself sat down and started to watch it. Initially I had been sceptical but I started to get into the story, only for herself to pause it, turn to me and say "I'm only a simple girl. This is not really my thing. Could we put on something else? Maybe Die Hard?"

True story.

I love her.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

syklops wrote: »
    This thread reminds me of the first time I sat down to watch "Love Actually". Myself and herself sat down and started to watch it. Initially I had been sceptical but I started to get into the story, only for herself to pause it, turn to me and say "I'm only a simple girl. This is not really my thing. Could we put on something else? Maybe Die Hard?"

True story.

I love her.

To be fair, Hugh Grants character had some really good moments in that movie. Bill Nighy was fecking nuts as well.