Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nine years for raping a woman - twice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

'Said he would hang himself if she went to Gardaí' I'm guessing she knew who it was so had some reason to care that he would hang himself.

I'm quite happy with 9 years, especially since it wasn't "ah sure throw her a few bob and then off you go"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

If every second person raped was a man perhaps stiffer sentences would be handed down

http://www.owlstalk.co.uk/forums/index.php?app=core&module=attach&section=attach&attach_rel_module=post&attach_id=14205

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

Dunne who should be more ashamed - the judge or the perpetrator. Shocking. He'll be out in 6/7 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Dude smuggles garlic- 6 years

Dude violates a woman in worst possible way and potentially ruins her life- 9 years.

Yep, seems consistent :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,723 ✭✭✭✭Penn

EdenHazard wrote: »
    'Said he would hang himself if she went to Gardaí' I'm guessing she knew who it was so had some reason to care that he would hang himself.

Doesn't sound like it, considering he then asked her for her phone number. Seems more like he was trying to guilt her into not going to the guards.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

There should be more poll options IMO.

Not saying that 9 years is enough but certainly no need to throw away the key. Some people can be rehabilitated and introduced as a normal citizen again to society.

bluewolf wrote: »
    I'm quite happy with 9 years, especially since it wasn't "ah sure throw her a few bob and then off you go"

I think it's disgusting that we have to be happy with a mere 9 years. But when you compare it to that case where the perpetrator was allowed to buy his get out of jail free card, it does seem like a lifetime sentence!

EdenHazard wrote: »

Not necessarily, sounds like a disturbed person

Kane initially demanded to know where the safe was but then raped her twice and threatened to bury her in the back garden and said he would hang himself if she went to the gardaí.
    As he left, he gave her a hug and asked for her number so he could take her out to dinner.

The woman still suffers flashbacks and nightmares

And obviously she did go to the gardai...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Is this sentence adequate? http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/serial-burglar-sentenced-to-nine-years-for-raping-dublin-woman-576909.html

I am absolutely sick and tired of these unspeakable 'beasts' being given paltry sentences and then allowed back into society to re-offend. If every second person raped was a man perhaps stiffer sentences would be handed down but I doubt it. :mad:

9 years is pretty long for any crime by the standards of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

That man should have his balls cut out. That man has destroyed a woman for life.

He should get same treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

. Some people can be rehabilitated and introduced as a normal citizen again to society.

Yeah, cut his balls off and then you can let him back out. He won't do it again then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

As he left, he gave her a hug and asked for her number so he could take her out to dinner.:mad:

I think the death penalty would be more suitable in this case

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

While Im not condoning rape in any way . I dont really understand how a fella that kicked a homeless man to death or somebody who randomly beats the piss out of a passer by in town should get any less of a sentence .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Is this sentence adequate? http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/serial-burglar-sentenced-to-nine-years-for-raping-dublin-woman-576909.html

I am absolutely sick and tired of these unspeakable 'beasts' being given paltry sentences and then allowed back into society to re-offend. If every second person raped was a man perhaps stiffer sentences would be handed down but I doubt it. :mad:

Eh? The Chief Justice in this country is a woman. Its not as if the judiciary is all men.

Sentencing in this country has resulted in lower crime rates than the US, which uses the policy you seem to be advocating. What sentence do you suggest - I realise it's a heinous crime but he didn't kill anyone. Giving rapists live sentences would mean they've nothing to lose by killing their victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

who_me wrote: »
    9 years is pretty long for any crime by the standards of this country.

Sure 10 years is considered life in this country ffs. You get that for first degree and let out early for good behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Sure 10 years is considered life in this country ffs. You get that for first degree and let out early for good behaviour.

No it isn't. Life is life - they are released on licence after, on average, 17 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

The article says he has spent most of his adult life in prison for various offences so the guy is obviously a menace. Going by that, and the fact he hung around to violently rape her at hammer-point a second time I'd say 9 years is lenient enough. Prison obviously didn't make him change his ways on his previous visits so no real reason to think that it will this time either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

That isn't right. I know someone who has served 17 years of a life sentence but he is forever on parole. He got married and his wife had to be cleared by the prison service, he can not leave the country without seeking permission.

If he colludes with known criminals or commits any sort of crime, he is locked up again.

A lot of Irish Lifers would rather do 25 years and be done with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭seanhalpin

Yeah throw away the key.They should learn to have proper respect for women.

Rape is a terrible crime :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭blue note

If you can't afford it, you just shouldn't do it. It's about time we jailed people for unpaid debts.

(for anyone who doesn't understand this is a tongue in cheek comparison to the people who were allowed to "pay off" their rape / sexual assault victims and the bankers / developers). I think rape is always wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

A JUDGE has sentenced a serial burglar to 12 years for a rape during a home invasion but suspended the final three years on condition he completes his Leaving Certificate.

WTF?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Wrong life is life in this country and the best you can expect is to be granted conditional temp release after an average of 17 years, there are prisoners in this country who have served well over 25 and even 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Jesus, AH is like the ombudsman of the courts today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I think nine years is adequate enough provided he serves the full term.

How many years will he do, realistically, though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Jesus, AH is like the ombudsman of the courts today.
    Somebody's gotta take a stand against all these judges just plucking random sentences out of the air (and no abiding by the existing legislation) just to piss people off, URL.
    Dunne who should be more ashamed - the judge or the perpetrator.
    I'ma say... the rapist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Where To wrote: »

If he keeps his full remission he will serve 7 years and 6 months, he will also be subject to a supervision order for 12 months after his release and on the sex offenders register for a minimum of 10 years but more likely for life. If he reoffends again within the suspended portion of his sentence he can be made serve that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Yeah, cut his balls off and then you can let him back out. He won't do it again then.

This wouldn't stop a rapist.

Take his balls, take his penis.. he'll just use other things.

If someone is going to rape someone, they'll do it no matter what sadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

take 25% off for good behavior (which is not getting caught actin the bollix but not necessarily taking part in any rehabilitation) which is applied automatically

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

In fairness, while ye all know about my serious gripes with our justice system, 9 years is hardly a lenient sentence, it's an absolutely gigantic chunk of someone's life. Doesn't look like much written down, but it really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

In fairness, while ye all know about my serious gripes with our justice system, 9 years is hardly a lenient sentence, it's an absolutely gigantic chunk of someone's life. Doesn't look like much written down, but it really is.

TBF its not as much as the gigantic chunk he took out of her life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Reasons for rape
    COLOR="White"]X[/COLOR Short skirt
    COLOR="white"]X[/COLOR Alcohol/drugs
    [X] You are a rapist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

His sentence was for 12 years, why is everyone saying 9??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

padd b1975 wrote: »
    His sentence was for 12 years, why is everyone saying 9??

He got 3 years suspended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭K3lso

Prisoners should have the choice of euthanasia. I mean honestly, they're taking up too much room and money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The punishment for rape is not as severe as it once was in other jurisdictions that use common law either. You could get the Death in certain States in America at one point, now a person can serve as little as 5 years in some states. In Britain the average sentence is 8 years. This Irish sentence in fairness is at the top end of punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

zerks wrote: »
    He got 3 years suspended.
    Its still a 12 year sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Gaynna

He's a re-offender. Re-offenders have a chance to prove they can be reformed. This guy failed to reform himself and therefore he should fry on the electric chair or get lethal injection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

jees thats a horrendous story and he should have got a sentence for each time he raped her. sick twisted fiend. breaking into someone's house is violation enough but to then rape her and invite her out for dinner??? wtf? is there more to the story I wonder? what an absolute cretin

The judge suspended three years of his sentence on the provision that he completes the Leaving Cert. No joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

DrumSteve wrote: »
    TBF its not as much as the gigantic chunk he took out of her life.

I never said it was, I said it can't be described as lenient. 9 years is a long time, it's pretty much a decade. It's easy enough to dismiss sentences as lenient when all you have are numbers, but think about what it actually means and it suddenly seems a lot more significant.

It's also good to see someone actually being jailed for a long time for a serious crime as opposed to, for example, that guy who beat up his kid and last week got no time whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It's because it's not double figures. If sentences were given in hexadecimal, we'd be happier.

On a serious note, this guy has been in and out of prison. He was standing there with socks on his hands and then afterwards hugged her and asked for her phone number so he could bring her to dinner (presumably with the money he'd just stolen).

Besides being nasty as hell, am I the only person here who thinks this guy is special needs? He may be the dumbest person I've ever heard of. I mean, the guy raped her and then wanted to ask her out to dinner. Does that not strike anyone else as mentally deficient and delusional in the extreme?

Personally, I'm surprised the judge or defence council didn't ask for a psychiatric evaluation. Besides serving time for the crime, it sounds like the guy should be sent to a facility where he can be properly diagnosed and treated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Clarehobo

into someone's house is violation enough but to then rape her and invite her out for dinner??? wtf? is there more to the story I wonder?

Grayson wrote: »
    On a serious note, this guy has been in and out of prison. He was standing there with socks on his hands and then afterwards hugged her and asked for her phone number so he could bring her to dinner (presumably with the money he'd just stolen).

Besides being nasty as hell, am I the only person here who thinks this guy is special needs? He may be the dumbest person I've ever heard of. I mean, the guy raped her and then wanted to ask her out to dinner. Does that not strike anyone else as mentally deficient and delusional in the extreme?

Personally, I'm surprised the judge or defence council didn't ask for a psychiatric evaluation. Besides serving time for the crime, it sounds like the guy should be sent to a facility where he can be properly diagnosed and treated.

I was thinking the same myself: is he that disturbed that he thought it was consensual? People are strange. I don't think jail will reform this guy somehow. But then again, judges are supposed to know best...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭loggedoff

There should be more poll options IMO.

Not saying that 9 years is enough but certainly no need to throw away the key. Some people can be rehabilitated and introduced as a normal citizen again to society.

Did you not see the bit where it said he's 36 and has spent most of his adult life in prison?

loggedoff wrote: »
    Did you not see the bit where it said he's 36 and has spent most of his adult life in prison?

and that means he's impossible to reform? Should we not just kill every one who ever reoffends if there's no hope? It could be like california where you can get life without parole for your third offense. Even if the offense is just marajuana possession.

At 36 he's spent over half his life in prison.
    I can't see him reforming, can you?
    The rest of your post is just ridiculous.

At 36 he's spent over half his life in prison.
    I can't see him reforming, can you?
    The rest of your post is just ridiculous.

Proove that no-one who is 36 and has spent most of their adult life can be reformed.

Seriously, that's what your stating. You're saying that it's impossible.

Personally, I think that in our prison system he has very little chance of reforming. Our prison system isn't designed to reform. But that doesn't mean that he won't reform or can't reform.

And if we determine 100% that he can't be reformed (or just making a quick judgement would suffice by your standards), what do you suggest. Automatic life sentances without parole?

For rapists?
    Once convicted, chemical castration and GPS tagged for the rest of their lives.

For rapists?
    Once convicted, chemical castration and GPS tagged for the rest of their lives.

Why do both?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Would you feel the same if it was a relation or friend of yours that had been raped? How do come to think that any particular sentence is adequate for something so awful as the crime of rape?