Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bisexuals

• 01-12-2012 12:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

The lesbian thread reminded me of a conversation i had with a gay friend. We had an argument about people who were bisexual.

She is convinced that it is more accepting for women to come out as Bisexual than it is for a man. She thinks that society will accept that they are experimenting where as, with Men, it is just a matter of time before they come out as gay. She herself follows this view, where ultimately all men will turn out Gay and the majority of women will remain bisexual or just go back to being straight.

I think its bullshite, a man can be bisexual and not turn ultimately gay and same goes for a woman and that they can infact turn lesbian.

So AH, what are your views on Bi's? Are all bi men secret gays and all women just experimenting, or is the theory a pile of crap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

Don't care....take it to the gay forum like :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Maybe people are different and gross generalisations don't cover everyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

That's the thing it's alright and kind of hot for a woman to be bisexual in the view of many straight men but not for a man to be bisexual. And even then he can be assumed to be "bi now, gay later" which is bullshit tbh. It's just the way sexuality is viewed in society as of now, but it's slowly changing for the better I think.

For a lesbian I'm surprised how ignorant she is about sexuality considering she'd have first hand experience of dealing with gay and bi people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I always assumed that if you were bisexual you remained attracted to both sexes. I didn't realise that in some cases you stop being attracted to the opposite sex.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

Bye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

humanji wrote: »
    Maybe people are different and gross generalisations don't cover everyone?

'people are different' you and your gross generalisations humanji ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

There have been studies done where they showed straight men gay porn and a very high percentage of them were turned on.This archaic attitude that mankind is either straight or gay is stupid. Back in Roman and Greek times it was perfect normal for men to sleep with one another without sigma. Probably because manliness and machismo was demonstrated on the battlefield and not by your ability to attract the opposite sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Someone said in that thread
    A hole is a hole

In the case of a guy if it can go in tis all grand. or the other phrase

"men they will go for anything that moves"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭donmaga1

Bisexual? Does that mean if you cant get IT you buy it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

donmaga1 wrote: »
    Bisexual? Does that mean if you cant get IT you buy it?

Don't be ridiculous.

It means you can pedal them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

I'm a Trisexual.

I'll try anything.

*fnarr fnarr*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭TheFisherKing

tnbc wrote: »
    She is convinced that it is more accepting for women to come out as Bisexual than it is for a man. She thinks that society will accept that they are experimenting where as, with Men, it is just a matter of time before they come out as gay.

She's right, when's the last time you seen guys kissing for the craic and just to turn on women - doesn't happen.

Society of course is far more willing to see two women getting it on as sexual experimentation, than it would were two guys to do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

There are probably chat rooms out there with hundreds of bi-curious women in them. Except they're not bi-curious women, they're teenage boys pretending their lesbians.

I wonder how many girls there msaquerading in bi-curious mens chatrooms. Probably none. The room is probably filled with old blokes pretending to be teenagers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

threads about gays, lesbians, bisexuals... one about transgender folks just around the corner? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

Biphobia has been a fairly real thing that I've experienced from both straight people and gay people. I'm a Bi guy, and surprise, surprise as some would have you believe, I'm in a relationship for 7 months now with a wonderful girl. Being told I'm "greedy" or "just on the path to being gay" is pretty crap, never mind hearing it from others that have struggled with their sexuality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Chicks don't use the internet. Not YouTube, not CNN, not online games, not boards.ie.

Good rule of thumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Grayson wrote: »
    Except they're not bi-curious women, they're teenage boys pretending their lesbians.

Sweet jesus whats this world coming to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

This place is going to shite with troll accounts lately.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

kjl wrote: »
    There have been studies done where they showed straight men gay porn and a very high percentage of them were turned on.This archaic attitude that mankind is either straight or gay is stupid. Back in Roman and Greek times it was perfect normal for men to sleep with one another without sigma. Probably because manliness and machismo was demonstrated on the battlefield and not by your ability to attract the opposite sex.
    Feckin' Greeks! They invented gayness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I think it was plato who believed that the closest relationship a man would have was with another man. The wife was just there for procreation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

mikom wrote: »
    This place is going to shite with troll accounts lately.
    Dead right, it's beyond a joke at this stage. Always along the lines of 'I was thinking the other day...........' What do you guys think?......Gets notebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Links234 wrote: »
    threads about gays, lesbians, bisexuals... one about transgender folks just around the corner? :o

How about cisgender heterosexuals?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

tnbc wrote: »
    The lesbian thread reminded me of a conversation i had with a gay friend. We had an argument about people who were bisexual.

She is convinced that it is more accepting for women to come out as Bisexual than it is for a man. She thinks that society will accept that they are experimenting where as, with Men, it is just a matter of time before they come out as gay. She herself follows this view, where ultimately all men will turn out Gay and the majority of women will remain bisexual or just go back to being straight.

I think its bullshite, a man can be bisexual and not turn ultimately gay and same goes for a woman and that they can infact turn lesbian.

So AH, what are your views on Bi's? Are all bi men secret gays and all women just experimenting, or is the theory a pile of crap?

Pile of crap

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

How about cisgender heterosexuals?

yeah, I'm morally outraged by their existence! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

Cisgender, I had to look it up.
    Humans are very complex alright. Whatever you are, be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

This thread is so bi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Just to give a serious response, according to the Kinsey report, men are generally either straight or gay and not much in between, women on the other hand are much more likely to be bi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭thier

Being straight or gay is not black and white. Sexual orientation is a spectrum between completely straight and completely gay, with most people lying somewhere between. Presumably bisexuals lie in the exact middle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Best video on the subject in a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

She's right, when's the last time you seen guys kissing for the craic and just to turn on women - doesn't happen.

Society of course is far more willing to see two women getting it on as sexual experimentation, than it would were two guys to do the same.

Yep. Do what ever you want to do but shag one bloke and the next thing you know the missus is questioning your sexuality.

(btw I believe in bisexuality - you go guys and girls, have at each other - or don't ! Its all good - the foregoing is a cheap dig but this is after all AH)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭sureitsgrand

Back in Roman and Greek times it was perfect normal for men to sleep with one another without sigma.

Yes.

I'm a nerd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

I like classic cars.

Guess what?

When I want to post about them, I post in that forum so that I can get info & advice on that subject.

Some lesbians & gays just love to push their agenda into everyone's faces at every turn.

Go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Light Switch

Agree with the above.

How many gay/lesbian threads have been here in the last few weeks?

Seriously there's a section for it.. Use it!!

I like classic cars.

Guess what?

When I want to post about them, I post in that forum so that I can get info & advice on that subject.

Some lesbians & gays just love to push their agenda into everyone's faces at every turn.

Go away.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I have a serious horn for female bisexuals.

Men, not so much.

So, what's that supposed to mean?

You amused. Skitting me. Your just so much more informed & more in touch in the now?

What?

So, what's that supposed to mean?

You amused. Skitting me. Your just so much more informed & more in touch in the now?

What?

I thought your post was very funny

Terry Pratchet

I thought your post was very funny

Why?

I like classic cars.

Guess what?

Go away.

Think of it like this.

If the thread is about the various tax benefits of owning a classic car, or how best to restore the upholstery of one, then the classic car forum is the place for it.

But if the thread is about whether classic car owners would in reality be happier with a nice ford focus, if they were only honest with themselves, or whether people who are curious about what it would be like to own a classic car could never again be happy with a fiesta having looked at pictures of a some pretty little morgan or even thought about what it would be like to pump the pedals of an old style volks beetle, then the views of the rest of the world are legitimately enquired of, hence AH.

Inasmuch as the views of the rest of the world are ever represented in AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I like classic cars.

Guess what?

Go away.

Agendas :pac:

Notice all of these threads were started by straight people. How many threads has there been about the dole or legalising cannabis in the last month alone?

It's come on thick and fast the last while, I agree, but it can be an interesting set of topics to discuss as well, considering many wouldn't normal talk about it or see a new scope on things. What harm? you don't have to read the thread if it doesn't appeal to you.

Reloc8 wrote: »
    Think of it like this.

If the thread is about the various tax benefits of owning a classic car, or how best to restore the upholstery of one, then the classic car forum is the place for it.

But if the thread is about whether classic car owners would in reality be happier with a nice ford focus, if they were only honest with themselves, or whether people who are curious about what it would be like to own a classic car could never again be happy with a fiesta having looked at pictures of a some pretty little morgan or even thought about what it would be like to pump the pedals of an old style volks beetle, then the views of the rest of the world are legitimately enquired of, hence AH.

Inasmuch as the views of the rest of the world are ever represented in AH.

I get what you're saying there & that's what I call a good response to my question.

However, there seems (to me) to be a disproportionate amount of threads devoted to gay & lesbian matters on AH recently.

OP has fook all posts & that further raised my suspitions on things.

There's a forum on Boards .ie for this, but the lesbians/gays just want to use this high traffic forum to their own ends IMHO.

What ends ?

To make you read threads which are clearly entitled 'Lesbians' or 'Bisexuals' or 'De Gheys' ?

Do you find yourself getting assaulted by homosexuals (who of course think they're bisexual or something) and dragged in the door of gay bars against your will ? :pac:

Come on - its not like you clicked on a thread offering pictures of a convertible e-type jaguar and found out it was about blokes having at each other or anything.

Anyway look, don't worry, you can scrub the gay out of your brain by watching topgear.

(mind you never saw a female presenter with those lads, except for that german one who caned a van around the nurbergring but none of them seemed to 'interested' in her, I'm just saying)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

They are sinister like that

Must recheck my copy of the homosexual agenda regarding forums. I don't think it mentioned recruiting from other forums.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I get what you're saying there & that's what I call a good response to my question.

However, there seems (to me) to be a disproportionate amount of threads devoted to gay & lesbian matters on AH recently.

their own ends! oh matron!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

I think this is the forum you're looking for.

Must recheck my copy of the homosexual agenda regarding forums. I don't think it mentioned recruiting from other forums.

page 69 paragraph 7

Did "The Gays" start all these threads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Why can't the gays go back to their own country, like?