Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster vs Zebre, RDS, Sat 01st Dec 6pm, RTE

• 30-11-2012 2:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭

The Calm Before The Storm?

Leinster are finally back in the RDS after 5 long weeks since their mauling of Cardiff. In the meantime Leinster have suffered a disappointing loss away to the Ospreys and a disappointing win away to Glasgow. As poor a performance as that was in atrocious conditions it was a win. And I can't personally remember the last time there was a good game of rugby in Glasgow! So it was a 1 in the W column and we'll all move on and forget the details.

This week Leinster welcome competition new boys Zebre to the RDS. The new Italian side would have been targeting the November International period to pick up their first win and will be disappointed to have been denied at the death against league leaders Ulster. They have only managed 3 Losing Bonus Points and a single Try Bonus Point so far this season, but have looked better than many would have expected. It's only a matter of time before they claim their first scalp.

Leinster have had the welcome return of the Irish squad members this week, some of which have been integrated back into the squad for the weekend and some who are getting a well deserved rest. There can be no doubt that the reigning HEC champions have one eye on the big game in France next week and so in many ways this weekend is all about next weekend.

With the continued injury woes, including Quinn Roux who dislocated his shoulder in the Glasgow game, and the resting of some of the internationals it is difficult to know what to make of the squad selected by Joe Schmidt for tomorrows game. The front-row is the second string and yet internationally capped front row of van der Merwe, Cronin and the Michael Bent. Leinster fans will be keen to finally see Bent in a blue jersey after his exploits with Ireland where he seemed to hold his own and then some. Captain Leo Cullen is being partnered with Damien Browne in the second row. The back row has a familiar enough look to it with Kevin McLaughlin at 6 and Sean O'Brien at 8. Jamie Heaslip is being rested so Rhys Ruddock is being brought in at openside.

In the back line there are a number of talking points. The centre partnership of Goodman and D'Arcy sees the New Zealander starting at inside centre and D'Arcy moving to 13 for the first time in, well, a long time. D'Arcy was originally an outside centre who was moved in-field to facilitate "himself" so Joe will be hoping that Darce can fill in at OC in the run up to the Clermont game next week. The 13 jersey will either be his or Fergus McFaddens for that one, with Darce looking like the favourite there. Goodmans inclusion would beg the question about whether he will be added to the HEC squad should he show up well against Zebre. The exclusion of Dave Kearney from the squad is also an unusual one, having started all 3 games since his return from injury. There has been no word on him picking up a new injury as of yet and hopefully there is nothing serious there. Andrew Conway steps into the 14 jersey in his place. Another young player with a reputation he'll be looking to build on decent performances earlier in the season in an attempt to get himself into the reckoning more often now that he appears to be getting a run injury free (touch wood!). On the bench Leinster have a good mix of youth and experience and for arguably the first time this season seem to have a bit of impact there should it be required.

As for the Zebre side there are a few familiar faces in the likes of Garcia, Pratichetti, Sinoti, Tibaldi, Aguero and one David Ryan. After a very poor start to the season they seem to have become a lot more competitive in the more recent rounds. They were within 3 points of Glasgow at Scotstoun, managed to come within 9 of Scarlets over in Wales (compared to Leinsters 25), were within 2 of Ulster and only fell to Cardiff due to a few second half penalties from Ceri Sweeney after Cardiff had emptied their bench. This new Italian franchise are not the whipping boys many expected. That said they are still without a win and against a Leinster side with a number of internationals back and on the bench this is not a game anyone could see them breaking that duck.

Even with one eye on next week I think a Leinster win is a safe bet, by 10+ at least. More if Goodman and D'Arcy click in the centre. With Sexton pulling the strings at out-half, high on confidence after a world class performance last week, McFadden in a rich vein of form (just see the Fiji and Cardiff games) and Sean O'Brien back and most likely keen to make an impression in the RDS; if the centres can combine well this has the potential to be a very entertaining game for Leinster fans. 5 points will see Leinster retain a place in the top 4 and who knows, if Ulster can do them a favour in Parc y Scarlets on Sunday, could have them knocking on the door of a home semi-final place before the trip up to Ravenhill. And after the start to the season that Leinster have had who could argue with that.

Fancy Schmancy Table:

leinster.gif
    |
    Rugby_Union_Italy_Zebre.png

15 Isa Nacewa|15 Ruggero Trevisan
    14 Andrew Conway|14 Leonardo Sarto
    13 Gordon D'Arcy|13 Gonzalo Garcia CAPTAIN
    12 Andrew Goodman|12 Matteo Pratichetti
    11 Fergus McFadden|11 Sinoti Sinoti
    10 Jonathan Sexton|10 Daniel Halangahu
    9 Eoin Reddan|9 Tito Tebaldi
    |
    1 Heinke van der Merwe|1 Matias Aguero
    2 Sean Cronin|2 Carlo Festuccia
    3 Michael Bent|3 David Ryan
    4 Leo Cullen CAPTAIN|4 Quintin Geldenhuys
    5 Damian Browne|5 Josh Sole
    6 Kevin McLaughlin|6 Nicola Cattina
    7 Rhys Ruddock|7 Mauro Bergamasco
    8 Sean O'Brien|8 Filippo Cristiano
    |
    16 Aaron Dundon|16 Davide Giazzon
    17 Cian Healy|17 Andrea de Marchi
    18 Mike Ross|18 Carlo Fazzari
    19 Tom Denton|19 Emiliano Caffini
    20 Jordi Murphy|20 Nicola Belardo
    21 Isaac Boss|21 Alberto Chillon
    22 Ian Madigan|22 David Odiete
    23 Fionn Carr|23 Paolo Buso

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

molloyjh wrote: »
    Fancy Schmancy Table:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

.ak wrote: »

I think that makes the OP tbh!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Good review, expect a big win and Bent to get a try!!!!

Big Nelly wrote: »
    Good review, expect a big win and Bent to get a try!!!!

For as much as I'd like that I'm getting to the stage where I just want to see Rossy crossing the line, and if Bent gets there before him I'd be gutted for the big man. How many times now has he rumbled up to within an inch of the line? Nathan White beat him to the punch last season, Hagan has gotten in for one too. When he came close against Cardiff I was willing the guy over the line. I don't think there's a single player I'd love to see score more than Ross right now...or is that just me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

For as much as I'd like that I'm getting to the stage where I just want to see Rossy crossing the line, and if Bent gets there before him I'd be gutted for the big man. How many times now has he rumbled up to within an inch of the line? Nathan White beat him to the punch last season, Hagan has gotten in for one too. When he came close against Cardiff I was willing the guy over the line. I don't think there's a single player I'd love to see score more than Ross right now...or is that just me?

Well he had the best chance last year against Munster, on his own at the line and he just jumped on the ground:p Didnt have a clue what to do, we where sitting right in front of him and nearly died laughing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

I couldn't give a toss whether Mike Ross ever scores a try. Just keep winning scrum penalties and it's job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Quint2010 wrote: »
    I couldn't give a toss whether Mike Ross ever scores a try. Just keep winning scrum penalties and it's job done.

Every tighthead needs one try so that he can get very drunk and lean on the bar boring everyone with the story over and over again. It's one of their only actual functions in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Every tighthead needs one try so that he can get very drunk and lean on the bar boring everyone with the story over and over again. It's one of their only actual functions in life.

Isn't it a miracle that someone like Des Fitzgerald can have a son like Luke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

I'd be expecting us to put at least 40 points on these lads; a decent enough team, playing at home on what should be a lovely evening for rugby, don't think we can have too many excuses.

I think the Madigan at FB experiment is over; if Joe had any notion of playing him at 15 in Clermont, this is surely a great game to build experience and confidence. I'd expect Isa to be there next Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

Funny cos its true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

durkadurka wrote: »
    Isn't it a miracle that someone like Des Fitzgerald can have a son like Luke?

Indeed. I wonder did Des ever say "Luke-I AM YOUR FATHER"....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Christ almighty isn't that the truth. The number of pints is actually proportional to the distance the scored the try from also. It starts off as the 2m belly flop, juggling the ball that it actually was. By the end of the night it's a masterful gallop from the 22 with each tequila shot equating to a defender being handed off.

Props are a weird bunch at the best of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭leftleg

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Indeed. I wonder did Des ever say "Luke-I AM YOUR FATHER"....:D

use the force Luke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Strong Leinster team, should be a convincing home win even if Zebre's side looks okay.

I do feel slightly sorry for McFadden sometimes, if he was to get some continued gametime at 12, I think he could be a real contender for an Ireland jersey, but his own versatility hurts him. Still, extremely useful player for Leinster to have.

Be interesting to see how D'Arcy-Goodman get on in the centre, been a while since D'Arcy played there.

And Ruddock at 7 is a bit odd, but tbh I don't think he's a particularly great 8 either...SOB has the advantage of being excellent in every back row position while Ruddock is really just a 6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Really like the idea of Goodman and Darce at 12/13.
    Have been very impressed with Goodman so far, he's a solid option, another kicking option and another playmaker. Better passer than McFadden too.

That backline with DK at 14 would make me happy next week, with Boss at 9 perhaps.

GerM wrote: »
    Christ almighty isn't that the truth. The number of pints is actually proportional to the distance the scored the try from also. It starts off as the 2m belly flop, juggling the ball that it actually was. By the end of the night it's a masterful gallop from the 22 with each tequila shot equating to a defender being handed off.

Props are a weird bunch at the best of times.

So what will the stories of Whites try be like in years to come? He went from outside their 22 and beat their full-back!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OsgI2U3dta0#t=2m47s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭goreyguy

i've said it before but it's time for Conway and Ruddock to start performing at high level consistently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭ssaye

So what will the stories of Whites try be like in years to come? He went from outside their 22 and beat their full-back!

Probably be an Israel Dagg counter attack try from 80 yards :pac:

Good day in RDS then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

It's hard when you're blighted by injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

They'll have to close the bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

"So I sud, put on more dufenders and the Carduff guy says, there are no more dufenders."

There's something gloriously entertaining about watching an obese man in full flight.

Folks.

I've a spare ticket in the grandstand for this game going free to any boardsie.

PM me if you want it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

durkadurka wrote: »
    There's something gloriously entertaining about watching an obese man in full flight.

You'll enjoy this.

That's just fcuking hysterical!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

game on very bad napping Leinster for that Zebre crossfield kick

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

Sexton playing sensational so far

Sexton showing he's as good as Owen Farrell :p

Anyone think Conway should have finished there though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

It would be great to see Dave Ryan develop into a quality tighthead, he seems to be getting plenty gametime at Zebre. He wasn't capped in the summer by USA afaik so he's still Irish eligible. He'll be 27 in April.

I think he slipped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Sexton showing he's as good as Owen Farrell :p

Anyone think Conway should have finished there though?

I'm watching on an extremely poor quality stream but didn't he slip?

There is a nutter in the crowd screaming come on Leinster at the top of his lungs every 2 seconds.

Tox56 wrote: »
    I'm watching on an extremely poor quality stream but didn't he slip?

Possibly...the camera angle wasn't great and I flicked over for the replay. If so, I apologise to Conway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Higher wrote: »
    There is a nutter in the crowd screaming come on Leinster at the top of his lungs every 2 seconds.

Thanks for pointing it out, didn't notice it until you said it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Credit to Zebre. Defended well

lol its really annoying once you notice it.

Conway try. Brilliant break by McFadden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

Lovely stuff from MacFadden there

What a break McFadden! He has been playing some really good stuff this season

Class from McFadden

I'd question the commitment of the Zebre player going to claim the kick though, seemed to pull out...but fair play to McFadden, some pace.

Gwan Ferg! Finished in the corner by Conway.
    Leinster 10 - 0 Zebre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Ruddocks carrying is still far too high.
    Needs to take a leaf out of Lockys book.

Sexton scores a try.

Hes on fire today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

double movement?

EDIT never mind try

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

Harsh yellow on Zebre. I know they had been warned but that was a certain knock on from Isa that wasn't given

double movement?

Guess not, thought it would be double movement myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Harsh yellow on Zebre. I know they had been warned but that was a certain knock on from Isa that wasn't given

It wasn't a knock on, it grazed his fingers but still went backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Does it annoy anyone else when the referee doesn't make a decision and passes it upstairs. The ref couldn't have been in a better position for johnnies try.

Don't think that was a double movement at all, you're allowed to stretch like that to place it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Burgo wrote: »
    Guess not, thought it would be double movement myself.
    Quick question. Can the TMO adjudicate on a double movement if the first movement happened outside goal?