Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me?

• 05-12-2012 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭POSSY

Just had a meltdown after listening to a work colleague go on for ages about how bad eating protein and taking shakes is as too much protein can give you fatty liver disease like when you overtake multivitamins... normally have to listen to this sort of stuff once a week (at least) from people telling me about how my nutrition schedule is bad for you while they eat chicken fillet rolls!

Got me thinking though, how often does this happen to other people or is it just me? And if it's not just me what myths of protein, and the devil's supplement creatine, have people heard?

A family member lectures me when I'm over about how protein will give me kidney failure or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I get lectures about how yogurt should only be a treat because it has fat in it or something and red meat, oh that'll kill you quick as a flash. Enjoy your ****ty cheap chicken then and lecture me about red meat, sigh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

My favorite approach is to grab someone's belly fat, and just look at them.

With the liver thing, just ask them how many drinks they've had that month and tell them to shut up.

Or just ask them what they know about insulin resistance, metabolic syndrome and how fatty liver disease develops.

Those suggestions are in order from most entertaining for me, but insulting to them, to "not being a dickhead".

99% of the general public don't have the slightest idea what they're doing with food. Leave them to it. Can't convince someone who doesn't want to listen. You never "win" an argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭POSSY

Hanley wrote: »
    My favorite approach is to grab someone's belly fat, and just look at them.

With the liver thing, just ask them how many drinks they've had that month and tell them to shut up.

Or just ask them what they know about insulin resistance, metabolic syndrome and how fatty liver disease develops.

Those suggestions are in order from most entertaining for me, but insulting to them, to "not being a dickhead".

99% of the general public don't have the slightest idea what they're doing with food. Leave them to it. Can't convince someone who doesn't want to listen. You never "win" an argument.

Exactly... you can never reason with them. The example I got today for why protien is bad, is this guy has a friend who goes to the gym and the doctor asked him firstly did he drink alcohol and secondly does he take gym supplements... so that's enough to show that supplements are dangerous for you, and the guy who tells me this, his daily dinner is a cheese toastie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Michael 09

A work colleague recently accused me of 'being on steroids' because I take protein shakes and that it is 'cheating'. I had to just walk away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Liam90

I put up with this crap on a daily basis, It has become very tiresome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭POSSY

Liam90 wrote: »
    I put up with this crap on a daily basis, It has become very tiresome.

Do you also get the "lifting weights is bad for you" stuff as well? I was also informed that apparently cool people get there exercise in without using a gym (despite the fact I play rugby)... when I asked the guy what exercise he does... none!

Also, I'm definitely going to use Hanley's method and just start grabbing belly fat.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

About four times this week Ive been told in a finger pointing way, that running is bad for you. Because of a recent article in the Independent. It has been people who are slightly overweight and do no exercise at all who say this.

Oryx wrote: »
    About four times this week Ive been told in a finger pointing way, that running is bad for you. Because of a recent article in the Independent. It has been people who are slightly overweight and do no exercise at all who say this.

They are trying to justify their lack of exercise and their laziness by latching on to anything which supports their lazy lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

A work colleague recently commented that I was having a very big breakfast (not in an insulting way). It comprised 2 eggs, a venison sausage and a tomato. He was having a big fruit scone with butter and jam so I think the calories were roughly similar. When I said in genuine surprise "oh do you think so?" he replied "well yes, TWO eggs"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭PauloConn

Great thread btw.
    But yeah, hear all these excuses about the evils of training, protein and other supplements and eating clean food.... it's just an irish way of not facing their own shortcomings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭doctorwhogirl

hollypink wrote: »
    A work colleague recently commented that I was having a very big breakfast (not in an insulting way). It comprised 2 eggs, a venison sausage and a tomato. He was having a big fruit scone with butter and jam so I think the calories were roughly similar. When I said in genuine surprise "oh do you think so?" he replied "well yes, TWO eggs"!

Can you IMAGINE!? :P

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

It's just something you get numb to. My favourites is: you eat too many eggs, your cholesterol must through the roof. It's never been above 3.7 with the ratio fairly even.

The last time I had it checked I informed my GP that the butter kept it nicely in check. The look was hilarious.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭Ant11

Yep hear all the same stuff all the time. I bring my food to college and have people stare at how much I eat in one sitting and then the questions start. Just yesterday someone looked at me as if I'd 10 heads just because I was eating peanut butter with an apple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Brian? wrote: »
    It's just something you get numb to. My favourites is: you eat too many eggs, your cholesterol must through the roof. It's never been above 3.7 with the ratio fairly even.

The last time I had it checked I informed my GP that the butter kept it nicely in check. The look was hilarious.

I get this as well. 'You should probably cut down on your egg yokes and just eat the whites'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

Hanley wrote: »

Its been a while now since anyones given me the "ooooh those protein shakes are bad for you! blah blah blah" speech but anytime they have I put on my interested face looking like Im listening intently to their revelations and then I ask do they drink? Thankfully theres so few teetotalers in Ireland that the response I get is always silence :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

The protein shake terror stories are something else, exploding kidneys, hardening arteries and dropping dead... wait till they find out you're on the creo tho! may as well be injecting heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭colman1212

A bunch of my work mates were sitting around saying how bad supplements are for you, and how the gyms and supplement stores are the new drug dealers. They are all over weight, eat crap all the time, one of them smokes and one of them eats biscuits for lunch on a daily basis. I just started laughing, there is just no point...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

You get it for eating too many eggs,
    for eating tins of tuna with a fork
    for eating peanut butter with a spoon,
    for taking protein shakes
    for "trying" to eat 6 smaller meals a day rather than 3 big ones..

But if you make any kind of noise when they want to order Pizza for lunch , Or go to the chipper after pints ..YOU'RE the mad one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭cavedave

My Mum: You lost two and a half stone by giving up cereals?
    Me: Yes
    My Mum: You better go back to eating bread and pasta now though, you'd need the nutrients wouldn't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Well when media websites are making statements like the following, is it any wonder the 'layman' knows no better...

entertainment.ie
    Frankie Muniz has suffered a mini-stroke. Forgive me, but that can happen when one increases their muscle mass beyond what nature intended.

Pics of FM: http://www.justjared.com/2007/12/06/frankie-muniz-guns/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,697 ✭✭✭Thud

i got the "you must be taking something" thing recently for the first time...was delighted must be doing something right :D

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Well when media websites are making statements like the following, is it any wonder the 'layman' knows no better...

Pics of FM: http://www.justjared.com/2007/12/06/frankie-muniz-guns/

Those, those are guns?

Mine are bloody bigger.

Those, those are guns?

Mine are bloody bigger.

That's surely a sarcastic headline?? :confused:

Michael 09 wrote: »
    That's surely a sarcastic headline?? :confused:

I'd hope so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Was talking about how the gym is going well for me lately.

One guy - you'll be a ball of Sh1t when you stop lifting. Itll all turn to fat.

Haha, been a while since Ive been called a Ball of Sh1t!

Also, creatine might as well be heroin.

I told them the Arsenal team take it. What? The fvckin' eejits was the only response.

better to agree and just move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Michael 09 wrote: »
    A work colleague recently accused me of 'being on steroids' because I take protein shakes and that it is 'cheating'. I had to just walk away.

A guy I know says the exact same ****e to me, he's an idiot but it actually is funny sometimes.

He saw me out one day, hadn't seen him in a few months, he commented on my size and asked me if I was taking steroids

Me:"No..."
    Him: "So what stuff do you take then?"
    Me: "Protein and creatine"
    Him: "Yeah - steroids"

Then, on another occassion, I'm on a night out with a group of people around us no less, someone made a comment about my arms and he says "it's not real muscle though, it's all protein shakes"

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    A guy I know says the exact same ****e to me, he's an idiot but it actually is funny sometimes.

He saw me out one day, hadn't seen him in a few months, he commented on my size and asked me if I was taking steroids

Me:"No..."
    Him: "So what stuff do you take then?"
    Me: "Protein and creatine"
    Him: "Yeah - steroids"

Then, on another occassion, I'm on a night out with a group of people around us no less, someone made a comment about my arms and he says "it's not real muscle though, it's all protein shakes"

They're the same people who call anyone with money a tax dodging crook and key their cars.

People are assholes who don't like to see others doing better. Makes them feel bad about their pathetic miserable lives!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

My girlfriend says she gets it in work every day regarding her breakfast.
    She eats an egg, some avocado and chopped tomato. I think its a pretty perfect breakfast. But her colleges know better and its apparently "too green" to be eating for breakfast. Not like a danish or something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

People are idiots.
    I used to work with one of them.

One day he was eating KFC.
    I was eating a homemade chicken and spinach sandwich and he says, "Bread is terrible for you."
    I replied with "Yeah but it's wholemeal bread so its not so bad. Your KFC is terrible for you"
    So he says, "We'll I'm going the gym later so I need all the protein I can get. That's why I'm eating this bucket of chicken."

He then went on to tell me how eating the KFC chicken is the same as the breast I had made at home and put into my sandwich. In his words, "Sure chicken is chicken. And at least I know mine is good chicken and cooked properly.

I just said ok then, an left the canteen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

127-double-facepalm-when-one-facepalm-just-isnt-enough.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Mellor wrote: »
    My girlfriend says she gets it in work every day regarding her breakfast.
    She eats an egg, some avocado and chopped tomato. I think its a pretty perfect breakfast. But her colleges know better and its apparently "too green" to be eating for breakfast. Not like a danish or something similar.

That sounds f*cking great, by the way...
    Dean09
    He then went on to tell me how eating the KFC chicken is the same as the breast I had made at home and put into my sandwich. In his words, "Sure chicken is chicken. And at least I know mine is good chicken and cooked properly.

implied-facepalm11.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

It gets even better when you go to the gym and you're veggie.
    "but how can you put on muscle if don't eat any bleedin meat?!?!"

Zombienosh wrote: »
    It gets even better when you go to the gym and you're veggie.
    "but how can you put on muscle if don't eat any bleedin meat?!?!"

Valid question tbh.

trollface.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

tumblr_mdjzwiDME51qb8e9no1_500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

cavedave wrote: »
    My Mum: You lost two and a half stone by giving up cereals?
    Me: Yes
    My Mum: You better go back to eating bread and pasta now though, you'd need the nutrients wouldn't you?

Jaysus my mother loves bread. She's actually a bread dealer. She sneaks it into meals.

Her logic is ironclad though. Always says "I'm 62 and I've had one sick day in the last 30 years"

Bitch.