Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork people and bollards?

• 07-12-2012 10:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭

In Cork some people reserve themselves a parking space on a public road by putting bollards out. You might put bollards out in front of your house when you go shopping, so you'll have a nice convenient space when you return.

Does this happen in other places or is it just something to do with Cork folks overinflated sense of self-importance?

Personally I think it shouldn't be permitted. If you want a house with a parking space go nd friggin buy one. Can't afford it, then tough, drive around nd find a space like the rest of us.

Any thoughts or opinions from AH?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Cork people are strange.

Must be all the Dublin envy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Cork people are strange.

I'd been putting in down to rampant inbreeding myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The ESB will open the dam and flood the Corkonians soon and wash away the bollards, that will solve this OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

In Cork some people reserve themselves a parking space on a public road by putting bollards out. You might put bollards out in front of your house when you go shopping, so you'll have a nice convenient space when you return.

Does this happen in other places or is it just something to do with Cork folks overinflated sense of self-importance?

Personally I think it shouldn't be permitted. If you want a house with a parking space go nd friggin buy one. Can't afford it, then tough, drive around nd find a space like the rest of us.

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

Would that not annoy the **** out of you though? That you couldn't park outside your own house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Id put it down to us being able to adapt and overcome OP. Are you jealous of our superior Corkonian intellect OP? Do you wish you were from Cork?

Well im afraid you dont meet the high standards required to be a full fledged Corkonian OP. Better hope the odds favor you better in the next life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Cork people are strange.

Heard they picked up that habit in Dublin, hurlers may be ****e but we still get to Croke park regular with footballers pulling their weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Sounds like a load of old bollards to me.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

You know you can move those bollards, right?

Would that not annoy the **** out of you though? That you couldn't park outside your own house?

Of course but you don't own the road so you gotta put up with it.

Plus, it's wasting parking space while your not home.

Plus, on some streets there might be more houses/apartments than spaces.

MarkR wrote: »
    You know you can move those bollards, right?

But you gotta be sure their not home or you'll have some 'langer' out givin u ****e.

Best do it at night, or even better, burn their car out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Cripple yourself, get the disability parking pass, and if you can satisfy the council you're living somewhere long term they'll put in a wheelchair spot if there aren't that many already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

London - Paris - New York - Beijing - Sydney - Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

You're more likely to get your bollard back in Cork.

Best do it at night, or even better, burn their car out ;)

Burn cars out?

Are you from Knocknaheeny! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

I've 2 and some builders tape wrap it around them, gets me grand space so I don't have parallel park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭Mech1

when I see this in Dublin, I lift the cones, put them in plain view in the hatchback, park and walk away.

Ignore the screaming when I get back to the car and drive away oblivious to the madness going on around me.

later just ditch the cones at a roadworks site, they arnt hard to find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Id put it down to us being able to adapt and overcome OP. Are you jealous of our superior Corkonian intellect OP? Do you wish you were from Cork?

Well im afraid you dont meet the high standards required to be a full fledged Corkonian OP. Better hope the odds favor you better in the next life.
    Oh god, don't - from a fellow Cork person.

It's crap behaviour OP and happens anywhere because there are people everywhere with that level of self importance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

doesnt happen in cork any more than anywhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

OP.this thread is a whole load of bollards.

You might think of better ones when you turn 18.

For now,go back to your homework.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Move the cones.

Nobody is entitled to park outside their house if it's a public road - once you pay your motor tax, you can park there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Madam_X wrote: »
    Oh god, don't - from a fellow Cork person.

A come on the peasants expect it, throw the dog a bone

You need some drunken students

A locked student turns into a magpie when they see bollards and signs and lights and anything else out on the road as they stumble home

Early rag week this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Sky King wrote: »
    Move the cones.

Nobody is entitled to park outside their house if it's a public road - once you pay your motor tax, you can park there.

My door = my space :)

Does this happen much in other places then? I don't understand the mentality that says you own the public road space outside your house.

dave1982 wrote: »
    My door = my space :)
    Nope, not always. Only if you have a driveway. If there is just a street or communal parking right outside your door though, it ain't your space.

OP.this thread is a whole load of bollards.

You might think of better ones when you turn 18.

For now,go back to your homework.

My bollards bigger than yours :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

This place has gone to the dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭petersburg2002

Maybe it not so much 'sense of self-importance' as being cute hoors. If bollards are good enough for those overpaid planks in Dáil Éireann to park their Mercs, then we should all be keeping a spare set in the shed.

I hate everything about cute hoorism.

Does this happen much in other places then? I don't understand the mentality that says you own the public road space outside your house.

I think you'll find it is indeed unique to Cork City. It's a mixture of genetics and environment.

There's a magnetic anomaly in the rock under Cork City that causes a slight genetic aberration in the genes of people born here.

The genetic aberration combined with the Cork micro-climate leads to a heightened feeling of territoriality in people which leads to this car-space reserving.

Hope that clears it up.

I think you'll find it is indeed unique to Cork City. It's a mixture of genetics and environment.

There's a magnetic anomaly in the rock under Cork City that causes a slight genetic aberration in the genes of people born here.

The genetic aberration combined with the Cork micro-climate leads to a heightened feeling of territoriality in people which leads to this car-space reserving.

Hope that clears it up.
    I use rocks to reserve my space. Big f'ucking heavy boulders. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭coonecb1

This happens in Dublin too.

It's not legal but seems to work. There's nothing stopping people from moving the bollards, as long as it's a public road (which most roads in housing estates are)

Madam_X wrote: »
    I use rocks to reserve my space. Big f'ucking heavy boulders. :mad:

Cark gurls be mad dat way, like. Fight wan of 'em ya hafta fight 'em all. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Cork people are strange.

Of what. Having more AI then ye?:D

Hope that clears it up.

Strong stuff you're smoking there Chuck Stoned:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Dublin - you will be shot dead

Limerick - stabbed to death

Cork - Bollards (actually havent seen it myself).

If thats the worst Cork has to offer then thats fine with me.

staker wrote: »
    Strong stuff you're smoking there Chuck Stoned:pac:

No-oo, it's true bai.

Enjoy!!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭coonecb1

Dublin - you will be shot dead

Limerick - stabbed to death

Cork - Bollards (actually havent seen it myself).

If thats the worst Cork has to offer then thats fine with me.

No, the worst Cork has to offer is that it's full of Cork people.

Hey Cork: F*ck off!

Kind Regards, Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Right, can we quit with the Cork v Dublin shite, please? It gets very fucking boring very fucking quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I do it too. My whole street does. The council promised to bring in paid parking with a permit for all residents but that hasn't happened.

If I can't park outside my house the next nearest legal parking space has a 2 hour limit so I would have to go out and move it and maybe even move it again until my space is free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I would like to confess that I come from a long line of

bollards.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

hell no,it happens over here in england,there is also the disability aspect- a permenent resident with a blue badge can get a disabled bay painted on the road for them,doesnt stop a nob from parking in it though.

am one of those feckers who likes to cone up a parking space.
    because am living in a residential centre we have our own fenced off car park and a row of it is supposed to be for residents motability vercles or our mini bus only,however parents who are in visiting their children were always taking up our spaces and there was never anywhere to park which made it impossible for us to access our own buildings.
    anyway,had found some cones lying around and quickly laid claim to them,and put one in each corner,it meant they had to be moved each time of course but that was worth it to stop the spot being robbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i knew someone NOT in Cork who used to put out bollards and didn't even have a car....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

I'm from Cork and I'm saying its a Cork thing, never seen it anywhere else.
    I think its a subconscious attempt to expand our homes by small increments at a time.
    Watch us painting semi-detached houses and you'll know how bad it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭jpm4

Seen it plenty of times in Dublin. Was visiting a friend in the Blackpitts area off the N81 and that park had pretty much nothing but bollards outside each house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

what always amuses me is people getting upset at others parking outside their homes but not caring where their own vistors park.

I know it's not legally giving you any rights to park but is it actually against the law to put bollards up outside you're house?

If so, is there a penalty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Lot's of traffic cones outside houses in Santry without paid parking. Why put bollards on the road. What is wrong with traffic cones.