Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lime and sawdust spreader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 shobo

No But saw one in coop yesterday and just wondering had you found out any more 184 euro inc now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

shobo wrote: »
    No But saw one in coop yesterday and just wondering had you found out any more 184 euro inc now
    Same make? Which coop?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

looks a great thing. i wouldnt mind paying if it was going to be that easy, as its one job i hate. normally end up wit more lime on myself than cubicals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

doesnt look like it holds an awful lot... by the time you would have it filled and set up you'd have the shed done....(well i would anyways:p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭JOAT

whelan1 wrote: »
    doesnt look like it holds an awful lot... by the time you would have it filled and set up you'd have the shed done....(well i would anyways:p)
    Ended up getting the one from connaght agri in the link above. Makes the job very quick. We have the small bags of lime and it would probably take 1.5 bags to fill it. Problem is though that with one bag in it, the whole thing is actually quite heavy so one bag of lime is prob the limit. Haven't tried it with anything other than lime yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Bazzer007

I was thinking of buying one off Magenta Direct, retailing at €180. How are things going with it now Joat? I have a 14v drill but thinking I might need to go higher and buy a 18v drill as well which will add to the cost. Some lads on UK farm forums say you need 18v drill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I purchased one after seeing one at a dg members walk a few weeks ago.great yoke and uses less and gives a more accurate spread than a shovel or by hand.holds 15 kg lime and u definitely need a 24 v drill to drive it.mine is a vink spreader .bough off my local Arrabawn store.i reckon I'm using a bit less than half the ammount of lime I used before.cost 185 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

any one wear a dust mask while spreading lime? id say its super stuff on the lungs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

mahoney_j wrote: »
    I purchased one after seeing one at a dg members walk a few weeks ago.great yoke and uses less and gives a more accurate spread than a shovel or by hand.holds 15 kg lime and u definitely need a 24 v drill to drive it.mine is a vink spreader .bough off my local Arrabawn store.i reckon I'm using a bit less than half the ammount of lime I used before.cost 185 euro

Much dust rising from it? How's the drill looking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Between time saved and lime saved it will have itself payed for in 2 or 3 years

Cow Porter wrote: »
    Much dust rising from it? How's the drill looking

Nope frig all as it shoots out the bottom,nice gentle stroll up and down the passagevways ,very little dust rises .the drill was purchased in Aldi.itbused to be green but now white!!!!.i give it a blast of the air gun when finished,will fire up a pic tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Aye have the same spreader here, we mix sawdust and lime in a pile before putting it into the spreader, once full does about 30 cubicles or so. Has anyone come across the lime and peat mix for cubicles??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Midfield9

I know it depends on person using it but how many cubicles do ya get out of 1 fill. Looks handy but would have to buy a drill to. I'm spreading 2 of those mineral buckets to 70 cubicles twice a day by hand.

Thanks Mahoney! I'll call into Aldi/Lidl and see if I can pick up an 24v drill. I always try and wear a mask, heard a few horror stories. Looking forward to trying out the spreader.

msschippers.co.uk - have a good video of the MS Schippers spreader compared to the 27 second vink video if anyone wants to check it out. I'm can't post the link as I only a few posts to my name.

Thanks Mahoney! I'll call into Aldi/Lidl and see if I can pick up an 24v drill. I always try and wear a mask, heard a few horror stories. Looking forward to trying out the spreader.

msschippers.co.uk - have a good video of the MS Schippers spreader compared to the 27 second vink video if anyone wants to check it out. I can't post the link as I only a few posts to my name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

C0N0R wrote: »
    Aye have the same spreader here, we mix sawdust and lime in a pile before putting it into the spreader, once full does about 30 cubicles or so. Has anyone come across the lime and peat mix for cubicles??

30 cubicles, you'd have to go a few times so?

Mask always worn bedding cubicles

30 cubicles, you'd have to go a few times so?

Mask always worn bedding cubicles

Even the oc ones!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Any idea of price. I'd like one from Santa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Any idea of price. I'd like one from Santa

Not a clue ring up Connaught Agri would be easiest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

we got ours from msschippers.co.uk, few years ago now, was round 180 for the big version, built a little trolley for it, does 32 cubicles with one fill, use more lime than doing it by hand, but wouldnt be without it cows are spotless

Is it like the one in vid. That looks like it'd hole 100 cubicles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Anyone tried the lime with added enzymes?
    Supposedly they help the "good" bacteria.
    Getting sponsored here to use it ATM.

Ya the green one
    they do a mini one as well, if ur going to carry it round get the small one,
    big one weights a bit with case, lime and drill
    dont no bout 100 cubicles it covers half the mat with a good coat could skimp and sprinkle it on and get 64, id spend the morning washing the cows then
    only 2/3 fill it(full 25kg bucket) as spinner doesnt work if full

Ready for return

what type of pattern is on the concrete? hexagon roller??

Sq roller

do u put whole herd on outdoor cubicles? how do cows find it?
    do u put lime out in wet weather

do u put whole herd on outdoor cubicles? how do cows find it?
    do u put lime out in wet weather

No about half milkers outdoor. Trialled 50 last year worked well. Cows love it this weather and will lie into all cubicles in wet. It would need to be monsoon before you'd see them standing. No difference in milk from indoor to out door.

2 cases of mastitis since they came in and both in shed. SCC is averaging <140 this mth with last TBC @7000

Lime every morning and it would want to be spilling not to lime. Cubicles cleaned twice daily. Auto scraper will go in next year.

So before I go off spending are ye still happy with the vinb spreader or are they now thrown In the rubbish heap lol.

My vink still going ,drill gave up though ,not sure wether it was dust or cause itvwas a cheap yoke from Lidl ,anyway picked up another 24 v on dd for 150 and she's going fine !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Have one also, vink one, I mix sawdust and lime 50/50, the full of it with lime alone is very heavy. Full of it would do 40 cubicles as fast as you want to walk along.

on second drill dust seems to destroy them, spreader still working away
    i wouldnt be without it now, father still uses a bucket
    made a cart up for it, push and wheel around

Snowfire wrote: »
    Have one also, vink one, I mix sawdust and lime 50/50, the full of it with lime alone is very heavy. Full of it would do 40 cubicles as fast as you want to walk along.

Is that the small or big version?

Using stalosan f once a week here and using too much really and hard enough to get calving box spread right too without over doing it, so hoping it would be more economical to buy the spreader. No saw dust here.. would ye recommend using it mixed with the lime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Is that the small or big version?

Using stalosan f once a week here and using too much really and hard enough to get calving box spread right too without over doing it, so hoping it would be more economical to buy the spreader. No saw dust here.. would ye recommend using it mixed with the lime[/quote]
    Add your reply here.

I didn't know there was different sizes vink spreaders, my one would hold about 30 litres or so. I had been using lime on its own until I got the spreader, started mixing sawdust really just to lighten the load, as I said earlier the full of the spreader of lime is quiet heavy,