Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The lads in Uganda bag 6 mill. Now we have a Minister for Handouts

• 01-12-2012 10:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

Why did you come back?
    Did people not like your me me me attitude where ever you were?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Unless you lived in one of the countries that receives aid then whatever country you live in is going to be giving money to a developing country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

Until we're out of the ****e in this country not a cent should leave the state in foreign aid as far as i'm concerned. When you see the handouts being given to every lame duck that comes our governments way it's staggering to see the amounts being handed out really. In fact i'd go so far to say that our own government are racist towards it's own people when you see how badly self-employed and many other sectors are treated by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Pal wrote: »
    Just watching RTE.Who is this guy Ruairi de Burca ? And why and to whom is he handing out my money ? MOFG. Thats right. My money. The stuff I earn by working my hole off. Not you. Me. Yes the shekels you take off me every month. Jesus H Christ. Why did I ever come back to the Septic Isle ? Bah.
    You were responsible for that entire €6 million in tax revenue. Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Why do people start sh!t stirring threads and then immediately go off-line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Why do people start sh!t stirring threads and then immediately go off-line.
    I am here. Talk to me.

We have an obligation as a 1st world country to provide aid to developing countries.

I am sorry you are out of pocket to the tune of €6,000,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 christine08

Far as I can see, there's a lot more examples of mis-managed money in this country than giving aid to developing countries...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

I am here. Talk to me.

Pal I didn't mean to single out you, and this thread, it was just a general observation.

I think the biggest problem in this country is accountability, nobody wants to accept it and there's never anyone to take the blame and on the very rare occasion when someone does get caught nobody's prosecuted and nobody learns from the mistakes. I doubt anything will ever change in this country at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭damagegt

Theres a smell of under-bridge dwelling creature in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Buh.... buh ..... buh de pooer peepil and dem bein hungwy an all. More waste.

You could almost cover the need for the household charge and the TV licence with the money squandered abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

Spiritual wrote: »
    We have an obligation as a 1st world country to provide aid to developing countries.

I am sorry you are out of pocket to the tune of €6,000,000.

I wouldn't call it an obligation, but it's good and proper to help developing countries.

However I don't think that monetary aid actually helps these countries, it's been shown repeatedly that there is too much corruption to trust these countries with money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Haelium wrote: »
    I wouldn't call it an obligation, but it's good and proper to help developing countries.

However I don't think that monetary aid actually helps these countries, it's been shown repeatedly that there is too much corruption to trust these countries with money.

I meant moral obligation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Personally I don't (voluntarily) give anything to anything to do with Africa.

Waste of time & energy.

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

OK#
    We pay good money to Uganda.
    fair enough.
    We pay it to othrs too.
    OK.
    Who pays it ?
    Some bloke called de Burca,.
    Who is he ?
    How did he get the ok the ok to hand out my money ?
    YES
    My money.
    I paid the tax dummy !
    So who is he ?
    Did I vote for this bloke to spend my money ?
    Actually.
    No.
    I did not
    Most certainly.

Now theres a thought................
    Ask me why I bother my hole living here ?

Didnt Uganda just sign in a * kill gays* bill - surely they didnt hand this aid over withkut demanding that that violation of human rights / licence to kill be revoked.

OK#

Ask me why I bother my hole living here ?

Ok, why do you bother your hole living here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Irish Aid spent €659 million last year. We borrowed this money to hand out to "developing" countries.

Time for this farce to be shut down. If we ever get back to fiscal fitness then maybe look at it again.

Wont happen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Banana Republic
    Septic Isle
    Police and Priests.
    So ashamed.

Worse haka eva.

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    Irish Aid spent €659 million last year. We borrowed this money to hand out to "developing" countries.

Time for this farce to be shut down. If we ever get back to fiscal fitness then maybe look at it again.

Wont happen though.

And the really sad thing is only pennies actually get to help the poor anyway, the rest gets squandered and plundered along the way by so called concerned organisations.

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

if africa hasant figured how to dig a well or plant crops at this stage it aint my problem,read recently 5% of money from live aid actually got to where it was meant to go.foreign aids holding them back if anything,pull the plug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Worse haka eva.

True!

I prefer this one:

Anyone else think it might actually be a money laundering operation?
    Wouldn't surprise me if it turned out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

pontia wrote: »
    if africa hasant figured how to dig a well or plant crops at this stage it aint my problem,read recently 5% of money from live aid actually got to where it was meant to go.

Source?

one of last weekends papers,was referenced in a bbc documentary geldof ect got shut down.programme on bb4 last weekend about aid to africa

Links please? Anecdotal evidence not very convincing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I'm more upset by the fact we're handing it to Uganda. There are other places that deserve the money. Unfortunately you can't hold the well-meaning Ugandans accountable by cutting off the whole country. The place is corrupt as though.

you think aid gets to where its meant to ?

born here.
    Ces't la vie.
    As Bill Bryson famously said
    "I come from Des Moines. Somebody had to. "

Pointedly.

Ireland disappoints me as a place to live,

Actually. When I think about it, the above statement is sadly true.

(so b4 you YAHOOS go mental. YES I willl leave
    God awful Ireland as soon as possiible please God.
    WTF would want to live in this kip ? please dont respond.
    I can see arrogance coming and I will reply to say so. So dont bother)

you think aid gets to where its meant to ?

I think if you make outlandish claims then you should back them up. Links please?

Spiritual wrote: »
    Ok, why do you bother your hole living here?

Try and keep up, FFS

have you heard of uganda ? thats 6mill to start with

Yes I have. I've been there. Can you provide those links as requested please?

do you work for a charity organisation ? pictures getting clearer now,you afraid the truth may hurt you ceo,s inflated wages

Try and keep up, FFS

Way ahead of you Pal.

do you work for a charity organisation ? pictures getting clearer now,you afraid the truth may hurt you ceo,s inflated wages

Still waiting for you to give us factual evidence of this 'truth'. Or did you make it all up?

If it's true, prove it.

will have to root out paper,as i thought your an ngo,can you after spending time in africa say theres no corruption ? that all money sent from ireland gets to where its intended

Unlike you, I came here making no claims.

I'm still waiting for links or sources to your rather grand claims, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Unlike you, I came here making no claims.

I'm still waiting for links or sources to your rather grand claims, thanks.
    I think it's pretty much common knowledge that Uganda is a corrupt place. On the TI corruption scale it scores something like 2.4 (10 being clean, 0 being most corrupt). Surely you can't be that naive?

http://cpi.transparency.org/cpi2011/results/

(country just below Sudan)

Anyway, didn't Ireland suspend aid to Uganda? Maybe I'm wrong here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I dont understand why we're giving money to countries when we cant even stay out of debt. Even then shouldnt the government be supplying money to Irish charities instead of countries that have been given huge amounts of money and show no signs of becoming independent.

hard to take serious when heads of charities are on at least 100k a year.i admit i was wrong on the 5%,it was higher,is it a secret which charity you work for ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Cydoniac wrote: »
    I think it's pretty much common knowledge that Uganda is a corrupt place. On the TI corruption scale it scores something like 2.4 (10 being clean, 0 being most corrupt). Surely you can't be that naive?

http://cpi.transparency.org/cpi2011/results/

(country just below Sudan)

Anyway, didn't Ireland suspend aid to Uganda? Maybe I'm wrong here.

The dispute isn't over whether or not Uganda is corrupt....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

hard to take serious when heads of charities are on at least 100k a year.i admit i was wrong on the 5%,it was higher.....

What was the figure? Do you have a source for it?

i see the parrots back

Cydoniac wrote: »

Again, I didn't give my opinion on the matter at all. I'm simply asking one poster to back up this claim he/ she made (which is seemingly impossible):
    if africa hasant figured how to dig a well or plant crops at this stage it aint my problem,read recently 5% of money from live aid actually got to where it was meant to go.foreign aids holding them back if anything,pull the plug