Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you actually kill a burglar?

• 08-12-2012 8:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭

Burglaries are increasing on a daily basis here in Ireland and the law is still a very murky/grey area with regard defending yourself. Lets say you had a burglar cornered with a baseball bat/golf stick or whatever and your family werent in any danger, would you go right ahead and kill him (lets face it, the burglar is out to steal as much of your property as they can) or would you not go that far and just scare him off/attempt to knock them out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

If I caught one,he'd better be prepared to get one hell of a beating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Until I'm actually in that position, I cannot with any certainty say how I would react or what I would do.

Anyone that says any different is talking through their hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

If my son was in the house and he put him in danger then yes, And if not I'd bring him fairly close.

But then again how could anyone know how they'd react?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

If I thought my life or my girlfriends life was in danger, yes I would with no hesitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭lucky frank lives

yeah im starvin, fried onions and cheese

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

prob just knock him out with the golf club

and leave it at that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

I'd just fúck one of his legs up with the golf club then kick him in the nuts 15 times before calling the fuzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Until I'm actually in that position, I cannot with any certainty say how I would react or what I would do.

Anyone that says any different is talking through their hole.

House broken into earlier in the year....don't know what i'd have done if i'd woken up and got him/them........worth risking your life and that of your families??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Nobody knows

And those saying they definitely would are just as likely to freeze and do nothing

Only when you are in that situation will you know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

If they were there to cause harm to me or anyone else in the house or if they were out to steal something, yeah most definitely. Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

I don't even kill spiders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Wouldn't lay a hand on them.....

Good chance they'd fall of the stairs though....backwards....damn kids always leaving their toys on the landing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Id offer him counselling and a holiday to the Maldives as part of his re-integration into society.............that'll larn im

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭MaxyJazz

Not intentionally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

latenia wrote: »
    I'd just fúck one of his legs up with the golf club then kick him in the nuts 15 times

That's it, prevent him spawning a Cnut child that we wod have to pay for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

im telling you joe the lord have mercy on me but i wouldnt be responsible joe you know for what i would do joe

he might not get biscuits with his tea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Why do you want to know op? Are you planning on becoming a thief by testing the waters :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

First id rape him,then kill him. then kill his entire family by throwing a petrol bomb into their house while they slept. Sure i have to defend myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Pavee Point will put out press releases about you if you kill one of their boyos :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I'd try, not sure I'd succeed. I know loads say they'd "kill im", but doing that might not be too easy. What if the burglar kicks lumps out of you instead? Most people(male) are about 80% tougher in their imagination than in real life.. i would give it my best shot though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    I don't even kill spiders.

Spiders are not scumbags...:)

Seriously, possibly if i felt my life or a family member's life was in danger. no one can honestly answer without being there.Hope i never am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

No, I've just had the place cleaned, and don't want to spend weeks picking burglar out of the carpet.

If he brought his own plastic sheeting and stood still directly in the middle of it without defending himself, I'd think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

I'd only kill a burglar on the internet.

In real life i'd hide under me bed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Mike has it right, you will only know but I'd imagine if wife/ kids were in mortal danger I would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Rangi

A golf club is not a practical item to be swinging around in the confines of the furnished room of the average Irish household, neither really is a baseball bat. If you have one of these in a 'strategic' position ready for such a scenario, I'd advise getting something a bit shorter and more wieldy. You'd be much better off, and give you more of a chance at being the one dishing out the good news.

I used to think I'd batter anyone, no exceptions really, but as I get older, I keep meeting people who I reckon might just batter me. Either I'm going soft, or everyone else is getting tougher. If I was burgularised ten years ago, i'd have eaten them raw starting with their toenails. Now, I'm not so sure. Ah well, i suppose that's why God invented guns..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I would pour the burglar a nice refreshing cup of sprite, Yes sprite...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Dietsquirt

I've thought about this as well, i live in an apartment with my partner. If she was in any sort of danger i'd aim to hit him in the head (hopefully knock him out) until the cops arrived. Again its too hard to judge unless you're actually in that scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

I have a weapon handy and if a scum broke in to MY HOUSE I would kill him/her in a heartbeat. FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

anyone who thinks they woud-or woudnt,are only making guesses or wishful thinking because that sort of situation woud trigger the fight or flight reflex which is a totaly unpredictible response.

if burglars are injured whilst burgling someones house they only have themselves to blame as they are the direct cause of that effect [injury],if they werent robbing in someones house they woud not be getting injured-cause and effect.
    as long as the force wasnt over dramatic; like using flame throwers,samurai swords,knifing them when they were already running out etc then any damage that happens to them is through their own making and will be seen so by the courts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Break legs with golf club, call gardai.

Edit: might be a good idea to have somebody there who'll testify in court to say it was self defense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I can't kill any more burglars. My garden is full now so i'll just have to kindly tell the next burglar to leave. But when i move to a bigger house and a bigger garden then i'll fill that up too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

remember...burglars have rights.....

they have the right to decide when, how, and how much to harm you.....

you must wait until they have made up their mind.......ask them politely, and then, only react accordingly.......

if they refuse to tell you........you must allow them to show you.....

the law is clear regarding human rights...........only burglars are human

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

If I caught him downstairs I'd probably beat him to within an inch of his life but probably not to death. Upstairs though and he'd be leaving in a bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

He wouldn't be getting out alive. Unless....

DarkJager wrote: »
    If I caught him downstairs I'd probably beat him to within an inch of his life but probably not to death. Upstairs though and he'd be leaving in a bag.

So you would do that if, the burger was going through your misses nickers drawer? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

if i found my family harmed by him/her then i would go through him/her for a shortcut

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Pavee Point will put out press releases about you if you kill one of their boyos :(

All burglars are members of the traveling community now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

If the burglar/s were downstairs I'd ring the guards and make as much noise as possible. They'd most probably panic and only get away with a tv or something, nothing worth risking life for.

If the burglar tried to come upstairs, that's a different ball game.

So you would do that if, the burger was going through your misses nickers drawer? :pac:

No :D Simply for the fact he's upstairs in that scenario, I'd view that as an intention to confront and harm people sleeping and would quite happily take his life.

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

once they step onto landing break both legs and fingers,few kicks in bollix,avoid the head,could kill.piss on him then ring guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Reality_Check1

2 years ago around this time our old house was burgled. Unfortunately I was just coming in from a christmas party and was nearly unconscious from the drink. I got a kick from the girlfriend as she stayed in for the night and was a sober as a judge. So out I go all bravado to confront the burglar - he drops the stuff and legs it.

When I sobered up the next morning I realised how stupid I was. Like I was going out there unarmed into the unknown - I could have gotten myself hurt just as easily as hurting him

People that say they would kill someone as easily as making coffee in the morning are idiots to be frank and just noise on the internet

DarkJager wrote: »
    No :D Simply for the fact he's upstairs in that scenario, I'd view that as an intention to confront and harm people sleeping and would quite happily take his life.

But what if he/she was just in for a snoop?

People that say they would kill someone as easily as making coffee in the morning are idiots to be frank and just noise on the internet

So lets say you open your bedroom door and are face to face with a burglar. Are you going to tear in to him with no regard for the force your hitting him with a fist or object, or would you shake his hand and let him leave or even worse, allow him an opportunity to do harm to you and possibly family members?

It's very easy to say I'd kill someone because I quite likely would in a situation where they pose a possible extreme risk to the safety of my family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

2 years ago around this time our old house was burgled. Unfortunately I was just coming in from a christmas party and was nearly unconscious from the drink. I got a kick from the girlfriend as she stayed in for the night and was a sober as a judge. So out I go all bravado to confront the burglar - he drops the stuff and legs it.

When I sobered up the next morning I realised how stupid I was. Like I was going out there unarmed into the unknown - I could have gotten myself hurt just as easily as hurting him

What? You mean burglars fight back ;)

What happens if there's 3 burgularii and they're all 6' and built like brick outhouses? Does the "I'd kill them" still stand? It's a wonder so many cars etc are taken every year with the owners being threatened/beaten to hand over the keys, cos going by the replies, we Irish are all just Ninjas in waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

In extreme situations, there is an instinct of survival...so yes, I would do it

Super-Rush wrote: »
    All burglars are members of the traveling community now?

Actually never mind.

Mikemac1 banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭harry21

???? No idea. Woke up one night thinking there was someone down stairs. I was ****ting it going down. Absolutely terrifiied.

Decided that if someone laid in to me I wouldn't stop hitting them till they passed out or I passed out. Didn't condsider anything after that.

I wouldn't kill on purpose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

I don't think I'd go so far as to beat someone to death....but I could easily pull a trigger and not think twice about it...if that makes sense!