Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poor reverse lights on Avensis

• 19-11-2012 9:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭

My Avensis has shockingly poor reversing lights. Is there anything to be done about this, or would people think that's a common problem? The last two cars I've had both had good reverse lights, but I find myself tapping the brakes all the time reversing the Avensis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

03-09 shape?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

That's the one.

A 54 LED replacement would do the trick provided it'd fit.

I shall go forth and Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I went with a CREE LED bulb - makes a world of difference when it's dark, although tinted windows hinder it a little.

I'll check them out, I've used Cree/LED torches and the light that come out of some of them in amazing. Can't understand the Toyota light at all, it's not even what I'd call poor, it's quite dangerous I would say. Thanks for the replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

I had some tin foil in mine, wasn't too good but still did the job in dark places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Jack breen

Those bulbs are very expensive.

Well they could be compared to a normal bulb, but at under €3 delivered they hardly break the bank given the extra light they give off.

We must be lookin at different sites because all I can see is 23 euro a bulb.:)

Click the link I posted earlier

99p

I see a 99p one.

colm_mcm wrote: »

99p

Thanks I just searched for the Cree ones initally. Thanks again.:)

99p

I just ordered a load of stuff of that dude. I hope they dont throw up a dash warning light.

Thanks.

Bulb only arrived this morning. I'm just after putting it in. It fits and works. How it'll be after dark I'll let ye know. Didn't look too awful bright, but I'd be completely scandalised if it was worse than the bulb I took out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Could be worse you could have only 1 reversing light at near ground level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭zapata

Could be worse you could have only 1 reversing light at near ground level
    Ford Focus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

zapata wrote: »
    Ford Focus?

JA

Bulb only arrived this morning. I'm just after putting it in. It fits and works. How it'll be after dark I'll let ye know. Didn't look too awful bright, but I'd be completely scandalised if it was worse than the bulb I took out :D

Same here, I think its a brilliant improvement all though I bought the full set for bake lights and fogs. I also purchased spotlights for my house and threw out those nasty spotlights.

My kitchen is blue now.:D

Tried her out tonight and I'm not sure there's an awful lot of a difference. I had to turn on my rear fog light when reversing to make sure I didn't run into a wall.

I think I'll have to look for some type of bolt on solution :(

I don't own a "new car" like, but at the same time I don't want to run into anything or anyone! Can't get over how they let a car out of the factory with this, what I consider to be a, defect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Tried her out tonight and I'm not sure there's an awful lot of a difference. I had to turn on my rear fog light when reversing to make sure I didn't run into a wall.

Get yourself one of these LED auxiliary lights and mount it under the bumper.
    Great for reversing at night in the country.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 JJ Something

CJhaughey wrote: »

I tried the LED replacement bulb as well and didn't find it any help either. I will be mounted two of these over Christmas http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LED-Autolamps-135WME-Slim-line-Reverse-Lamp-12-24v-Multivolt-Surface-Mount-/190675187962?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CommercialVehicleParts_SM&hash=item2c652078fa. Will let you know how it works out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I don't own a "new car" like, but at the same time I don't want to run into anything or anyone! Can't get over how they let a car out of the factory with this, what I consider to be a, defect.
    I ordered the whole rear cluster worth of bulbs same day and still waiting..... Now you say they're muck? At least they won't blow as much :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

JA

Ah man you need to do the twin reverse light mod. :D
    191049_480651931953365_127390028_o.jpg
    DSCN0770.jpg

Do you lose the rear fog then?

MugMugs wrote: »
    I ordered the whole rear cluster worth of bulbs same day and still waiting..... Now you say they're muck? At least they won't blow as much :)

Put it to you this way, had a friend in the car one night and showed him the reverse (LED) and he couldn't believe how bad it was. No other lighting around.

All that's needed is a lhd reversing light, but you have to drill a hole and bond in the extra bulb holder. It's a worthwhile mod as it lights up the back of the car whilst reversing like christmas :D.

Oh don't buy the cheapy ebay led bulbs, cree q5's or nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Posted here before about it but my B6 Passat is the same way - one rear light and it's useless really :( I could replace the other side with a LHD light unit so that would give me the dual reverse lights but then I'd lose the rear fog and no easy/neat way to replace it :(

The Focus has always struck me as a very poor design having the reverse light so low... although that mod looks like it'd do the job! :p

Link to focus mod to have twin reverse, whilst keeping the fog light to keep her legal.
    http://www.fordownersclub.com/forums/topic/26900-rear-fog-light-conversion-guide-focus-2008-2010/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Hal1 wrote: »
    whilst keeping the fog light to keep her legal
    There is no legal requirement to have fog lights fitted here. (Most Irish cars are built to UK specifications where a rear fog light is mandatory).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Put these in today. They'll be straight out too. Can't believe how bad they are. You get what you pay for i suppose :)

CJhaughey wrote: »

Thanks CJ ;) Late as ever I just clicked to buy one.

Now, the question is how do I wire the fecker up when it arrives in 6 months time (DX speed) :D

Ideally I'd prefer to have it on a switch in the cabin, and not directly linked to the proper reverse light, in case it's quite bright and I need to reverse in traffic or whatever, don't want to be blinding people.

Thanks CJ ;) Late as ever I just clicked to buy one.

Now, the question is how do I wire the fecker up when it arrives in 6 months time (DX speed) :D

Ideally I'd prefer to have it on a switch in the cabin, and not directly linked to the proper reverse light, in case it's quite bright and I need to reverse in traffic or whatever, don't want to be blinding people.

Would they not look shoite on your car, maybe ok on a old jeep or something but on a modern car?

Jack breen wrote: »
    Would they not look shoite on your car, maybe ok on a old jeep or something but on a modern car?
    Not necessarily, Look at the way foglights are fitted on jap imports that are imported into the UK, If they are done right then they can look fine.
    Better a light than a bashed in bumper because you can't see behind you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭megafan

Can't get over how they let a car out of the factory with this, what I consider to be a, defect.

Reversing lights fitted to most cars as standard are more an indication to other road users of what your doing! Have to remember too bright a light(s) may blind or confuse other road users!!;)

Jack breen wrote: »
    megafan wrote: »
    Reversing lights fitted to most cars as standard are more an indication to other road users of what your doing! Have to remember too bright a light(s) may blind or confuse other road users!!;)

Come drive my car at night, seriously, it is dangerous for me to reverse with the fitted lights. I cannot see where I am going, that's just not acceptable.

Other road users are grand, until I reverse into them, then how will they be? As I said, I've had my friend in the car and he was completely shocked. It's just impossible to see.

Well Conmaicne Mara by all means fit brighter reversing lights & maybe have a seprate manual toggle switch which you can use in exterme circumstances BUT be aware of other road users who may think their looking at front lights of your car....
    He is fitting one light to aid reversing, Given that it is illegal to reverse onto a main road I would posit that it is actually safer for all concerned that he has a functional reverse light.
    If another driver mistakes a reverse light in addition to taillights for headlights than perhaps the other driver should look at themselves and maybe submit themselves for an eye test.

reversing lights.jpg

Dunno if this worked but car reversing into parking space reversing light on left LED lignt on right normal bulb!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm still thinking of getting a LHD rear light cluster for my Passat to fix this issue. Problem then is where do you fit a rear fog light where it wouldn't look stupid?

reversing lights.jpg

Dunno if this worked but car reversing into parking space reversing light on left LED lignt on right normal bulb!! :)
    Yes but thats an American Pickup with high mounted taillights in a carpark at night with no taillights on.
    A bumper mounted reverse light on an Avensis would be probably a metre lower than those lights and lower than the taillights.

Some pics of the led reverse lamps(http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LED-Autola...item2c652078fa.) I fitted to my Avensis. They really solve the problem and don't look industrial. Because they were led they were wired easily at the back of the car without running another supply. I'm going to change the original reverse lamp to be a second fog light bulb now. Happy Days.:) Picture 001.jpg

Picture 002.jpg

Picture 003.jpg

Picture 004.jpg

Picture 005.jpg

They look as bright as hid's, now there's an idea ;).

Some pics of the led reverse lamps(http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LED-Autola...item2c652078fa.) I fitted to my Avensis. They really solve the problem and don't look industrial. Because they were led they were wired easily at the back of the car without running another supply. I'm going to change the original reverse lamp to be a second fog light bulb now. Happy Days.:) Picture 001.jpg

Picture 002.jpg

Picture 003.jpg

Picture 004.jpg

Picture 005.jpg

That looks the business JJ. The item has expired in the Ebay link, do you have a description or something I can put in for a search?

There made by LED Autolamps SLIM-LINE REVERSE LAMPS part no 135WME see link. http://www.ledautolamps-uk.com/productshow.php?catid=4&productid=22. You should be able to buy from any good motors factors as well.