Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car crashed into eircom pole

• 28-11-2012 4:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭

I crashed my car into an eircom pole this morning. Does anyone know how much it's going to cost me? None of the wires were damaged, just the actual pole.The car is a complete right off but I'm hoping to get away without making an insurance claim. It's all going to depend on the cost of the pole though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Whiplashy wrote: »
    I crashed my car into an eircom pole this morning. Does anyone know how much it's going to cost me? None of the wires were damaged, just the actual pole.The car is a complete right off but I'm hoping to get away without making an insurance claim. It's all going to depend on the cost of the pole though

Last I heard it was €800, but thats a few years ago now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Rate to move a pole is around 2500 euros.

Depends on a number of factors (Cable replacement etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

eircom charge rediculas money for moving a pole,

I reckon you could be looking at a 1.5k to 3k bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

This happened my friend four years ago. The bill was rounded at €4500 although this included the cost of the car. Car was only worth circa €1000 though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Very apt username OP, how's your back ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Private & Confidential
    xxxxxx
    xxxxxx
    xxxxxx
    Cork

>edit< date

Contract No: xxxxxx

Customer Number: xxxxxxx

Re: Request to relocate eircom plant.

Dear Sir,

I refer to your request of the >edit< 2008 to relocate eircom plant and wish to advise you that the original quotation (including VAT) at that time came to €6,476.48.

>Edit<.
    On reviewing this case and re-assessing using our current price structure, I am happy to tell you that the cost of this alteration is now €4,877.71

You will be pleased to note that the charges have reduced by €1,598.77 (inc vat) and the enclosed invoice reflects same.

Should you wish to avail of this offer it will be necessary that you pay the invoice attached before work commences. Cheques should be sent to: eircom plc, P.O. box 43, Kilrush, Co Clare and you should write your customer number and contract number on the back of your cheque.

Please note that this quotation has been prepared with due care and attention.
    However in exceptional circumstances, the final cost of work may differ significantly from the quotation prepared. In such circumstances, where the actual cost incurred by eircom exceeds the quotation, the excess will be charged.
    Please also note that the plant in question is and remains the property of eircom. We would therefore caution you against attempting to move it without eircom’s consent.
    On receipt of your payment eircom will endeavour to commence the work within 2 months.

Regards,

This was for one pole to be removed, and be replaced with 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Did you exchange details with the pole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Oi I was gonna use that line ^ :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

so Vojtek is with the ESB now then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Moving a pole is diferent to replacing a damaged pole, but if they have your details, you're a sitting duck really, whatever is quoted there's not much argueing with it. You broke it, they'll fix it, and you'll pay for it. Not a great position to be in really when it comes to getting a cheap price. You are sort of tied to the couch, face down, strides around the ankles, awaiting destiny. I doubt that's much fun, so sorry for your trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Just to address a point here. Assuming you're not after already reporting this and irrespective of your intention to claim or not, please ensure that you inform your insurer straight away.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I'm surprised CiniO hadn't mentioned it already ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

No chance, the pole wooden speak english. It just snapped abruptly when he hit it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

any chance the pole might POST on here,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

corktina wrote: »
    any chance the pole might POST on here,

It probably doesn't have wireless broadband

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

It depends on the circumstances... did it all happen axle dentally?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

It probably doesn't have wireless broadband

Its eircom so the service would be patchy at best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

godtabh wrote: »

Its eircom so the service would be patchy at best
    I've always got a frosty reception when I complain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

I'd be asking for the old pole as stove fodder!

Am I the only one surprised that the OP offered to pay?

Well he said the car was a write off. So he could either report it as stolen and hope nobody puts two and two together, try to put the car under his arm and run away from the scene with it, or accept that he's in an unfortunate and expensive situation.

I'd be making the insurance company aware of the issue, unless you've got a couple of grand that you're happy to spend on this out of your own pocket. Might be more financially sensible to make the claim, though,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,794 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I would have thought that the cost of renewing a pole would be significantly less than relocating a pole. Either way, its going to be expensive and best let the insurers take care of it unless you have very good reason not to claim it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Simple don't tell them? Depending on where you live you could have leaving or getting someone to toe ya. I wouldn't give the phone comapny the steam off my piss to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Whiplashy

Brilliant!

With regards to notifying the insurance company the gardai advised me not to unless I am going to claim. My insurance is already pretty high because I've only been driving a couple of years. I can afford to replace the car with my savings. Doesn't sound like I'm going to be able to cover the cost of the pole though :( I'll ring eircom in the morning, find out just how bad it's going to be, and probably have to notify insurance company then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Mech1

Always worth having the number of your local tow truck in your phone, an extra few bob and the road is even swept clean within the hour.

areyawell wrote: »
    Simple don't tell them? Depending on where you live you could have leaving or getting someone to toe ya. I wouldn't give the phone comapny the steam off my piss to be honest.

In all honesty we were considering doing just that, but someone reported the damage before we got the car moved. Fair enough though. It was my fault and I suppose it's only right I pay for the damage. Can't believe how expensive everyone is saying it's going to be though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Depends if the pole is a write off. You might have only glanced it.

I demolished it and it in return demolished my car! They had to put in a new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,794 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

areyawell wrote: »

This happens alot and tbh, its hard to blame people given the stupidly high charges for these kind of repairs. It almost seems like the people who pay are covering the costs for all those who dont bother.
    In this case, if gardai were on the scene, it might be hard to avoid the charge but I know alot of people would do nothing until they would be contacted about the damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Brilliant!

With regards to notifying the insurance company the gardai advised me not to unless I am going to claim. My insurance is already pretty high because I've only been driving a couple of years. I can afford to replace the car with my savings. Doesn't sound like I'm going to be able to cover the cost of the pole though :( I'll ring eircom in the morning, find out just how bad it's going to be, and probably have to notify insurance company then.

Don't tell me black ice resulted in you in you mounting said pole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,827 ✭✭✭✭road_high

When you think about it, the positioning of these poles alongside roads is an accident waiting to happen (as the OP's expereince proves).
    It's cheap for them to maintain but provides the motoring public with another unneccessary hazard to potentially accidently crash into. If the pole had not been there in the first place, the OP may not have fully written off his car.

Don't tell me black ice resulted in you in you mounting said pole

Is there any other reason to mount a pole :D

Depending on your age and if you had anything previous on your license just get the insurance company to pay for it. Rebuild the no claims discount is the best bet. Your insurance will hardly jump that much if you claim? Switch insurance companies next time round as well. Insurance will probably just increase by a few hundred and come down again every year. For me starting out driving just last year it came to 1100 for the first year, with one years no claim discount it came down to 700. liberty insuarance is nearly the best company at the moment

mfitzy wrote: »
    When you think about it, the positioning of these poles alongside roads is an accident waiting to happen (as the OP's expereince proves).
    It's cheap for them to maintain but provides the motoring public with another unneccessary hazard to potentially accidently crash into. If the pole had not been there in the first place, the OP may not have fully written off his car.

I've been moaning about this all day to anyone who'll listen! If the pole had been at the other side of the dike my car certainly wouldn't be a write off. I'm not the first to hit a pole there and won't be the last. Probably one of the first to actually get billed for it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

When I crashed my car on the Cavan exit on the m50, the insurers were concerned about the damage I did to the crash barrier, despite the fact the bloody bend was like a car graveyard to begin with (and was subsequently modified with a huge slow down sign and anti slip).

Made my blood boil.

Man I feel sorry for you, many years ago I took out three reflector yokes on one side of the road, did a 360 and took out two more reflector yokes on the other side

I use to laugh at the old fella and his stories about black ice, till then:eek:

17 year old me got a great lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

It depends on the circumstances... did it all happen axle dentally?

Ouch :)

Well he said the car was a write off. So he could either report it as stolen and hope nobody puts two and two together, try to put the car under his arm and run away from the scene with it, or accept that he's in an unfortunate and expensive situation.

I'd be making the insurance company aware of the issue, unless you've got a couple of grand that you're happy to spend on this out of your own pocket. Might be more financially sensible to make the claim, though,

He said he wasn't going through insurance. A written off car doesn't always mean its not driveable.

worse, you mounted the pole, what stopped you getting to the dyke

Man I feel sorry for you, many years ago I took out three reflector yokes on one side of the road, did a 360 and took out two more reflector yokes on the other side

Well at least you got your lesson nice and early! 26 year old me really should have known better! But up until yesterday I was laughing at my old fellas stories. Now not only do I have to grin and bear the
    "but of course the real problem these days isn't the black ice but the fact that these young ones just can't handle bad roads"
    I also have the added bonus of
    "How many times have I warned you not to brake when you hit black ice?"
    Lesson is well and truly learned, but just to be sure he'll never let me forget my stupidity!

He said he wasn't going through insurance. A written off car doesn't always mean its not driveable.

Oh believe me she's written off, dead as a door nail, completely undriveable and ready for the scrap yard in the sky!

The front of my car hit a hedge and the back hit a tree on the same side of the road then ended up in a ditch on the other side.

May as well do it in style!

Well at least you got your lesson nice and early! 26 year old me really should have known better! But up until yesterday I was laughing at my old fellas stories. Now not only do I have to grin and bear the
    "but of course the real problem these days isn't the black ice but the fact that these young ones just can't handle bad roads"
    I also have the added bonus of
    "How many times have I warned you not to brake when you hit black ice?"
    Lesson is well and truly learned, but just to be sure he'll never let me forget my stupidity!

the only reason I walked away from that crash was the fact the brakes wern't working ( West Cork ABS) the only reason I survived was me old fella lived in Saudi at the time so he had 4 months to calm down

Mind you he nearly lost the car on a back road last January in Yorkshire to black ice, kept me mouth shut though as them old fellas have long memories even after 30 years:D

The front of my car hit a hedge and the back hit a tree on the same side of the road then ended up in a ditch on the other side.

May as well do it in style!

The trouble with mine was no damage to the body work, just took the sump and oil strainer off

FIAT took 4 effing months to supply a strainer.

The trouble with mine was no damage to the body work, just took the sump and oil strainer off

FIAT took 4 effing months to supply a strainer.

I took off the sump by hitting the ground on a car about 2 months after that accident. I was doing some back road rallying :rolleyes:
    Thought the noise was the suspension taking a hit when i got some air over the peak of a hill. Drove on and the engine was wrecked :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Wicklowandy

mfitzy wrote: »

Poles are bad enough but worse are the chevrons positioned tohurt you and your car

Why do people treat no claims discount like its the biggest deal in the world? Depending on your age it might increase your insurance by 200 or 300 but then the following year it will decrease and decrease again. No claims discount is not a big deal, its only a joke! I would rather lose my no claims discount than pay 6000 for a stupid pole

Having 5 years no claims discount and having 0 years no claims discount does not increase the insurance by that much, maybe 200 or 300 the first year and will go down significantly with one years no claim
    discount the following year.

I see people not wanting to contact there insurance over a claim and paying 2k for damages. Like what the hell?

Having No claims bonus does not increase your insurance by 500% maybe 40% at most

Christ

If ye dont believe me do up a quote for the following year and see how much it increases. Absolute sweet f all depending maybe 40%.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

You should really sit down and work out the cost of claiming vs going it on your own. Particularly if you have to factor in a wrote off car, towing, and a esb pole.

I'm not one of those people who think the worst possible thing you can do is claim on your insurance. From a purely financial point of view, my car was insured for €1000 with an excess of €500. Therefore with the increase in premiums over the next few years an insurance claim would have made no sense. However when you factor in the pole things change! I'm pretty certain I will be making one after I phone eircom this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I dont think anyone would ever suggest trying to sort out a claim of €6000 themselves rather than go through the insurance in fairness. I dont think too many would even for €2000.

For anything less than a grand Id probably try to sort it myself. I have 5 years NCB, which means I would be losing the 50% discount that I get. Plus the fact that the base premium will also rise to reflect the claim, and the fact that no NCB means that you are most likely tied to your current insurer for the next 2-3 years until other companies will talk to you again, means that its just not worth the overall cost and hassle of making an insurance claim.

Its a ridiculous system that we have where we pay a lot of money for something that we are afraid to avail of, but such is life with insurance in Ireland unfortanately.