Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coastwatch seeks condom and nappy levy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

single-use cigarette lighters

a match?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The plastic bag levy should be extended to condoms, sanitary pads, babies’ nappies, balloons, single-use cigarette lighters and other potential litter that’s harmful to wildlife, according to Coastwatch Ireland.

Somebody needs to get a life!
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/1128/1224327207882.html

Humans is most harmful to wiildlife - lets tax ourselves!

O' wait... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

The plastic bag levy should be extended to condoms, sanitary pads, babies’ nappies, balloons, single-use cigarette lighters and other potential litter that’s harmful to wildlife, according to Coastwatch Ireland.

After reading that article i'm going out to club a baby seal to death...

who's with me? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

We should tax tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

My weekends just got more expensive...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

She's right that there's a problem, it's well known

http://www.independent.co.uk/environment/green-living/the-worlds-rubbish-dump-a-tip-that-stretches-from-hawaii-to-japan-778016.html

But a tax, for what good? Will Ms Dubsky go out and be paid to take away the rubbish? Where does the money for the platic bag tax actually go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Where does the money for the platic bag tax actually go?

Making more plastic bags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

There is a clubbing tax now ya know!!

davet82 wrote: »

After reading that article i'm going out to club a baby seal to death...

who's with me? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Now, you put another tax on condoms, which TBH I think should be heavily subsidised, and you're gonna have a lot more people who just won't buy them and will take the risk. Fook that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

thats it lads make contraceptives more expensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Duggy747 wrote: »
    We should tax tax.

Give it enough time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Keno 92 wrote: »
    My weekends just got more expensive...
    It'll only be a once annual payment for you, don't worry about it :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

frag420 wrote: »
    There is a clubbing tax now ya know!!

ah bollix :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Condoms have a tax on them already of 13.5%
    Sanitary Towels have zero tax on them.

What a fu(king joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

If only they taxed having a fat neck...our government alone could solve third world problems

Just strangle the seals with a used condom!!
    davet82 wrote: »

ah bollix :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

What a fu(king joke.

a fg female politician got that put in law back in the day, by claiming they were a necessety, but so is food, ah never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Times like this I'm glad to be a non-smoking gay male. Free condoms no bleeding from my crack (most of the time) and no babies ^_^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I've missed your unrestrained filth, az.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

Tabnabs wrote: »
    She's right that there's a problem, it's well known

http://www.independent.co.uk/environment/green-living/the-worlds-rubbish-dump-a-tip-that-stretches-from-hawaii-to-japan-778016.html

But a tax, for what good? Will Ms Dubsky go out and be paid to take away the rubbish? Where does the money for the platic bag tax actually go?

Across all coastal counties, Coastwatch volunteers found more than 18,000 drinks containers – an average of 45 for each 500m of shoreline. Plastic bottles were the most common, followed by aluminium cans, glass bottles and paper cartons.

To encourage reuse and recycling, Ms Dubsky called for a “deposit-on-return” regime for all drinks containers to “save resources, reduce carbon emissions, drastically reduce litter and create green jobs”.

Not a bad idea! Maybe have disposal bins on the beaches rather than taxing various plastic items. In relation to taxing items, there is the potential for manufactures to be forced to make their products more environmentally friendly.

Rare earth prices were controlled, and monoplized by china which manages 90% of the worlds rare earths, to the extent they cut exports.The result was many manufacturing companies were forced to find alternatives to rare earths, and develop new alternatives.

By taxing these pollutants it opens the market to more eco friendly products. An example of this would be Bio-degradable plastic, and other eco friendly materials such , and this technology could replace existing technology used to make these polluting products.

Perhaps an overreaction that would end up costing us and not the manufacture, but if managed, and timed to meet growing competition for more eco friendly products then it work.

The pacific ocean has billions and billions of plastic all floating about killing sea life. So either you have an idea of how to clean that up cost effectively or you have to consider alternatives. The difference and cost may be a few final chemical changes to the molecule elastomers that make up the plastic in order to make it bio degradeable. Adding starch to the syntethic during manufacture rapidly increases the breakdown and degradation of the plastic.

When the competition surfaces with better alternatives which is happening then tax is the only way to force profit driven corporations to make that step.

flutered wrote: »
    a fg female politician got that put in law back in the day, by claiming they were a necessety, but so is food, ah never mind.

She could have campaigned for Zero rate on tax for Crash helmets rather than Fanny Pads:
    http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vat/rates/decision-detail-01423.jsp

23% Tax on a legally required device to keep your brains inside your skull.

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

if scumbags werent dumping junk into the sea it wouldent be an issue

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Coastwatch have a point.
    The amount of plastics and recyclable rubbish that is washed up on the coast is unbelievable.
    I'd be all for a returnable deposit on aluminium cans. Laws should be brought in to force manufacturers to produce nappies etc that biodegrade within one year of use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

I don't use condoms :pac:

Well I heard if you have sex in the sea standing up then the girl can't get pregnant so no need for condoms!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭martyeds

Don't see why people dump condoms. I bought a condom in May 1994. Have used it 13 times since then. It still works. I may pass it onto my 8 sons when they are older.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Hippies! wrote: »
    I don't use condoms :pac:

Why would ya. You aren't going to give some young wan Aids by just ****, alone, in your bedroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Maybe someone should work on inventing the bio-degradable condom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

azezil wrote: »
    Times like this I'm glad to be a non-smoking gay male. Free condoms no bleeding from my crack (most of the time) and no babies ^_^

Look at Mr Glass Half Full

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Coastwatch seeks condom and nappy levy!

Gonna be an expensive night out for Gary Glitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

We should tax tax.
    EnterNow wrote: »
    Give it enough time :)

We already do - at least anyone who buys a new car does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

It would be just another typical lazy politician's solution. Rather than trying to change attitudes or enforce existing litter laws, try to bring in additional laws and taxes.

See also: The UK's proposal to introduce a minimum price for alcohol to tackle anti social behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Well the levy on plastic bags was very successful in what it set out to achieve. What makes you think a small levy on other disposable goods wouldn't be?

If you think that stuff isn't harmful to wildlife, next time you walk along a beach and see the carcass or skeleton of a seagull, have a poke around at it and there's a huge chance you'll see all sorts of plastic bits inside it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

The problem to wildlife stems not from the plastic bags themselves, but from people littering them. So instead of punishing the minority of people who litter, instead everyone ends up paying a tax. That's hardly fair?

It's the legal equivalent of punishing everybody in a class when somebody misbehaves.

Well the levy on plastic bags was very successful in what it set out to achieve. What makes you think a small levy on other disposable goods wouldn't be?

If you think that stuff isn't harmful to wildlife, next time you walk along a beach and see the carcass or skeleton of a seagull, have a poke around at it and there's a huge chance you'll see all sorts of plastic bits inside it.

Maybe the seagulls should dispose of their condoms and plastic from birdybeer six packs more carefully then!!

Inconsiderate dump dwellers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭blue note

If we tax condoms we're going to have an even bigger problem with nappies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Biggins wrote: »
    Humans is most harmful to wiildlife - lets tax ourselves!

O' wait... :o

Where the fook have you been hiding for the last month ?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Ireland already has overly priced condoms compared to the rest of the world (link) Something that is impacting on sti rates (link again).

Making them more expensive is a fúcking terrible idea.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

What a fu(king joke.

You make it sound like only men buy condoms. :confused:

flutered wrote: »

Fair play to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Because people need to use these items and taxing them won't have the desired affect.

The plastic bag levy encouraged people to use plastic bag more sensibly, this tax won't affect how people use and dispose of condoms it'll just make them more expensive. You won't decide it's best to hold onto your condom to use it again or get a condom for life.

Maybe if there where more public bins around people might use them but people aren't going to go out of their way to find a bin for their sperm filled condom. If they know a certain area is popular for riding because they're finding loads of condoms put a bin there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

You won't get caught for the nappy levy if you're willing to pay the condom levy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

Save the Latex Trout!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The solution to the condom problem is to match the DNA against the heal prick samples taken at birth , though the records only go back to 1984.

You make it sound like only men buy condoms. :confused:

You make it sound like only women buy Sanitary Towels.

http://www.google.com/patents/US4576599

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

We should tax tax.
    We already do.
    Look at how VAT and VRT are applied to cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

snubbleste wrote: »
    Coastwatch have a point.
    The amount of plastics and recyclable rubbish that is washed up on the coast is unbelievable.
    I'd be all for a returnable deposit on aluminium cans. Laws should be brought in to force manufacturers to produce nappies etc that biodegrade within one year of use.
    The thing with biodegradable nappies is that they need light and air in order to photodegrade. In landfill they last nearly as long as ordinary nappies. Resusable nappies are the only way to significantly reduce pollution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

We already do.
    Look at how VAT and VRT are applied to cars.

...ahem....
    We already do - at least anyone who buys a new car does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Really it set out to discourage people from using plastic bags unless really necessary. Condoms? Sanitary towels? Not really things you casually use when you don't need to.

The plastic bag levy also encouraged sensible disposal of plastic bags because they can be used multiple times, so people aren't all that quick to throw out something which they paid for.
    A condom or a sanitary towel is a one-use disposable item, and a levy on these isn't going to encourage people to hold onto them and use them a second or third time.

In short, the two aren't really comparable. Except that you can use a plastic bag as a condom. But then you're not going to use it to carry your vegetables home in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭dan185

seamus wrote: »
    Except that you can use a plastic bag as a condom. But then you're not going to use it to carry your vegetables home in.

speak for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

seamus wrote: »
    Really it set out to discourage people from using plastic bags unless really necessary. Condoms? Sanitary towels? Not really things you casually use when you don't need to.

The plastic bag levy also encouraged sensible disposal of plastic bags because they can be used multiple times, so people aren't all that quick to throw out something which they paid for.
    A condom or a sanitary towel is a one-use disposable item, and a levy on these isn't going to encourage people to hold onto them and use them a second or third time.

In short, the two aren't really comparable. Except that you can use a plastic bag as a condom. But then you're not going to use it to carry your vegetables home in.
    That is true of condoms but not sanitary towels as there are plenty of alternatives like cotton, reusable towels or a menstrual cup like the mooncup. Nobody needs to use disposable sanitary on a regular, ongoing basis.