Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where were you for the march yesterday?

• 25-11-2012 10:07am
    Site Banned Posts: 95 ✭✭

I've just been reading the comments section on the RTE news website about the low attendance at yesterday's anti-austerity march. The protesters are flabbergasted that more of us didn't show up to give the two fingers to the government. Unemployed lads getting up on their soapbox and making big speeches online that inevitably start with "We the people..." as it they're speaking on our behalf!

So where were you yesterday? I put my feet up on my day off and watched my Godfather boxset while sipping on a few beers. Was a bit chilly outside. Besides, I don't feel like marching to protect the salaries of over-paid Trade Unionists and Public Servant fatcats (note: I don't include frontline service staff in this, even though they get automatic pay increases, not based on merit).:cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Debator wrote: »
    I've just been reading the comments section on the RTE news website about the low attendance at yesterday's anti-austerity march. The protesters are flabbergasted that more of us didn't show up to give the two fingers to the government. Unemployed lads getting up on their soapbox and making big speeches online that inevitably start with "We the people..." as it they're speaking on our behalf!

So where were you yesterday? I put my feet up on my day off and watched my Godfather boxset while sipping on a few beers. Was a bit chilly outside. Besides, I don't feel like marching to protect the salaries of over-paid Trade Unionists and Public Servant fatcats (note: I don't include frontline service staff in this, even though they get automatic pay increases, not based on merit).:cool:

couldnt give two hoots, its clear this government arent going to listen to us know matter what we do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I walked past it on the way to Jervis...seemed to be loads there but I guess hundreds isn't loads in the grand scheme of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Thinly disguised anti dole thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭kodoherty93

At home

Those people marching against "austerity" obviously don't know if borrow money you must pay it back plus interest. So if we borrow money now it will be the tax payers in 10-15 years paying for it.

Like in the baltic like Romania and Hungary the government went ape **** and cut wages by 20% and cut as much as possible and there economies are the best in Europe.

People who march against austerity amaze as they generally don't earn enough to pay tax ( only 50% of workers pay tax) and think they have been affected by the recession as they have a few hundred less a month. It's difficult ecomomic times get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

So where were you yesterday?

100,000 came out in Dublin, Cork, Athlone, Limerick, Sligo, Rosslare and other places for the Irish Ferries protest

Achieved nothing

That's the last march I was at, seems a long time ago now

• Site Banned Posts: 95 ✭✭Debator

Thinly disguised anti dole thread.

Nope, many of the valiant orators made no secret of the fact that they were on the dole. Have a read before you jump to conclusions.
    Here

So where were you yesterday Tipsy McSwagger? At the march?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭ThinkAboutIt

I am sick to my teeth of the Government and I absolutely HATE that they can cut services and get away with it. It sickens me. This country is a joke, it's like living in the 3rd world.

However yesterday I decided to stay indoors with the heat on, play some online games because my new Broadband is really quick and there was loads of shows I wanted to see on Sky. Then nipped to the pub for a few, good day over all.

But I tell ya, the country is a joke, the Government sicken me.

Read an actual economist on about austerity not some uneducated fools opinion

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2012/1123/1224327007545.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Big Bottom

I was in town yesterday and saw that march.

There was a lot of elderly people there who just seemed to be plodding along to get in on the act.

What do these people hope to acheive by this? It mad my day a lot more complicated anyway thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭bop1977

Went to the Ireland match instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

Was over at a mates watching the F1 Qualifying, and having a few beers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

I was at a meeting of minds that have different ideas as to how to deal with this whole austerity. We discussed how we are going to deal with those responsible for the the rape and pillage of our once fine country.
    Éireann go bráth.

I was at a hurling match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

What was the protest for? Austerity? I should have been there, i'm all for austerity.
    We havn't really had austerity yet, we need more if anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Marching will achieve nothing.
    The government are set on a path of austerity and are being steered by Europe, there is no changing this path. They won't listen to ordinary folk.

Plus some of us have lives, work and families to be getting on with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

I am sick to my teeth of the Government and I absolutely HATE that they can cut services and get away with it. It sickens me. This country is a joke, it's like living in the 3rd world.

However yesterday I decided to stay indoors with the heat on, play some online games because my new Broadband is really quick and there was loads of shows I wanted to see on Sky. Then nipped to the pub for a few, good day over all.

The unions are the bigger joke. Services are being cut to protect the salaries of unionised public sector staff. It's as simple as that, thanks to the CPA.

And then some of these guys call for a general strike?

There was two girls walking in front of us down Henry st, talking about the protest for desterity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

I'm on holiday abroad, so are those who marched probably (Employment holiday). It was a Saturday more to it, MATCH DAY where people preferred to rally & support a good cause, and a successful cause, a more positive cause, the Irish Rugby team!
    I did however get the feed from the Times which did tickle my fancy to read and watch until those idiot pola-chickens RBB & CD, can't even bare to waste my time typing their full names, came on the soap box. What did disappoint me is that the Times gave them a video forum to voice their typically ill-researched opinions, or verbal graffiti more.
    I'm still on holiday & still happy out at the result against Argentina :-)

hytrogen wrote: »
    I'm on holiday abroad, so are those who marched probably (Employment holiday). It was a Saturday more to it, MATCH DAY where people preferred to rally & support a good cause, and a successful cause, a more positive cause, the Irish Rugby team!
    I did however get the feed from the Times which did tickle my fancy to read and watch until those idiot pola-chickens RBB & CD, can't even bare to waste my time typing their full names, came on the soap box. What did disappoint me is that the times game them a video forum to voice their typical ill-researched opinions, or verbal graffiti more.
    I'm still on holiday & still happy out at the result against Argentina :-)

No recession in that house..

Or the trade union bosses houses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I spent yesterday downloading videos of ample size women rubbing their diddies against each other

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

A lot of people dont got no food on their table but they got forks and knives and they gotta cut something .

Everyone is saying no more cuts but havent got a notion to pay off the deficit any other way .

When they have an economic plan to get the country out of debt without cutting something I will march with them . I spent the time playing football in the park with the kids .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I was too busy going to work :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

I will only march when there are no union leaders involved.
    They sicken me to the core.

Unions were orginally created to protect low paid workers and improve inadequate working conditions. In Ireland unions protect grossly overpaid workers with rediculously generous working conditions and the union leaders pay themsevles a fortune in the process.

it's a recession-session :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Was there a protest yesterday?

This rag tag bunch have no solutions to the problem, they probably can't see past their own agendas and see the true problem.

Like SF, all they can do is object & complain, but they have nothing constructive to add.

cloud493 wrote: »
    Was there a protest yesterday?

I initially thought they were demanding more austerity. All very confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

I was at work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

juan.kerr wrote: »
    This rag tag bunch have no solutions to the problem, they probably can't see past their own agendas and see the true problem.

Like SF, all they can do is object & complain, but they have nothing constructive to add.

Pretty much this.

I hear a lot of people saying 'We don't want X tax!' or 'Boycott paying Y' or 'No more cuts to Z!'

But I haven't heard an actual proposed solution. Okay, if we don't want tax X and we don't want to pay Y, how can we continue to pay Z.

juan.kerr wrote: »

from an outside perspective it is interesting to see months later on how people still like to live in their little bubble of 'woe' and 'don't seek the way out, we can fight this' particularly when they follow like flock these drum-bashing nay sayers. It's the negativity propagated that's slowing everyone down.
    Also from an outside perspective, and from talking with my workmates particularly from Greece, Italy, Spain etc. they all say "well done Ireland, you're getting through it without the rioting & without the gear-stopping marching" with full admiration and we are.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

The goverment or the people? God the apathy of the Irish turns my stomach. Shameful display in this thread.

Andy!! wrote: »
    The goverment or the people? God the apathy of the Irish turns my stomach. Shameful display in this thread.

More ****e.

Explain what we should be doing please. And explain how it will help reduce the massive annual deficit.

• Site Banned Posts: 95 ✭✭Debator

Face it - the march was an abject failure with a minuscule turnout. A measly 10,000 marching with 100,000 in the shopping centres around them, blissfully unaware.

The one upside of yesterday is that it really showed ICTU up for the bunch of clowns they are. There was one lady on the 6:01 news who complained that "my car will be off the road if they cut my child benefit"! I could hear a million facepalms around the country at that moment. Rich Boy Barrett and Jack O'Connor don't know the meaning of the word austerity. The protesters: a herd of sheep being led by a pack of wolves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

At home

Those people marching against "austerity" obviously don't know if borrow money you must pay it back plus interest. So if we borrow money now it will be the tax payers in 10-15 years paying for it.

Like in the baltic like Romania and Hungary the government went ape **** and cut wages by 20% and cut as much as possible and there economies are the best in Europe.

People who march against austerity amaze as they generally don't earn enough to pay tax ( only 50% of workers pay tax) and think they have been affected by the recession as they have a few hundred less a month. It's difficult ecomomic times get over it.

What a ridiculous post. D'you work for RTE or something? If you won't speak out against mass fraud then whats next? Should the gubberment be allowed away with anything they want?

Face it - the march was an abject failure with a minuscule turnout. A measly 10,000 marching with 100,000 in the shopping centres around them, blissfully unaware.

The one upside of yesterday is that it really showed ICTU up for the bunch of clowns they are. There was one lady on the 6:01 news who complained that "my car will be off the road if they cut my child benefit"! I could hear a million facepalms around the country at that moment. Rich Boy Barrett and Jack O'Connor don't know the meaning of the word austerity. The protesters: a herd of sheep being led by a pack of wolves.

You should be a mass debator.

Get your views across.

squod wrote: »
    What a ridiculous post. D'you work for RTE or something? If you won't speak out against mass fraud then whats next? Should the gubberment be allowed away with anything they want?

Mass fraud is it? you must be referring to the Croke Park Agreement and the increments and allowances debacle. Couldn't agree more. Glad we are on the same page.

The gas thing is nobody has starved to death from this recession yet . There hasnt even been an increase in dogs with malnourishment . In the 80s everyone had a mutt with the mange . Now its all these little fufu dogs with their own leather couchs.
    In the 80s plumbers turned up on foot carrying a tool box . Miles theyd walk carrying that thing . You rarely see someone with a toolbox on the bus now .
    In the 80s if a kid had a pair of nike runners he spent all day bragging about them and slagging the kids in dunnes runners whilst being egged on by his mother . Kids fighting escalated to parents fighting . Everyones older brother was on the gear .

This isnt a proper recession we are just not as pampered as 5 or so years ago .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭markbld65

i was to busy working my second job and wife was working a saturday shift, not rubbing it in any ones face about working but to keep our tax's paid we have to,
    some posts are saying if we borrowed the money it has to be paid back yes i agree i pay back anything i have borrowed problem is i think with all the stealth tax's "ush etc" we are paying for the 10% that went wild borrowing that's my major grip

marches on a saturday are a waste of time , we'll see what this budget brings as for us here if it gets worse we'll jack it all in and see where that's brings us
    we have the most overpaid and useless goverment in this country and my thoughts are they are on a gravy trail, until they lead by example and take some form of austerity themselves i can see this country going into social unrest

dont get me wrong i love this country its just the fools we have running it that bothers me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

bbam wrote: »
    Marching will achieve nothing.
    The government are set on a path of austerity and are being steered by Europe, there is no changing this path. They won't listen to ordinary folk.

Plus some of us have lives, work and families to be getting on with.

i do not agree with this. power in numbers (serious numbers) will change things (maybe not everything but definitely the ridiculous stuff like unacceptable td's expenses & perks, banker salaries that 'cannot be touched' and at least some easing of the burden placed on irish taxpayers to bail out delinquent banks.

every person has a breaking point...how much of a hit will you take before you say enough is enough?

i was to busy working my second job and wife was working a saturday shift, not rubbing it in any ones face about working but to keep our tax's paid we have to,
    some posts are saying if we borrowed the money it has to be paid back yes i agree i pay back anything i have borrowed problem is i think with all the stealth tax's "ush etc" we are paying for the 10% that went wild borrowing that's my major grip

marches on a saturday are a waste of time , we'll see what this budget brings as for us here if it gets worse we'll jack it all in and see where that's brings us
    we have the most overpaid and useless goverment in this country and my thoughts are they are on a gravy trail, until they lead by example and take some form of austerity themselves i can see this country going into social unrest

dont get me wrong i love this country its just the fools we have running it that bothers me

Yeah, I wonder how many of the 10,000 were top level income tax payers - the ones that are actually footing the bill.

squod wrote: »

For Christmas you should ask for dictionary. As your spelling and grammar is shocking. I haven't watched/listened to RTE in years. It's trashy media. It's not austerity it's balancing. Money we burrow today as to be repaid in a few years.

If the spending continues to go out of control we won't have a functioning economy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Was sitting in my car cursing the shower of moaners with placards that made me change my normal route into town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Andy!! wrote: »

Grow up Andy.
    This government was chosen by the people. They're doing a ham fisted job but I
    Don't see anyone doing a better job.
    Running up to Dublin and protesting will acheive nothing because nothing can be done. What do you seriously think a protest will acheive? Show the government that were not happy? They know that but don't care.

The gas thing is nobody has starved to death from this recession yet . There hasnt even been an increase in dogs with malnourishment . In the 80s everyone had a mutt with the mange . Now its all these little fufu dogs with their own leather couchs.
    In the 80s plumbers turned up on foot carrying a tool box . Miles theyd walk carrying that thing . You rarely see someone with a toolbox on the bus now .
    In the 80s if a kid had a pair of nike runners he spent all day bragging about them and slagging the kids in dunnes runners whilst being egged on by his mother . Kids fighting escalated to parents fighting . Everyones older brother was on the gear .

This isnt a proper recession we are just not as pampered as 5 or so years ago .

http://youtu.be/LhUcSbbURyc nostalgia is a great thing, pity some still live in it :cool:

Was sitting in my car cursing the shower of moaners with placards that made me change my normal route into town.

Yeah, and I wonder who payed for those placards. Muggins - the taxpayer.

For Christmas you should ask for dictionary. As your spelling and grammar is shocking. I haven't watched/listened to RTE in years. It's trashy media. It's not austerity it's balancing. Money we burrow today as to be repaid in a few years.

If the spending continues to go out of control we won't have a functioning economy

That is dangerous, you could be robbed.

You seem to forget that the majority did not borrow anything. The austerity was foisted on us when the decision to turn private speculation debt in to social debt. European capitalists great stroke on the Irish.

and thats exactly it, spending has not being address correctly, ok myself and wife took 10+15% pay cuts 3 years ago, our base overheads went up eg fuel etc

we had to sit down work out where to cut again, we managed and worked away to meet our household budget and overall costs with a effort

now
    we cant keep cutting here not possible anymore, the goverment has to address over-spend in this economy they cant keep milking the one titty all the time and expect it to produce

markbld65 wrote: »

and thats exactly it, spending has not being address correctly, ok myself and wife took 10+15% pay cuts 3 years ago, our base overheads went up eg fuel etc

we had to sit down work out where to cut again, we managed and worked away to meet our household budget and overall costs with a effort

now
    we cant keep cutting here not possible anymore, the goverment has to address over-spend in this economy they cant keep milking the one titty all the time and expect it to produce
    Ok so what you suggest we should cut ?