Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Southsiders up in arms over area's new name

• 28-11-2012 1:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/southsiders-up-in-arms-over-areas-new-name-3308984.html
    THE well-heeled residents of Dublin South are up in arms about their constituency's new name.

They are dissatisfied with the fact that they will no longer be identified as Southsiders but as residents of a new constituency called "Dublin-Rathdown" in the next general election.

ye think people have better things to be moaning about, would you really give a flying fcuk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

davet82 wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/southsiders-up-in-arms-over-areas-new-name-3308984.html

ye think people have better things to be moaning about, would you really give a flying fcuk?

how were they southsiders when it was dun laoghaire - rathdown. nothing has changed really. reminds me of the twats in terenure that wanted to be d6. funny thing is, 75% of terenure is working class its only the rathfarnham end thats up their own nose

also, you didnt hear the extremely well heeled residents of dublin north complaining when their boundary was changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

The sad thing is...a lot of people would. As if it's going to effect their 'class' in life..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Oh moi gawd I'm loike totes morto abite it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

My electoral ward in London is called Chaucer. Which is awesome.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Thats only an article link.

I was expecting pics of people 'up in arms'.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Will they lose the D4/American accent for a pure Dub now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

They should cop on really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Hopefully there'll be some rallys about this. I'll most certainly have Geeves attend on my behalf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

I used to be really passionate about politics, helping local people etc.

Then I did a bit of work with a politician from a salubrious area, dealing with his constituents. My god. You would not believe the things that some wealthy people consider to be serious problems. And the way that certain people in the leisured class can obsess about such minor issues that they control their lives.

People sometimes give out about a sense of entitlement among the working/unemployed class, but it pervades every level of society.

So no, I'm not in the least bit surprised by this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Well heeled???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Well my new one will be Offaly.

Fcuk u Laois!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Lapin wrote: »
    Thats only an article link.

I was expecting pics of people 'up in arms'.

:mad:

Will this do?

http://images.moviepostershop.com/up-in-arms-movie-poster-1951-1020315203.jpg
    http://www.moviepostershop.com/up-in-arms-movie-poster-1951

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Speaking on behalf of the south side the majority of us actually want to be our own independent country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭youtheman

I remeber years ago when I used to live in Stillorgan Grove in Dublin. Many people put their address down as Stillorgan Grove, Blackrock. Bit vain I thought.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭WhiteRussian

There are a lot of poor begrudgers on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Drumcondra is traditionally know as the Holy Land, surely it deserves Vatican like autonomy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Disgusting!

Anncoates,

Harold's Cross, Dublin 6W.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Damn right. Saying that it's pathetic for people to become enraged about a change to placename can only mean "poor begrudger".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

how were they southsiders when it was dun laoghaire - rathdown. nothing has changed really. reminds me of the twats in terenure that wanted to be d6. funny thing is, 75% of terenure is working class its only the rathfarnham end thats up their own nose

also, you didnt hear the extremely well heeled residents of dublin north complaining when their boundary was changed

75% of Terenure being 'working class' is news to me. Which parts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Exactly, if you object to anything in this country its clearly as a result of jealousy. There could be no other reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

9959 wrote: »
    75% of Terenure being 'working class' is news to me. Which parts?

from the crossroads up to where terenure ends (the lights at siopa beag).

people in 'dublin-rathdown' also need to remember that some of the roughest areas in the whole of dublin are in their constituency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

youtheman wrote: »
    I remeber years ago when I used to live in Stillorgan Grove in Dublin. Many people put their address down as Stillorgan Grove, Blackrock. Bit vain I thought.

I work with a girl from Ballybrack and she puts her address down as Killiney, South Co. Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

youtheman wrote: »

Stillorgan Grove is in the Blackrock postal district

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I don't, some dubs might.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

geeky wrote: »

Then I did a bit of work with a politician from a salubrious area, dealing with his constituents. My god. You would not believe the things that some wealthy people consider to be serious problems. And the way that certain people in the leisured class can obsess about such minor issues that they control their lives.

People sometimes give out about a sense of entitlement among the working/unemployed class, but it pervades every level of society.

I recall going to a Luas meeting about a decade ago in Renleagh and they were demanding that the rail line not be built unless they had the final say on which store was to be sell coffee at the station. I will never forget how angry they were.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

Ballymun = Glasnevin North.

Irish middle classes are the worst snobs in the world.

geeky wrote: »

salubrious only means a 'place beneficial to your health', leafy suburbs full of w*nkers on high horses are not good for anyone's health

This boundary change renaming is sensible, it fits the Dáil constituencies more along the lines of the counties people deal with already

Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County will have 2 dáil constituencies, i.e. Dublin-Dun Laoghaire and Dublin-Rathdown, logical enough (for a change)

I'm surprised at the apparent attachment to the Dublin South name by people who have obviously pestered Olivia Mitchell about it, I mean geographically they will still be in Dublin South and it will remove the confusion about it not being in South Dublin County, which might lead people to assume such people live in Tallaght, of all places ;)

Also the Rathdown bit is an ancient barony name which comprised a huge chunk of the southern part of County Dublin and beyond which, ought to give the Churchtown set that protestant ascendancy feel which they desperately desire

Or to put it another way, go find something actually f*****g important to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭RADIUS

When the Earths poles reverse in a months time as the Mayans predicted then us Northsiders will become the new Southsiders. BAHAHA my plan is finally coming to fruition .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

from the crossroads up to where terenure ends (the lights at siopa beag).

people in 'dublin-rathdown' also need to remember that some of the roughest areas in the whole of dublin are in their constituency

I'm from Templeogue, I thought people from Terenure were 'posh', it just goes to show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭gigawatt2007

#firstworldproblems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Its not where you're from, its where you're going that matters.

This gear is massive (Dublin South Central here).

I propose we rename the jurisdiction of Finglas and Ballymun to Foxrock county council and rename Rathdown-Dublin to Darndale South.
    Just to see what happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Has anyone else noted the irony of a thread full of complaints about people complaining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Has anyone else noted the irony of a thread full of complaints about people complaining

No. We don't get ironing.

The Irony forum is that way ---->>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Stillorgan Grove is in the Blackrock postal district

Isn't it in the same postal district as Sallynoggin? Or Shankhill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

75% of terenure is working class its only the rathfarnham end thats up their own nose

Er...the whole area surround Terenure College/Bushy Park is pretty affluent.

*not from Terenure*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I'm really not understanding that article at all :/
    How does this new name mean that southsiders will nolonger be identified as southsiders?
    What is it being changed from? Dunlaoghaire-Rathdown or what?
    Also, why bother changing the name in the first place?
    I'm confused - And I am a southsider! (Well I haven't lived there in a few years, but grew up there)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

funny thing is i always just thought of 'southsiders' as people who lived on the other side of the liffey

Pherekydes wrote: »

Nope, theyre in Dun Laoghaire. Blackrock ends at Cornelscourt-Deans Grange-Monkstown

I'm really not understanding that article at all :/
    How does this new name mean that southsiders will nolonger be identified as southsiders?
    What is it being changed from? Dunlaoghaire-Rathdown or what?
    Also, why bother changing the name in the first place?
    I'm confused - And I am a southsider! (Well I haven't lived there in a few years, but grew up there)

The change is an effort to resolve some of this legitimate confusion.

There are Counties, Dun Laoire Rathdown, South Dublin, Fingal, Dublin City - these are County Council administrative areas

Then there are Dáil electoral constituencies which have some similar names but which are not administrative areas, just corrals of population used to elect TDs, the only relevance they have is every 5 or so years so you know which candidates are standing in your area or if you have a problem that you need to talk to a sitting TD about and you need to know who your TDs are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭DMcL1971

Pherekydes wrote: »

It's historical. When my parents bought their house, about 50 years ago, in Leopardstown (which is not far from Stillorgan), there were not as many post offices as there are now and no post codes. So their postal address was that of their nearest sorting office, which was Blackrock.

Post codes weren't in common use in Dublin until the sixties. So my parents still use the address of Blackrock, County Dublin even though they have been in Dublin 18 since the mid sixties. It just wasn't called Dublin 18 when they moved there.

Blackrock and Dun Laoghaire are actually part of County Dublin from a postal district point of view even though most of the surrounding area is actually Dublin 18.

They tried to bring in a alpha numeric post code system of the type usually found in modern developed countries. However in Dublin 4 it was not approved of that Dublin 4 would effectively cease to exist so it never went ahead.

That's what you're dealing with.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

sure my address is both cornlescourt and foxrock, but across the road is cabinteely and 20 meters behind me is blackrock... i choose to go with foxrock when asked however

They tried to bring in a alpha numeric post code system of the type usually found in modern developed countries. However in Dublin 4 it was not approved of that Dublin 4 would effectively cease to exist so it never went ahead.

That's what you're dealing with.

really?

would it have effectrd house prices or something :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Nobody, but some status junkie in the Dail.

I'm from the area and I certainly don't give a rats arse, nor does anybody I know. It's the independent ffs, it's a rag of a paper, only fit for wrapping up a bag of chips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

This just an excuse for negative equity southsiders who have million euro mortgages on houses now worth sweet feck all to stop their perceived value from falling further in their own narrow view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

really?

would it have effectrd house prices or something :confused:
    Exactly that.

maybe it would bother me if it were to knock 50k off the price of my house :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The change is an effort to resolve some of this legitimate confusion.

There are Counties, Dun Laoire Rathdown, South Dublin, Fingal, Dublin City - these are County Council administrative areas

Then there are Dáil electoral constituencies which have some similar names but which are not administrative areas, just corrals of population used to elect TDs, the only relevance they have is every 5 or so years so you know which candidates are standing in your area or if you have a problem that you need to talk to a sitting TD about and you need to know who your TDs are.

so, DLRCOCO will remain as is, but Eamonn Gilmore, Mary Mitchell, Richard Boyd Barret and the other FGer are now going to represent Dublin Rathdown rather than Dun Laoghaire Rathdown?

good to see someone in the Dail has nothing better to do with their time.