Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liam Doran and the Nurses Organistation.

• 22-11-2012 8:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭

In the good times Liam Doran representing th Irish Nurses Organisation, negotiated a shorter working week for nurses. This reminds me of the slippery slope that Greece went down (no pun intended). The Gardaí were hot on the heels of this agreement saying that the would fore go a wage rise and just like the nurses they would settle for a shorter working week. This is a complete joke. We need to have the bottle to put nurses back on a 39 hour week. This may lead to job sharing and give recently qualified nurses a chance to start their career.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

I cant see what this has to do with the Irish economy however, it would be must better to increase the working week rather than cut salaries, the reason for this is if you increase the working week of nurses you will decrease the need for agency nurses by the same amount, now agency nurses are paid the same rate as the permanent staff ( EC directive) but you also have to pay the agency fee which makes employing agency staff more expensive ( forget about pensions and sick pay for the moment ). If your cut the salaries of nurses the cost benefit is less then increasing the working week ( because of the agency fee )

Threads like this only attract people who have a bee in their bonnet about nurses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

mariaalice wrote: »
    I cant see what this has to do with the Irish economy however, it would be must better to increase the working week rather than cut salaries, the reason for this is if you increase the working week of nurses you will decrease the need for agency nurses by the same amount, now agency nurses are paid the same rate as the permanent staff ( EC directive) but you also have to pay the agency fee which makes employing agency staff more expensive ( forget about pensions and sick pay for the moment ). If your cut the salaries of nurses the cost benefit is less then increasing the working week ( because of the agency fee )

Treads like this only attract people who have a bee in their bonnet about nurses.

This has everthing to do with the economy. It sets precedent on public pay and health care costs. People have bees in their bonnets about all sorts of things and it is great that people can express their views in an open and fair way on forums like Boards.ie.

By the way this statement of yours is spot on.

"it would be much better to increase the working week rather than cut salaries"

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I'm not sold on the idea that everyone must work longer hours. Get people working harder while they are there and get much more flexibility from staff. All over the public service there are people flat out and others twiddling their thumbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 HunniBear

Have you seen the work a nurse does?

A week of nights, 8pm - 8am, sleeping all the next day only to get up and go to work again... then on the final night, getting home at 8am, sleeping until 4pm (This is now your day off - getting home at 8am) before going into work the next day at 8am?

I am a nurse with 3 years experience, with certificates in ICU and work in an ICU ward, and i take home on average 1950 per month

I can show my bank statements to anyone who disputes this figure

All the while surrounded by the misery and death of an ICU ward, not to mention the work of shifting and changing bedridden people

99% of people COULDN'T do the work, never mind wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

HunniBear wrote: »

A week of nights, 8pm - 8am, sleeping all the next day only to get up and go to work again... then on the final night, getting home at 8am, sleeping until 4pm (This is now your day off - getting home at 8am) before going into work the next day at 8am?

I am a nurse with 3 years experience, with certificates in ICU and work in an ICU ward, and i take home on average 1950 per month

All the while surrounded by the misery and death of an ICU ward, not to mention the work of shifting and changing bedridden people

Yes indeed but these people are only interested in bashing you.
    They are great people altogether suggesting cuts for people they don't know or haven't a clue about the kind of work they do.

I genuinely would have to consider my future in the healthcare setting if less than 2k per month is considered too much for working anti social hours in a very demanding and stressful job.

Perhaps the pen pushers calling for these cuts might be best served doing a days work in my shoes before trying to swing the axe; i'd happily swap with them for a day.

Pencil skirts, expensed lunches, and filling in spreadsheets in between meetings... Sounds heavenly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Xenophile wrote: »
    In the good times Liam Doran representing th Irish Nurses Organisation, negotiated a shorter working week for nurses. This reminds me of the slippery slope that Greece went down (no pun intended). The Gardaí were hot on the heels of this agreement saying that the would fore go a wage rise and just like the nurses they would settle for a shorter working week. This is a complete joke. We need to have the bottle to put nurses back on a 39 hour week. This may lead to job sharing and give recently qualified nurses a chance to start their career.

We have to look back at the reason that nurses fought for a reduced working week/pay rise. As historically a female occupation they were underpaid compared to other professions. What really got there goat up was that in the ninties therepists ( massuers, chiropodist, dieticans, dental and medical technicians etc) were all hired into the health service along with Admin staff ( of whom there were and still are way too many) on 35 hour weeks and on higher wages. They fought there case and won it.

So if we look for extra hours for nursing staff we also have to look at these other grades to be fair to nurses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭OMD

Don't forget to add in your time off. You make it sound that you are doing huge hours but getting very little pay. After you do a week of nights you are entitled to a week off work. So someone for example working nights (12hour shifts every night) only would be at work for 22 weeks a year with about 30 weeks off.

Also your pay does not add up the way you say it. Are you married and have you transferred your allowances to your husband?

I'm single, and my pay adds up to an average of 1950, PM me your email and i'll show you the deposits in my account.

And lets discuss this "Week off" shall we?

The week off, is effectively 6 days, when you factor in the fact that i get home at 8 am of my first "day off" from working the night before.

And my last "day off" I actually have to go in at 8pm - how is it a day off if i'm actually working for 4 hours of it?

So would you work for 10 days straight, 12 hours per day, (not including the fact you have to be in half an hour early for handover, and wait half an hour after your shift for security reasons) nights, surrounded by grief, doing the quite frankly disgusting work we have to do?

I'm single, and my pay adds up to an average of 1950, PM me your email and i'll show you the deposits in my account.

And lets discuss this "Week off" shall we?

The week off, is effectively 6 days, when you factor in the fact that i get home at 8 am of my first "day off" from working the night before.

And my last "day off" I actually have to go in at 8pm - how is it a day off if i'm actually working for 4 hours of it?

So would you work for 10 days straight, 12 hours per day, (not including the fact you have to be in half an hour early for handover, and wait half an hour after your shift for security reasons) nights, surrounded by grief, doing the quite frankly disgusting work we have to do?

You still get a week off. You implied in your first post that you only get 1 day off after a week of nights. You work an average of 35 hours a week. Yes some weeks you work a lot more than this but you will then get this time off afterwards.

As an ICU nurse with 3 years experience and your ICU qualification you should be earning about €37,000 a year basic. On top of this you get an extra payment of 4-5000 for working weekends. This brings your pay up to about €42,000 which isn't bad for a 35 hour week for a person only 3 years qualified as you say you are. On top of this you can look forward to pay increments for the next 4 or 5 years. Someone earning €42K should take home more than €1950 on average. Maybe you are not but if so you should contact HR or finance at your hospital. Are you making additional pension contributions perhaps?

OMD wrote: »
    You still get a week off. You implied in your first post that you only get 1 day off after a week of nights. You work an average of 35 hours a week. Yes some weeks you work a lot more than this but you will then get this time off afterwards.

As an ICU nurse with 3 years experience and your ICU qualification you should be earning about €37,000 a year basic. On top of this you get an extra payment of 4-5000 for working weekends. This brings your pay up to about €42,000 which isn't bad for a 35 hour week for a person only 3 years qualified as you say you are. On top of this you can look forward to pay increments for the next 4 or 5 years. Someone earning €42K should take home more than €1950 on average. Maybe you are not but if so you should contact HR or finance at your hospital. Are you making additional pension contributions perhaps?

Nope, I would love to get a source for these figures, because there seems to be a lot of populist misinformation out there....

I'm telling you now, from experience, that these figures are far from the truth.

I never said I had 3 years experience with the HSE, I worked in England for 2, and i'm with the HSE one year.

One other thing to note:

Regarding time off, I do not know more than two weeks in advance what shifts I am working.

So currently, I do not know if i'll be working another christmas period.

I can not plan a weekend away with my beau, nor try to make plans to go home more than 2 weeks in advance because I do not know what days ill be off.

It really is a ****able life sometimes, and it pisses me off to say that I earn too much.

I'm not much more than a slave to the state

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Don't forget to add in your time off. You make it sound that you are doing huge hours but getting very little pay. After you do a week of nights you are entitled to a week off work. So someone for example working nights (12hour shifts every night) only would be at work for 22 weeks a year with about 30 weeks off.

Also your pay does not add up the way you say it. Are you married and have you transferred your allowances to your husband?

A lab technician, with 3 years experience, on shift, will earn about 55K on average, actually I (Very luckily) earned that straight out of college and also got a week off after nights (private sector).
    What other degree qualified shift role would you expect people to earn less than 40K?

What does 1950 per month work out at anyways, 32,000 or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

HunniBear, if you hate the job so much why did you train for it? Why didn't you do a course in Health Administration / Commerce instead so you could enjoy the "heavenly" position of "normal" working hours wearing a pencil skirt? A basic take-home of 2k a month for someone with only 3 years experience wouldn't be considered that bad in IT (my own sector and arguably the healthiest in our country), and that's with no job security or pension, 20 days holidays rather than the 24 a nurse starts with and tbh, I'd be stunned if someone in private employment got maternity benefits, entitlement to career breaks, long-term sick leave etc. equivalent to what you'd get as a nurse in Ireland.

No-one disputes that nursing is hard work, nor that it's a job many wouldn't have the stomach for. That said, I'm sure most nurses would be just as useless in a software developers job as he or she would be in theirs. Different people have different skills, and despite Irish societies tendency to put Nurses on a pedestal, nursing isn't any greater (or worse), more (or less) difficult a profession than any other.

From everything I've heard, the main problems with the HSE are that it's over-administrated and poorly managed. As such, I'd much rather see those areas tackled by cutting loose the superfluous administration, re-engineering business practices to reduce the number of bodies necessary to administrate the service, sacking non-performing managers etc. than by looking to cut Doctors / Nurses / Other Medical Staffs pay or hours. As long as your union stands by the others in the Health Sector, however, you don't really have a right to whine if you become the victim of your own unions policies. When light-bulbs need to be changed by electricians, porters and admin staff are allowed insane levels of absenteeism without sanction and any step at stream-lining business processes that might result in involuntary redundancies is opposed by the unions en masse, you force whoever the minister for health into a corner where all he can do is impose a hiring freeze and attempt to cut costs across the board. Next time your union calls for Industrial action in support of another profession, refuse to take part in it. It's solidarity with those who use nurses as part of their "front-line staff" shield that hurts you most IMO.

A lab technician, with 3 years experience, on shift, will take home abouut 55K on average, actually I earned that straight out of college and also got a week off after nights (private sector).
    What other degree qualified shift role would you expect people to earn less than 40K?
    55k take-home? Straight out of college? And we're having difficulty getting kids to do science?!

Can't think of too many professions that can boast that kind of starting salary!

Sleepy wrote: »
    55k take-home? Straight out of college? And we're having difficulty getting kids to do science?!

Can't think of too many professions that can boast that kind of starting salary!

Apologies, I did not mean an after tax of 55K. Will edit.

Simple fact is that to get a degree qualified experienced person to do shift you can expect to have to pay about 20K in shift allowance.

I took a massive pay cut to come off shift and am happier for it. A load of my class mates are still earning 55-65K for being on shift.

In terms of why did she train for that role? Why would anyone train for anything? It is because at 18 you really do not have a clue what the working world is like, yet that is when you make your decision for the life career.

Sleepy wrote: »

From everything I've heard, the main problems with the HSE are that it's over-administrated and poorly managed. As such, I'd much rather see those areas tackled by cutting loose the superfluous administration, re-engineering business practices to reduce the number of bodies necessary to administrate the service, sacking non-performing managers etc. than by looking to cut Doctors / Nurses / Other Medical Staffs pay or hours. As long as your union stands by the others in the Health Sector, however, you don't really have a right to whine if you become the victim of your own unions policies. When light-bulbs need to be changed by electricians, porters and admin staff are allowed insane levels of absenteeism without sanction and any step at stream-lining business processes that might result in involuntary redundancies is opposed by the unions en masse, you force whoever the minister for health into a corner where all he can do is impose a hiring freeze and attempt to cut costs across the board. Next time your union calls for Industrial action in support of another profession, refuse to take part in it. It's solidarity with those who use nurses as part of their "front-line staff" shield that hurts you most IMO.

A software engineer ****s up; no one dies in a matter of hours. Now that that is out of the way, I totally agree with the above (barring the light bulb thing, many private companies would say the same)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

Take a look at your payslip - the gross figure per month should be on it.

Assuming only paying PAYE, PRSI & USC (no pension contribution, levies, union subs and other deductions) and no perks (vhi, allowances etc), €1950 take home works out at about €27,600 p.a.

A software engineer ****s up; no one dies in a matter of hours. Now that that is out of the way, I totally agree with the above (barring the light bulb thing, many private companies would say the same)

Slightly pedantic, but that does depend on the code one is writing.

If one is writing something critical, say firmware that controls the braking system in a car and misses something (and it's not caught), then one could kill far more people than a tired nurse.

That and, let's be honest here, the skills to be a good software engineer are probably less common that those to be a good nurse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Some nice loaded statements there.
    But are you on a week-on week-off rota or a three day week? Net effect of a 35-40 hour week. I presume the ICU isn't actually that hectic overnight.
    Better than most people with with 3 years experience.
    This is interesting as 2.76% of the whole population is on the nursing register.
    I never said I had 3 years experience with the HSE, I worked in England for 2, and i'm with the HSE one year.
    So, you are only in the job a year and knew what you were getting into?
    Bank statements have nothing to do wtih it.

So, in 15(?) days you work 140 hours and this averages at 65 per week, in breach of regulations? Between local management and staff incompetence, it takes an hour to do the shift changeover?
    surrounded by grief, doing the quite frankly disgusting work we have to do?
    A job you signed up to do.
    Nope, I would love to get a source for these figures, because there seems to be a lot of populist misinformation out there....
    How about you give a source for your figures?
    Regarding time off, I do not know more than two weeks in advance what shifts I am working.
    Many people don't know until the previous week or even day.
    I can not plan a weekend away with my beau, nor try to make plans to go home more than 2 weeks in advance because I do not know what days ill be off.
    Are you saying that you don't what the wherewithal to book some time off?
    It seems accountant trainees are starting at around €19,000 at the moment.
    So you don't even know how much you are earning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Victor wrote: »
    Some nice loaded statements there.But are you on a week-on week-off rota or a three day week? Net effect of a 35-40 hour week. I presume the ICU isn't actually that hectic overnight.

This is interesting as 2.76% of the whole population is on the nursing register.

How would her I.C.U.not be busy at night?
    Do people get better at a certain time?

Victor wrote: »
    Some nice loaded statements there.But are you on a week-on week-off rota or a three day week? Net effect of a 35-40 hour week. I presume the ICU isn't actually that hectic overnight.

And 100% of the nursing register are ICU nurses?

HunniBear, you're really not doing yourself any favours with that post. You've ignored most of what's been put to you and argued only against a pretty irrelevant issue. How many people can do a job doesn't really matter if there are enough people in a job market who can do it to cover the positions available.

There are, perhaps, 4 people in this country who could replace me in the morning that wouldn't have a 6-12 month learning curve to get up to speed. That doesn't mean I'm worth a huge salary unfortunately, as there are only 3/4 positions available in the country that call for exactly my mix of skill-sets and there are 100's of people who could get up to speed on it within a year or so should more positions open up in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

How would her I.C.U.not be busy at night?
    Do people get better at a certain time?

The vast majority of admission and surgeries are during the day.
    And 100% of the nursing register are ICU nurses?
    The thread is about nurses, not ICU nurses. Read the first line of your own first post:

So all ye lads with all this fancy I.T. skills.

Tell me how many of you would want one of your colleagues looking after you in a healthcare setting if they retrained?

Now how many of you would care if a nurse retrained as a software monkey?

Takes more than "Skills" to be a nurse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

99% of people COULDN'T do the work, never mind wouldn't.[/QUOTE

Ah, but you'll be told you have a gold pension, great holidays, safe job etc etc.
    I am sick to death of people whom in the boom earned huge money and now are broke blaming nurses and the PS pay bill on all our woes.
    The anology I use is it's like a fat kid at a party with a huge cake, and a small kid with a average size cake. The fat kid lets his cake fall on the floor and then looks at the small kid with envy wanting a share of his.

I have met many nurses who work damn fcuking hard for a fair wage but still get scapegoated by nasty little people with agendas.

Tell me how many of you would want one of your colleagues looking after you in a healthcare setting if they retrained?

Some of them I wouldn't mind in the slightest. There are a few that I wouldn't like to see, but then that's more to do with their attitude than their competence.

Now how many of you would care if a nurse retrained as a software monkey?

Software monkey - you really have no idea what software engineers do then I take it.

A very brief summary of what they do.
    Software engineers, designers & architects (are supposed to be able to) design and build software. Software developers are (supposed to be) able to build software off a plan supplied by someone else.

If we compare the IT world to healthcare, one would equate software engineers with doctors - doing the brain work, investigations (e.g. surgery), making decisions on direction and that kind of thing.

Nurses would be akin to developers - taking instruction and doing tasks, but rarely making "big" decisions themselves.

I'm not trying to belittle nurses with this comparison, but the truth occasionally hurts.

Software Engineers are nothing but a small cog in a big wheel.

And i'm afraid you know nothing about ICU nursing if you think Nurses don't make big decisions.

Actual life saving / ending decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

I'm guessing you didn't hear about that nasty bug in the radiotherapy machine then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

This thread...wow.

No mention of the state guaranteed pension that a private sector worker could never hope to have (contributions required would be too great).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

And i'm afraid you know nothing about ICU nursing if you think Nurses don't make big decisions.

And where did you work as a software engineer?

To address the OP, of course we should examine the option. No profession should be above scrutiny. We're broke. The usual argument of "wait until you need medical attention/garda help/etc" should hold no water.

omahaid wrote: »
    And where did you work as a software engineer?

To address the OP, of course we should examine the option. No profession should be above scrutiny. We're broke. The usual argument of "wait until you need medical attention/garda help/etc" should hold no water.

Ericsson Athlone, Software Engineer, feature tester on OSS and BBOSS projects.

Delivering LTE to clients in the US

One of many, just like nurses in a hospital, even an icu ward.

It could be argued that right now the software engineer that wrote the firmware for the ventilator you're relying on to keep some patients alive is probably as important as you, because if the software is written wrong then the various vitals will be wrong and the wrong treatments may occur. This is not being boastful, just trying to point out a fact of life to you that you seem to be entirely unaware of.

The radiotherapy machine fault that srsly78 mentioned was required reading for my course. In a nutshell, the software that calculated the dose was wrong and a higher dose than was intended was administered (I think people died because of it).

Why did this happen: the company though that because of the software controls they didn't need hardware controls to ensure that unsafe doses were administered.

As far as I'm aware (told this by a nurse) nurses are not allowed to order treatments or overrule doctors. They perform the treatments they are directed to do and they can provide doctors with information, but the direction of the treatment is within the doctors remit not the nurse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Ericsson Athlone, Software Engineer, feature tester on OSS and BBOSS projects.

Delivering LTE to clients in the US

You were a tester, not a developer. Like the different between a nurse and a doctor.

I've walked a mile in both shoes lads, and let me tell you, a good software monkey is replaceable.

Us nurses aren't.

GavMan wrote: »
    This thread...wow.

No mention of the state guaranteed pension that a private sector worker could never hope to have (contributions required would be too great).

Are you on something...

It's been said a million times that ps workers contribute hugely to their pension. After 40 years service They can then expect an average pension of 400e per week. Take the fact that the state pension is then means tested and rather then recieve 236 like anyone else they recieve 96e.

That means the golden pension that a ps worker has contributed to is worth a massive 256e euro a week to someone on the average ps wage.

Now don't let facts like the above colour your spiteful agenda against the ps.

srsly78 wrote: »
    I'm guessing you didn't hear about that nasty bug in the radiotherapy machine then.

I said in a couple of hours

I've walked a mile in both shoes lads, and let me tell you, a good software monkey is replaceable.

Us nurses aren't.

A good QA monkey you mean.

Back to the point on your take home pay - what's paid into my bank account is different to my nett pay because of deductions (sports & social, canteen vouchers & others) that are taken at source. Most months there's a €200 difference.

antoobrien wrote: »
    A good QA monkey you mean.

Back to the point on your take home pay - what's paid into my bank account is different to my nett pay because of deductions (sports & social, canteen vouchers & others) that are taken at source. Most months there's a €200 difference.
    I don't give a ****e about your canteen vouchers to be honest, we have to pay for our own meals as Nurses.

Judging by your previous posts, you seem to be an expert in other facets of the public service, not withstanding your expertise in midwifery in the Savita case..

All government spending should be cut in your eyes. OH OF COURSE EXCEPT THE GAA.

I'm telling you now, from experience, that these figures are far from the truth.

The figures are fairly easily available on INMO website. Take basic wage add ICU course extra benefit and then allow for double time for every Sunday worked. I don't know what age you are, but potentially you could be 25 (leave school 18, 4 years studying and now 3 years working). There are a hell of a lot of 25 year olds out there with degrees and post grad qualifications that haven't a hope of earning your salary despite working longer hours.

Some of your complaints relate to poor admin by other nurses. You feel you should know your rota in advance? Well get that sorted. It can't be beyond the bounds of intelligent people to get a solution to that.
    You spend too long doing reports and waiting to get home? Well get it sorted too.

The figures are fairly easily available on INMO website. Take basic wage add ICU course extra benefit and then allow for double time for every Sunday worked. I don't know what age you are, but potentially you could be 25 (leave school 18, 4 years studying and now 3 years working). There are a hell of a lot of 25 year olds out there with degrees and post grad qualifications that haven't a hope of earning your salary despite working longer hours.

Some of your complaints relate to poor admin by other nurses. You feel you should know your rota in advance? Well get that sorted. It can't be beyond the bounds of intelligent people to get a solution to that.
    You spend too long doing reports and waiting to get home? Well get it sorted too.

I never mentioned reports, I think you're mixing up Nurses and Teachers now.

Teachers deserve a battering.

Us underpaid nurses who actually do work, don't.

Soooo sorry...you lost my respect right there.

Jesus christ talk about stabbing your fellow worker in the back

not yet wrote: »
    Soooo sorry...you lost my respect right there.

Jesus christ talk about stabbing your fellow worker in the back

How are teachers my fellow worker?

Do i not pay tax to fund their workshy habits?

As you well know the handover is frequently referred to as "report" by nurses

Which brings us back to the start of this whole debate. Nurses getting their hours reduced to 35 hours a week. Shouldn't work shy nurses get their hours returned to their previous levels?

Your talking out your arse at this stage, You have gone from having support on this thread to completely alienating anyone who supported you.

Very angry lady..

Its funny how many of the irreplaceable I.T. drones are in here having a go at the one nurse.

Because the rest of my nurse sisters are either asleep after a night shift, or in looking after your sick relatives while you shower play on your computers in your sweat stained, poorly ironed checked shirts.

Oh, and for your information...every single person who works in this country is your fellow worker.