Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

15 gangland killings in Dublin

• 06-12-2012 10:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭

.....this year so far. And not a peep out of national media highlighting the many social problems afflicting our capital city.

A few years back, if there was a Mars Bar stolen in Limerick, you could be sure Prime Time Investigates would have a special on it, or Paul Williams would have front page headlines in The Sunday World.

Talk about double standards from our national (Dublin loving) media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

The less we hear from Paul Williams, the better, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

grenache wrote: »

My arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The thing with news is that is has to be "new".
    Dublin scumbags killing other Dublin scumbags just isn't new any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

.....this year so far. And not a peep out of national media highlighting the many social problems afflicting our capital city.

A few years back, if there was a Mars Bar stolen in Limerick, you could be sure Prime Time Investigates would have a special on it, or Paul Williams would have front page headlines in The Sunday World.

Must be hard to get access to the news living under that rock. It's been covered loads in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Arsebiscuits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Green Diesel

:confused: Media are all over this and other gangland killing stories. The Ryan funeral et al.

Cry me a river (cry me cry me)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

15? Its December so that's about right.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Yeah, ffs man up Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

humberklog wrote: »
    Yeah, ffs man up Limerick.

Damn dubs are winning again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i took your post seriously until this sentence.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

15 gangland murders is low considering (greater) Dublin is nearly at the 2 million mark population wise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I'd tend to agree to be honest.

TV fcuking 3 even made a full one hour show about 'The Town that Travellers Took Over', yet there were barely any travellers in it. Who gives a damn about that kind of thing anyway?

Apart from a 3-4 year period where 2-3 rat arse families decided to go outside their filthy sh1t-barns.....Limerick has been a fairly quiet place by all accounts.

But we have the media to thank for everybody thinking otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

15 dead in 12 months is pretty tame in fairness.

That's an afternoon in Mexico.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Op op op op oppan Gangland Style!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Documentary on Irish crime and how Ireland is being ruled by criminals.

Only films in and uses stats about Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Its dem meeja up in Dublin I tell ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

That's an afternoon in a Mexican street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Now I'm no math expert but if 15 were killed so far in twelve months how long would it take for them all to be killed?

Is there anything we the public can do to speed this up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Higher wrote: »
    15 gangland murders is low considering (greater) Dublin is nearly at the 2 million mark population wise

No there is not 2 million people in Dubland, last census put the county at about 1.2m I believe.
    Kildare\Meath\Louth\Wicklow\Back end of Kerry are not part of Dublin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

frag420 wrote: »
    Now I'm no math expert but if 15 were killed so far in twelve months how long would it take for them all to be killed?

Oh look at that a load of military grade weaponry was left on the street :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

15 is 15 too many, of course, but there's nearly 1.3 million people in County Dublin. Some like to think we have a huge problem with gangland murder. The figures are quite good.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

St.Spodo wrote: »
    15 is 15 too many, of course, but there's nearly 1.3 million people in County Dublin. Some like to think we have a huge problem with gangland murder. The figures are quite good.

It's not even that we have a problem. The vast majority of these deaths are gangs killing each other in retribution acts. Lets face it, they're going to get their target no matter what the guards do.

On another point, our media does tend to treat assasination victims as if they were angels who did no harm to others. These gangs don't kill for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭pom pom snaz peeler

St.Spodo wrote: »

I think a scum finding bullet is required..... it searches the alleyways, the streets, perhaps a gutter or two and pop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

frag420 wrote: »

Start work on building a hit squad of Terminators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭pabloh999

Ireland - one of the safest places on planet earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Are you saying the media is saying a mars bar is more important than a dead criminal?

I'm sure many here would agree with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

limerick pop: 183,000
    Dublin pop: 1,045,000

yeah, I wonder why it would get more attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

What is it about people from Limerick and Cork? I remember there were floods in Dublin in october last year, all the Corkies were giving out that their floods got no coverage. Cork floods was main headlines in every newspaper!
    Same with the snow a couple of years ago. All the cork and limerick people giving out about their towns not getting any coverage in the media. And all the corkies laughing that dubs can't drive in snow, they drove in to work that morning, just use a high gear and it's grand.
    Then this photo came out
    http://ecoevolution.ie/blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Ireland-Under-Snow.jpg
    Stop moaning, it it's like a child grabbing their mammys leg looking for sweets while she's trying to talk to an adult about something important :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

My point is not that it hasn't received media attention, of course it has.

It's rather that if this happened in Cork or Limerick, we'd have the media blowing up the whole 'stab city' or 'isn't cork gone to the dogs' thing.

But because it Dublin, nothing will be said. No front page 'dodgy Dublin'.

National media are total hypocrites.

gurramok wrote: »
    No there is not 2 million people in Dubland, last census put the county at about 1.2m I believe.

2011 census has 1.8 million in metro area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

That the social problems where they rob and smash up your car because they have no money yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 bellson

Fizman wrote: »
    I'd tend to agree to be honest.

TV fcuking 3 even made a full one hour show about 'The Town that Travellers Took Over', yet there were barely any travellers in it. Who gives a damn about that kind of thing anyway?

Apart from a 3-4 year period where 2-3 rat arse families decided to go outside their filthy sh1t-barns.....Limerick has been a fairly quiet place by all accounts.

But we have the media to thank for everybody thinking otherwise.

TV3 enough said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I've read a couple of Paul Williams books myself. I always laughed at how he described Limerick during the McCarthy/Dundon feud. He talked like Limerick was like Afghanistan or something, like it was a warzone.

That being said in relation to the topic. I disagree about the OP saying the media is Dublin loving. Dublin get's a lot of crap from the media as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I thought it would have been a lot worse since the bottom fell out of the cocaine market and monies owed from the good times were called in

2011 census has 1.8 million in metro area.

Define the boundaries of metro. Kildare, Wicklow and Meath ain't in Dublin.

Yes they are. Naas, Bray, Navan are now Dublin territory. Get used to it.

Expansion as far as Cork is planned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Leftist wrote: »
    limerick pop: 183,000
    Dublin pop: 1,045,000

yeah, I wonder why it would get more attention.

Limerick population is about 80,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

The whole point of a metropolitan area is that it really isn't that defined. its Dublin and surrounds. The size of that periphery can be stretched or narrowed to suit any argument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

15 dead in 12 months is pretty tame in fairness.

That's an afternoon in Mexico.

When Ross Kemp was filming in Juarez there was 15 murders in 4 days. Which makes us look not too bad in the scheme of things. Brazil and Colombia have very high murder rates aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

In fairness Limerick was the murder capital of Europe there for awhile at the same time that Ireland was rated the safest country in Europe.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/limerick-is-now-the-official-murder-capital-of-europe-1353369.html

If people on here are claiming there's 2 million people in Dubland than I'm saying there's over half a million people living in Cork City and surrounding area, at least there is actually half a million Corkonians that live in Cork.

Even if most live on the side of a mountain in mud huts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 CitizenMaine

I thought it would have been a lot worse since the bottom fell out of the cocaine market and monies owed from the good times were called in

Nice username and avitar one of the best days of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

That's why he said Greater Dublin Area. It's a term which refers to:

Dublin City
    Fingal
    South Dublin
    Dun-Laoighaire Rathdown
    Meath
    Wicklow
    Kildare

Its population is 1.8 million. The reason Meath, Wicklow and Kildare are often included is because a very large number of residents in these areas are economically dependent on the city (and commute there regularly). There's no use using the population figure for Dublin City as Dublin is far bigger than that administrative boundary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

The greater dublin area???would ya ever flip off,a village in kildare or meath is not part of "the greater dublin area"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Posters are more annoyed at being classed as belonging to the Dublin area than the OP,s post :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Once it is just scumbags killing each other than i have no issue with what goes on up in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Show Time wrote: »
    Once it is just scumbags killing each other than i have no issue with what goes on up in Dublin.

The problem is that innocent people also end up dead or wounded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Show Time wrote: »

I am sure a lot of people in limerick would have had the same issues until...

Shane Geoghegan

Roy Collins

Daniel Fitzgerald,

and there are more.

The only way for people to be punished in this country is by the law of the land and I know sometimes it mighten look the best with some crazy like sentences and descisions, but it is the best we have got and once again its the only way to beat gangland and its crime.IMO.

That's why he said Greater Dublin Area. It's a term which refers to:

Dublin City
    Fingal
    South Dublin
    Dun-Laoighaire Rathdown
    Meath
    Wicklow
    Kildare

Its population is 1.8 million. The reason Meath, Wicklow and Kildare are often included is because a very large number of residents in these areas are economically dependent on the city (and commute there regularly). There's no use using the population figure for Dublin City as Dublin is far bigger than that administrative boundary.

The last 3 ain't Dublin and they will never be unless they was a legal change to make them part of Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Clonmel is the same, Rare the national media mention what is going on there even though its easily as bad as Limerick for its size.