Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public Services Card

• 06-12-2012 12:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Has anyone on here heard of this?

I heard about it this morning and it seems a bit odd to say the least.
    From what I can gather the Dept of Social Welfare has sent out letters asking people to consent to give up their rights to the data protection act.

I could understand if it were just within departments of say, social protection etc(for fraud purposes etc) but to grant ALL government departments the right to share your information?

Can the government vouch for EVERYONE in all of these departments(and that's a hell of a lot of people) to use this information correctly?

Surely once you give up your right to the data protection, thats it, game over, everyone has your information.

Don't think I could do this myself as I wouldn't trust everyone in these departments for there not to be abuse somewhere along the line, after all there have been mistakes made before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Dont believe everything you hear. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

I got the letter in the post a couple of weeks ago. Form to fill in if you agreed with it etc. I didnt do anything with it as it only said information would be shared with other departments i.e passport office for photos etc. Far too little information for me to hand out more details

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Dovies wrote: »
    I got the letter in the post a couple of weeks ago. Form to fill in if you agreed with it etc. I didnt do anything with it as it only said information would be shared with other departments i.e passport office for photos etc. Far too little information for me to hand out more details

Have to agree with you there.

I saw a copy of the letter a friend of mine got in the post yesterday and and the form that you are asked to fill in and thought the exact same thing.

They are asking you to give up the legal right to data proctection but providing you with very, very little information about what EXACTLY they are going to do with your information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Dovies wrote: »
    Far too little information for me to hand out more details

Agree.

A neighbour of mine called to the door about a week ago with the form. She was asking me for advise. I helped her fill out her claim for disability a while back ( she is semi literate)and I think there were about 5 pages. Just one question when they want you to sign something like that? I'd think twice if it was mine. I'm guessing its to do with collecting the household charge and the likes.

I was of the same thought Wicklow rider.

When my friend showed me the form(I had heard nothing about these new cards on any media)I thought "Not a chance would I sign anything like that".

Fair enough if the DSW or whatever they are called now wants to crack down on fraud etc(and I have no reservations there) but to be sent a letter from DWS asking you to allow the use of all of your information to be used within ALL government agencies???

Not a feckin chance mate.

Would you like for someone in the motor tax department to be able to go in a have a nosey around all of your medical history????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 mechanical aid

Seen a friends form today...seems like ID cards by stealth..if you agree to sign it they say they dont need a picture as they have a digital copy from your passport.If you say no the letter says its fine not to sign or take any further notice...There was also a ridiclous question sheet that seemed to be designed to distract from the fact the Dept of Social Welfare are making a massive power grap and stamping on peoples rights by claiming to cut fraud...one question was what was your nickname in school and the rest were equally pointless and could have been written by a child.These people are crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Wipe your arse with it and sent it back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

Aaaah heeeeeore don't get me started on the bleedin' labour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Theyre after all your information!! Mwahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!

Relax the heads. The only info that's stored on these cards is your PPS number, date of birth, place of birth and address. All info that the DSP have on you already anyway. The cards have the ability to store other data on them at a later date should you wish to use it for that purpose. There's nothing sinister about it, for now it's more a control measure by DSP than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

deccurley wrote: »

Relax the heads. The only info that's stored on these cards is your PPS number, date of birth, place of birth and address. All info that the DSP have on you already anyway. The cards have the ability to store other data on them at a later date should you wish to use it for that purpose. There's nothing sinister about it, for now it's more a control measure by DSP than anything else.

Did you read any of the above posts?

They are requesting people to sign a document authourising ANY government dept to SHARE ANY INFORMATION on their records with ANY other dept. Now, would you be comfortable with your medical records, for example, being passed around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

They are requesting people to sign a document authourising ANY government dept to SHARE ANY INFORMATION on their records with ANY other dept. Now, would you be comfortable with your medical records, for example, being passed around?

Advise to lodge a complaint with the Data Protection Comissioner.

Seriously - this state is becoming like a facist dictatorship.

+ Wernt there 40 " civil" servants caught + prosecuted for abuse of records only last week. Un-*ing- believable.

Mothers maiden name, pps number, dob, bank account details...

deccurley wrote: »

I have said before and say again I have no problem with this if it for the purpose of cutting out SW fraud etc.
    But they have enough information to do this within the DSFA without allowing other agencies etc access.

As someone else above said the question sheet thing, and I laughed when reading it, is bizarre to say the very least and indeed does seem like a distraction.

I'll give you an example of why I wouldn't be to comfortable if it were me being asked to sign this form

I had a friend who worked in one of the larger SW "signing" on offices in Dublin about 15 years ago and boy, the stories we heard from this person:eek:
    Now don't get me wrong, I laughed. I'm not adopting a moral standpoint but I stopped laughing when another friend asked this person to "do a check" on a guy she was seeing. Person working in SW office could practically tell us what this guy had for his breakfast:mad:

Another friend(more of a friend through a friend) worked for another government dept but even in a more sensitive capacity and quite frankly, when in their own company was one of the most indiscreet people I have ever met.

My point is people are people.
    EVERYBODY talks about their work.
    If your dept is not SW I could forsee nosey parkers having a snoop on their neighbours if the were able.
    TBH, I'd be shocked if they didn't as it is human nature.

It is a horse of a different colour if it is only the designated dept, ie SW, have your relevant details.
    That is as it should be.

Advise to lodge a complaint with the Data Protection Comissioner.

Seriously - this state is becoming like a facist dictatorship.

+ Wernt there 40 " civil" servants caught + prosecuted for abuse of records only last week. Un-*ing- believable.

Mothers maiden name, pps number, dob, bank account details...

When my pal got this form they hadn't a clue what to make of it so showed it to me to see what I thought.
    I told them not to sign it but my friend said "If I don't sign it will the SW think I have something to hide?" Which they most certainly do not(husband lost the job through serious illness).
    But she was genuinely worried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I dunno about anyone else, but my letter and my kid sister's letter from the social told us if we didn't get new cards and go to appointments to get them done, our JSB would be stopped.

Tbh, I don't really care if the government have information on me. I have nothing to hide. I know it's the principal of the thing that counts, but I have bigger things to worry about than someone having my PPS number and photo. :pac:

LyndaMcL wrote: »
    I dunno about anyone else, but my letter and my kid sister's letter from the social told us if we didn't get new cards and go to appointments to get them done, our JSB would be stopped.

Tbh, I don't really care if the government have information on me. I have nothing to hide. I know it's the principal of the thing that counts, but I have bigger things to worry about than someone having my PPS number and photo. :pac:

There was no mention of that on the letter that I saw, it just asked you to fill in the form and return it(no mention of any appointments etc either :confused:)

TBH Lynda, that sounds pretty threatening!
    not to boil the cabbage twice but if it were only the dept of SW using this card, fine.
    Not every other dog and divil that works in these agencies.
    Can they vouch individually for each and every single employee in each of these many dept's to do the right thing with ALL of your information????

Is every single departments fitted with hack proof security systems to avoid identity theft from outside these agencies which is the very thing that can happen if the wrong person gets hold of, as you say, your PPS and photo????

I don't bloody well think so but yet they expect you to do what a person who is not dependant on SW to do and that is to divulge all of your information.

BTW, how did the audition go? :D

Smidge wrote: »
    There was no mention of that on the letter that I saw, it just asked you to fill in the form and return it(no mention of any appointments etc either :confused:)

TBH Lynda, that sounds pretty threatening!
    not to boil the cabbage twice but if it were only the dept of SW using this card, fine.
    Not every other dog and divil that works in these agencies.
    Can they vouch individually for each and every single employee in each of these many dept's to do the right thing with ALL of your information????

Is every single departments fitted with hack proof security systems to avoid identity theft from outside these agencies which is the very thing that can happen if the wrong person gets hold of, as you say, your PPS and photo????

I don't bloody well think so but yet they expect you to do what a person who is not dependant on SW to do and that is to divulge all of your information.

BTW, how did the audition go? :D

I'll see if I can dig out the letter, mine and my sister's said 'payments will be affected if you do not attend' or something to that effect. Like I said though, it doesn't affect me really. If somebody gets hold of my PPS number and photo, the worst that'll happen is they'll defraud the system, which is not my fault if it happens (unless I give my card to a stranger!).

The Voice audition? Went well, got through three rounds! :D Good memory!

Edit to say - the appointment on the letter was for getting photos taken for the card, and providing a birth cert and passport.

I'll see if I can dig out the letter, mine and my sister's said 'payments will be affected if you do not attend' or something to that effect. Like I said though, it doesn't affect me really. If somebody gets hold of my PPS number and photo, the worst that'll happen is they'll defraud the system, which is not my fault if it happens (unless I give my card to a stranger!).

The Voice audition? Went well, got through three rounds! :D Good memory!

Edit to say - the appointment on the letter was for getting photos taken for the card, and providing a birth cert and passport.

Will we see Will I Am giving you the funny eyebrow thing??:D

Back on topic.....

Looks like a completely different letter to my friends.
    Hers was the same as other posters, Ie sign consent box and answer silly questions.
    They also said there was no need to send photo as they could use your passport one:eek::eek:

No thanks:mad:

Will we see Will I Am giving you the funny eyebrow thing??:D

Back on topic.....

Looks like a completely different letter to my friends.
    Hers was the same as other posters, Ie sign consent box and answer silly questions.
    They also said there was no need to send photo as they could use your passport one:eek::eek:

No thanks:mad:

Haha, nope, I doubt it!

Yeah, mine and my sister's was to come in to talk to them. They interviewed us in a private room, took a photo, signature, birth cert, made us choose security questions to use to activate the card when it came out. I don't think they had a copy of my passport though, so that might be why I was called in?

Haha, nope, I doubt it!

Yeah, mine and my sister's was to come in to talk to them. They interviewed us in a private room, took a photo, signature, birth cert, made us choose security questions to use to activate the card when it came out. I don't think they had a copy of my passport though, so that might be why I was called in?

Jesus Lynda that's even worse than the feckin letter my pal got:eek:

:pac: I've had a quick look and can't find my letter, but if I find my sister's, I'll post a copy of it later on.

In fairness, it's a standard letter from the social. We want you to do this, if you don't, your payments will be affected.

It's not like they can rob from my (empty!) bank account with it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I hear you can lose your rights to clean drink water

That was informative!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I'd say they are trying to standardise their databases. Long overdue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Considering the governments reputation with data protection and technology to date - it might be the better side of discretion to ignore any such requests.

MagicSean wrote: »
    I'd say they are trying to standardise they're databases. Long overdue.

SW database=Fine

Every agencies with access=Not Fine

gozunda wrote: »
    Considering the governments reputation with data protection and technology to date - it might be the better side of discretion to ignore any such requests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

It's all well and good to standardise databases, but could I send a Data Protection Letter or a FOIA letter to find out who exactly has been accessing things about me? Just as a way of making sure it's all on the level and I'm not being checked up on by someone for the laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

The FG final solution is upon us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

It's all well and good to standardise databases, but could I send a Data Protection Letter or a FOIA letter to find out who exactly has been accessing things about me? Just as a way of making sure it's all on the level and I'm not being checked up on by someone for the laugh.

I don't see why you couldn't. Look at it this way. If the Gardai want to check up on you with the welfare theyll need to try and find you using name, date of birth and any address. The Garda database goes by a unique id number which social welfare have no access to. Similarly, social welfare use pps numbers which gardai have no access to. Passport office use a different id number as well I believe. Prisons use a prison number. Courts use case numbers. RSA use driver licence number. It's a pointless mess. The information will be gotten either way but with a more standardised system it'll be gotten faster and will be more accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Jesus,

The way people get up in arms over Data Protection is unreal.

Educate yourselves, if they wanted to know all your information, it would take them less then five minutes to get it. If they really wanted it.

There are enough stories across boards, and I'm included, of organisation or companies getting your details just from your boards information, which I can only assume is IP addy.

I received a number of letters and two phone calls from senior management within EA, querying as to how I'd come to acquire the release date for a video game, that I had posted publicly here.

So they got my address and phone number, from a post on boards. Assuming boards didn't have over any information ( although they don't have my address or contact details) the only viable answer is they grabbed my IP from here, and then went through back channels.

It is LONG overdue that this countries citizen DB's were upgraded from legacy systems and broad inline with other departments. The only downside is this paranoid delusion someone will steal your identity.

Having streamlined DB's with access to relevant areas, would literally eradicate so much fraud that goes on in this country when it comes to the social welfare and finance department.

I'd be considering it a courtesy they asked to be honest, its long overdue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I thought I was reading the conspiracy theories forum for a minute

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

TheDoc wrote: »
    Jesus,

The way people get up in arms over Data Protection is unreal.

Educate yourselves, if they wanted to know all your information, it would take them less then five minutes to get it. If they really wanted it.

There are enough stories across boards, and I'm included, of organisation or companies getting your details just from your boards information, which I can only assume is IP addy.

I received a number of letters and two phone calls from senior management within EA, querying as to how I'd come to acquire the release date for a video game, that I had posted publicly here.

So they got my address and phone number, from a post on boards. Assuming boards didn't have over any information ( although they don't have my address or contact details) the only viable answer is they grabbed my IP from here, and then went through back channels.

It is LONG overdue that this countries citizen DB's were upgraded from legacy systems and broad inline with other departments. The only downside is this paranoid delusion someone will steal your identity.

Having streamlined DB's with access to relevant areas, would literally eradicate so much fraud that goes on in this country when it comes to the social welfare and finance department.

I'd be considering it a courtesy they asked to be honest, its long overdue.

But if you posted you're telephone no & address here and the details of the EA game - then you were easy to find!

Afaik that's why boards say NOT to post your telephone no etc....

That IP trick is diddly - doesn't mean they can turn you over.

The problem I see is akin to the current debacle about Penalty points being dismissed for important people.

Where there a centralised databases such Important people would most be likely to gain access for their 'friends' to the detriment of the individual.

We have to get rid of this 'who you know culture' before we ever hand over a key of access to this information to those who have no regard to privacy issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I seriously doubt it was anything to do with chasing IP's. You practically tell people who you are on your Twitter account. Boards doesn't hand over info to just any company who asks and EA wouldn't bother hacking the servers to find IP addresses. You'd be amazed at how much of your personal info you've given out without knowing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

humanji wrote: »
    I seriously doubt it was anything to do with chasing IP's. You practically tell people who you are on your Twitter account. Boards doesn't hand over info to just any company who asks and EA wouldn't bother hacking the servers to find IP addresses. You'd be amazed at how much of your personal info you've given out without knowing.

I think that's part of an extended point he was alluding to, because for the most part, the info needed to contact him, wouldn't have even been available to boards. and he does reference that.

Heck, I don't even need to post up private details or links to social media sites, google the ole boards ID and there ya go like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I think that's part of an extended point he was alluding to, because for the most part, the info needed to contact him, wouldn't have even been available to boards. and he does reference that.

Heck, I don't even need to post up private details or links to social media sites, google the ole boards ID and there ya go like.
    Yeah, I just wanted to make sure people don't think Boards is handing over info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If they're not up front and explain what they're doing and do the same for everyone not just those on welfare you can't blame people for being suspicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

Seems like a normal request, why are they even asking is what I want to know.

The revenue should have access to social security and foreign affairs, etc etc , health should also have access to revenue, access doesnt have to be given to every poor mouth PS worker we have around boards maoning about not being a the gravy train, just a limited access data base with a team processing requests for comparitive information.

If you use the servises the state provides then tough, dont likey go to the states or australia or German, oh wait, dont them there countries already have big brother in place!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Seems like a normal request, why are they even asking is what I want to know.

The revenue should have access to social security and foreign affairs, etc etc , health should also have access to revenue, access doesnt have to be given to every poor mouth PS worker we have around boards maoning about not being a the gravy train, just a limited access data base with a team processing requests for comparitive information.

If you use the servises the state provides then tough, dont likey go to the states or australia or German, oh wait, dont them there countries already have big brother in place!

I think the issue is that currently even though various departments would have some info on you, they can't share that with other departments when required.

I've heard some crazy stuff from a mate, where the revenue needed to post out information to each other instead of doing handovers, to the other side of the same room. A bit too crazy to believe, but I recon that they are looking to cut out the need for such mundane crap as that, if it does actually happen.

AFAIK you can, but you'd be liable for admininstration fees.

Depends. For example, you can't use it against Dunnes Stores. Info here: http://foi.gov.ie/how-do-i-make-an-foi-request/

As mentioned by Lynda, there's an admin fee and it's still payable regardless of whether or not your application is successful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Jesus,

if they wanted to know all your information, it would take them less then five minutes to get it. If they really wanted it.

Grand so, no need to cooperate with them and sign all your privacy away saying as they already can get it in a matter of mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

I've heard some crazy stuff from a mate, where the revenue needed to post out information to each other instead of doing handovers, to the other side of the same room. A bit too crazy to believe, but I recon that they are looking to cut out the need for such mundane crap as that, if it does actually happen.

Pretty sure thats not true (the posting bit) but certainly at the moment the channels of communication between departments is all over the shop.

Data protection is fine, but if the systems are set up correctly and there's a record of who accessed the info etc, then increased co-operation between government departments and agencies will only be a good thing for public service.

The problem is whether they'll put the time and resources into doing it properly IMO

humanji wrote: »

I was onto boards after the incident and was satisifed no communication was made with them about the incident, nor was any information handed over.

I didn't jump assuming my info came from here, I just politely inquired was any request made for me .

My telephone number and physical address are not anywhere on boards no on Twitter. The EA member of staff I spoke to was pretty pleasent, and outlined my post on boards was brought to their attention, and that is all that was mentioned.

I didn't implicate boards.ie in information handover, nor do I have my stuff just lieing around.

All I'm saying is, if someone really wants your information, they can get it pretty easily. And that is not conspiracy theory stuff, it just happens.

A theory of what happened in my case?

EA locate IP address used for my account on boards ( easy enough I'm told )
    They run that through a compare in their own infrastructure.
    They find a match.
    They run it against their forums, they find my EA account
    They locate my information from the EA account I have with them (I've made purchases with them before)

Not that difficult I'd imagine.

Anyway my point was implying any wrongdoing on anyones part, I'm just outlining that I don't buy into the major freak attack with handing over information considering if its really wanted it can be acquired through legal process or illegally in minutes.

And when you consider that a number of government departments already have most of your details, organising a cross department database is a pretty progressive decision from a normally regressive government in terms of IT and general infra.

Remember this is the Government that just shelled out millions for licensing on an office suite that became redundant in the 80's.

I'm genuinely not inciting tinfoil hat theories, but the alternative to this is them simply just passing legislation, easily done considering we have a party in majority power. I wouldnt even imagine a referendum is required to organise legistlation that allows the creation of a cross department DB accessible with the relevant access.

Although I could see why people pulling fast ones on social welfare and the likes would be freaked about the idea of a cross dpt. DB ;)

Dodge wrote: »
    Pretty sure thats not true (the posting bit) but certainly at the moment the channels of communication between departments is all over the shop.

Data protection is fine, but if the systems are set up correctly and there's a record of who accessed the info etc, then increased co-operation between government departments and agencies will only be a good thing for public service.

The problem is whether they'll put the time and resources into doing it properly IMO

He is not far off to be honest. There is a very old legacy method of "auditing" when it comes to information handover and viewing.

Alot of process' are still operating on paper within our state departments and require sign off. This is just typical of anything legacy, it now, makes no sense.

I work with private banks and custodians across the globe, providing technical and business assistance to a platform of software.

The most recent client I was assigned to would take a corporate action (a trading thingy ), print it by paper, have to get 8 authoritive signatures before actioning. This user would have to walk around a building to get these 8 signatures, as the required personal weren't in the same floor, let alone office.

This whole process took roughly 25 minutes of auditing measures. The system we implemented for them, that process now takes less then 5. That is just for auditing.

Same sort of thing in our state departments. Plenty of signoff, plenty of paper.

A cross department DB, allows for alot better process' and efficeny. With various levels of access, there is a very realtime, accurate auditing trail to see who looked at what, who sent what, who printed what etc. etc. etc.

I'm sure at a high level, this is the purpose of the exercise, and to improve efficiencies across the board.

and example would be someone on social welfare, having to go through this massive process and timeconsuming process to gain rent allowance, a process that can take anywhere from 2 weeks to 5 months before being granted.

With a cross department DB?

Social can check your social welfare state and view the likes of tax returns etc., previously viewable to only finance.
    Once satisfied they can then view your housing situation (at present the inner departments are different, and again have a lengthy legacy system to confirm details)
    Once they are all happy done and done.

However while going through this, they could look into the social housing DB, and see that you have being paying rent to a council house for six months, yet you have just applied saying you have being living within private accomodation for six months.

You and the landlord who provided the bogey lease, smacked with fraud.

TheDoc, nothing was gained from your boards account that you didn't post TBH.

You have EVERYTHING on just your profile, it's not hard to find you. Your twitter, facebook, twitch channel, youtube, g-talk, e-mail.

They probably just looked up your e-mail if that's what you used to sign up to EA's online service or whatever. I'd say it's almost certain they didn't use your IP address. You are probably one of the easiest people on boards to look up in real life.

I'm OK with there being a central database, but what information can be obtained by who is what concerns me.

TheDoc, nothing was gained from your boards account that you didn't post TBH.

You have EVERYTHING on just your profile, it's not hard to find you. Your twitter, facebook, twitch channel, youtube, g-talk, e-mail.

They probably just looked up your e-mail if that's what you used to sign up to EA's online service or whatever. I'd say it's almost certain they didn't use your IP address. You are probably one of the easiest people on boards to look up in real life.

I'm OK with there being a central database, but what information can be obtained by who is what concerns me.

I most likely agree with you, but again, it kinda proves me point.

I'm comfortable with what I have displayed, yet it was pretty easy for them to get my phone number and home address. And yes while the end details most likely came from their system, they just plucked a bit of data from here.

Like that I didn't freak out, I didn't start demanding from anyone who gave out my details.

And I have not nor did not at the time lay some sort of blame at anyones feet, I merely was just pointing out how easy it was, and thats not through the information I provide.

None of the attached content to my account has my phone number or address, bar possibly my Facebook where that information is viewable to friends,who already have said details :)

You should be more concerned with how it's stored and accessed :pac:

None of the attached content to my account has my phone number or address, bar possibly my Facebook where that information is viewable to friends,who already have said details :)

Presumably you paid for EA content with your credit card? That would have your address. Phone number is kinda a weird one.

TBH, I don't care about the information "being there", but there are a lot of people in the public service who would happily discuss someones situation after looking up friends just to check them out.

This is a very very nosy country.

You should be more concerned with how it's stored and accessed :pac:

The obvious way of course....on unsecure laptops carried around by middle managers on their travels.