Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First kit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Batch priming does save a heap of hassle. If you can plump for it the second bucket is a worthwhile investment IMO, but not absolutely necessary when starting out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Right. I was just thinking batch priming wouldn't really be all that much easier than bottle priming, but I haven't done it yet so I can't say anything. I suppose it would at least ensure batch consistency.

I have no problem with my beer being cloudy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Fair enough then. You could definitely get by with one.

Mostly the folks on here advocate not using brewing sugar in beer for what it's worth. Warning: I am not a beer brewer. That does look like very good value though. You'd be pretty much breaking even on your first batch versus cheap supermarket beer. That's good going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭sharingan

Sorry if this has been asked a lot, I just need to know.
    I presume this will get me started nicely? http://www.homebrewwest.ie/30-l-budget-beer-starter-kit-with-32-pint-ingredient-kit-843-p.asp

I don't really see much of a need for a second fermentor, or bottlng bucket.

€30 for all that kit + a beer ingredient kit? A steal.

I own that fermenter BTW and I love it.

Buy a kilo of spray malt on top of it, and use the 'brewing sugar' for priming. I would probably seriously think of buying a beer ingredient kit too that is of good quality. '32 Pint Ale Kit' sounds a bit like 'whatever is not shifting around the shop'.

But yeah, that is a great starter kit for the money .. has *everything*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭blueshed

Sorry if this has been asked a lot, I just need to know.
    I presume this will get me started nicely? http://www.homebrewwest.ie/30-l-budget-beer-starter-kit-with-32-pint-ingredient-kit-843-p.asp

I don't really see much of a need for a second fermentor, or bottlng bucket.

i got the Coopers kit for €90+ and your kit is much better value.

i hope to bottle my 2nd brew today and make my 3rd tomorrow.

get some of these http://www.homebrewwest.ie/coopers-carbonation-drops-2584-p.asp

and http://www.homebrewwest.ie/muntons-foil-pack-spraymalt-dark-500grm-154-p.asp

after that bottles and caps.

Thanks lads, I'll be sure to pick up some spraymalt alright. Ordered a load of swingtop bottles as well, and I have a few lying around at home, so I should be grand

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

http://www.homebrewwest.ie/brewferm-syphonless-traditional-starter-kit-with-bottling-bucket-caps-and-capper-best-value-1372-p.asp

This one is almost the same but comes with caps, capper one of those bottling wands and a second bucket, no ingredients kit though. But for €60, it's everything you need. Having the second bucket gives you the option of doing secondary fermentation and dry hopping as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭poitinstill

29.95 great value for all kit and beer. add the 1.5 kg LME to it for under 40. good deal.

Seaneh wrote: »
    http://www.homebrewwest.ie/brewferm-syphonless-traditional-starter-kit-with-bottling-bucket-caps-and-capper-best-value-1372-p.asp

This one is almost the same but comes with caps, capper one of those bottling wands and a second bucket, no ingredients kit though. But for €60, it's everything you need. Having the second bucket gives you the option of doing secondary fermentation and dry hopping as well.

Oh, does that need to be performed as a secondary process?

This explains secondary better than I could.
    http://www.howtobrew.com/section1/chapter8-4.html

And this explains dry hopping.
    http://beersmith.com/blog/2008/05/21/dry-hopping-enhanced-hops-aroma/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭sharingan

Also a second fermenter with a tap can be used as a bottling bucket and for batch priming.

I always keep 2 fermenters on the go. You cant really get a good system going with just one fermenter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭jreanor

Sorry for jumping in.. I am getting a starter kit for my brother for Christmas and I'm finding choosing the right one quite confusing.

How does this kit compare to the BrewFerm above:
    http://www.homebrewwest.ie/brewsmarter-starter-beer-kit-with-caps-and-capper-531-p.asp

Is it better/worse quality? I really dont mind paying a bit more if there is a real advantage.

I would be happy to buy one of the Cooper kits but do they really give much of an advantage?
    It might be worth mentioning I don't want to buy bottles. He said he'll get those himself as it ferments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭jreanor

I am also completely open to suggestions for a suitable kit to get him going. Once it's less than €100 I'll consider it.

jreanor wrote: »
    Sorry for jumping in.. I am getting a starter kit for my brother for Christmas and I'm finding choosing the right one quite confusing.

How does this kit compare to the BrewFerm above:
    http://www.homebrewwest.ie/brewsmarter-starter-beer-kit-with-caps-and-capper-531-p.asp

Is it better/worse quality? I really dont mind paying a bit more if there is a real advantage.

I would be happy to buy one of the Cooper kits but do they really give much of an advantage?
    It might be worth mentioning I don't want to buy bottles. He said he'll get those himself as it ferments.

Pretty much identical but comes with caps and capper.

Good value kit.