Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Introduction & Training - Castlegal Spaniels (See post #27)

• 07-12-2012 4:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

Hi All,
    Just said I would set up a Boards page after speaking to 2 members recently. DavyDee & Epointer. Both of whom have bought traditional strong springer spaniels from me recently.

I have strong Molalue lines - with a son of Monalue Hacker & I have line bred Monalue Cristo springer dog. Currently running both at stud.

I regularly breed litters of old fashioned big strong dogs & am actively trying to retrieve the breed and conciously breeding to quality bitches.

My shooting is primarily woodcock and my dogs are bred for purpose.

All enquiries or questions on breeding, training etc are welcome.

EP has agreed to help me load a few photos of my dogs.

(I am new to all this so bear with me whiles I get used to things)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Welcome to the site Castlegale!

By any chance do you have any more pups available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 castlegal spaniels

dev110 wrote: »
    Welcome to the site Castlegale!

By any chance do you have any more pups available?

Hi Dev110 - I currently have a litter of 100% Rytex free strong Bridevalley bloodlines. Breeding includes Bridevalley Hothead & Bridevalley Nell.(sire side) & Follybreezetwist & Glynvilla Griffin (Dam side)
    All very strong big dogs & all old breeding - good cover dogs!
    They are liver & white & wont be ready until beginning of January 2013.
    250 each - IKC reg, Microchipped & vaccinated etc (3 bitches & 1 dog left)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Well lads. Just bought a bitch pup Line bred to Monalue Hacker. See her below.

Here are some photos of this mans dogs
    The single photo is of the pups father.

BC41AD9D-1041-4C67-AEC0-5B455A1FF895-277-00000039394E8F6E.jpg

836A8B3C-50BB-4113-875E-84730760C799-277-0000003C17C564D1.jpg

02AFF735-0DEA-4AB2-8636-13253E0D58BE-277-0000003F5CAA76E5.jpg

Here's DaveDees dog from a recent thread that was only just bought & the results speak for themselves
    D67095E7-1F9E-4013-A728-47689C8B134D-277-0000003E247918AA.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭270WIN

lovely looking dogs............pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

Very nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

this is what boards needs especuially that donedeal are acting up at the min with gun dogs ill definetly be keeping u in mind for the near future thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

welcome. smashin lookin dogs there will be keeping you in mind fair play ya wont be short of lads to take pups on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

smashing looking dogs by you there have you any more photos of any other dogs and bitches you are currently breeding at the moment or ltr on nxt yr?

There is a 2 yr old spaniel dog in this lads Kennels & you would not comprehend the size of him. He's a monalue cristo line bred dog. The single biggest springer i've seen. All of 8 stone on the scales!!
    I have a few pics but they just don't do him justice. Bulldozer in cover!

Will be breeding to this dog if the bitch cuts the mustard.
    Strongly recommended!

There is a 2 yr old spaniel dog in this lads Kennels & you would not comprehend the size of him. He's a monalue cristo line bred dog. The single biggest springer i've seen. All of 8 stone on the scales!!
    I have a few pics but they just don't do him justice. Bulldozer in cover!

Will be breeding to this dog if the bitch cuts the mustard.
    Strongly recommended!

any photos?

ace86 wrote: »
    any photos?

I said to the chap i wouldn't upload what I took as they just don't do him the justice he deserves

ok no problem i would like to see a picture of him I'm thinking of geting another dog nxt yr and want to see whats out there like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

just wondering why you make a point of saying that your dogs are 100% rytex free? is this a problem line? i've heard people swear by badgercourt lines and others rubbish them. any opinions on these lines? thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 FieldandStream

dicky82 wrote: »
    just wondering why you make a point of saying that your dogs are 100% rytex free? is this a problem line? i've heard people swear by badgercourt lines and others rubbish them. any opinions on these lines? thanks.

My previous springer was of rytex pedigree and I had loads of sport shooting over her with no problems at all. Unfortunately she died prematurely. My current bitch is of badgercourt breeding and she too has turned out to be a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

rytex kennels bread over 80 ftch over the years the problem with this is that it was .if for instant 40 of then are dogs then 40 rytex dogs were studded out to every bitch that was brought forward gud or bad .

people startd to go away from rytex when crap pups started to turn up more and more .

rytex isnt bad breeding , badgercourt either ,

welcome to the site , i see your a little fan of badgercourt druid your self , most of the dogs you named there has his lines in them .

where are you based .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

where are you based .[/QUOTE]

He is in Cliffony,Sligo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

TriggerPL wrote: »
    rytex kennels bread over 80 ftch over the years the problem with this is that it was .if for instant 40 of then are dogs then 40 rytex dogs were studded out to every bitch that was brought forward gud or bad .

people startd to go away from rytex when crap pups started to turn up more and more .

rytex isnt bad breeding , badgercourt either ,

welcome to the site , i see your a little fan of badgercourt druid your self , most of the dogs you named there has his lines in them .

where are you based .
    The very same thing is happening now with Hattons wood broc and the skrondale dogs, they are ****ing up the springers in this country with them ,they are the sire of every second springer advertised for sale now.

I Think the whole point & Castlegal is having login problems, is that in recent years the spaniel world is sown up by a few & a few lines of dogs. These lines have sired every litter going & genetically this isn't good for the breed as is undeniable in the size & nature of a lot of them.
    So what this chap has & is doing is trying to breed lines of the older breeds which still have many known lines like the badgercourt as Trigger said but they are further back & the old breeds are coming forward in recent generations - with focus on the bridevalley, monalue, hacker etc
    It's avoiding some the recent generations of breeding & the end result is the more traditional harder spaniel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭DavyDee

http://www.facebook.com/#!/castlegal.springerspaniels?fref=ts

Theres the link to Castlegals facebook page. Cant speak highly enough of these dogs and Andrew as a trainer. Always happy to discuss springers or shooting :D! Also the fact someone has finally said enough is enough with the Chihuahuas that are been bread for half hour trails has to be good! He has imported pups from England on several occasions and isnt doing this for money!

Hi lads whiles we sort out this log in issue any one interested in this chaps number send me a PM. I've txt him & asked is he ok to send it on so as soon as I get the green light I'll reply to all. Most likely tonight.
    As to be expected theres a days shooting to be done today & this is a shooting man so hopefully later tonight
    EP

Hi all

Just got this back working. Was out after woodcock today. Got a good bag of 29. Can't stay on so will be on again over next few days & will reply to few posts above. Any questions etc just pop me a PM & i'll get back as ASAP...

Castlegal Spaniels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭lofty95

ace86 wrote: »

ok no problem i would like to see a picture of him I'm thinking of geting another dog nxt yr and want to see whats out there like.
    I have seen this cristoe dog he is like a Belgian blue. I have the sister of your bitch epointer will be interesting to see how they turn out they are both going to be very strong bitches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

Was out after woodcock today. Got a good bag of 29.

that sell's a dog all day long for me no matter what paper's or breeding he is. well done on a good day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I'm back about an hour from Castlegal's house. I'm taking a dog pup off him and I am literally counting down the days till he is ready to go.

The Monalue Cristo bred dog really has to be seen to believe the size of him! A powerhouse! Definitely the biggest springer I have seen. It would 3 of my springer to make up the size of this fella.

I have 2 old type heavy cover woodcock springer dogs for sale (both male & IKC reg.) Both are 2 years old L&W with great stamina.

Ready for this season if anyone is interested. I'll stick up an add in the for sale section also with some photos as soon as I can.

Any questions on lines etc just give send me a PM.

PS - I am offering spaniel training for anyone looking for tips on how to start, improve or finish their dogs. These will be train the trainer sessions for the handler more so than the dogs. Add in for sale section also.

I just wanted to let you know that I will be running spaniel handling training sessions after the season. I have great country here to get your dogs on game if ready for it and share my experience of what makes a proper roughshooting dogs or trial standard dogs if thats what you'd like.

I have been training, selling & exporting spaniels for years with great success and will gladly take on indiviuals or groups to share these experience with.

All sessions can be tailored to the needs & experience of the handlers.

All enquiries welcome.

Castlegal Spaniels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

what is the youngest dog u would accomadate

charlie10 wrote: »
    what is the youngest dog u would accomadate

The way I want to run the sessions is to show folks how I train my dogs by working my own in front of them & demonstrating how I trained them with dogs of varyng levels & ages that I have here so they can then take the lessons home & work with their own. This would be the group session set up as a number of young dogs together in one place would be a bad idea.

I can also do individual sessions with owners & their dogs if they want to call up for a day but the dog will need to be 9 months upwards as that's when I start proper training not before.

Heres a pic of the bitch pup settling in.
    Gets a lot of white from the sire

55C11BE6-C976-4F2C-9F1A-08FF05A385E1-728-000000EC371EA6EB.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Heres a pic of the bitch pup settling in.
    Gets a lot of white from the sire

55C11BE6-C976-4F2C-9F1A-08FF05A385E1-728-000000EC371EA6EB.jpg

How old is she now

3.5 months. Leggy little bitch. Flyin around the place.
    Only for a big fat black lab 4.5month old (pet) we have that wants to play but ends up squashin her shed be grand. She's too agile for him though!

Not looking to high jack the thread, just wondering if you have left the idea of getting a pup out of you pointer ep? Or are you going to try find someone with a decent bitch to pair him with?

Need a springer for next season so always had it in my head to get one into or after this season for next.
    The pointer bitch situation was a disaster. Shed of been flying by now.
    I dunno what to do now. If the right bitch came along then maybe just get a pup in say 3 or 4 years time when aul boy starts slowing. He was in some form today. Pointing Woodcock now too.

Need a springer for next season so always had it in my head to get one into or after this season for next.
    I dunno what to do now. If the right bitch came along then maybe just get a pup in say 3 or 4 years time when aul boy starts slowing. He was in some form today. Pointing Woodcock now too.

is the new bitch to team up with your current springer?
    when i got my second springer it was my intention to use him to hunt alongside my bitch. alas not all plans come together, when i work the two of them side by side he acts the maggot too much but on his own he works great.

I'll likely run her on her own for at least 2 seasons & then see. The current lad is hit & miss so if he does team up it'll be one working at a time & one on heel.
    All go ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

Hope you keep me in mind EP, think i may have a wee cracker on me hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

Hi all

Just got this back working. Was out after woodcock today. Got a good bag of 29. Can't stay on so will be on again over next few days & will reply to few posts above. Any questions etc just pop me a PM & i'll get back as ASAP...

Castlegal Spaniels

your not to far away from me, great to hear there is a good breeder close by

I'll likely run her on her own for at least 2 seasons & then see. The current lad is hit & miss so if he does team up it'll be one working at a time & one on heel.
    All go ;)

again sorry to divert the thread, i'm interested to know why you say hit and miss? is it hunting ability or something else? thanks.

As in good one day bad the next. Lacks drive at times but the most annoying thing is he will always take the easy option rather than bust a gut. He had exposure to more game than most when young to get him to cover but just not there.
    I'm hyper critical of dogs as you might tell. Blame is partly training as my auld man takes him walking at times & undoes his training but some of the key componens weren't there so I didn't mind when he asked as he was down a dog & I knew he wudnt cut the mustard. He's the perfect companion dog though as silent, submissive & generally inoffensive.

is he destined for the rug and lead when the new arrival starts hitting the mark? i always got the impression that the springer played second fiddle in the grand scheme of things but it makes sense that if the dog doesn't get the adrenalin pumping then he's going to get less 'hat cam coverage';)

Not so much second fiddle. He's out at least one 4 hour session a weekend. I just rather the pointer to work & get a ton more with him - hence more footage. I love woodcock shooting though & miss having a good springer. Then I get a good woocock prospect & what happens - the pointer starts pointing em for the first time the very next day out! Odd :rolleyes:

you've put the ****s up him bringing home two pups in less than twelve months.

You could be right but the great thing is they all go in to his run with him for the first whiles & he looks after em. great asset to have coz get no howling or any of that Craic

Few pics of the dogs in my kennels at the moment

A0DDDC86-1D94-4DBB-97F9-B045A874D223-728-0000026697CAC044.jpg

3C737BB4-6FEE-47F8-BD05-E4F7BBDEC25A-728-00000266628DBDC3.jpg

84A866C2-7933-41C3-AC95-295F204BEB17-728-000002677F74B606.jpg

This lad is a 4 year old gorsty gilpin bloodlines dog. He's for sale if anyone interested. Serious dog in cover.
    FA381884-5231-478D-B2C8-99E6C1178FE5-728-00000266E68E085A.jpg

DD793BDF-6B8B-4331-81A3-CBA992176648-728-0000026726CD1ABE.jpg

C470C51A-5F0B-4861-B31D-B46B73C69F99-728-00000266380D7E5B.jpg

So finaly got some pics of the Monalue Cristo dog. This gives a good view of his condition & sheen in his coat. If you look at the strength of his markings and the thickness of his shoulders, legs and broadness of his head you can see where he differs from a lot of modern spaniels. He also has very strong hind quarters which is where the power comes from. Seeing him in the flesh also makes him stand out as you see him beside other big spaniels and you can see the density in his bone structure and muscle mass by comparison - this is where all the weight comes from.
    All wannabee viewers welcome ;)
    MONALUE CRISTO DOG
    109D128B-23B1-493C-B2BD-2F3F25B36C6D-2341-000002DA29324C93.jpg

C82C2B46-A8E7-4E86-A641-F23D2E8A0756-2341-000002D99C94F25F.jpg

4EE9D1AD-143D-468A-B31B-1D5395F629AC-2341-000002DA8A715C01.jpg#

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    TRAINED BITCH
    This is a fully trained yound bitch I have for sale also
    She is of woodville wizard, allycracker, monalue hacker, castlepride gorse, anohoe dusty, monalue cristo lines.
    She is a fine cover dog but more importantly is the type of bitch you want to be breeding from to keep these strong lines alive. The theory goes that 65% of the proof of the dog comes from the bitch so it is important to breed good bitches as they come available. Would suit anyone looking for a good cover dog this season with an interest in breeding down the line.

45D5E632-F3C4-4E75-9D02-BCF5F0157565-2341-000002D9223D56AC.jpg

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    SIRES
    For good heavy cover dogs the Monalue, Bridevalley & Sprucehill lines IMO can't be beat. I now have 3 great sire lines in my kennels and anyone interested can contact me if they are interesting in breeding as it's so important to keep these amazing lines alive. These sires are direct decendants of legends of dogs and legends of men behind them & it is my hope to bring back the hunting stamina, drive and natural ability in cover that we have lost in recent years...

1) The Monalue Cristo dog above
    2) The Monalue Hacker (sire to Epointers bitch)

3) Monalue Cedar' son
    Pic to be added over next day or so. Absolute chainsaw in cover.

Any detail/ questions on each sire just ask.

PUPS
    Here is a quick pic of the recent litter at 4 weeks. Mighty little pups.

DB62B9DF-7DCF-4B43-9730-5D8D832A7797-2341-000002DB083C4D34.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Kells1

nice dogs. How many kgs does the monalue cristo dog weigh? Just out of interest as I have what I and everybody that has seen him regard as the largest springer they have come across in every aspect(bone mass etc)?

Throw up a picture bud. Is he any good?

8 stone at his heaviest I was told so that'd be 50KG. Looks trimmer there but surely still upwards of 45 I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

So finaly got some pics of the Monalue Cristo dog. This gives a good view of his condition & sheen in his coat. If you look at the strength of his markings and the thickness of his shoulders, legs and broadness of his head you can see where he differs from a lot of modern spaniels. He also has very strong hind quarters which is where the power comes from. Seeing him in the flesh also makes him stand out as you see him beside other big spaniels and you can see the density in his bone structure and muscle mass by comparison - this is where all the weight comes from.
    All wannabee viewers welcome ;)
    MONALUE CRISTO DOG
    109D128B-23B1-493C-B2BD-2F3F25B36C6D-2341-000002DA29324C93.jpg

C82C2B46-A8E7-4E86-A641-F23D2E8A0756-2341-000002D99C94F25F.jpg

4EE9D1AD-143D-468A-B31B-1D5395F629AC-2341-000002DA8A715C01.jpg#

TRAINED BITCH
    This is a fully trained yound bitch I have for sale also
    She is of woodville wizard, allycracker, monalue hacker, castlepride gorse, anohoe dusty, monalue cristo lines.
    She is a fine cover dog but more importantly is the type of bitch you want to be breeding from to keep these strong lines alive. The theory goes that 65% of the proof of the dog comes from the bitch so it is important to breed good bitches as they come available. Would suit anyone looking for a good cover dog this season with an interest in breeding down the line.

45D5E632-F3C4-4E75-9D02-BCF5F0157565-2341-000002D9223D56AC.jpg

SIRES
    For good heavy cover dogs the Monalue, Bridevalley & Sprucehill lines IMO can't be beat. I now have 3 great sire lines in my kennels and anyone interested can contact me if they are interesting in breeding as it's so important to keep these amazing lines alive. These sires are direct decendants of legends of dogs and legends of men behind them & it is my hope to bring back the hunting stamina, drive and natural ability in cover that we have lost in recent years...

1) The Monalue Cristo dog above
    2) The Monalue Hacker (sire to Epointers bitch)

3) Monalue Cedar' son
    Pic to be added over next day or so. Absolute chainsaw in cover.

Any detail/ questions on each sire just ask.

PUPS
    Here is a quick pic of the recent litter at 4 weeks. Mighty little pups.

DB62B9DF-7DCF-4B43-9730-5D8D832A7797-2341-000002DB083C4D34.jpg

How old is the trained bitch/Price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

he's a nice dog but he does't look anywhere near 8 stone, my friend has a springer and he is a pure lion. from the pic he's twice the size of him. will try and get a pic of him.