Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FAO Northern Nationalists and Southern Shoppers

• 10-12-2012 12:21am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭

Avoid these areas this coming week, planned Loyalist protests and roadblocks. Even if you're driving, they have blocked and surrounded cars in the past week and have found out that hammers break car windows.

Monday 10th:

South Belfast, Monday night, 5pm
    Ballycastle, 6:30pm
    Armagh, 'Top of the Mall' 7:30pm
    Lower Square, Kilkeel, 7:00pm
    Limavady, Townhall, 5:00pm
    Ballyclare, Townhall carpark, time unknown
    Ballyclare, Main Street, 4:00pm

Tuesday 11th:

Magherahfelt, 7:30pm
    Portadown, 7:00pm

Wednesday 12th:

Whitehead, Belfast Road, 7:00pm, probable roadblock

Friday 14th:

Donaghcloney, 8:00pm
    Knocknagoney, 7:00pm

Saturday 15th:

Expected mass protesting at 7pm and a plan to light Chinese lanterns at 7:12pm (I.e. 19:12)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Border-Rat wrote: »
    Avoid these areas this coming week, planned Loyalist protests and roadblocks. Even if you're driving, they have blocked and surrounded cars in the past week and have found out that hammers break car windows.

Monday 10th:

Tuesday 11th:

Wednesday 12th:

Friday 14th:

Saturday 15th:

Expected mass protesting at 7pm and a plan to light Chinese lanterns at 7:12pm (I.e. 19:12)

they're quick arent they

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

They are dead right to protest.. democracy.. huh.. stuff of the devil.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

woodoo wrote: »
    They are dead right to protest.. democracy.. huh.. stuff of the devil.

Well hopefully people will read between the lines, protest = riot. Car with Southern license plate doing Christmas shopping - sharkfood, including its occupants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I can't see Unionist business people being too pleased about this either in the run-up to Xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Monday 10th:

Tuesday 11th:

Wednesday 12th:

Friday 14th:

Saturday 15th:

The entirety of South Belfast? It's pretty huge, and there are still areas where they wouldn't dare to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Can't we all just get along. I think we should destroy politics and all this ****e. Go back to the stone age. Then do the same thing all over again. Then repeat. Then repent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

That sounds pretty ****ing scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Im headin to the christmas market on saturday. those scumbags better not ruin it. i want a stein and a giant hotdog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

This is EXACTLY what Christy Moore was talking about. FAIR PLAY TO THEM.

Woops sorry wrong thread.

Im headin to the christmas market on saturday.

Will you bring me back something?

I wouldn't like to be driving through one of those protests in a southern reg car.

Im headin to the christmas market on saturday. those scumbags better not ruin it. i want a stein and a giant hotdog

there are plenty of local markets open at the minute, ive been to loads over the last week, would you not try them instead

I wouldn't like to be driving through one of those protests in a southern reg car.

my father in law parked and slept in his car one night on sandy row in the 80's and lived to regret it

Anything happen?

nope, he made it home and someone explained what sandy row was. he is a little innocent when it comes to being streetwise

Will you bring me back something?
    What are you looking.

there are plenty of local markets open at the minute, ive been to loads over the last week, would you not try them instead
    Im meetin some friends up there i havent seen in ages

If a crowd like that surrounded my car i would have no qualms whatsoever about going through them

What are you looking.

A surprise? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

Avoid these areas this coming week...

What's your source?

A surprise? :pac:
    Ill bring you back the union flag from city hall...oh wait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Scaremongering thread is scaremongering.

The only car that would be attacked in Magherafelt or Limavady is the OP's for attempting to drive business out of the town.

And as for the hotbed of loyalism that is Ballycastle?!!!

Jesus wept.

Yeah we could be doing with a credible source there OP in fairness.

Unless... unless it's you who'll be orchestrating the demonstrations. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I pity the sensible people of NI. They've had to put up with violent fúckwits for half a century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

Slydice wrote: »
    That sounds pretty ****ing scary.
    Ya fcking chinese lanterns! things are really getting out of hand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

They're also preventing people from buying more flags. Can't have enough flags in this weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

WindSock wrote: »
    They're also preventing people from buying more flags. Can't have enough flags in this weather.

NEVER NEVER NEVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Hmmm....wonders if all this flag furore has been a cunning ploy sponsored by the Irish government to keep money from leaving the country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

so what are you saying here? "mass" are nationalists retaliating with an all night novena/Buddhist festival

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... Car with Southern license plate ...
    Don't you mean "Irish registration plate"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

If a crowd like that surrounded my car i would have no qualms whatsoever about going through them

I know of someone who did just that... unfortunately they scattered and left behind a woman in a wheelchair!
    When it went to court it was ruled that he acted in fear for his life and got off with a slap on the wrist if anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I would like to see a source for this, but if it remotely true, it's pretty shocking. It's a flag lads, calm down. All you are doing is bringing shame to your nation.

Mind you, a bit of rioting and looting this time of year is a handy way to grab a new tv in time for Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭theblueirish

I was in Belfast on Saturday to do a bit of shoping and a few steins in the Christmas market.
    The genuine protesters were out numbered by about 2-1 by thugs with their faces covered with scarfs, when the protest was over the all loitered around city hall looking for trouble.
    Thankfully the PSNI handled it well, basically told them to remove scarfs or face arrest.

Good points: shops alot quieter, ques not as long.
    Bad points: Fecking plastic glasses in the beer tents. Nice lovely steins behind the counter that you were only allowed to look at. Even the specialist beers were poured into plastic cups. Just not on!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I've a meeting in Newry on Friday at 1pm.

I need the meeting like a hole in the head in fairness, but I'll be there in my southern reg car at 1pm sharp.

On my way back to Kildare I reserve the right to plough through any protest that attempts to surround my vehicle, and impede my homeward bound journey.

Fair warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

donvito99 wrote: »
    I pity the sensible people of NI. They've had to put up with violent fúckwits for half a century.

Four hundred years actually, but who's counting, eh?

Ghandee wrote: »
    I've a meeting in Newry on Friday at 1pm.

I need the meeting like a hole in the head in fairness, but I'll be there in my southern reg car at 1pm sharp.

On my way back to Kildare I reserve the right to plough through any protest that attempts to surround my vehicle, and impede my homeward bound journey.

Fair warning.

You'll be fine in Newry! Its the loyalists I would fear for there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

They are right to target Irish reg cars.

I mean who wants thousands of shoppers coming into these towns and spending millions of pounds that will help local businesses?

All it will do is provide employment and increase the tax take which would only be used foolishly like providing services and help the huge welfare bill that the majority of these scumbags are inevitably on..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

If I see a knacker wrapped in a union jack waving a hammer I'm accelerating towards him.

I was in Belfast on Saturday to do a bit of shoping and a few steins in the Christmas market.
    The genuine protesters were out numbered by about 2-1 by thugs with their faces covered with scarfs, when the protest was over the all loitered around city hall looking for trouble.
    Thankfully the PSNI handled it well, basically told them to remove scarfs or face arrest.

Good points: shops alot quieter, ques not as long.
    Bad points: Fecking plastic glasses in the beer tents. Nice lovely steins behind the counter that you were only allowed to look at. Even the specialist beers were poured into plastic cups. Just not on!!

What the fuck!?!?! Now there's something worth protesting over.

There wan't too much trouble by the sounds of things. A bit of a knock about between loyalists and police in their own area (the Village).

Did he develop a bad back in later life? :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Ghandee wrote: »

Fair warning.

Ah here now. The traffic at the Red Cow isn't THAT bad ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

OP lives up to his username.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

All AH shyte aside, I've to send workers to N.Belfast tomorrow (one of whom is my kid) - is it worth the risk or should I postpone? Serious answers please as I've no desire to send lads into a sh1tfest driving southern reg vans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭guttenberg

If there not going anywhere near a protest they will be fine, if they are they will usually see a dozen armoured landrovers in advance of the protest so they can drive around it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

guttenberg wrote: »
    If there not going anywhere near a protest they will be fine, if they are they will usually see a dozen armoured landrovers in advance of the protest so they can drive around it.
    Is there a setting on sat-nav for "avoid protests on route"?:)
    Not sure they'd have enough local knowledge to drive around it. I have visions of them doing a left, a right, another right, and ending up right in the middle of one! Having serious second thoughts here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,878 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Crossmaglen is open for business.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Pottler wrote: »
    Not sure they'd have enough local knowledge to drive around it. I have visions of them doing a left, a right, another right, and ending up right in the middle of one! Having serious second thoughts here.

Belfast isn't that hard to navigate. You will also see plenty of southern reg cars driving about every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭guttenberg

Pottler wrote: »
    Well if they do run into one they'll get directed down some different street and if there satnav is like mine it'll start screaming "RECALCULATING ROUTE" and it'll be grand. Personally I'd let them go ahead, work is work! but if your gonna worry about them all day then it's probably not worth it.