Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6 Men arrested who lost jobs during the downturn form burglary gang

• 03-12-2012 4:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/six-arrested-in-probe-into-burglary-gangs-spree-of-15-violent-raids-3315245.html
    Armed gardai launched a massive operation and arrested six people as part of a major investigation into an aggravated burglary gang this morning.

It is understood that the arrested men only became involved in criminality after losing their jobs in the downturn.

Many of the suspected gang members were unknown to gardai until they lost their jobs in the recession.

“These were all working people until the recession came. But they are now suspected of being involved in very serious criminality,” the source said.

“They turned to crime after losing their jobs - some of these crimes carry very stiff jail sentences,” the source added.

No excuse turning to this sort of crime, especially violent crimes on fellow citizens who are no doubt suffering too, i think this story highlights how this recessions has drasticly changed peoples lives for the worst in all shapes and forms...

sad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Nothing to do with the recession, just to do with scumbags being scumbags. Severing ones finger ??

What would a job do to assist someone that is capable of severing someones finger for money. This is Ireland not mogadishu (no offence to mogadishuans)

But we have welfare here and its pretty reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yep, just scumbags, no sympathy. Honest, decent people in hard times my fncking arsehole.
    It is believed the gang may have been responsible for 15 aggravated burglaries in the region over the past 18 months.
    Yeah, it sure seems like they were really having difficulty adjusting to their new way of life, agonising over each burglary :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Oceans Eleven - Mountjoy Edition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭ssaye

seamus wrote: »
    Yep, just scumbags, no sympathy. Honest, decent people in hard times my fncking arsehole.Yeah, it sure seems like they were really having difficulty adjusting to their new way of life, agonising over each burglary :rolleyes:

No sympathy you do not stab and steal from anyone and blame the recession. Subhuman scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭él statutorio

listermint wrote: »
    Nothing to do with the recession, just to do with scumbags being scumbags. Severing ones finger ??

What would a job do to assist someone that is capable of severing someones finger for money. This is Ireland not mogadishu (no offence to mogadishuans)

Surely it's Mogadi$hites? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Burglary is one thing but there is no call to resort to the aggravation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭RayCon

Oh look ... more "blame someone/something else" excuses for criminal behaviour ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

Suspects. Not like the Gardai have ever got it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Armed gardai launched a massive operation and arrested six people as part of a major investigation into an aggravated burglary gang this morning.

6 arrests is a massive operation? Suppose that's 6 segway loads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭mattser

6 arrests is a massive operation? Suppose that's 6 segway loads...

You'd be bloody glad to see a segway if the blade was heading the way of your finger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

On first read of the thread title I'd thought they'd been let go from a burglary gang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Bets on them being ex labourers with little or no education?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

I just don't see where the state has the moral high ground on stealing any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

That thread title is mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

RayCon wrote: »
    Oh look ... more "blame someone/something else" excuses for criminal behaviour ...

As far as I can tell the only person saying that is an 'unnamed source' in the article. Could be completely made up by the journalist for all anyone knows... and it is the Indo after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

My parents live in that area. I'd hate to think of that shower of bastards landing in on top of them looking for money etc and menacing them. If they are capable of it now, they were probably more than capable of it before the recession. It sounds like lawyerspeak for let my clients off lightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

smash wrote: »

undoubtedly MA Lord, uneducated scallywags the lot of them :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 gb40

when funds are low the guns will blow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

What job, I find that hard to believe that they turned overnight into savages after losing their jobs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

What job, I find that hard to believe that they turned overnight into savages after losing their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Fuh Q

I dont agree with anything they have done but your statement is not very fair, I worked as a store detective for many years in a very well known department store, I have arrested more educated people than scumbags including the daughter of a well know Judge, two Gardai, many many office workers, teachers, civil servants, a prison officer, staff of the department store, a priest, two nuns, and many more, shoplifting knows no status, the rich steal too...

I know one man who had a very good well paid job, his contract ran out with an engineering company and he was let go, company car gone and no income. Within 6 months he was stealing everything, he drives cheap cars with no tax,nct or insurance, drives off without paying for petrol, eats in cafes and leaves without paying, shoplifts all the time and I believe he is now involved in internet fraud. This guy come from a wealthy family and never even had a parking ticket, now is facing a future filled with court appearances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

" some of these crimes carry very stiff jail sentences" - Classic comedy!!

Knowing the sentencing system here, either a file will be sent to the DPP before a possible court date and if there is a court date, they'll get the classic suspended sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Have they never heard of nixers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I just don't see where the state has the moral high ground on stealing any more.

So if they break in to your house and clean it out while threatening your family you'll tell the Gards to sling their hook and leave them be?

Well since I lost my job there's **** all worth taking in my house.

And yes, I do blame the government for losing my job but I'm still doing all that i can to get another one.

Of course, I'll still have to pay another 60k+ after getting that job to pay for all the bank debt, public service borrowing etc.

And just because the state is upholding some facade of civility by keeping a police force in place, that doesn't mean their robbing us any less. They just don't want anyone else getting their hands on it first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

This will make a charming Hollywood romantic comedy in a few years.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

They turned to crime after losing their jobs - some of these crimes carry very stiff jail sentences,” the source added.

pfft yeah ****ing right :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Well since I lost my job there's **** all worth taking in my house.

And yes, I do blame the government for losing my job but I'm still doing all that i can to get another one.

Of course, I'll still have to pay another 60k+ after getting that job to pay for all the bank debt, public service borrowing etc.

And just because the state is upholding some facade of civility by keeping a police force in place, that doesn't mean their robbing us any less. They just don't want anyone else getting their hands on it first.

So is that a yes or a no? Your happy to be a victim of aggravated burglary? Maybe lose a finger and the offenders to be let off scot free?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

MaxSteele wrote: »
    Have they never heard of nixers ?

Probably heard of cement nixers, judging by the first quote there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

One minute it says they became involved in 'criminality' then later it says the became involved in 'crime'. Too many inconsistencies in this story.

So is that a yes or a no? Your happy to be a victim of aggravated burglary? Maybe lose a finger and the offenders to be let off scot free?

Surely you can do a bit better than that? I don't really get your point?

I could be working as slave labour in a sweatshop in China. Does that make what this government and the last one have done to the economy ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 gigirl86

listermint wrote: »

ha ha dont make laugh scumbags?? get a grip this story is a made up load oc bull crap that the guards created yes mayb a poor man was attacked but the 6 men aressed were 100% innocent an have been released with out charge dont always believe what u hear paper never refuses ink

this story is the biggest load of crap all 6 men have been released with out charge there names have been blackened an there familys have been left traumatised 15 armed guards busting in doors where there was kids an they had no evidence its a disgrace these man all held good jobs but now whos going to employ them when there been called "robbers" paper never refuses ink but these man are innocent men and for ye all to sit there an judge them and as for one post sayin they were probably labours wit no education come on get grip does it matter if they were bin men or solicitors

they never cut off any1s finger u should of been in court today ud of hearing for ur self since ur so bothered u think every thin cops say is truth?? majority of what cops say is bs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

gigirl86 wrote: »
    they never cut off any1s finger u should of been in court today ud of hearing for ur self since ur so bothered u think every thin cops say is truth?? majority of what cops say is bs

What are you trying to say? In English next time, please.

in english?? im saying this storys bull all dramatised by the guards because they dont no who the real robbers are these men are all honest family men that never touched a hair on any1s head now there names and reputations lie in tatters if they were guilty y would they have been released witout charge ? paper never refuses ink:eek::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

in english?? im saying this storys bull all dramatised by the guards because they dont no who the real robbers are these men are all honest family men that never touched a hair on any1s head now there names and reputations lie in tatters if they were guilty y would they have been released witout charge ? paper never refuses ink:eek::mad:

Yes they most likely would. It's up to the dpp to make the decision to charge for an aggravated burglary. the Gardaí send him the file. That's what usually happens.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'm quite tempted to translate that post into english but rulez is rulez...

So the majority of what the Garda say is bullshít eh? Sure there have been miscarriages of justice where members of the force were implicated and charged, but they've been pretty rare. Indeed one can go through life without ever having to encounter a member of an Garda Siochana outside of socially. Well maybe a speeding ticket or needing one of the local Guards to sign a passport application... I find it interesting that those "known to Gardai" are the ones most likely to claim they're corrupt. You hardly ever hear this from the vast majority of Irish people. I wonder why?

In any case it'll be interesting to see what the DPP does with the evidence. While I find it hard to believe the Guards screwed up to this extent and nabbed the wrong guys, it's at least possible, so our txtspeak public defendant maybe right on that score.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

ottostreet wrote: »
    That thread title is mental!

:pac: yeah i should have read over it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Would you wise up people are arrested every day but released without charge,the gards aren't always gonna get it right,just like any police force in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Say Hi to your Da/Uncle/brother/husband for us GiGirl86 !!

Wibbs wrote: »
    I'm quite tempted to translate that post into english but rulez is rulez...

So the majority of what the Garda say is bullshít eh? Sure there have been miscarriages of justice where members of the force were implicated and charged, but they've been pretty rare. Indeed one can go through life without ever having to encounter a member of an Garda Siochana outside of socially. Well maybe a speeding ticket or needing one of the local Guards to sign a passport application... I find it interesting that those "known to Gardai" are the ones most likely to claim they're corrupt. You hardly ever hear this from the vast majority of Irish people. I wonder why?

In any case it'll be interesting to see what the DPP does with the evidence. While I find it hard to believe the Guards screwed up to this extent and nabbed the wrong guys, it's at least possible, so our txtspeak public defendant maybe right on that score.
    did you happen to read the papers today?? and read that one man got charged wit handling a stolen radio from 2005 ha ha laughable 3 men charged wit criminal damage (60 euros to a stone wall) the other man charged wit posession of 5euros worth of cannibis so yes there full of bull **** bring on tuesday the truth will b out and they guards will b left red faced for costing the tax payers thousands and thousands of pounds for there **** up!!

Calibos wrote: »
    Say Hi to your Da/Uncle/brother/husband for us GiGirl86 !!
    me whole family wise ass sure will do:)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

did you happen to read the papers today?? and read that one man got charged wit handling a stolen radio from 2005 ha ha laughable
    Well if he was handling stolen goods he broke the law.
    3 men charged wit criminal damage (60 euros to a stone wall)
    Again breaking the law.
    the other man charged wit posession of 5euros worth of cannibis
    Three for three. All were charged with breaking the law.
    so yes there full of bull ****
    How is it BS if these individuals were charged with breaking the law by the police? That's the Guards job I would have thought.
    bring on tuesday the truth will b out and they guards will b left red faced for costing the tax payers thousands and thousands of pounds for there **** up!!
    It will indeed be interesting to see how this pans out.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Username99

I live in this small rural area and I indirectly know some of the families caught up in this mess, from what I can gather this has been a major public relations exercise by the Gardai, wrongfully targeting innocent men. While I do not believe that the Gardai have maliciously conspired to frame these men, I am inclined to think that they have got it wrong on this occasion (Gardai are only human) they do get things wrong from time to time i'm sure. It definitely appears that way on this occasion. It seems that the Gardai can not get a handle on the large amount of serious crime happening in the area and needed to be seen to be doing something.

I look at it this way, this has been a well organised Garda operation and alot of time has obviously spent investigating these matters, How come no charges have been brought forward? Surely if these men had any evidence against them they would be held in custody until their guilt had been decided upon, as the nature of the alleged offences are so serious?

It all seems a bit fishy to me and my heart goes out to all these men and their families as they now have to endure the intense speculation surrounding them, until they can get a chance to clear their names and that chance may never come.

Just thought I would offer a different perspective as people on here, who know absolutely no facts about the case seem hell bent on tarnishing these fellas good names even further

Username99 wrote: »
    I live in this small rural area and I indirectly know some of the families caught up in this mess, from what I can gather this has been a major public relations exercise by the Gardai, wrongfully targeting innocent men. While I do not believe that the Gardai have maliciously conspired to frame these men, I am inclined to think that they have got it wrong on this occasion (Gardai are only human) they do get things wrong from time to time i'm sure. It definitely appears that way on this occasion. It seems that the Gardai can not get a handle on the large amount of serious crime happening in the area and needed to be seen to be doing something.

I look at it this way, this has been a well organised Garda operation and alot of time has obviously spent investigating these matters, How come no charges have been brought forward? Surely if these men had any evidence against them they would be held in custody until their guilt had been decided upon, as the nature of the alleged offences are so serious?

It all seems a bit fishy to me and my heart goes out to all these men and their families as they now have to endure the intense speculation surrounding them, until they can get a chance to clear their names and that chance may never come.

Just thought I would offer a different perspective as people on here, who know absolutely no facts about the case seem hell bent on tarnishing these fellas good names even further
    well said

Wibbs wrote: »
    Well if he was handling stolen goods he broke the law. Again breaking the law. Three for three. All were charged with breaking the law. How is it BS if these individuals were charged with breaking the law by the police? That's the Guards job I would have thought. It will indeed be interesting to see how this pans out.
    breaking the law the way these men were treated is a miscarrage of justice they wouldn call in armed guards for d real criminals cos they cant do there jobs properly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

breaking the law the way these men were treated is a miscarrage of justice they wouldn call in armed guards for d real criminals cos they cant do there jobs properly
    Can't even make sense of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

well said
    better said than you anyways!!:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Are you saying they didn't commit any crimes or they only committed small crimes?