Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Circuit Training for GAA

• 15-11-2012 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭

Has anyone advice on what exercises are key for a weighted circuit training session?
    My GAA club has asked me to run a few sessions in the new year. I'd have more experience with weight training than most lads in the club.

I'm going to make up laminated pages with all exercises on them and go through all the exercises.
    I'll pick 2/3 for each part of body.
    equipment will be dumbbells, med balls and swiss balls.

Lower Body
    squat
    lunge
    bridging

upper body
    push up
    dumbbell bench press
    bench dips
    chin ups
    shoulder press
    dumbbell flys
    med ball push ups
    med ball chest throws

core
    sit ups
    russian twists
    back extension
    med ball twist throws
    front plank
    side plank
    farmers walk

anearobic
    mountain climbers
    burpees
    star jumps
    high knees
    skipping
    shuttle run

cheers for any feedback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

The first thing I'd do is to move bridging out of 'lower body' and stick in under 'core'...less chance of anyone working out you don't know what you are doing that way :)

Although if you mean bridging in the way that term in used in grappling arts rather than the way it is generally used in the gym....you get super extra bonus points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

The first thing I'd do is to move bridging out of 'lower body' and stick in under 'core'...less chance of anyone working out you don't know what you are doing that way :)

ok. but doesn't bridging use the hamstrings? and glutes?

Yes...I didn't see till I got further down your original list that you had 'planks' in there...in the fitness industry a plank and a bridge are often used interchangeably.

So you get bonus points for using bridging in the same sense I would but I have to deduct some cred for not reading my next post and just being cool about it.

Just one tip though.

When doing circuits for team field sports you want the enough variation to get a 'circuit training effect' but not so much variation that they just get a heap of exposure to nothing in particular.

Good luck.

Yes...I didn't see till I got further down your original list that you had 'planks' in there...in the fitness industry a plank and a bridge are often used interchangeably.

So you get bonus points for using bridging in the same sense I would but I have to deduct some cred for not reading my next post and just being cool about it.

Just one tip though.

When doing circuits for team field sports you want the enough variation to get a 'circuit training effect' but not so much variation that they just get a heap of exposure to nothing in particular.

Good luck.

you are forgiven

I won't be using all those exercises in one go...
    Will be focusing in on quads/hamstrings, chest/back, shoulders/arms, core static and core dynamic exercises from week to week

you are forgiven

I won't be using all those exercises in one go...
    Will be focusing in on quads/hamstrings, chest/back, shoulders/arms, core static and core dynamic exercises from week to week
    Good stuff.

Sounds like you have it all under control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭KeithReilly

Just one tip though.

Good luck.

Do you think circuit training is a good way to train in the off season/pre season for GAA?

I can understand why it's done in that you can do it with large numbers of people and limited equipment but are there better ways for GAA players to prepare for an upcoming season and also if done intensely people feel they've done something worthwhile

Do you think circuit training is a good way to train in the off season/pre season for GAA?
    No.
    I can understand why it's done in that you can do it with large numbers of people and limited equipment but are there better ways for GAA players to prepare for an upcoming season and also if done intensely people feel they've done something worthwhile
    Agreed.

It is a cheap way for our club to train lads

We get most players to it - so we know they are doing something. If they had their own programs most of them wouldn't bother. If we need to improve cardio fitness we would get them all to bring skipping ropes.

It is a good social thing too - gets some older, and ex players out of the house during the winter!

It is a cheap way for our club to train lads
    Agreed.

Don't get me wrong...I am not against it in any way. Is it the BEST way....no, is it a good way to get a team together and have them work out together...yes, absolutely.
    We get most players to it - so we know they are doing something. If they had their own programs most of them wouldn't bother. If we need to improve cardio fitness we would get them all to bring skipping ropes.
    On a separate note...I think that is a brilliant idea. I think skipping would be an excellent addition to your circuit work.
    It is a good social thing too - gets some older, and ex players out of the house during the winter!
    Agreed.

so we're all in agreement then.
    excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭alan27

If I was you I would add in a station of two Bosu Balls, with the guys working in pairs. Have both guys stand on each ball and throw sliother or football to each other depending on the sport. Coordination, stability, core, concentration and skill all improved with this.

I'd also add in combined movements that are done togeather for the time of each station, for example:

1. Burpee Pull Ups
    2. 1 Push Up + 1 Pull up
    3. Kettlebell Deadlift + Upright row
    4. Squat + Shoulder Press
    5. Medicine Ball Clean and Press
    6. Barbell Clean and Press

Other ideas:
    T-Push Ups
    Heel Taps
    Squat Jumps
    Step Ups
    Bench/Box Jumps
    Squat Thrusts
    Sprinting
    Jump Jacks

Many more ideas if you check out youtube, search different circuit training videos e.g mma, bodyweight, home, bootcamp, military, strength/power, agility/balance, core circuits etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

My own advice would be to add in box jumps.

Find/make a box about 2.5feet high (or whatever ye can manage). Great exercise.

Id also, google "push-offs" that are used in MMA training quite often. Excellent exercise. I can DM you hw to do them if you want.

alan27 wrote: »
    If I was you I would add in a station of two Bosu Balls, with the guys working in pairs. Have both guys stand on each ball and throw sliother or football to each other depending on the sport. Coordination, stability, core, concentration and skill all improved with this.
    Are they playing GAA on Bosu balls now? Man Ireland has changed since I left.

ok. thanks for the advice lads.

I'm not going to get them jumping up on a box when a lot of them might not be able to do bodyweight lunges or squats properly. recipe for disaster

As for the bosu balls - we don't have them. And I don't want to be putting expense on the club of buying two yokes that won't be used again.

At least with med balls we can bring them to the field in spring and use them when we're training as a mini circuit.

I would be interested in the push-offs. Tell me more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭fighterman

sit ups

Per Johnny O'Connor ( and Dr Stuart McGill , professor of spine biomechanics at the University of Waterloo) sit ups are not good.

http://www.joe.ie/health-fitness/mens-health/johnny-oconnor-forget-sit-ups-get-a-six-pack-the-right-way-0010605-1

And I myself have done thousands of them over the years training for Gaelic football and would have thought they were a fundamental in building a strong core.

Yet another GAA training staple that looks to have been counterproductive.

fighterman wrote: »
    Per Johnny O'Connor ( and Dr Stuart McGill , professor of spine biomechanics at the University of Waterloo) sit ups are not good.

http://www.joe.ie/health-fitness/mens-health/johnny-oconnor-forget-sit-ups-get-a-six-pack-the-right-way-0010605-1

And I myself have done thousands of them over the years training for Gaelic football and would have thought they were a fundamental in building a strong core.

Yet another GAA training staple that looks to have been counterproductive.

Yep, I actually know that.
    However, to build a basic level of core strength they could be useful in terms of simplicity, if done correctly.
    Better for lads to be doing a few controlled sit ups than sitting at home on the couch

Yep, I actually know that.
    However, to build a basic level of core strength they could be useful in terms of simplicity, if done correctly.
    Better for lads to be doing a few controlled sit ups than sitting at home on the couch
    Ahhhh....you're just making my cry now. With pride that is.

Good to see posters here being able to absorb and assimilate information and put it into context.

As you obviously know...sit ups done properly are just fine...as I've said in other threads...sit ups are a linear dynamic component of core fitness and if you throw in some linear static, lateral dynamic and static, some rotational work and some complex core you are well on your way to building a fantastic solid base for your athletes.

Good work on not going the bosu ball work route.

1. Doing that kind of work on a bosu ball actually ruins your proprioception and makes you more susceptible to injury.

2. Balance skills are non transferable...being able to walk a tight rope doesn't automatically make you good at riding a bike or water skiing and vice versa.

Ahhhh....you're just making my cry now. With pride that is.

Good to see posters here being able to absorb and assimilate information and put it into context.

As you obviously know...sit ups done properly are just fine...as I've said in other threads...sit ups are a linear dynamic component of core fitness and if you throw in some linear static, lateral dynamic and static, some rotational work and some complex core you are well on your way to building a fantastic solid base for your athletes.

1. Doing that kind of work on a bosu ball actually ruins your proprioception and makes you more susceptible to injury.

2. Balance skills are non transferable...being able to walk a tight rope doesn't automatically make you good at riding a bike or water skiing and vice versa.

When the players are doing reverse lunges, med ball push ups, chin ups and single leg deadlifts etc, I think we will be hitting their core muscles

as for the organisational side of things, i'm not going to go for a time based circuit. Rather i'll split the lads into mini teams of 4/5 players set up 4/5 stations and then rotate on a push, pull, leg circuit rotation. we'll do a warm up, mobility and some basic core exercises before all that.

Are they playing GAA on Bosu balls now? Man Ireland has changed since I left.

Ya we play GAA on Bosu Balls, its fun.

This exercise has been used by two of the top county hurling teams for the last two seasons for stability and balance work, and I know this for a fact.

So obviously their fitness professionals are also wrong.

alan27 wrote: »
    This exercise has been used by two of the top county hurling teams for the last two seasons for stability and balance work, and I know this for a fact.
    I know...it's done on and off in lots of places and it's just as stupid no matter where it's done and by whom. Having otherwise fit healthy athletes do that kind of work just reeks of ignorance.
    So obviously their fitness professionals are also wrong.
    Exactly. Not just that they are wrong but that they don't really understand their job and or the ramifications on their athletes training processes.

Each to their own I suppose. At other top county hurling teams you'll have trainers having players pushing cars, doing TRX suspension training, doing grappling/wrestling work, running in sand dunes, doing kettlebell work, doing Olympic weightlifting and on and on it goes...and after all that...what really matters is 1. Who has the most talented bunch of players and 2. Who has the trainer/physio who manages to do the least damage and or manages to to keep his squad the most injury free.

The most important factor in winning championship is the talent of the squad and the ability of the management team to ensure that they have the greatest percentage of their squad available for selection for the greatest proportion of the season...specifically and most importantly...at the end of the season.

I know...it's done on and off in lots of places and it's just as stupid no matter where it's done and by whom. Having otherwise fit healthy athletes do that kind of work just reeks of ignorance.

Exactly. Not just that they are wrong but that they don't really understand their job and or the ramifications on their athletes training processes.

Each to their own I suppose. At other top county hurling teams you'll have trainers having players pushing cars, doing TRX suspension training, doing grappling/wrestling work, running in sand dunes, doing kettlebell work, doing Olympic weightlifting and on and on it goes...and after all that...what really matters is 1. Who has the most talented bunch of players and 2. Who has the trainer/physio who manages to do the least damage and or manages to to keep his squad the most injury free.

The most important factor in winning championship is the talent of the squad and the ability of the management team to ensure that they have the greatest percentage of their squad available for selection for the greatest proportion of the season...specifically and most importantly...at the end of the season.

while for clubs, its getting the players to actually turn up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 physioNidge

Some interesting points raised on this post. Alot of statements made also without sufficient explanations. Just wondering if this statement could be expanded on and explained a bit more :

Doing that kind of work on a bosu ball actually ruins your proprioception and makes you more susceptible to injury.

Some interesting points raised on this post. Alot of statements made also without sufficient explanations. Just wondering if this statement could be expanded on and explained a bit more :

Doing that kind of work on a bosu ball actually ruins your proprioception and makes you more susceptible to injury.
    Is this the bit where I need to argue both sides?

If you disagree with the statement that...'Doing that kind of work on a bosu ball actually ruins your proprioception and makes you more susceptible to injury.'

Perhaps you could refute it firstly. You or someone else who is favour of bosu ball work could put a simple case forward in support of it? A few points outlining the benefits of with regards performance and reduction of injury or recovery from injury?

I am not trying to put words in your mouth or anyone else's but it would make for an interesting discussion.

I will preface this post by saying I am only too happy to explain why I think bosu ball work is dumb outside of a rehabilitation setting and where I think it can be useful along with outlining why I think using them anywhere else outside of very, very limited settings is idiotic and counter productive and why I think it will actually hinder performance and increase an athletes risk of injury through a reduction in the individuals sports based proprioception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

I've used them in training teams.

The idea is you can hand pass or whatever while off balance. Being on a bosu ball and being unsteady can be a substitute for rolling from a tackle or misplacing a step or whatever. Still do a proper hand pass.

Add in the concentration and core benefits.

That'd be the reasons I'd add it in.

I've used them in training teams.

The idea is you can hand pass or whatever while off balance. Being on a bosu ball and being unsteady can be a substitute for rolling from a tackle or misplacing a step or whatever. Still do a proper hand pass.

Add in the concentration and core benefits.

That'd be the reasons I'd add it in.
    Firstly...good for you for putting your head up and venturing an opinion...you don't see that much of that here.

I'll will bullet point my responses but if people want to discuss it and or argue it in more detail then I am happy to do that as well.

I will lists my thoughts in no particular order just off the top of my head.

I already know the papers people are going to quote or direct me to in support of their arguments for balance/unstable surface training etc etc and I will say this firstly....you can't look at results of injured subjects and extrapolate those results to healthy populations...that's just dumb.

You also can't send me the papers where they looked at single leg work and extrapolate those results to wobble boards/bosu balls etc etc....that's also just dumb.

I also hear people saying that it forces you to use your stabilsers more...and that is supposed to better....well it doesn't and it's not.

In that same vein I also here that it increases muscle activity and burns more calories...also not true.

When you are using a bosu ball you are altering your players proprioception...and not in a good way...you are reducing peak force and pure strength development....also not a good thing.

I could go on and on but that's probably enough for now...there's the whole alteration of biomechanics angle as well but I figure the fact that you are negatively impacting on your players/clients rate of force development ability along with impairing their stretch shortening cycle along with altering their muscular firing patterns and stressing many of their joints in unnatural ways because of these altered patterns should be a good enough reason to push your bosu ball back under your bed with your abdominator and bull worker.